[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

SUSHuman10
post Jan 23 2014, 11:31 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 23 2014, 04:31 AM)
thx a lot sifu. im just playing dota2, csgo, left4dead2, and pes. dats all i think. would 650 ti boost is more than capable to do the job? btw sifu, if my budget is around 500 to 600 for gpu. which one you would recommend to pair it with my i5 proc? which is the best for my rig?
650TI Boost is the best card you can get within your budget.

But actually, those games you stated is find to play with 7790 also. But getting a more powerful card just in case you are going to play more modern game can be a good choice too.
SUSHuman10
post Jan 23 2014, 11:33 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Jan 23 2014, 03:30 AM)
guys..
got HAF 912 for my rig..
and seasonic S2II 620W bronze to charge up my Toxic R9 280x..
everything run smooth..
but no visual
what could be the reason sad.gif
(i have tried using my friend's super flower golden king 1000..
and it works..but the graphic is horrible..and worse than my previous gc..still don't know why..
could it be my mobo bottleneck?

i have a major problem now..when i switch back to my old graphic card..my fps is always low and my ram is always used up..
but my graphic card is not running on maximum speed..what is the reason now?PSU?
Try reinstall the cards and drivers.

If non help, then try install your card in your friend's rig and see if it works. If not, you may had get a faulty unit.
SUSHuman10
post Feb 14 2014, 09:26 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(QwerwsQuad @ Feb 14 2014, 09:10 PM)
Hi guys. I'm planning to get a new rig soon. However, I'm not sure if I should go for Intel i5 4440 or Intel i5 4570 because I've heard 4440 has good perfomance while 4570 have a slightly good perfomance from i5 4440 itself plus it saves budget. So which one is good? I know the newer the better but yeah just want the knowledge biggrin.gif
The bigger the numbers/price tags, the better it is.
SUSHuman10
post Feb 15 2014, 04:06 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(fakhrul.fahmi @ Feb 15 2014, 07:39 AM)
proc - amd fx 6300
gpu - r7 260x
mobo - msi
hdd - 1tb wd blue
ram - 4gb corsair
psu+casing - armageddon+ 550watt

whih part i need to upgrade if i had 3k in my hand?
If you no particular reason to stick with AMD, Intel can be more efficient/powerful in most case.

260x is a little too weak in today's standard if you plan to play next gen's game (and under 3k budget, it is really too weak and you deserve something better).

8GB ram is more welcome than 4gb

get a proper psu

Just noticed that those are your currently available specs...

Upgrade list:
i5 + new mobo (include an aftermart cooler also if you are going to get an overclock CPU)
GTX760 and above
SSD
More RAM
A proper and better PSU (seasonic 620W and above)

As mentioned above, if you sell your current parts, you can opt for better parts.

This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 15 2014, 04:22 PM
SUSHuman10
post Feb 15 2014, 06:33 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Feb 15 2014, 05:45 PM)
Guys how I can upgrade my pc for better performance in games like bf4? Rm1k budget

Amd 955 be 3.8ghz
Hd6870
6gb ram
Seasonic 520w
Msi 870-g45
Sell your current graphic card and get a 280x (start at RM1k++), that will certainly helps.

P/S: That will mean a PSU upgrade too...

If really can't stretch that much, then can consider a GTX760 or R9 270, not the best but still ok for BF4 if you are willing to lower down the details and AA.

This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 15 2014, 06:40 PM
SUSHuman10
post Feb 15 2014, 07:07 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Feb 15 2014, 07:05 PM)
My monitor is only 1366x768 , actually I want to upgrade my cpu first, because it kinda bottlenecks my gpu, if I get a new gpu it will bottleneck it more imo
Erm ok.
SUSHuman10
post Feb 15 2014, 10:52 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(curaptz @ Feb 15 2014, 10:38 PM)
GPU 399 for hd7790???
i see jayacom rm 499
If not valid, then opt for Sapphire one at RM449.
SUSHuman10
post Feb 18 2014, 01:04 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(jimhorn @ Feb 18 2014, 12:19 AM)
CPU: Intel Core i5 4670 - RM689
Mobo: Asrock H87 Pro4 - RM319
RAM: Gskill Value Ram 1x8GB - RM269
GPU: Powercolor R9 290 PCS+ 4GB GDDR5 - RM1549
SSD: Samsung 840 Evo 240GB - RM589
HDD: WD Blue 1TB - RM189
PSU: Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W - RM299
ODD: Any dvd player - 60
Case: NZXT H230 - RM215
Cooler:

Total: RM4178
These are the adjustments I've made from a few suggestions by other people.
Is it OK?

