DIY DIY cable, Pictures of DIY cables

iamyuanwu
post Aug 17 2010, 06:51 PM

2,425 posts

Braiding guide:
http://www.chimeralabs.com/diy_braid.html

there's flat braiding and round braiding. It think the guide is for round braid.
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 17 2010, 10:35 PM

1,254 posts

wow thanks i'll be trying that.....
Bonchi
post Aug 18 2010, 05:03 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

do it slow and try not to rush.. coz from experience.. you wont want the braiding order to go wrong sweat.gif
arremie
post Aug 18 2010, 03:07 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

I tried braiding CAT5 cable once and it's one heck of a job to do. Really time consuming and not to mention the blister on your fingers afterwards. Sound wise? I rather purchase a good factory cable. For the time and pain....braiding not worth the effort.
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2010, 03:11 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

arremie,
I agree! But for the experience of it, why not! laugh.gif
arremie
post Aug 18 2010, 03:14 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

haha yeah. a good way to experience blistered fingers laugh.gif
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 18 2010, 10:25 PM

1,254 posts

any tips for me?, i went trough my box of assorted cat5 and found some to be 'stiffer' and 'sofetr' and some looks cheap
busy this few days with work =( cut some up at the ends to check it out. did not make any yet, but i am hardcore DIYer so blisters are no obstacle to the 'fun factor' of homemade stuff =)
anyway are you supposed to braid it hard? is that how you get blisters? the guide said you just braid it loooseyl?
htkaki
post Aug 18 2010, 10:46 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 18 2010, 03:14 PM)
haha yeah. a good way to experience blistered fingers laugh.gif
Bro, when wanna try 'Peanut Butter Jam'? I can send it to you wink.gif
arremie
post Aug 18 2010, 11:14 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Aug 18 2010, 10:25 PM)
any tips for me?, i went trough my box of assorted cat5 and found some to be 'stiffer' and 'sofetr' and some looks cheap
busy this few days with work =( cut some up at the ends to check it out. did not make any yet, but i am hardcore DIYer so blisters are no obstacle to the 'fun factor' of homemade stuff =)
anyway are you supposed to braid it hard? is that how you get blisters? the guide said you just braid it loooseyl?
I braid a 3m with the pvc jacket on. Doesn't has to be really tight but must not be loose. A lot of guides over the net. I thought of making 3m pair but after the first one I was basically powerless to proceed haha blush.gif

If you have time and patience, strip the outside PVC jacket and braid the inner 8 core so you can have something like Kimber 8TC cable when finished brows.gif A friend of mine done a beautiful job but of course he also end up with blisters haha tongue.gif

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 18 2010, 10:46 PM)
Bro, when wanna try 'Peanut Butter Jam'? I can send it to you  wink.gif
Thanks bro but not now. Will let you know later. Now a bit busy with new toys haha biggrin.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2010, 11:17 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Almost everyone I know end up with blisters when braiding those Cat5 cables! Wear gloves? tongue.gif
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 19 2010, 09:54 PM

1,254 posts

googlin Kimber 8TC cable now =) thx =)

wouldn't it be better if straight use the whole cat5 without open and braid? O_o

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Aug 19 2010, 09:59 PM
silver69
post Aug 19 2010, 11:55 PM

154 posts

do you guys mean this?? i recable my crappy divoom xforce1(bought it for cheap and mimic to logitech which i cant afford),using some cat5e and braid together,sound wise improvement,none,as the amp is not decent enough and the details is not much,but i do feel the satellite is faster(dun ask me why,perhaps its not stock).....well,just enjoy DIY thats all,dun flame me though...
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 20 2010, 05:37 PM

1,254 posts

nice! goodjob! now... i feel more motivated to make!
PeterYeapCB
post Aug 21 2010, 02:16 PM

25 posts

Nice!! :0
Kain_Sicilian
post Aug 23 2010, 11:03 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Hi guys, any1 know any sellers in ly.net that sells canare f12, canare l4e6s, neutrik 3,5mm plugs and solid core silver cable ? Also techflex n heat shrink? I wanna buy some and ship them to Sabah. I went all around town last weekend can't even find decent neutrik plugs. They only have cheap plastic mini plugs :'(
jazzy939
post Aug 24 2010, 06:01 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I made this few years ago.
1 meter long headphone extension cable.
Canare Cable with 'NEUTRIK' jack..

chingwooi
post Aug 29 2010, 02:27 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

Guys, wanna ask smth,

Currently trying to make my decision in choosing a Mini to RCA cable, wonder which of the following would b a better choice?

1) Monster® iCable® for iPod® and iPhone priced at RM160
2) Wotiyo's 2Xcanare F-10 and F12 connector with canare 4E6S cable @ RM110?
Bonchi
post Aug 29 2010, 03:50 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

id say the second one cuz its a custom cable.. thus much easier to fix in the future if the connection is lose (and its cheaper too biggrin.gif)
vir___killer
post Aug 29 2010, 11:31 AM

646 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Aug 29 2010, 03:27 AM)
Guys, wanna ask smth,

Currently trying to make my decision in choosing a Mini to RCA cable, wonder which of the following would b a better choice?

1) Monster® iCable® for iPod® and iPhone priced at RM160
2) Wotiyo's 2Xcanare F-10 and F12 connector with canare 4E6S cable @ RM110?
depends wat sound u want.

if u want more original sound, i have frens supplying studio grade cable at very much cheaper than u stated.
wui223
post Aug 29 2010, 11:34 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(vir___killer @ Aug 29 2010, 11:31 AM)
depends wat sound u want.

if u want more original sound, i have frens supplying studio grade cable at very much cheaper than u stated.
what brand/model of cables u frens supply?

107 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:50 PM