[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

SUSHuman10
post Jan 10 2014, 03:56 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(motel266 @ Jan 10 2014, 03:55 PM)
thx alot bro.
i wonder is it fsp hexa suitable for this rig?
can suggest proper psu?
want to use for longterm..
Under GTX760, FSP Hexa 500W is still do able.

But since you are willing to invest and still have some budget left unused, then get a Seasonic 620W bronze (299 for non-modular and 359 for semi-modular)

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 10 2014, 03:57 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 10 2014, 04:51 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(fakhrul.fahmi @ Jan 10 2014, 04:46 PM)
if i want to cut down the budget to use i5 can i use geforce 650ti 1gb ddr5 ?
If gaming wise, the performance will be inferior to the built of i3 + 650TI boost or 270x
SUSHuman10
post Jan 10 2014, 07:34 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 10 2014, 06:54 PM)
Sifus amd cpu fx9370 4.7Ghz is that better than i7 4770? Why is it faster and yet cheaper than i7 4770?
You can't directly compare the clock rate between 2 different processors, especially that they are of different architecture.
http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i7-4770-vs-AMD-FX-9370
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 12:44 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 10 2014, 11:03 PM)
Thanks sifus for all the infos ^^, and... so i7 is like at the top level... so wow... hehe well then fellas,, have a nice sleep coz for sure another question will pop up again lol thanks again happy.gif
No, top level is LGA2011's i7s. brows.gif
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 12:46 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 11 2014, 01:19 AM)
Uuugh, just found out that Cooler Master V1000 is practically sold out officially.
Apparently the CM guy even stated this issue is occurring "all over asia". The only way to get it now is from parallel importers who still retain stocks. Guess I gotta wait till February at least. T.T
I saw one in Viewnet just now (ytd noon)?

Though, the price is listed at RM669 instead of the 649 I saw last time... sweat.gif
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 12:48 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(fakhrul.fahmi @ Jan 11 2014, 11:03 AM)
Just got this suggestion quote from shop for gaming. Is it okay

Proc - i5 4570
Mobo - gigabyte h81m
Ram - kingston 8gb ddr3
Hdd - wd caviar green 1tb
Gpu - asus gt640
Psu - cooler master xtreme power plus 525w
Case - cm
For gaming, heck no.

The GPU is too much inferior compared to the CPU.

And mobo can get from asrock one, generally cheaper.

WD Blue >>>>> WD Green

FSP Hexa 500W is the way to go.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 12:56 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 12 2014, 12:53 AM)
EVERYTHING is increasing. Bloody hell my RAM, Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1866MHz CL9 is now going for RM920. Bought it for 730 like two weeks ago and I'm already complaining. =_____=

As for V1000, yeah there is price change and all but the Tech Armory guy told me that everywhere is just sold out. Will call Viewnet and ask.
I think you better go and grab directly... Cause I only saw one on the shelf IINM... sweat.gif
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 01:04 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(democraxy @ Jan 11 2014, 01:03 PM)
I need help and recommendations for desktop;

Budget: 2300
Usage: Gaming
Software: football manager, assassin creed, pro evolution soccer

CPU - i5 4440 (579)
MOBO - Asrock H85M Pro4 (279)
RAM - 8GB corsair value RAM (234)
GPU - Sapphire R9 270 (679)
HDD - WD Blue 1TB (189)
CASE - CoolerMaster case (149)
PSU - FSP Hexa 500W (149)
ODD - LiteOn (59)

Total - RM2317
QUOTE(fakhrul.fahmi @ Jan 11 2014, 11:58 AM)
2k budget .
I just change the quote at this shop

Proc- i3 4330
Mobo - asus h81m
Gpu - asus 650ti boost 1gb ddr 5
Psu - xigmatek 600w
Ram- corsair vengeance 8gb ddr 3
Case - cm k380

They say i need poweful psu so i don't need to change it if i want upgrade later. Sigh. Is this okay? Can i cut down budget for psu?
CPU - i3 4130 (369)
GPU - Saphire R9 270 (679)
HDD - WD Blue 1TB (189)

Total : RM2048.

All from viewnet. Better than your current quote and far better than the previous quote...

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 12 2014, 01:08 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 12:20 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kenshin84 @ Jan 12 2014, 09:57 AM)
Jacking up the price of DDR3 to make the overpricing of DDR4 justified? That sounds so right... sweat.gif
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 01:01 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 12 2014, 12:56 PM)
Probably. But I don't think the differences will be that small. Maybe RM400 or so for the DDR4. Worse if it's enthusiast grade ones.  cry.gif
I don't think a new tech will be that much pricy, since nobody gonna buy a new tech if it cost more, hence the demand will be low at first, they can't overprice it.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 01:10 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 12 2014, 01:05 PM)
True. But if my RAM can increase by RM200 literally overnight then I don't know what DDR4 can do. But yeah, maybe a RM100 premium over the current DDR3 modules would be more realistic.

Btw, current motherboards cannot accept DDR4 right? I have to overhaul, and get a Z97 based system or something, which is also coming out soon.
Those large pre-built desktop/laptop manufacturers (dell, HP and so on) need to use new RAM in their oncoming new systems. It made no sense for them to adapt to DDR4 if it gonna cost far more than DDR3 did.

