empire23
post Oct 2 2006, 11:44 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Oct 2 2006, 10:14 PM)
Trust you..nope!.. When I sit down and listen attentively, my ears ARE the judge, pushing all that science aside for another time & place. Many matters will defy theory and science.
Consider Kewl looks?.  ohmy.gif  Not me and that includes a fair number of hifi enthusiasts I know well enough.
I can say placebo faster than most can say snake oil.

Mind you there are good cables out there that are worth the money, like high end beldens or inductor cored ones, heck even Volex cords are great.

Heck listening is fine, but i rather not "perceive" what isn't there. If it sounds better, it sounds better. But i rather trust the numbers than the placebo effect. Heck the sound might be even more degraded, but i enjoy it more. But the point is that it isn't an accurate representation of the recording and not true to the signal.

For example audiophiles like to keep their ICs short, but did you know that being too short introduces reflections courtesy of IM at the connector that could add bad mojo to your source? tongue.gif

Well, i think i trust my ears, but i swear by my math. laugh.gif
empire23
post Oct 3 2006, 12:10 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Oct 2 2006, 11:42 PM)
First of all, how much do you know about analogue signal transmission? How did you conclude that only digital data is affected by the aforementioned attributes? (inductance and capacitance are key considerations in speaker/headphone/interconnect cable design.. among others) Have you experimented with cables making a statement as bold (literally tongue.gif) as that?
It stems from a simple idea that analog is made from near infinite resolution (as far as the medium allows for) and that Digital is absolute, being absolute, a single bit error can actually cascade from one point creating a deluge of errors (assuming you don't have CRC, LRC, BCS or Parity), so in the world of Digital, one f-up can whack a whole network, since no ACK sent and crap like that. Although most digital transmissions are error tolerant these days.

I said it isn't a primary concern, just get something with uber low resistance and one that generally shows good qualities and you're fine, because specs aren't as important to audio as they are to digital, mind you CAT5E is designed to make 100m runs with acceptable degradation and as little timing loss as possible. For example; Impedence matching with most speakers is bullcrap because these days source impedence is so low with SS amps, but why do SS amp makers still put it there? To make people go "wow, complex, must be 1337"

Seriously, no ear can hear it.
http://www6.head-fi.org/forums/showthread....ight=blind+test
triangle = silver
circles = starquad
square = ratshack

Ratshack, Silver and Starquad compared. Conclusion? All Phail.

Mind you the difference might be there, but it surely isn't perceptible, who knows maybe be an ultra small percentile of people that is, but audiologists still claim otherwise.

Maybe environments pose challenges too, for me, 1 24 incher, 2 17in CRTs, 2 Printers, 2 Card readers, ZL 2.0, PS2, 2 Switches, 1 hub, 2 wireless routers, soldering equipment, 1 amp, 1 socket clock, handphone charger, battery charger, MX duo unit and 3 PCs are seriously going to add electrical noise, thus when i do a shielded vs non shielded test i can hear the diff. But who uses as much crap on one table as i do eh? But my point has been, certainly no use in comparing a cheapo Belden and Nordost, same to me if you ask.

I like Cardas cables, they're all blue and stuff, that's why. Plus i cans show off tongue.gif
Tachikoma
post Oct 3 2006, 09:47 AM

Dot
2,864 posts

what that test proved was that cables and pre-conceived perceptions don't match, not *necessarily* that differences cannot be heard =P not to mention that when differences were heard ... well better material =/= better sound for each person.

What they should have included was a 4th option: they're all the same! tongue.gif *I'm sure someone else already suggested that on head-fi*
TSPcWork
post Oct 3 2006, 11:06 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 3 2006, 12:10 AM)
It stems from a simple idea that analog is made from near infinite resolution (as far as the medium allows for) and that Digital is absolute, being absolute, a single bit error can actually cascade from one point creating a deluge of errors (assuming you don't have CRC, LRC, BCS or Parity), so in the world of Digital, one f-up can whack a whole network, since no ACK sent and crap like that. Although most digital transmissions are error tolerant these days.

