[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

SUSHuman10
post Jan 18 2014, 11:01 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 18 2014, 03:05 AM)
Human10 is that winfast LT GT650Ti??? Uhmm i presume that 2gb is better than 1gb? Can u play latest game title with no lag? Medium or high setting?
Yar, leadtek winfast.

2gb not really more powerful than 1gb, but as average game VRAM requirement start to push above that, 2gb may be more long lasting.

Medium should be possible for most games. High I think is too much for more modern games like bf4 already.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 18 2014, 11:10 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 18 2014, 11:06 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 18 2014, 10:19 AM)
Uhhm... gigabyte gtx650Ti boost? Is that asus? Leadtech? Msi? Cant seem to find gigabyte from idealtech... sad.gif
Since it is a low mid end card, heat is pretty much not a problem.

Just get a leadtek winfast one should do.

Idealtech is selling 2gb version at RM539 b4, not sure bout now.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 18 2014, 11:08 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 18 2014, 02:28 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 18 2014, 01:40 PM)
Hmm both would be slightly over my budget..
is there a slightly lower range? which have good cooler system too
Cheapest r9 280x is at rm1-1.1k iinm.

Other than that you can downgrade to a non-reference GTX 760 (range from rm900 to 1k++). But naturally, it's performance is a tier under 280x.

As for psu, we always don't recommend to skimp on it, as it is a vital part of a rig. But if you insist, some ppl here recommend about a 650w FSP unit that cost around RM250 iinm, have a check bout that.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 18 2014, 02:38 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 18 2014, 11:54 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 18 2014, 11:51 PM)
Sifus how is performance of r9 270x toxic???
GTX 760 should be the better choice.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 19 2014, 12:03 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 18 2014, 11:56 PM)
Wat gtx760 sifu? Oc dual fun? Or the normal one?
Any non-reference 2GB one should do.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 19 2014, 02:28 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 19 2014, 10:55 AM)
Whoa...  That resolution... tongue.gif  Do you have a monitor already?  or you want to game at 20 inch resolution? sweat.gif
Note that the word 'upgradeable' is already obsolete... because Broadwell CPUs (the successor to the current Haswell CPU will require a brand new socket)
5 years is possible at this resolution, though bear in mind that there is no such thing as futureproofing.

Xeon E3-1230v3-RM789
ASUS B85M-G-RM285
Corsair 1x8GB Value 1600-RM239
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X-RM1699 *1
WD Caviar Blue 1TB-RM189
NZXT Phantom 410-RM325 *2
LiteOn DVD Writer-RM60
Seasonic S12II 620W-RM299
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB SSD-RM360
CM Hyper TX3 EVO-RM85

Total: RM4330

Prices from Viewnet, CyntrixTech@Garage Sales, lingloong@Garage Sales, Idealtech@Garage Sales and GBros@Garage Sales.

I have included a cheap CPU cooler for noise reduction... tongue.gif

*1: You may replace with Gigabyte's R9 290 Windforce 3X or MSI R9 290 Gaming, wherever you like them the most.
*2: Choosing a case is pretty subjective.  You may need to read up on some reviews and sample builds and pick the best one. tongue.gif

Note that you can pick up a LED addon for your case at pretty cheap price... about RM100 if I'm not mistaken.
I thought Broadwell is going to stay with the LGA 1150? hmm.gif
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Broadwell_%28...architecture%29
SUSHuman10
post Jan 20 2014, 05:25 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 20 2014, 01:28 PM)
Then i think i'll stick to R9 280x and seasonic PSU...
how much will it cost in total and any idea where can i get it cheap in malaysia?
Besides that..what's the standard procedures of wanting to sell older PSU / graphic cards here or anywhere in malaysia, nv done this before.
anyone have the physical R9 280x toxic edition and roughly know what's the size for it? need to do some measurement  rclxub.gif
It is written at their official site, accurate or not I not sure.
http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/p...?pid=2023&lid=1

Regarding the price, normally if you are getting from those large stores such as Viewnet and so on, and you are paying cash, you can try to nego for some discount. You just approach them and address your interest in the product, later ask them for best price if you are paying by cash.