And is it necessary to get a universal cooler for my rig?
If I am you, I won't be getting 4670, for which it is RM100 pricier over the 4440. I will either stick with 4440 or top up another RM100 to get a Xeon at RM780, even better multi task/thread performance.

A B85M is also pretty fine if you plan to cut a little budget and not really utilizing the Intel SRT of H87.

Corsair/Kingston RAM should be cheaper

As for 3rd party cooler, generally if you are not OC, the Intel stock cooler is enough.
SUSHuman10
post Feb 21 2014, 01:18 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Feb 20 2014, 10:50 AM)
hi all master shifu,

My Aunt want to replace her old acer cpu. she is interest on this Acer Aspire XC105 I have poison her to get custom build cpu  brows.gif

[Budget] - around 1k to 1.5k (would be great if can fit in a new monitor)

[Purpose] - casual use,web surfing,office job, and also 24 hours on for cctv recording/monitoring.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - keyboard,mouse,speaker

[Monitor resolution] bigger than her current 17" is best

[Games & softwares that use frequently] web surf, multitask, office use, cctv recording

[Personal preferences] anything

thanks shifu. thumbup.gif
Actually, for those non-tech savvy, get a 1k+ Dell prebuilt and extend the warranty long long can be more suitable option for them.
SUSHuman10
post Feb 21 2014, 01:37 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Feb 21 2014, 12:10 AM)
Can recommends a system since it been a long time i had not follow the hardware news, need to replace my aging 5 year old PC soon

[Budget] Around 1.5k

[Purpose] Mainly Gaming, multimedia editing and surfing

[Hardwares that will be re-use]  Monitor, keyboard, mouse, case(ATX) and WD 500GB Hard drive but considering buying a new hard drive since it like running for 5 year already.

[Monitor resolution] 20 inch Widescreen Monitor

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Mostly World of Tanks and some indie games because the old hardware limitation. Heavy on photoshop with occasion Illustrator and Adobe Premiere.

[Personal preferences] Medium to High settings on most game now and if possible have aftermarket CPU cooler

[Location] Perak but might drop to KL for getting the parts.
1.5k budget is too tight for all of that. And getting aftermarket cooler will not improve the performance but rather further decreasing your budget.

If I am you, and really must done within 1.5k, I will get an i5 rig w/o GPU as below.

i5 4440 (579)
4GB RAM (129)
B85 mobo (239)
Generic/CM case (1xx)
WD Blue 1TB (189)
FSP Hexa 500W (149)

Total = 1.4k++

I will live with the iGPU of Haswell for the time being till I get a separate budget for a decent GPU.

Cause if you insist on getting a GPU within the 1.5k budget, you will had to downgrade lots of part (i3, H81, HDD size and so on) and the end result is neither spectacular for gaming nor powerful for your multimedia editing needs.

This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 21 2014, 01:44 AM
SUSHuman10
post Feb 21 2014, 11:10 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Feb 21 2014, 10:39 AM)
Better upgrade the PSU first.
Intel Core i5 4440 RM579
Asrock H77 Performance motherboard RM379
G.Skill Aegis 1600MHz 4GB x2 RM279
Sapphire R9 290 Trixx 4GB RM1699
Antec Strictly VP-550W PSU RM219
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD RM189
Plextor M5S 128GB SSD RM289
Corsair Carbide 300R case RM269
Dell U2312HM IPS monitor RM569
Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59

Total - RM4530.00
Quite impossible to fit in a GTX770 with that budget.

