[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

SUSHuman10
post Jan 6 2014, 08:40 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 6 2014, 08:34 PM)
Guys do you need oc build to run or support dual sli or cf??? Like dual r9 290 or gtx 770? Thinking of i7 4770k if need oc build. I7 4770 if not.  And what should i consider for psu???

Gonna use the rig for ultra setting for gaming... plus beginner use of photo, music, and video editing....
AFAIK, no need. Just get a board with multiple PCIE x16 slots and support SLI/Crossfire (check the specs of mobo, it will mention).

Also, if you not going to overclock, you can always get a Xeon, which is very similar to i7 4770, but cheaper by RM100+.

If you going to crossfire 2x r9 290, 750W is the minimum requirements recommended. Though, it is advisable to get a 850W to be safe. Again, make sure you get those proper PSU that supply true power and have adequate level of efficiency.

SUSHuman10
post Jan 6 2014, 08:48 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 6 2014, 08:45 PM)
Thanks guys! I did considered non-reference R9 290 at one point and I'm really impressed with the performance shown in reviews, however I'm still leaned towards the green camp.. guess it's the bad impression that the red left me with when I gave it a try last time laugh.gif
But R9 290 and 770 much different in performance yoh. Can up as much as over 20% different.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 6 2014, 08:49 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 6 2014, 08:54 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Jan 6 2014, 08:52 PM)
Well other mobo than the Z87 chipset do support dual card setup like Asrock H87 Performance (though it only support amd crossfire). So yeah better get a Z87 chipset mobo if you want to do multiple card configuration.

For cpu , any will do, if you don't want to oc just get the intel xeon E3 1230 V3 which is cheaper than theĀ  4770. Though since you have the z87 mobo why not top a bit and get the 4770k. Its up to you.

For PSU, a good 750W psu should be ok. Seasonic psu is usually the best , if you're on a budget try look at Seasonic M12 620W semi-modular or the new Seasonic S12G-750. Rosewill Capstone 750M is also a good buy.
Pushing 2 R9 290 and a Xeon with a 620W is a little too over isn't it? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 6 2014, 08:55 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 6 2014, 09:02 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 6 2014, 08:58 PM)
Well it's definitely interesting at that price point.. and seems that Asus DCUii R9 290 just appeared not too long ago, wonder if it'll reach here soon. :/

http://videocardz.com/48622/asus-radeon-r9...-ii-oc-detailed
If you can push up the extra price different (since it is an asus, be ready to chunk out more), then you are fine to go ahead.

Alternatively, there are saphire tri X 290 at only RM1699. brows.gif
SUSHuman10
post Jan 6 2014, 09:14 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Jan 6 2014, 09:12 PM)
Guys! I just realized something..
Is it just me, that Leadtek only made nvidia gpu?
So funny don't know this whole time.. biggrin.gif
And what if I told yar Sapphire only made AMD? whistling.gif

Zotac, Palit and Gainward also only Nvidia.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 6 2014, 09:16 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 6 2014, 09:19 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 6 2014, 09:17 PM)
Some Manufacturers like Asus and Sapphire etc prefer the Green Camp/Red Camp or either one! tongue.gif
Asus, Gigabyte and MSI both are mix mix one. biggrin.gif
SUSHuman10
post Jan 6 2014, 09:29 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jan 6 2014, 09:22 PM)
Actually Zotac/Sapphire are under same comapny, Zotac belong to PC Partner, & Sapphire is the sister company of PC Partner
Hmmm, nice facts. thumbup.gif

Inb4 illusion of choices, owai.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 6 2014, 09:30 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 6 2014, 11:51 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(freakyleon93 @ Jan 6 2014, 11:41 PM)
How does 3D work?
If I have a graphics card that can support 3D, do I need a 3D monitor?
Or I need both the 3D monitor + graphics card that can support 3D to work?
3D content + 3D capable GPU + 3D capable monitor + 3D glass + 3D signal transmitter

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 6 2014, 11:52 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 7 2014, 03:05 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(freakyleon93 @ Jan 7 2014, 01:45 PM)
for those who are interested.
Tech armory SS15
selling U2312HM @ RM540  drool.gif
I don't think it is still available, you double checked with them already?
SUSHuman10
post Jan 7 2014, 08:44 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 7 2014, 08:34 PM)
Human10 if I were to swap out that green piece with that red piece, do you think that it'll be fine for my PSU? That performance jump at that price is kinda... attractive drool.gif

Type Current Planned Cost
CPU Core 2 Duo E8400 Core i5 4670K $739.00
Motherboard ASUS P5Q SE PLUS Asrock Z87 Extreme4 $520.00
RAM 2 GB X 3 (it's Odd tongue.gif) CORSAIR DDR3 1600 8GB $240.00
GPU Leadtek 450 GTS ASUS GTX 770 OC DirectCU IISAPPHIRE TRI-X R9 290 4GB GDDR5 OC(UEFI) $1,399.00 $1,699.00
PSU SILVERSTONE ST60F-P 600W - -
HDD Plextor M5S 256GB - -
CASING Cooler Master CM690 - -
- - TOTAL $3,198.00
Should be OK, IINM, last time Goldfries or someone else once posted some article that even R9 290 paired with overclocked AMD CPU, it still consume under 500W.

