Nexus 5 [V2], The Google Flagship

SUScarbike
post Nov 14 2013, 03:35 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Nov 14 2013, 03:31 PM)
Where did you get wifi at medium brightness? Also what is medium brightness? Different panel has different brightness.

I'd wait for anandtech's review that standardized all screen test at 200nits.
http://www.gsmarena.com/gsmarena_lab_tests-review-751p6.php

Battery life
In gauging battery life, it's hard to perfect a methodology that lets you cover all of the various use scenarios without having to test for weeks on end. Whether it be display, audio quality, or camera, the goal with all of our tests is not only to provide you with the clearest, most comprehensive examination of a particular device, but to also provide it to you in a timely manner. Our battery test is no exception.

With each battery test you'll see four different numbers, each reflecting different types of battery-consuming activities. The test revolves around three basic tasks, which we feel are most commonly performed by smartphone users: making calls, browsing the web and playing video.

The first test is the talk time test, which measures how long it takes to deplete the battery by making voice calls. Bearing in mind that most screens automatically turn off during a call, we've made sure our set up accounts for this. We close all applications which may further strain the battery, too.

The web browsing test is performed using an automated script which reloads a webpage every ten seconds. There are no flash elements on the web pages, so the playing field is even. The brightness of the phones' displays is set to 50% and we use a Wireless N router placed a few meters away to get full connectivity bars.

In our video playback test we measure how long it takes for a device to run its fully charged battery down to 10%, while looping a standard-definition video. We stop at 10% since most devices shut their video players at this point. The display is again set to 50%, and all radios on the device are switched off (Airplane mode).

Finally, our overall longevity rating gives you an idea of how much battery backup you can get on a single charge. A score of 40h means that you'll need to fully charge once every 40 hours if you do one hour of 3G calls, one hour of video playback and one hour of web browsing daily. Essentially, it's an aggregated and normalized score, which factors in the three mentioned tests along with the real-life standby power consumption, which we also measure.

This post has been edited by carbike: Nov 14 2013, 03:36 PM
Ahmaz
post Nov 14 2013, 03:38 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(carbike @ Nov 14 2013, 03:35 PM)
http://www.gsmarena.com/gsmarena_lab_tests-review-751p6.php

Battery life
In gauging battery life, it's hard to perfect a methodology that lets you cover all of the various use scenarios without having to test for weeks on end. Whether it be display, audio quality, or camera, the goal with all of our tests is not only to provide you with the clearest, most comprehensive examination of a particular device, but to also provide it to you in a timely manner. Our battery test is no exception.

With each battery test you'll see four different numbers, each reflecting different types of battery-consuming activities. The test revolves around three basic tasks, which we feel are most commonly performed by smartphone users: making calls, browsing the web and playing video.

The first test is the talk time test, which measures how long it takes to deplete the battery by making voice calls. Bearing in mind that most screens automatically turn off during a call, we've made sure our set up accounts for this. We close all applications which may further strain the battery, too.

The web browsing test is performed using an automated script which reloads a webpage every ten seconds. There are no flash elements on the web pages, so the playing field is even. The brightness of the phones' displays is set to 50% and we use a Wireless N router placed a few meters away to get full connectivity bars.

In our video playback test we measure how long it takes for a device to run its fully charged battery down to 10%, while looping a standard-definition video. We stop at 10% since most devices shut their video players at this point. The display is again set to 50%, and all radios on the device are switched off (Airplane mode).

Finally, our overall longevity rating gives you an idea of how much battery backup you can get on a single charge. A score of 40h means that you'll need to fully charge once every 40 hours if you do one hour of 3G calls, one hour of video playback and one hour of web browsing daily. Essentially, it's an aggregated and normalized score, which factors in the three mentioned tests along with the real-life standby power consumption, which we also measure.
The issue here is 50% on a Nexus 5 is different to 50% on another phone. The baseline for brightness comparison should be measured in the nits (200 as mentioned before)

SUScarbike
post Nov 14 2013, 03:40 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Ahmaz @ Nov 14 2013, 03:38 PM)
The issue here is 50% on a Nexus 5 is different to 50% on another phone. The baseline for brightness comparison should be measured in the nits (200 as mentioned before)
don;t shoot the messenger doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
mwirs77
post Nov 14 2013, 03:50 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 14 2013, 01:32 PM)
Depend on your luck sometimes. I have import in 5 times phones from UK n USA n only twice holdup by customs n need apply sirim. The other 3 times arrived safely without package being opened
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Ahh.. then they still hope for me..
gmhafiz
post Nov 14 2013, 04:00 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

As I suspected, gsmarena tests are not scientific at all. Should take with a pinch of salt.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 14 2013, 04:17 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Nov 14 2013, 03:31 PM)
Where did you get wifi at medium brightness? Also what is medium brightness? Different panel has different brightness.