Intel Core i5 4440 RM579
Asrock B81M-HDS RM179
Kingston KVR1600MHz 4GB RM129
Palit GTX660 2GB RM629
FSP Hexa 500W PSU RM149
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD RM189
Bitfenix Merc Alpha case RM129
Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59
Viewsonic VA2251 monitor RM415
Total - RM2457.00
If push his budget to the limit, he should be able to get a r9 270.
SUSHuman10
post Feb 21 2014, 07:05 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(pojiejapan @ Feb 21 2014, 03:06 PM)
If I up the budget to RM3000. Will it be sufficient?
CPU       :Intel Core i5-4570 3.2GHz Quad   RM619
MOBO    :Gigabyte H61M-DS2     RM189
RAM      :Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 RM129
GPU      :MSI R9 280x OC       RM1199
PSU      :SeaSonic S12II 620W 80+ Bronze Certified RM149
HDD      :Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM         RM189
Case      :NZXT H440 ATX Mid Tower    RM129
Monitor   :Viewsonice VA2251                                 RM415
DVDRW  :Liteon 24x                                                 RM59

Is the build above ok? RM3,077. But the CPU price might be different. How much different if we buy single CPU from store at lowyat? I have experience before. Not bundle price.
I5 4440 can save you a few bucks.

H81M mobo is what you are to look at, though it don't have pcie 3.0 and may be less ram slots too.

Corsair vengeance 4GB now minimumly RM155 per stick...

Your price list is actually very wrong. Add up the lists using Viewnet price show me over rm3.4k...

Even if I swap out the 4570, vengeance ram, mobo, 280x to cheaper parts, it still require rm3.2k for a i5 +280x rig.

So, if you insist on getting 280x, you gonna downgrade i5 to i3. If you insist on i5, gonna downgrade 280x to 760. If you stay on 2.5k budget, gonna downgrade ram to 4gb.

This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 21 2014, 07:21 PM
SUSHuman10
post Feb 22 2014, 01:36 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 22 2014, 01:30 AM)
I think we'll need to see the prices of reference cards... the current price of 750Ti is dangerously close to a R9 270 (RM80 difference)...
I think it is as always, MY's Nvidia card are being price jacked, which resulting a the price getting close to next tier card of red camp.

It's RRP (in US) is still quite reasonable.
http://www.lowyat.net/2014/02/nvidia-offic...-in-the-market/
SUSHuman10
post Feb 24 2014, 10:52 AM

6,774 posts

akib_mullen

1. Try get minimumly an i3 for a gaming rig. Though if the i3 there is relatively pricier than AMD FX series, then you can consider FX6350 also, it is relatively cheaper compared to i3 in US, not sure bout UK though.

2. The mobo is for 2nd/3rd gen Intel's processor. Nowadays ppl is using 4th gen processor - Haswell, so get a LGA1150 mobo instead.

3. Squeezing a SSD in a 2k budget can compromise your budget and resulting lower end parts for the remaining parts. If possible, raise up your budget or dump the SSD for the time being.

4. For small parts such as RAM and so on, you may consider buying from online. This is a pretty good Taiwan's online store (some parts is often cheaper in Taiwan) and their shipping is relatively cheaper. Though, I not too sure how the import/tax system in UK works, so do your own homework first before pulling the trigger.
http://global.pchome.com.tw/sign/3c.htm

This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 24 2014, 10:55 AM
SUSHuman10
post Feb 26 2014, 01:32 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Alfsaw @ Feb 25 2014, 04:44 PM)
Hey guys, need a rough quotation for a rig for my dad. Budget is roughly rm2000.

No need monitor or other peripherals. Just the Rig. Put in everything thats worth it for a general/daily use PC.
+1 for this, as i3 is more than enough for office/daily works, and iGPU of i3 is also capable for playing videos, +SSD will be quite helpful for office/daily rigs.
QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 25 2014, 05:11 PM)
CPU:Intel Core i3 4130 3.4Ghz RM369
Mobo:Asus B85M-G RM279
RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM149
Casing:CM K380 RM149
ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59
SSD:Samsung 840 Evo 240GB RM589
Total:RM2022
Prices are from Viewnet. smile.gif

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top