107 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

DIY DIY cable, Pictures of DIY cables

vincent_audio
post Jan 19 2007, 10:57 PM

1,161 posts

found this in one of the boxes couple of days ago. The wall plug was bad, so brought an MK to replace it.

I can still remember when i built this, the hubbel female was suppose to be for a 3x 0awg cable, but the cable cannot fit on the wall plug, so i re-use it with some extra network cable i have.

Sound wise, let me try to recall, over the normal computer cable, this one has less noise, better dynamic and punchier bass. I found the mid was a bit soft though.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
vincent_audio
post Jan 19 2007, 10:59 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Jan 19 2007, 10:52 PM)
yes they are available. it's called F-14 or F-15 i think.
worst come to worst, get the F12, solder only the main and ground. You should get mono.
TSPcWork
post Jan 20 2007, 02:11 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Jan 19 2007, 10:59 PM)
worst come to worst, get the F12, solder only the main and ground. You should get mono.
f-12 is 1/8" = 3.5mm mini stereo jack
what he want is phono jack, 1/4" or 6.5mm =)
definately can't use F-12. but i am sure there's neutrik and canare phono 1/4" there. i bought it couple of time. and currently has one stereo neutrik 1/4" with me, wanna made another starquad cable with that plug for my HP890, plug it directly to CDP / DAC.

yrh0413
post Jan 20 2007, 03:57 AM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 20 2007, 02:07 AM)
That impedence is rather trivial since the makers of the phones have obviously factored it's cut off point in. It just gives the amount of load resistance the phones give out. Another point is efficiency, which i'll explain below before i explain resistance, maybe Ijan can add in a thing or two in case i miss anything out.

Resistance of the cans themselves -

Well resistance indicates the amount of load a can poses to a source, like ijan said in another thread, this resistance is coupled with reactance, and non linear, but we'll leave that aside for a moment.

A good example is;

If you put the same amount of current and voltage (power in watts is the same), into 2 cans. One labeled A @ 75 ohms and another labeled B @ 300 ohms, the result will be like this (numbers only for education)

Can A = 60 dB attenuation
Can B = 80 dB attenuation

It means from an electrical standpoint, if both are fed the same signal, more power is lost on the one with a higher level of driver resistance.

Efficiency-

Let us get back to cans A and B, and use the same amount of power as described earlier. Let's say 100 miliwatts consumed. You must understand that even though can B's impedence is higher it does not mean that a 300 ohm can will sound 4 times softer (not factoring in Logarithmic curve) than a 75 ohm can. There is another factor. Efficiency!

What happens if can B with 300 ohms takes up all that power, YET! It turns 90 percent of that power into sound, and 10 percent wasted (heat, magnetic field loss or hysterisis) and the 75 ohm one is only 50 percent efficient, so you can say that even efficiency plays a bigger role in cans rather than just impedence.

ok, let's put it this way, (assume that both are fed the same amount of wattage regardless of load resistance, meaning both take up the same amount of power)

Can A 75 ohms = 10 percent efficiency
Can B 300 ohms = 100 percent efficiency

Which would be louder? obviously B, and when you combine the both ideas of resistance and efficiency, the conclusion is (if you don't like reading all my rubbish), that Efficiency and Resistance are a combo, even though higher resistance cans are harder to drive, they are in some cases much more efficient

Ok, now on to the resistance changing sound part

Resistance can change sound by the virtue of being a low pass filter, meaning it let's the lower frequencies pass and the higher frequencies are blocked. The theory behind it is, you can usually use A) Inductance or B) an RC filter (let's just assume B, because i can't calculate inductance worth a damn).

The formula for frequency cut off is Fc = 1/2pi x R x C

Fc being cut off, pi being apple pie, R being resistance (of the coil plus the new load) and C being (capacitance, parasitic or not)

The capacitance of the cans is quite hard to measure, maybe i'll get a new Fluke 189 to test since my 179 is only accurate to the nanofarad level. Although you should assume 100 pf for good measure. Just fill in the blanks and you'll have a cut off!

Adding resistance helps cut off unwanted higher order frequencies, leaving better or too much bass in some cases, it some cases it's a good thing, in others, it's even worse. So be wise.