I said it isn't a primary concern, just get something with uber low resistance and one that generally shows good qualities and you're fine, because specs aren't as important to audio as they are to digital, mind you CAT5E is designed to make 100m runs with acceptable degradation and as little timing loss as possible. For example;  Impedence matching with most speakers is bullcrap because these days source impedence is so low with SS amps, but why do SS amp makers still put it there? To make people go "wow, complex, must be 1337"

Seriously, no ear can hear it.
http://www6.head-fi.org/forums/showthread....ight=blind+test
triangle = silver
circles = starquad
square = ratshack

Ratshack, Silver and Starquad compared. Conclusion? All Phail.

Mind you the difference might be there, but it surely isn't perceptible, who knows maybe be an ultra small percentile of people that is, but audiologists still claim otherwise.

Maybe environments pose challenges too, for me, 1 24 incher, 2 17in CRTs, 2 Printers, 2 Card readers, ZL 2.0, PS2, 2 Switches, 1 hub, 2 wireless routers, soldering equipment, 1 amp, 1 socket clock, handphone charger,  battery charger, MX duo unit and 3 PCs are seriously going to add electrical noise, thus when i do a shielded vs non shielded test i can hear the diff. But who uses as much crap on one table as i do eh? But my point has been, certainly no use in comparing a cheapo Belden and Nordost, same to me if you ask.

I like Cardas cables, they're all blue and stuff, that's why. Plus i cans show off tongue.gif
through this research, it's doesn't mean that there's no different. only if their brain can percisely tells that which sound characteristic belongs to which cable or not. and i really doubt that.
some time i comparing belden interconnect and my canare l-4E6S, or silver interconnect. i can hear the different, some major, and some minor. but i can't really say out which sound belongs to which cable because of i can't remembe it. but i can hear different. EXCEPT those cable i really familiar and i like their sound. like canare l-4e6s, i like the sound, so chances i can point out the cable within whole bunch of cable sound is quite high.
in my cases, i can different canare-L4E6S from Belden and silver. but i can't differentciate amoung belden and silver.
TSPcWork
post Oct 3 2006, 11:15 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(valve_300b @ Oct 2 2006, 02:01 PM)
i couldn't agree more, DIY is definitely a starting point. It does beat the crap out of any other cable if you do it correctly.

I started off with DIY also, as your components get better, you will realised that the DIY cable is no longer good enough and reach a point where there is no better way to improve on the cable.

Then come the commercial cable for your solution. Try them out, if you hear improvement, oh that is when the poison comes in, you'll keep thinking of it smile.gif
valve, but some factory cable :EG: Cardas cable are HAND TERMINTATED. so how do u define DIY and factory cable which is hand terminated?
the cardas even so strict that if other peolple buying same cable and same plug, soldering with same lead and same methods, they won't recognise it as their cardas sound. if we going to use pure match and physics on here, i doubt there's different. but hell, according to some hifi people, it DOES bring different.

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 2 2006, 05:53 PM)
They're all the same. Trust me. Math and subjectivism don't match. Math is a priori which all things derive their foundations from. To me, copper is copper, and mind you the bandwidth being used by the audio spectrum is only from 20 to 20khz, baseband digital has less to work with in even smaller operating windows than audio. Mind you some using Belden's top of the line CAT5E and braided them for crosstalk and uniform dispersion have compared them to stuff costing thousands of ringgit.

In this case, the math and my ears say the same thing if interference isn't an issue, heck my brain says it. It says "you're hearing things" tongue.gif

I rather go through a checklist of the above then it comes to cable before the "sound"

- Handling characteristics
- Flexibility
- Oxidizational preference
- Strenght of contact grip
- Kewl Look  laugh.gif

I'm not even bothering with networking specifics when it comes to audio cable like

- Capacitance
- Resistance
- Inductance
- Crosstalk
- Attenuation
- Impedence Mismatch
- Reflection
- Low and High Frequency Shielding (foil/braid)

Why? because no ear can hear it, unless you're planning to make a cable run of 100 meters dahling  blush.gif and the fact is, digital data is a few million times faster and more complex. So i kind of select attributes where i need them. It's not like i take into context the shelf life of canned goods, true, it's a factor, but not an important one.