Wait I digging it out.

Found it, it is Chocobo's post.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=65486230

Here is Goldfries' statement on it.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=64503212

It should be a fit within the acceptable range.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 7 2014, 09:02 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 7 2014, 09:07 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 7 2014, 08:42 PM)
sori la boss.. I macam x berapa suka la that Xeon one for some reasonn.. maybe i wont fully utilize the 4670, but i think it feels good la to have such a processor.

about mobo, i really dunno if i need anything better than something that can basically support my gpu, processor, and have enuf usb3.0 portsĀ  sweat.gif sum more im trying to lower my budget~

pricy ah my ram? becoz if i look value ram also, like not much difference for same speed.. like rm30 sth only lower...

ohh purpose ah! i think i never mention also tongue.gif This is going to be my first gaming rig. Really want to try play games like Bioshock Infinite, Metro, DOTA 2, Walking Dead, Asassins Creed etc I'm also using my pc for casual video editing. thats why previously opted for an 8 core amd fx processor. But then again, I see power consumption too high sad.gif

about GPU, nvmind lah. I use this one first. Later can upgrade sum more la. thanks for all your suggestions!
ooh ya ka.. thats why.. my friend also told me juz get that version first. I also pull my hair about OS price whether to okay with that kind of cost or not.

I see I see. thank u ah!
Xeon is having more threads than i5, and more suitable to be used for heavy rendering, editing and modeling task over i5.
http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Xeon-E3-1230...el-Core-i5-4670

Also, you can actually lower quite a lot of your budget by downgrading the CPU a little. The performance different is minimal but you save over hundred bucks.
http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i5-4670...el-Core-i5-4570
http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/430/Intel...i5_i5-4670.html

RM30 saved from RAM and RM100 saved from CPU can actually do pretty much stuffs already.

TL;DR: I don't find i5 4670 a good stopping point for CPU, especially at the price quoted (RM715). Explanation:
1. i5 4440 is good for being the cheapest i5. Though, it is clocked quite significantly lower than other i5, it won't gonna affect your gaming experience much. Working wise, I believe it can do what other i5 can do also.
2. i5 4570 is also considerable option, for that the price bump over 4440 is around RM40 only. You get up to averagely 6-9% better performance at only RM40, worth it IMO.
http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/425/Intel...i5_i5-4570.html
3. i5 4670k is also an option to consider, for which it is the only unlocked i5 (haswell) out there, thus it has it's own unique market and resale value.
4. Xeon is also worth it. As it lies in between i5 and i7. You get near the performance of i7 at a cheaper price tag. 8 threads are only available for Xeon and i7.

Again, since play games are among your main concern, better GPU is always more recommended over better CPU.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 7 2014, 09:32 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 8 2014, 07:22 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 8 2014, 06:36 PM)
Oh so i7 4770 and xeon E3 is released at the same year? What is better? Well e3 is around 100rm cheaper than i7. If i7 is better, i wouldnt mind adding a hundred for better cpu. And sifus i will refrain from oc build so i will not overclock any of the components that i plan to get...
And mobo i think im good on z87 coz i want it to be flexible...meaning so i can change or upgrade from red to greed or green to red cf or sli ^^, but in the future lah so sifus does my future rig good to go or still need some modifications? I just want it to serve me a couple of years in minor editing and hard core gaming in high-ultra setting... and ofcourse plenty of room for future upgrading ^^,
Both 4770 and E3 are of haswell (2013) architecture, which is still Intel's latest offering (broadwell coming soon in another few month time, but it isn't a concern here).

IMO, the "better" is negligible here. You get 0.1Ghz faster clock rate and IGP (integrated graphic, HD4600) for the RM100+, which isn't worth in our opinion. It will be another story if you say you gonna be overclock the CPU, then no choice but to top up and get a i7 4770k (and also a Z77 board). But again, you said you won't be overclock, so it isn't really a concern to you. Xeon is good enough.

If you want hard core gaming in high-ultra setting, better save as much as you can from CPU, MOBO, RAM and so on, so you can get the most powerful GPU that is within your budget (minimumly a R9 280x)..