Oh yeah, don't use those cheap resistors that have a tendency to drift (electromagnetic randomity and change into heat as the electrons bounce around), so buy mine tongue.gif i has RN55 and RN60Ds from Vishay tongue.gif Mind the unabashed sales pimping  laugh.gif
lets say my SR80 is assumed 75ohm. If i change the impedence to 750ohm, or perhaps 7500ohm, will it turn my Grado to a heavenly-sounded headphone?

and also if changes in impedence influence the sound signature as well, why headphones manufacturers don't just get it right before they ship the units out? Why we need to temper the impedence anyway? huh.gif
empire23
post Jan 20 2007, 05:37 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jan 20 2007, 03:57 AM)
lets say my SR80 is assumed 75ohm. If i change the impedence to 750ohm, or perhaps 7500ohm, will it turn my Grado to a heavenly-sounded headphone?

and also if changes in impedence influence the sound signature as well, why headphones manufacturers don't just get it right before they ship the units out? Why we need to temper the impedence anyway? huh.gif
Because the manufacturers each have their own sound signature, and i don't think everyone appreciates the frequency cut off because everyone has a different threshold of hearing, so they model around the theoretical maximums of human hearing. Most people aged 30 can only hear until 15khz, so why would grado make HPs that go up to 20? Because if some basket can hear until that and complains.....lol, point is everyone's hearing is different. I'm 20 and i can only hear until 17khz, i'm sure you're different too. And of course we haven't factored in drivers and stuff.

No it won't turn your grado into a heavenly phone lol, it depends on your hearing, to your ears, maybe anything higher than 18khz is perceived as junk that pollutes the sound, to others that can hear better, they might say you're taking their top end away.

Tell you what, the best solution is to test until which level you can hear by using high frequency sound files, and then use the formula given to determine a general RC filter parameter for your phones.

example, i want the cut off to be at 18khz

the formula would go 18000 = 1/ (2x22/7) x R x Capacitance of your HPs (you'll have to look the capacitance up), then just use basic algebra to get your desired R value, then take that value and minus it with the impedence of your phones (R cut off - R phones = R resistor).

Hope it helps
TSPcWork
post Jan 20 2007, 12:04 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 20 2007, 05:37 AM)
Because the manufacturers each have their own sound signature, and i don't think everyone appreciates the frequency cut off because everyone has a different threshold of hearing, so they model around the theoretical maximums of human hearing. Most people aged 30 can only hear until 15khz, so why would grado make HPs that go up to 20? Because if some basket can hear until that and complains.....lol, point is everyone's hearing is different. I'm 20 and i can only hear until 17khz, i'm sure you're different too. And of course we haven't factored in drivers and stuff.

No it won't turn your grado into a heavenly phone lol, it depends on your hearing, to your ears, maybe anything higher than 18khz is perceived as junk that pollutes the sound, to others that can hear better, they might say you're taking their top end away.

Tell you what, the best solution is to test until which level you can hear by using high frequency sound files, and then use the formula given to determine a general RC filter parameter for your phones.

example, i want the cut off to be at 18khz

the formula would go 18000 = 1/ (2x22/7) x R x Capacitance of your HPs (you'll have to look the capacitance up), then just use basic algebra to get your desired R value, then take that value and minus it with the impedence of your phones (R cut off - R phones = R resistor).

Hope it helps
nice info there. Thanks a lot. =)

tatayoung
post Jan 21 2007, 09:40 PM

I'm the boss of me...
950 posts

empire23...that was pretty helpfull man....thanks...
aVince
post Jan 22 2007, 11:54 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Dec 20 2006, 11:55 AM)
i was also wondering also, and what i think is, the good or bad is rely on the durabilities of the material, heat resistance and so on. but it's weired, scottiebaby who bought m COXIAL cable made from canare claims that there's significant improve over his old coxial cable.
but suppose coxial cable also transmiting digital signal. hence, i open up my mind which digital cable might also influence by conductance quality. and i think it's due to lower noise? (digital data got noise?)
anyone may enlighten me pls.
This guy uses different type of Canere cable for different application.. as for coaxial, he is using Canare LV-77S.

"Generic RCA audio plugs and cables have been around for over 50 years, but the old solder-type plugs typically have an impedance of about 25 ohms. They exhibit extremely poor return loss performance, even when mated to high quality cable. Some of the so-called " high end " cables use exotic-sounding materials and make unsupportable claims, but still fail to solve this very real and important problem.