Wanna make your setup sound better? Open it up, look in her circuits and see what you can improve. You'll be amazed. Seriously.
well. if copper is copper, then go out to jalan pasar, buy those RM 2 cable for the hifi which cause you RM 10K.
think about that dude.
if copper is copper, why people borther about 6N 7N, 99.9999% and 99.99999% really made the different?
according to your teory, even normal cheapo cable which has around 95% copper should be sound so different from those 99.9999% copper cable. because no one can really spot the 5% or 1% different. but TRUST ME. those hifi EAR can hear it. =)

i myself as a low end cable seller, Canare-L4E6S.
and i served quite a number of customers which is happy with my cable. if your math applied, and there's really no different amoung cable. probally i should be awarded with the "super-duper con man of the year" . which i cheat their money to spend hundrads on cable buying the same cable they can get in jalan pasar for RM 2. and yet i can make them happy with the cable....

also another example of MATH goes not well in AUdio, is
theorically they claim that FLAC = LOSSLESS.
come over my place, i let you listen FLAC and OGG i rip from original josh groban disc, and i let you listen the original disc, playing using same headphone, same speaker, same sound card, same notebook.
i can gurantee you that FLAC have some losses....because the josh groban song clip at certain place. it;s very minor one . but i can hear it.
i tough my CD rom got problems, so i rip using external drive, and play using the same drive using CD.
result are the same. i have 13 version of josh groban first album in my computer. all ripped with different CD rom, DVD rom, DVD writer. so on so on. but while i play it back USING SAME OPTICAL DRIVE, the one directly play from CD always better.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Oct 3 2006, 11:22 AM
empire23
post Oct 3 2006, 04:56 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Oct 3 2006, 11:15 AM)
well. if copper is copper, then go out to jalan pasar, buy those RM 2 cable for the hifi which cause you RM 10K.
think about that dude.
if copper is copper, why people borther about 6N 7N, 99.9999% and 99.99999% really made the different?
according to your teory, even normal cheapo cable which has around 95% copper should be sound so different from those 99.9999% copper cable. because no one can really spot the 5% or 1% different. but TRUST ME. those hifi EAR can hear it. =)
i myself as a low end cable seller, Canare-L4E6S.
and i served quite a number of customers which is happy with my cable. if your math applied, and there's really no different amoung cable. probally i should be awarded with the "super-duper con man of the year" . which i cheat their money to spend hundrads on cable buying the same cable they can get in jalan pasar for RM 2. and yet i can make them happy with the cable....

also another example of MATH goes not well in AUdio, is
theorically they claim that FLAC = LOSSLESS.
come over my place, i let you listen FLAC and OGG i rip from original josh groban disc, and i let you listen the original disc, playing using same headphone, same speaker, same sound card, same notebook.
i can gurantee you that FLAC have some losses....because the josh groban song clip at certain place. it;s very minor one . but i can hear it.
i tough my CD rom got problems, so i rip using external drive, and play using the same drive using CD.
result are the same. i have 13 version of josh groban first album in my computer. all ripped with different CD rom, DVD rom, DVD writer. so on so on. but while i play it back USING SAME OPTICAL DRIVE, the one directly play from CD always better.
Point 1 : I'm comparing stuff againts subjective points, ever heard of the law of diminishing returns? Mind you purity isn't an issue, because it's real world tangible, question is why can companies like Kimber charge 200 percent of companies like Belden, Tyco and Canare when the purity is the same, citing it's "magically" better.

I said copper is copper sometimes, and assuming so, very pure copper until it's negligible. Trust me, they can't, so much do most can't even pass a DBT. I can pass a DBT when comparing shielded and non shielded in my system, because my environment calls for such and improvement. But where do we draw the line?

Point 2 : People are happy because people are satisfied. They see the difference, fine. What i'm questioning is sometimes is their ability to see the difference when the only difference between their new cable and their old one was 0.0000001 percent more purity and they say "WOW"

Point 3 : FLAC is lossless, Reedhamming as far as i'm concerned, Works. If CD CRC weren't perfect, we'd get bit-loss in our files, and heck to me it's the same CD Burner that burns both Audio and my encrypted files. And if one error occurs with the encrypted file, you can kiss em goodbye.

Mabye the trick here is to get your music playing program or disk drive to correct those errors since IIRC, CD Drives don't really bother with error correction when it comes to music (thus the settings in NERO)

If FLAC is lossy, maybe ZIP is too tongue.gif, i blame it on your reader or source, and mind you OGG is Lossy, it goes through processing and MDCT and recoding to FP code. So maybe it cuts out the lack of details and maybe that clipping was in the CD itself. It's just that other encoders weren't good enough to let it slip in.