For selling used PSU/Graphic cards, you can try it in Garage Sale subforum.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 20 2014, 05:30 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 20 2014, 05:41 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 20 2014, 05:40 PM)
Okay, i just saw Toxic R9 280x is about 1299 and Tri-X R9 290x is 1699, is that a huge jump in terms of performance? Definitely not the Tri-X OC because it's 2299, but if Tri-X R9 290x can last me for another good longer 1 more year i wouldn't mind payin more now. The comparison for performance + cooling for both? anyone?

Thanks !!
That is a 290 (non-X).

Technically speaking, 290 is more long lasting than 280x. As 280x is actually a rebrand of last flagship, 7970.

290 is using (new) Hawaii chip over 280x's (old) Tahiti, and is of course more powerful.

Though, 290 is not without flaw too, it is designed to work noisier and hotter. So ppl tend to recommend a non-reference 290 (such as the tri-x and others), for that it should work at a more bearable temperature and noise.

The performance different is over 10% IINM. And for temperature, as long as it is working at a temperature cool enough to not throttling the performance (and if possible, under 80C is recommendable too for better user experience), it should be fine. What I mean is that you no need to care too much such as 75C vs 80C sort of differences.

In short, I will say if you can afford, 290 tri-x shall be the better choice, for that it is more powerful. Though, if you can't, no need to worry much too, 280x (especially toxic) is still very powerful GPU.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 20 2014, 06:06 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 20 2014, 11:27 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 20 2014, 10:01 PM)
290 tri x meaning it costs about 1600....hmm..toxic seems to be out of stock everywhere..and i definitely need a new casing already.
If Toxic isn't available, you can settle for the cheapest 280x available and with the longest warranty.

Buying of GPU should go according to your affordability and needs.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 21 2014, 11:23 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(anuar_mlk001 @ Jan 21 2014, 10:51 AM)
thank you all... i'll appreciate all your commect...
i have no experience with pc.. now using laptop... i saw here many prefer intel than amd...
i always compare processor performance at Mr google laugh.gif
that's why i choose fx6300 6core than intel i3 2core...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Similar to the world of android, more cores not equal to more powerful.

Intel's processor is generally better performance per core. So unless you are running a program that utiliee the extra cores and threads, dual core intel still gonna win.
http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/351/AMD_F...i3_i3-4130.html

Also, in Malaysia, AMD's CPU is more overpriced as compared to Intel's. So even on the web they recommend fx6300 over i3, it may not be applicable in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 21 2014, 11:25 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 21 2014, 04:33 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 21 2014, 04:04 PM)
Okay guys i am almost done here..

Processor: Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard: ASUS P7P55-M
RAM: 4GB KINGSTON DDR3-1333 (2GBx2) Any changes required on this? do I need to upgrade to win 64bit and upgrade my ram to utilize the full performance of my graphic card?
Graphic Card: XFX HD5770 1GB D5 -> Sapphire R9 280x Toxic Edition
ROM: Lite-On 24X SATA DVDRW
Casing: Power Logic ATX -> Cooler Master Silencio 352 Matt
Speaker: Edifier M2300
HDD: Samsung EVO120GB
Power Supply: Silverstone 500W 80+ AFPC -> Seasonic S2II 620W Bronze

anymore recommendation?
then again, with so much changes, can my motherboard take it?
it feels like i'm actually changing whole PC, might as well as change my motherboard...
4gb of ram can be quite limiting nowadays, depending on your style of usage and multi tasking. and of course, if you planned to go over 4gb, you will need a 64bit OS to support it.

As for mobo, I don't think you need to change it, as changing it require you to change the CPU too, which can be very costly and the coming soon Broadwell make it even more not worth.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 21 2014, 05:34 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Physxzc @ Jan 21 2014, 04:51 PM)
i just got another ti boost yesterday at lowyat...still got few units left
Model and price?
SUSHuman10
post Jan 22 2014, 12:58 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 21 2014, 08:11 PM)
i finally gotten my hand on the toxic R9 280x rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  , boy it's really a devil and can't fit into my current casing.., now waiting for my new casing and seasonic 620W..
PRETTY PRETTY PRETTY SURE seasonic 620W is sufficient to power up?
For 280x, should be more than enough.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 22 2014, 01:16 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(AaronFPS @ Jan 22 2014, 12:15 AM)
[Budget] 3k