Canare's new 75 ohm RCA crimp plugs solve these problems. They are impedance matched and achieve excellent digital and analog performance with a usable bandwidth to 200 MHz! The connector design ensures consistent and extremely reliable terminations. VSWR is typically less than 1.1 from DC to 200 MHz. The crimp design excludes oxygen, preventing corrosion associated with dissimilar metals, which can degrade even the best soldered connections."

Quoted From: http://stores.ebay.com/Cable-Solutions

Just for sharing, since PcWork is testing out the cable.
vincent_audio
post Jan 22 2007, 12:06 PM

1,161 posts

i have some belden lying around, anyone wanna try those and tell me the result?
maxguy
post Jan 22 2007, 01:34 PM

822 posts

how much it will cost to DIY Canare LV-77S with f-10?thanks
yrh0413
post Jan 26 2007, 07:23 PM

12,214 posts

anyone knows where can i get high quality 1/4" stereo plug? I wanna replace the one on my AKG.
lAh0S
post Feb 14 2007, 11:37 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

Question, is it possible to do something like this?
* Sorry for the bad MS Paint-ing

This post has been edited by lAh0S: Feb 14 2007, 11:39 PM
ijan
post Feb 14 2007, 11:49 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

why not, at the extend of reflected signal and many much more cons.
yrh0413
post Feb 15 2007, 12:05 AM

12,214 posts

tongue.gif is it better if you can those 3.5mm splitters? One split to two, two split to four, four split to eight, eight to sixteen... and so on
lAh0S
post Feb 15 2007, 12:09 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Feb 15 2007, 12:05 AM)
tongue.gif is it better if you can those 3.5mm splitters? One split to two, two split to four, four split to eight, eight to sixteen... and so on
That's not a bad idea. laugh.gif
---
1 more thing, can i do like 2 3.5mm male to 1 3.5mm female?
I want to listen 2 mp3 player in the same time. brows.gif
yrh0413
post Feb 15 2007, 12:20 AM

12,214 posts

doh.gif huh? unless you make a toggle switch to disconnect one source and listen to another. Or easier, just unplug/plug the cable to the correct source when you need it.
lAh0S
post Feb 15 2007, 11:19 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Feb 15 2007, 12:20 AM)
doh.gif huh? unless you make a toggle switch to disconnect one source and listen to another. Or easier, just unplug/plug the cable to the correct source when you need it.
You know why i'm asking such stupid question?
First of all i must thank my N90, which have no vibration function. shakehead.gif
When i'm in IEM, and when my phone rang, and if its my gf, and when i didn't pick up, there goes my head.
Now i'm thinking on connect my N90 and my source together sharing an IEM.
Or i might just sell my N90 and get another phone which got vibration function. icon_question.gif
TSPcWork
post Feb 15 2007, 11:25 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Feb 15 2007, 11:19 AM)
First of all i must thank my N90, which have no vibration function.  shakehead.gif
When i'm in IEM, and when my phone rang, and if its my gf, and when i didn't pick up, there goes my head.
Or i might just sell my N90 and get another phone which got vibration function.  icon_question.gif
how about when u on IEM, u connect ur N90 to ur MX5021.
and tune the volume to 90%
=P

yeahs4.1
post Feb 15 2007, 12:04 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Feb 15 2007, 11:19 AM)
First of all i must thank my N90, which have no vibration function.  shakehead.gif
Or i might just sell my N90 and get another phone which got vibration function.  icon_question.gif
sell ur n90, get urself a 3310, it has the best vibration u know..
with the money left, buy urself a proper high-end headphone tongue.gif
lAh0S
post Feb 15 2007, 12:22 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Feb 15 2007, 11:25 AM)
how about when u on IEM, u connect ur N90 to ur MX5021.
and tune the  volume to 90%
=P
In bus bring MX5021 hor?
Panlai nyer you.

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Feb 15 2007, 12:04 PM)
sell ur n90, get urself a 3310, it has the best vibration u know..
with the money left, buy urself a proper high-end headphone tongue.gif
Yes i'm planning to do that.
I got an extra 8250.
But 1 thing, if i sell off my N90 then i got no more camera already. sad.gif
The only reason i bought N90 is the camare only.

107 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:03 AM