Like i said, CDs are read on a case by case basis and most errors are just let through instead of corrected in the case of audio.

Tachikoma
post Oct 3 2006, 06:12 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

If flac is lossy, we will hear the difference in the form of artifacts, not clipping. Apparently playback from HDDs isn't always a good thing >.>
valve_300b
post Oct 3 2006, 07:16 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Oct 3 2006, 11:15 AM)
valve, but some factory cable :EG: Cardas cable are HAND TERMINTATED. so how do u define DIY and factory cable which is hand terminated?
the cardas even so strict that if other peolple buying same cable and same plug, soldering with same lead and same methods, they won't recognise it as their cardas sound. if we going to use pure match and physics on here, i doubt there's different. but hell, according to some hifi people, it DOES bring different.
then it boils down to how u define 'hand terminate' and the tools they use. I can't elaborate more as i have never seen them soldering. It is the material of the lead, the connector, the cable and the soldering 'technique' that made the difference. Not sure wat technique, but i think it does matter.

empire23: try google on OCC copper (http://www.vhaudio.com/images/occ.jpg)
and Cryogenic Treatment (http://www.vhaudio.com/cryo.html)

do u think your high end belden will bother doing that on the cable?

i believe there are more treatments and the processes available of how the cable is made being kept secret by cable maker. That's why they don't bother explaining why their 99.99999% silver cable is different from others. They'll prefer your ears to do the judgement. Of course in your case, it doesn't matter smile.gif cause mathematically and physically, to you they are the same. As long as you put some exotic shoe lace to beautify it, it's great to you smile.gif

eventually i have tried the DIY cat5 with some cheapo made in china OFC cat5 cable, and it sucks smile.gif the sound is bright, and edgy. I won't bother trying it with belden.

Again, theory and science doesn't you how to make thing sounds nice. That is why there is no such software which can evaluate whether a music sound nice or not. Why don't u try explaining with maths and physics how to make audio sounds good without listening to it smile.gif how to tell if Emi Fujita's voice is better or Cai Qin without listening to it smile.gif
Tachikoma
post Oct 3 2006, 07:48 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

i believe there are more treatments and the processes available of how the cable is made being kept secret by cable maker. That's why they don't bother explaining why their 99.99999% silver cable is different from others.

Its called OCC (ohno continuous cast), people do it for silver too =P how can it be "secret" anyway? Most cable companies don't exactly own entire factories dedicated to producing ultra-pure raw material - they buy large amounts of it from the people who are producing the raw material.

Does anyone know why Cryogenic treatment improves the sound? Even cable freaks aren't going to be so quick to back up this claim. OCC copper isn't THAT expensive btw, and a number of boutique cable makers don't even use bother using OCC copper. More importantly, Empire23 was comparing belden cables of equal purity with so called "high end" offerings, not OFC belden vs OCC copper.

Why don't u try explaining with maths and physics how to make audio sounds good without listening to it smile.gif

Math and physics can tell you how good/bad a cable is though... its just that certain "objectivists" claim that all cables are the same, yada yada.
valve_300b
post Oct 3 2006, 10:38 PM

212 posts

tachi: ya those are the KNOWN technology, i believe there are more techniques that are NOT KNOWN to the public.

The fact is you can't prove these cables are of equal purity
empire23
post Oct 3 2006, 11:38 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(valve_300b @ Oct 3 2006, 07:16 PM)
then it boils down to how u define 'hand terminate' and the tools they use. I can't elaborate more as i have never seen them soldering. It is the material of the lead, the connector, the cable and the soldering 'technique' that made the difference. Not sure wat technique, but i think it does matter.

i believe there are more treatments and the processes available of how the cable is made being kept secret by cable maker. That's why they don't bother explaining why their 99.99999% silver cable is different from others. They'll prefer your ears to do the judgement. Of course in your case, it doesn't matter smile.gif cause mathematically and physically, to you they are the same. As long as you put some exotic shoe lace to beautify it, it's great to you smile.gif

eventually i have tried the DIY cat5 with some cheapo made in china OFC cat5 cable, and it sucks smile.gif the sound is bright, and edgy. I won't bother trying it with belden.