I'd wait for anandtech's review that standardized all screen test at 200nits.
Seriously, you don't need Anadtech's review o know that Nexus 5's battery life will be average.Or crap like some people would say.
KoYuKii
post Nov 14 2013, 04:20 PM

1,979 posts

so what u guys think izit right time to get the US set coz i dont need LTE connection.

plz advice
Andrew_1980
post Nov 14 2013, 04:20 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(carbike @ Nov 14 2013, 03:15 PM)
As expected, nexus phone stay true to its reputation  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

shocking.gif 4 Hours OST only?!
SUScarbike
post Nov 14 2013, 04:24 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Nov 14 2013, 04:20 PM)
shocking.gif 4 Hours OST only?!
almost 5 hours
apparently the the extra 25% larger battery helped LG G2 to get 100% better battery life hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

3000 mAH + 5.2" fHD screen + S800 chipset = 11 hours web browing [LG G2]
2300 mAH + 5" fHD screen + S800 chipset = 5 hours web browsing [Nexus 5]
Andrew_1980
post Nov 14 2013, 04:26 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(carbike @ Nov 14 2013, 04:24 PM)
almost 5 hours
apparently the the extra 25% larger battery helped LG G2 to get 100% better battery life  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

3000 mAH + 5.2" fHD screen + S800 chipset = 11 hours web browing [LG G2]
2300 mAH + 5" fHD screen + S800 chipset = 5 hours web browsing [Nexus 5]
Double leh wtf doh.gif vmad.gif
SUScarbike
post Nov 14 2013, 04:28 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Nov 14 2013, 04:26 PM)
Double leh wtf doh.gif  vmad.gif
I think it's the Kit Kat hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
LongLastFX
post Nov 14 2013, 04:30 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(KoYuKii @ Nov 14 2013, 04:20 PM)
so what u guys think izit right time to get the US set coz i dont need LTE connection.

plz advice
u already have the answer for yourself. no point other give opinion. whistling.gif
Ahmaz
post Nov 14 2013, 04:30 PM

500 posts

I repeat again; you guys are just considering hard paper specs and ignoring software optimisations completely. Go look at faux/franco kernel on N5.
covah
post Nov 14 2013, 04:55 PM

17 posts

does anyone here bought nexus 5 D820 using 3g postpaid? any problem?
vostro78
post Nov 14 2013, 04:59 PM

6,804 posts

QUOTE(KoYuKii @ Nov 14 2013, 01:02 PM)
if im using digi, and no LTE coverage at my area or wherever i go. is it wise to get the US set?
ys if you believe you not going to mnp to other telco and yes again if you belileve your are will not have LTE on year 2104 .

LTE coverage expend quiet fast compare to early this year....i am refering to celcom + maxis by the way... digi TOMORO network for me is tomoro never come 1
benny888
post Nov 14 2013, 05:02 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Nov 14 2013, 04:59 PM)
ys if you believe you not going to mnp to other telco and yes again if you belileve your are will not have LTE on year 2104 .
LTE coverage expend quiet fast compare to early this year....i am refering to celcom + maxis by the way... digi TOMORO network for me is tomoro never come 1
Digi 3g/h network is bad n many areas don't even have h+. If serious intention to use mobile data network should consider change to maxis or celcom. In KL even the newer UMobile thrumps it
vostro78
post Nov 14 2013, 05:03 PM

6,804 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 14 2013, 01:30 PM)
only problem is for non-rooted user, which only rely on official OTA will  mad.gif  vmad.gif those ppl care about 18m.
If you compare only rooted nexus device with among all these HTC, Sony, Samsung, etc... Nexus still is first priority for most of top dev community to develop. so again, nexus ftw
yes i agree too.... as i understand mostly ppl pick nexus is more or less they ready for root / custom rom things and they know is is plain vanilla android phone without fancy fancy function. so OTA or not for them not an issue as long as they got XDA.

This post has been edited by vostro78: Nov 14 2013, 05:03 PM
vostro78
post Nov 14 2013, 05:05 PM

6,804 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 14 2013, 01:32 PM)
Yup, so just go for Sony or Nexus, in short.
Avoid Samsung at all costs, especially with Exynos chipset, except Qualcomm.
why ? i think sony about the same as samsung also when comes to version release...
buffallo_soldier
post Nov 14 2013, 05:11 PM

107 posts

planning to get 1 . whistling.gif
soulseeker6187
post Nov 14 2013, 05:13 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Nov 14 2013, 05:05 PM)
why ? i think sony about the same as samsung also when comes to version release...
Sony is more developer friendly than Samsung coz their release their source code.
So easier to make custom ROM compared to Samsung.

126 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:58 PM