8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

SUSHuman10
post Jan 14 2014, 12:15 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Psychosis @ Jan 14 2014, 11:27 AM)
CPU:Intel Xeon 1230 v3 RM 779
MOBO: ASROCK H87 Fatal1ty RM 399
GPU : Leadtek GTX770 4GB DDRR5 RM 1349
RAM: Corsair 1x8GB Value 1600 DDR3 -RM279
SSD : Plextor M5S 128GB RM319
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM 189
PSU: Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM 359
Casing:  Aerocool Xpredator X1 RM 199
ODD: Lite On DVD RM60
Price from viewnet.

TOTAL : RM 3932

Budget RM 4k.

1) Should I go for i7-4770 for the IGP or just go for xeon? Do I really need that Intel quick sync?  rclxub.gif

2) Do I need that mobo or just go for cheaper mobo?

3) GPU ( Any better suggestion?Are AMD R9 290 are loud and hot ? )

4) Will the casing fits the card and every component nicely ?

Hope sifu here can shed some light on this build.  notworthy.gif

Thanks in advance.  rclxms.gif
Xeon is good.

Mobo can be cheaper. That price already close to a z87 price dy...

As always, R9 290 is the better choice. The non-reference one (RM1699) should had no noise or heat problem. If you can afford to top up that much, then even a R9 280x toxic can be better than the GTX 770.

casing i no idea
SUSHuman10
post Jan 14 2014, 12:16 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(green_algae @ Jan 14 2014, 11:31 AM)
780Ti or Tri -X  r9 290?
Different tier things. 780TI is compared to R9 290x.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 14 2014, 12:20 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 14 2014, 12:07 PM)
I don't think other shops will do "Kangkung" promo like what IdealTech is doing! biggrin.gif
Regarding sales, I just came across this.
http://global.pchome.com.tw/?mod=item&func...3V&ROWNO=9&tm=u

4GB DDR3 1333 RAM for only 800NTD (need to convert to USD using paypal).

The shipping is 10USD flat rate as long as under 3kg.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 14 2014, 12:26 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Psychosis @ Jan 14 2014, 12:20 PM)
1)Usage more on gaming but since xeon is only slightly expensive than i5 might as well just go for it ? Or stick with i5 for intel quick sync ?

2)Asrock H87 Pro4 sounds good.

2)Regarding gpu I have heard that amd gpu are hot and loud and not stable due to driver issue so gonna stick with nvidia.

3)SSD  Is samsung ssd any better than plextor m5s?

4)That carbide is awesome but will aerocool xpredator x1 fits those harware nicely?

Thanks.  notworthy.gif
Yup, if you never consider to overclock, Xeon is the better choice over i5 for the 8 threads, which is more productive in some works and gaming in future.

The hot and loud issues are because they are using the reference card. Non-reference cards won't had such issues. 770 is a huge gaps from 290 in term of performance different. If you can afford a non-reference 290, then it is the best way to go.

Samsung's SSD is generally good in reliability.

SUSHuman10
post Jan 14 2014, 12:36 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Psychosis @ Jan 14 2014, 12:32 PM)
Any recommendation for non-reference r9 290x card? budget for gpu alone will be RM 1.5k~1.8k

Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB GDDR5 RM1699 (IdealTech)?
That is pretty much the only non-reference 290 you can find out there.

SUSHuman10
post Jan 14 2014, 12:41 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jan 14 2014, 12:38 PM)
Another option is Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce OC 4GB RM 1650.00, feiton has stock.

Photo from feiton FB
Hmm, obamanotbad.jpg
SUSHuman10
post Jan 14 2014, 12:43 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jan 14 2014, 12:41 PM)
Not really, Sapphire using reference PCB+custom cooler whereby Gigabyte using non-reference PCB+ custom cooler
Do they voltage lock their card this time?

Cause last time I search around, quite a lot of ppl complaining that gigabyte's 280x is voltage locked.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 14 2014, 01:17 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Psychosis @ Jan 14 2014, 01:07 PM)
Still not confident enough with AMD driver lol or just top up for gtx780? rclxub.gif

CPU:Intel xeon 1230 v3  RM 779
Mobo:Asrock H87 Pro4 RM 319
GPU:Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB GDDR5 RM1699 (IdealTech) /  Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce OC 4GB RM 1650.00 / Leadtek gtx 770 RM 1349
RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239
SSD:Plextor m5s 128gb RM319
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299
Casing:Aerocool xpredator x1  RM199
Total:RM4042(sapphire r9 290 tri-x)
Prices from Viewnet

Thanks for all the replies.
thumbup.gif
I will say give it a try first, don't like then put it in garage sale. tongue.gif

SUSHuman10
post Jan 15 2014, 07:20 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(coolrukia_94 @ Jan 14 2014, 11:41 PM)
is it possible to get i5 instead with this kind of budget?? can rec few other mobos?? thank you smile.gif
Unless you don't need a GPU, you can't get an i5 with 1.5k.

But according to the games you play, you may not need a dedicated GPU also. The built in iGPU of i5 should be enough for some light gaming.

As for mobo, it should be the cheapest 1150 socket board already...

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 15 2014, 10:08 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 15 2014, 10:10 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 15 2014, 07:46 AM)
Sifu? If not going to overclock what is good cpu??? And mobo? Pref is...intel ^^,
I thought we told you countless time already? rclxub.gif

Xeon is the best in term of bang for bucks. If you don't need that much computing power, the cheapest i5, 4440 is also fine enough for gaming.