Again, theory and science doesn't you how to make thing sounds nice. That is why there is no such software which can evaluate whether a music sound nice or not. Why don't u try explaining with maths and physics how to make audio sounds good without listening to it smile.gif how to tell if Emi Fujita's voice is better or Cai Qin without listening to it smile.gif
Belden Does Cryo treat cables lah dahling. Not for sound, but for durability. And if done by ametuers, Cryo treatment results in temperature shock. Ever see what happens when you smelt steel and then dip in ice cold water. All you do is let the crystals refall in place in a controlled manner, they certainly increase hardness, but how they affect signal loss?

Well here's an example of what belden does sell, the Belden 1506A, mind you it's more expensive than Kimber's offering but it is a fine piece of engineering, with all the specs needed.

For example Nordost advertises 66 percent the speed of light velocity for their cables, yet Belden gets 86 percent for their 4A. So, it's either someone is playing the numbers game or someone is lying. Question is, who? tongue.gif

I know how to see whether a cable sounds good but people wont listen. laugh.gif

Signal at Source = Signal at Output, Done. Now that's accuracy for you. And mind you a simple Tektronik Signal Analyzer will do that for you. Mind you the soul of audiophilia, which has been long forgotten mind you is the objective of getting a Perfect Representation of the source (be it concert recording or whatnots)

I'm joining alamaklor's team transparency lol. Back to the soul of audiophilia!
scotty
post Oct 5 2006, 11:04 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

this is what starquad should make into. a microphone cable biggrin.gif .
stripe all the wires. solder as shown below. biggrin.gif
then solder the canon jack as shown below
after that solder the starquad to the canon jack as shown
same goes to the other end. which is quater inch jack
and here is the end result

Tachikoma
post Oct 5 2006, 11:50 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

What are you going to use that cable for wor? You have a balanced headphone that uses 4 pin XLR but you only have a headphone amp that uses 1/4'' plugs?
empire23
post Oct 6 2006, 12:28 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Nope, it's a karaoke cable IIRC. Because Mics are terminated with the XLR and the amps are terminated with the 1/4
ijan
post Oct 6 2006, 06:23 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Oct 5 2006, 11:50 PM)
What are you going to use that cable for wor? You have a balanced headphone that uses 4 pin XLR but you only have a headphone amp that uses 1/4'' plugs?
Dun assume anything big and looks like that is an XLR, u got pawned! its stated there, the way the Canare eas SUPPOSED to be wired, as a microphone wire to a microphone jack wateva.
TSPcWork
post Oct 7 2006, 02:50 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Oct 5 2006, 11:50 PM)
it's a stereo to mono connection..... wink.gif
shinnosuke
post Oct 12 2006, 08:36 PM

who are you?
1,997 posts

I just did this yesterday. EMU 0404 - RCA breakout cable

Canare starquad + canare F09 RCA + 80 sen d-sub

Erected.

My old RM5.00 cable

This post has been edited by shinnosuke: Oct 12 2006, 08:37 PM
leeyn
post Oct 12 2006, 11:58 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(shinnosuke @ Oct 12 2006, 08:36 PM)
I just did this yesterday. EMU 0404 - RCA breakout cable
Canare starquad + canare F09 RCA + 80 sen d-sub
pls dont flame nor luff at me, and pardon my ignorance - how can we make use of such EMU to RCA cables ? on Ld2+ ? rclxub.gif
AlamakLor
post Oct 13 2006, 01:18 AM

9,856 posts

Almost all Josh Groban's cd i've heard clips...the recording is surprisingly poor...and for these crap recordings..I'd just keep them in lossy to save spaces.

I recently acquired a limp bizkit album that I used to listen to...wow jesus....it clips and distorts like crazy...I couldnt recall that it sounds so damn crappy.

shinnosuke
post Oct 13 2006, 12:15 PM

who are you?
1,997 posts

QUOTE(leeyn @ Oct 12 2006, 11:58 PM)
pls dont flame nor luff at me, and pardon my ignorance - how can we make use of such EMU to RCA cables ? on Ld2+ ?  rclxub.gif
err.. to connect EMU 0404 to anything with RCA audio input?. Is that answering your question? yes, LDII+ is an example.

This post has been edited by shinnosuke: Oct 13 2006, 12:18 PM

107 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:18 PM