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 8 2014, 07:23 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 9 2014, 02:34 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 9 2014, 01:29 AM)
Guys idealtech have cm v1000 priced at rm679. 5 years warranty. Overpriced? Or not? And guys should i get like CM V1000 psu now already for single r9 290 tri x or i should just get another psu from the time i will do cf? Because planning to cf it also maybe at the end of this year?....
It is Viewnet that is underpriced. laugh.gif

Also, I sure there are still room for more negotiation on the price if you are spending a lot from them.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 9 2014, 02:35 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 9 2014, 02:38 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 9 2014, 02:35 AM)
I noticed almost all monitors including dell u2312 is 1920x1080 @ 60Hz... where can i see monitors with 1080p @ around 100+ Hz???
Easy way is to spot those "3D ready" monitors. It normally will had over 100Hz refresh rate.

SUSHuman10
post Jan 9 2014, 04:09 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 9 2014, 03:18 PM)
Is that 100 or 1K?Monitor doesn't cost 100.. sweat.gif

CPU:intel xeon e1230 v3 3.3 ghz RM779
MOBO:Asrock b85M Pro4 RM279
GPU:Sapphire R9 280X Toxic 3GB DDR5 RM1299
RAM:Corsair 16GB DDR3 1600mhz RM478
HDD:WD Caviar blue 1TB RM189
SSD:Plextor M5S 128GB RM319
Casing:CM K380 RM149
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ bronze 620W
Monitor:Viewsonic VX2370SMH 23' RM549
Total:RM4091
Prices from Viewnet.

If can't topup RM91,just get Sapphire R9 280X vapor-x 3GB DDr5 RM1199. tongue.gif
I think he mean budget RM4k, with a maximum variance of +RM100.

Your built is probably the best within his budget.

Also, he might need an ODD or may be OS?
SUSHuman10
post Jan 9 2014, 06:58 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 9 2014, 06:54 PM)
CPU:Intel Core i5 4440 3.1 Ghz RM574
MOBO:Asrock b85M Pro4 RM279
GPU:Leadtek GTX760 OC 2GB DDR5 RM949
RAM:corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189
Casing:CM K380 RM149
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM149
Total:RM2528
Prices frim Viewnet.
You din' need monitor?
If 2.5K is really your max..get Leadtek GTX760 2GB DDr5 RM849 for GPU and get intel Core i5 4570 3.2 Ghz RM619 for the CPU instead.. tongue.gif
There are also Zotac, Gainward and Palit that having non-reference GTX760 under RM900.

Also, most of the reference GTX760 is only at RM799. brows.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 9 2014, 06:59 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 10 2014, 02:54 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 10 2014, 05:33 AM)
Ei guys do i need an extra cpu cooler or any cooler if i will not overclock? Cpu would be i7 4770k
LOL, why are you getting an i7 4770k in the first place if you are not overclocking? sweat.gif
SUSHuman10
post Jan 10 2014, 02:57 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(motel266 @ Jan 10 2014, 12:39 PM)
recommend me amd or intel gaming rig for budget rm800.
tq
800 is pretty impossible to get a "gaming" rig (even for office rig, it is already very hard).
4GB RAM + 1TB HDD already took RM300+ already.

May be you can look around in garage sale and see if you are lucky enough to find 2nd hand rig on the cheap.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 10 2014, 02:57 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 10 2014, 03:24 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 10 2014, 03:21 PM)
I mean 4770 non k of course lol ^^,
Not needed, but if you have the budget, it is always welcomed.

Some ppl are complaining that i7 with stock fan is pretty hot on idle (50+ degree celcius). It isn't really an issue, but if you are paranoid, you can get a better cooler.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 10 2014, 03:50 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(motel266 @ Jan 10 2014, 03:41 PM)
need help my fren as rig for office designing rig thx

Budget]

[Purpose]
multitasking, adobe ilustrator,photoshop,indesign,primer. . rig that can handle high res pic. designing

[Personal preferences]
need casing with 4 front usb ports
CPU - Xeon (779)
RAM - 16GB (468)
MOBO - Asrock H85M Pro4 (279)
HDD - WD Blue 1TB + Plextor 128GB SSD (189 + 319)
PSU - FSP Hexa 500W (149)
Casing - no idea, but should be under RM200 (200)
GPU - Zotac GTX760 (899)

Total - RM3282

The remaining budget may be useful to get on expansion cards for more USB slots, wifi or may be larger size SSD.

Regarding your 4 fron's usb ports' need, there actually are some expansion card/panel for that, so it won't be an issues for any case. Things like this,
http://global.pchome.com.tw/?mod=item&func...42&ROWNO=9&tm=u

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 10 2014, 03:55 PM

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0489sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:27 AM