As for mobo, a b85 is also fine enough. But if you have a little more to top up, a h87 will be even sweeter.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 15 2014, 10:12 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 15 2014, 11:05 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 15 2014, 11:04 AM)
Sifu sorry just feel so nervous ^^, so no need for z87 if no overclock?
Yea, b85 or h87 can do.
http://ark.intel.com/compare/75010,75007,7...016,75004,75013

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 15 2014, 11:12 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 15 2014, 11:18 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 15 2014, 11:17 AM)
Xeon + h87 pro4 + r9 290 tri x + m12 II 750w? Good to go??
Pretty fine. Solid enough.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 15 2014, 01:13 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 15 2014, 11:45 AM)
Thanks ^^, so this one no more overclock in the future... but can use for minor editing and autocad softwates right?
More than enough.

Just that the amount of ram depend on how heavy the task you are doing.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 15 2014, 11:20 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(otoko1 @ Jan 15 2014, 08:06 PM)
thank you, any suggestion more?  rclxms.gif
What is the minimum GPU requirement of your MMORPG?

Cause if really no such need, you might as well consider using the iGPU of Intel and use the extra budget for SSD.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 17 2014, 04:36 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 17 2014, 01:32 PM)
so i need to change my mother board, my processor, in order to achieve higher graphic speed to my game?
lol is there any good platform to sell off my old parts like any specific shops or topics in lowyat forum that does it?
Actually, you can try and upgrade the GPU alone first and see if the performance is bottlenecks by the CPU or not.

If not, then no need to waste money to get whole new mobo and CPU.

If yes, then is it severe? If still bare able, might as well wait till this year end or next year for the release of new CPU and DDR4.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 17 2014, 04:54 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 17 2014, 04:46 PM)
GPU, meaning graphic processing unit? graphic card? So for my rig now i can try to change my graphic card and see if my motherboard can tahan?
But for current setup, whenever i play high graphic games, my com started to have loud noises already, fan noises, like as if it's running at maximum capacity, is that normal? then apart from graphic card what else should i change to improve that ?

and for graphic card, based on my current, what is recommended, to say play games like BF4 in highest reso etc.

Btw, thanks guys for all the quick response, really appreciate it.
Yar, GPU is graphic processing unit, normally known as graphic card.

It not mean whether your mobo can tahan, but whether the mobo and CPU will be able to let your new GPU show it's full power. You try to get a new GPU and install it on your current rig first and see if it's capability is limited due to the dated CPU and mobo.

Yup, the fan spin fast and loud is quite normal when under high load. Besides you also need to make sure whether the is dust coated on the fan or heat sink or whether the thermal paste is still in good shape. Since your rig is quite old already, may be you can remove the CPU heatsink to do some clean up and reapply a new layer of thermal compound too.

For the recommendation of GPU, we will recommend you a minimum of GTX 760. But of course, if you having extra few hundreds to top up, R9 280x will be a even sweeter choice, especially you are playing bf4, which amd card should had a lead over nvidia.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 17 2014, 05:00 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 17 2014, 05:03 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 17 2014, 04:59 PM)
R9 280x is good? any better? or this is the most recommended money for value and good performance graphic cards?
There are so many brands available.. which one am i actually looking at?
Thanks?
Yar, r9 280x is good. Pretty solid performance for its price.

Of course r9 290 will be even better but a non-reference 290 is around 50% more pricy compared to a 280x.

The most powerful 280x is the toxic version by sapphire. Beside that, all others are pretty much the same, just choose whichever that is cheaper or come with the longest warranty.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 17 2014, 06:17 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 17 2014, 05:12 PM)
okay interested in getting that now, but how do i know if it fits into my casing or not? some say it's oversized..i would like to check first before i buy....and..where to buy hehe..amazon or lowyat cheaper?

okay just found out that the required power is 750w minimum, guess i'll upgrade that one first?
Oh sorry, I missed out on the size and psu issue.

For the psu, a seasonic 620w should be enough for the r9 280x.

As for the size, I assume your current case is those generic case and might be too small for the king 280x toxic. Better measure the dimension of the space clearance for your current case first.

As for where to get, local should be the priority in getting GPU as long as the price different is not too much off the international pricing. Cause GPU is something that may fail from time to time, so you might want to have a reliable warranty policy for it.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 17 2014, 06:19 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 18 2014, 01:32 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 18 2014, 01:06 AM)
What is the best gpu for rm500 sifu? Cant see it in google so have to ask sifus around....
GTX 650TI Boost, price range from rm499 to RM559, depend on whether 1gb or 2gb.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 18 2014, 01:40 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Paradice @ Jan 18 2014, 12:15 AM)
Hi Sifus, could you please assist me in building a rig?  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

Thanks!

[Budget]

[Purpose]
Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
nada

[Monitor resolution]
1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
the rig is for the next-gen games and some future-proofing

[Personal preferences]
Nvidia fanboy here.  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  prefer to cap ram at 8gb and place more budget on the gpu.

[Location]
PJ/KL
Is it really a must to go with nvidia? Cause if within your budget, amd may have the better solution.

GTX 770 is quite pricy locally, and for similar amount of money, you can even get 280x or 290 from amd.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0441sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:19 PM