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Monitor resolution] -

[Games & softwares that use frequently]

[Personal preferences] 3k budget including monitor

[Location] KL
I5 4440 (579)
8GB value ram (239)
Asrock B85 (239)
WD Blue 1TB (189)
Sapphire R9 270 (679)
FSP Hexa 500w (149)
CM's case (149)
Monitor (499)
ODD (59)

Subtotal RM2.78k

The extra money can be used to get or buffer for better parts, which ever you need/prioritize:
Wireless card/dongle
Fans
OS
Better PSU
Better GPU
Better MOBO
Better CPU

SUSHuman10
post Jan 22 2014, 01:26 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 22 2014, 01:18 AM)
bro, pls help me too =(
I3 4130 (369)
4gb value ram (129)
Asrock B85 (239)
WD Blue 1TB (189)
AMD 7770 (399)
FSP Hexa 500w (149)
CM's case (149)
Viewsonic Monitor (499)
ODD (59)

Subtotal RM2.18k

If can't find 7770, then substitute with whichever GTX650 under the RM400 budget.

Keyboards and mouse to be add on seperately.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 22 2014, 01:29 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 22 2014, 01:27 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(AaronFPS @ Jan 22 2014, 01:24 AM)
R9 270 RM679 from which shop?
Quite a lot have them, Viewnet is one of them iinm.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 22 2014, 01:53 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 22 2014, 01:30 AM)
thx mate =D if want better performance have to improve on proc, gpu, rite?
Yar, but it is hard to push it higher with your budget, except may be you want to downgrade to a smaller HD screen.

The games and your usage don't really need too much power, hence my recommendation should still be valid and applicable.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 22 2014, 02:02 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 22 2014, 01:55 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 22 2014, 01:35 AM)
Has anyone here used Superflower PSUs before? Still can't decide on which 1000W model to get. Still stuck between Cooler Master V1000, Corsair RM1000, Seasonic X1050. Now people are recommending me Superflower Leadex and Silverstone. Aiks.  icon_question.gif
Afaik, super flower is a reputable PSU maker.

But they skimp on their lower end PSU by using subpar capacitor instead of the claimed japan capacitor, silently without informing.

As you are looking at their 1kW platinum model, I pretty sure it will be fine.

Also, if I am you, I will be getting the CM v1000 (better be fast as it is currently out of stock and being phrased out iinm), for that it is the cheapest one, yet made by a reputable oem - seasonic.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 22 2014, 01:58 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 23 2014, 01:31 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 22 2014, 03:09 PM)
need recommendation for chassis.

Budget around 200(max 250 if the perks are really really really good).

priority with good cooling system that will not overheat my system, and secondary noise cancellation, size doesn't matter.

I don't need a huge chassis, i only need a chassis that can fit 1-2 SDD, seasonic S12II 620W PSU, Sapphire Toxic R9 280x (my monster) with the length of 308mm, and the rest which are pretty standard.

Please don't find me any chassis with hdd-removable-via-removing-rivets because its a hassle because i don't have any tools that can remove it easily.

p.s. is it hard to shift the MOBO from 1 chassis to another?i'm a total noob here..
Moving of mobo with stock CPU cooler and ram on it won't be too hard a job.

But cable management can require some try to get it done nicely.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 23 2014, 01:38 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 22 2014, 09:03 PM)
oh. iz it good sir? to support my hd screen? but my friend told me sound card is a must. as it cost only rm49 each right?

whats the best alternative to sapphire 7850? based on the graph, its performance are on par with gtx660? is gtx660 a good card?

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/dota-2...ark,3481-6.html
Mobo has onboard soundcard, which more than enough for average users. A RM50 soundcard won't be any better than the onboard one, so don't waste your money for it.

If by HD you mean 720p, yeah, every GPU over rm300 can do the task (gaming) pretty nicely.

If you mean FHD, then the 650 TI boost or the 7790 can do the task, but when gaming on latest games, you may need to tune down the settings and details.

And the performance of the few cards goes like this.

7790<7850<650TIBoost<660

But the 7850 had a larger room for overclock over 650tiboost.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 23 2014, 01:47 AM

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0269sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:16 PM