DIY DIY cable, Pictures of DIY cables

yeahs4.1
post Sep 3 2006, 05:44 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

hi to all DIY pro's here..
man.. i gonna make my own cable soon..
can u tell me where to get those plugs and canera starquad in good price?
i heard that jalan pasar have a lot..

how do u all make the Y junction of the mini to RCA cable? shrink tube?
i saw from the head-fi there, the starquad have 4 wires inside, that means 2 for each channel RCA, right? after connecting it with the RCA plugs, how do u all make it thick jz like 3rd picture of alamaklor? wat kinda sleeves u all use?

p/s : wat's the techflex for? beauty purposes?

yeahs4.1
post Oct 26 2006, 05:59 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

hi, i was browsing headfi to look for DIY cable. i saw a few RCA plugs from neurik, i jz wanna know whether it's good or not compared to canare...
here are some :

1.NEUTRIK NYS352 RCA PLUG NICKEL - $1.19 EA

2.NEUTRIK NYS373-BLK RCA PLUG BLACK SHELL - $1.68 EA

3.NEUTRIK NYS352G RCA PLUG GOLD - $1.29 EA

the page that sold them:
http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?&D...D=125&sm=1&so=2

any1 use this before? share the details with me k?
thx in advance
yeahs4.1
post Oct 27 2006, 01:56 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Oct 26 2006, 06:30 PM)
neutrik high enders are better (more expensive) but overall, lebey kurang laa..i personally prefer neutrik to canare if i haf them.
any example?
how much it will cost?
yeahs4.1
post Oct 29 2006, 01:09 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Oct 28 2006, 01:21 PM)
neutrik profi, RM 60-RM80 a pair..
=P
u mean this:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshowdetl.c...FTOKEN=87642519

where can i get this?
i also need some sleeve to make the wires thicker..
yeahs4.1
post Oct 30 2006, 02:21 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

Option B- RCA- RCA

4X Canare F-10 RCA plug
4 Meter (2+2, total 4M) Canare L-4E6S StarQuad
y use 2 starquad for this interconnect? aint 1 is enough since it has 4 connector inside, 1 for each rca signal( left and right channel ) and the other 2 for ground?

can i use 2 L-2T2S cables for this interconnect?

yeahs4.1
post Oct 30 2006, 06:40 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

how about if i use 1 L-4E6S to make a pair of RCA to RCA? it looks more tidy and save cost..

how about the quality compared using 2 X L-2T2S?
yeahs4.1
post Nov 1 2006, 06:20 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Nov 1 2006, 04:23 PM)
i prefer to do double L-4E6S
reason? i feel it should be better from my calculation in capacitance. but how much better i not sure as it is only merely  meter, while the data were calculated with 100 meter length.
capacitance? anything to do with the signal transmission? or u mean resistance?

if u using 2X L-4E6S, how do u connect it for RCA to RCA connection? 2 wire + metal braided sleeve for ground and another 2 for signal?

yeahs4.1
post Nov 6 2006, 04:50 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

wohoo~
thx pcwork, cleared my doubts already..
thinking of making myself a RCA-RCA later...

p/s : F-12 is really hard to find, pasar road is already out of stock..
yeahs4.1
post Nov 6 2006, 07:33 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Nov 6 2006, 05:36 PM)
post some picture later.
just try not to over heat it.
and F-10 is so far one of the not bad quality plug with cheap price.
built quality is nice.. and i like it's colour and shape too. compare to neutrik which have some plastic part.. =P
just personal liking.
i will, mayb tonight? whistling.gif

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Nov 6 2006, 06:23 PM)
well..kinda  a quick survey here..gonna to import sum of f-12 into malaysia from usa....pricing estimately rm 14..does nyone interested?
i'm the 1st 1~
u already knew it right?
yeahs4.1
post Nov 6 2006, 10:38 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

spent 45 minutes on this, my 1st DIY RCA-RCA cable is successfully made, jz like the way pcwork recommended me, using 2 X 2meter of L-4E6S + 4 Canare F-10. cable was bought from amirsubhi. thx lots dudes rclxms.gif

i use some shrinktube to colour-coded both side of the RCA. this side of rca should be connected to the speaker.

this side is supposed to be connected to the source as i used the metal braided shield as extra ground.

i use some shrink tube to hold the 2 wires together. how much i wished that techflex is cheaper and easily available in malaysia.. cry.gif

p/s : amirsubhi, i want 3 biji.. hehe..

This post has been edited by yeahs4.1: Nov 6 2006, 10:45 PM
yeahs4.1
post Nov 7 2006, 05:23 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

still dun have the chance to test.. will make a mini to RCA before testing.. sadly f-12 is currently unavailable here...
yeahs4.1
post Nov 7 2006, 09:04 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

DIY cable is fun, wish i can make more.. jz dun have the $$$ and the purpose..
yeahs4.1
post Nov 7 2006, 10:09 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

F-12 will be around 16 per piece, and it's 3.5mm minijack
F-10 will be around 14 per piece, it;s RCA jack

although it's only entry level cable/connector, it gonna cost us ( me, at least ) a bomb
yeahs4.1
post Nov 7 2006, 11:09 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

yeah.. the more, the cheaper..

any1, please join the bulk.. the target is to bring in 100 F-12 plugs? XD
yeahs4.1
post Nov 8 2006, 12:45 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

yeah, u can find 2 type of canare cable at there. L-4E6S priced at rm7 per meter and L-2T2S priced at rm9 per meter..

yeahs4.1
post Nov 13 2006, 08:03 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Nov 13 2006, 07:03 PM)
7 madman....5 pcwork...10 yeahs4.1 ..total 22...i'll take 25 then for f-12...

am i missing any order..?

nyway for pricing..price would be rm 14 to rm 15 depend on price of shipping...nyway..hopefully the shipping is cheaper..ahahha...again i stated..price may vary becoz of the shipping cost...but then..i promise no matter what happen..it shouldnt became same price as jalan pasar

arh..evryone plz confirm wimme .make it fast..wanna order it oledi..hehehe
wohoo~ hardly believe i;m the biggest customer.. rclxms.gif
so addicted into DIY-ing

anybody else that wanna DIY should join the bulk.. hurry up pls~
yeahs4.1
post Nov 13 2006, 10:05 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

@kiljim,

IIRC, i did see some there.. it's 1/4" right?
mayb pcwork knows more..
yeahs4.1
post Nov 14 2006, 04:32 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

try to increase the f-12's order to 50 pieces.. then we can get a better price.. now all the hope down to pcwork's order.. hehe
yeahs4.1
post Nov 15 2006, 05:39 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

amirsubhi,

how many F-12 u gathered already?
yeahs4.1
post Nov 16 2006, 09:43 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

IC elcetronic and KE electronics

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top