Yeah, current mobo can't support DDR4.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 01:18 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 12 2014, 01:16 PM)
So building now is like building something great on this timelne... and it will stay there forever because upgrading to DDR4 will be changing cpu mobo and possibly even other components due to socket changes... is that so? Its kinda like its better to get a gaming laptop first before setting up a rig... T_T
Desktop can easily pawn laptop at 1/3 of the price....
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 02:45 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 12 2014, 01:21 PM)
Yeah well, you could still get DDR3 compliant motherboards and CPUs in 6-10 months time even when the new Z97 and DDR4 comes out. So it up to you whether you think it's worth it getting the new RAM and new socket based mobos. At the higher end the differences will be so small when gaming it probably won't be noticed.
+1, everytime new gen of high end is just marginally better than old gen of high end.

Just that GPU may have a bigger leap every year (especially in the price, high end card easily dropped into mid end card of next gen).

Apart from that, other parts (CPU, RAM, MOBO and so on) pretty much very value preserving.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 12 2014, 02:47 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 02:59 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 12 2014, 02:56 PM)
Bloody hell AceCombat's Delid 3770K running at 5Ghz Full tilt with sub-50° temps still scares me till today. Hahahah. So I don't think there will be a massive noticeable difference between Z77, Z87 and Z97.

Yeah only GPUs have a massive leap every generation. But still, cards like the GTX660Ti/GTX680/HD7970 are still going strong for a lot of people.

Motherboards, well, I don't get why some people pay RM1500+ for them, unless you're a serious overclocker running triple or quad GPUs.  rclxub.gif
Yeah, some ppl said Ivy Bridge actually overclock better than Haswell.

Intel shifted it's focus onto power efficiency in their Haswell line.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 03:00 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(bingding @ Jan 12 2014, 02:57 PM)
is corsair cs 650m good enuf to for asus r9 290?
Should be enough.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 12 2014, 11:28 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(fakhrul.fahmi @ Jan 12 2014, 06:35 PM)
Is that gpu balance with the proc :3 they say the gpu is more powered than proc and it will create unbalance rig? Is that true sad.gif
Troll theory? rolleyes.gif

GPU is something that is the more powerful the better.

Unbalanced rig normally means you overpaid for some parts, while under budget for other parts, resulting the actual performance limited by the other parts. In other words, another balanced rig configuration of a similar budget most probably will be more powerful than yours for the specific purposes.

Again, the balanceness depend on what are your priority - computing, system speed, gaming and so on.

Also, I still think an Intel built will be the better choice over AMD for your budget... Comparison of i3 4130 with the FX 4300 in the quote. On the net, they actually compare the i3 with FX6300, but it is even more overpriced and on another price level locally...
http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/349/AMD_F...i3_i3-4130.html
http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i3-4130-vs-AMD-FX-4300

Your effective budget is RM2k for rig, since you should budget RM500 for monitor. I quoted a 2k rig for you ytd, not sure if you saw it...

CPU - i3 4130 (369)
GPU - Saphire R9 270 (679)
HDD - WD Blue 1TB (189)

Total : RM2048.

This build is the most you can squeeze out of your budget, if you are using it for gaming (modern FPS with intensive graphic).

If you are not playing those type of games or planned to do upgrade in near/distance future, then it will be another story. So please be more specific with us for the purpose of your rig and any plans to upgrade in future.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 13 2014, 12:01 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 13 2014, 08:31 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(keretapir @ Jan 13 2014, 06:49 PM)
thanks for the quote. looks like i can actually slash off that HDD since i won't be needing a new one then (got lots of them already on my current PC)
seems like more ppl recommending me R9 290 instead of any nvidia cards...but the one you recommend me is a bit excessive on the price. well, time to hunt for better priced ones laugh.gif
anyway, is Xeon actually better than those on Haswell socket?
and would 650W be actually enough then to power up all these..?
Reference R9 290 is hot and noisy. The RM200 top up for extra peace of mind is pretty worth it IMO. Since you already pay over RM1.5k for a card, another RM200 won't hurt much, not?

Xeon is a Haswell on 1150 socket, similar to Haswell i3/i5/i7... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 13 2014, 08:32 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 14 2014, 04:01 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Razortooth @ Jan 14 2014, 02:27 AM)
Errm, should I focus more budget on any specific part or should I balanced the budget when building a gaming rig? Lol, my friend said that buy a pro graphic card and ram was enough?
For gaming (I assume the games you mentioned are those intensive graphic FPS),

ok cpu (i5) + good gpu > weaker cpu (i3) + good gpu > ok cpu (i5) + ok gpu > others

in short, as long as the CPU is not too weak till bottleneck the system, then focus should be on GPU.

If the games you play are utilizing multi cores/threads, try get minimally an i5.

Any cheap 8GB RAM is more than enough for most games.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 14 2014, 04:02 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 14 2014, 12:03 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Razortooth @ Jan 14 2014, 07:02 AM)
So, i7 is not really needed? but I forgot to mention that, my working desktop and gaming desktop will be the same one.
photoshop, autocad, 3d things and a lots of editing. Well, my budget is around 5K(lower than that if could)
If you also use it for heavy rendering works, i7/Xeon is a worth upgrade over i5 too. Just that it didn't play much role on gaming most of the time.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 14 2014, 12:06 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 14 2014, 10:29 AM)
I guess its better to wait until next month's CNY promotions ^^,
If there are promotion, it should had started already...

Also, I doubt PC components will had had much cheap promotion...

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.8988sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:57 PM