16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Third Class = No value?

Pennywise
post Dec 29 2006, 02:36 PM

5,796 posts

It does NOT mean you suck at learning... it just show that you are not good with READING.
Small bird
post Dec 31 2006, 09:15 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Dec 29 2006, 02:36 PM)
It does NOT mean you suck at learning... it just show that you are not good with READING.
reading or memorizing
e-jump
post Dec 31 2006, 11:53 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

as few ppl posted, 1st,2nd,3rd,general class only gets you interview.
it does not reflect you can do job good

but ppl get the idea that higher class achievers put more effort to achieve the results, be it a good all rounder in academics, or a good memorizer. hey, to memorize things for exams, you do need an effort too.
nexona
post Jan 1 2007, 01:58 AM

Validating
385 posts

Ok I think we all agreed that 3rd Class != No value. It is all depends on the attitude and soft skill of the individual. Yeah, we all agree abt that, why this thread is still open? still beating the dead horse? go get a life.
arsenal
post Jan 1 2007, 03:13 AM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

I personally think degree is just piece of paper...I obtained second class upper in a top Uk university and i think watever class doesn't matter if u willing to push hard all the way.In the end of day, if u got a proper job and money is coming in very month, that is matter most to survive this world. Getting a good degree will definely give you advantage if you want to apply postgraduate level's scholarship and so on.
tirumisu
post Jan 1 2007, 04:21 PM

132 posts

Believe me, the the drastic decline in quality of our local graduates is so eminent today.Foreign grads are viewed as on par or inferior to local grads in our country.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/390365

They are now looking to only favour those with high CGPAs with 3.5 and above.Even so they already knew that such grads are already lining up on the street waiting for jobs.Our local universities are making hard for 3rd class honour degrees holders like you because which university would want their graduates to be unemployed?It gives them a bad name at the end of the day.

Third class graduates especially if you come from a foreign reputable university, you need not feel bad about what you've accomplished.Just don't compare yourself with a local graduates.Your previous university may have made it hard for you to score distinctions but they have their reasons for doing so.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Malacca to recruit grads with good results

By THOMAS TAN

MALACCA: Graduates in the field in information communication technology, biotechnology and marketing who graduate with a cumulative grade point average (CGPA) of 3.5 and above will be recruited straight into state government agencies and it subsidiaries.

Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam said the state was interested in recruiting those with good results when they reached their final year of study in the university or college.

Mohd Ali said this at a press conference after presenting school bags and stationery to more than 200 primary school pupils from Bukit Baru, Ayer Keroh and Bachang state constituency in Dewan Bistari here on Friday.He said the state was cooperating with lecturers in the respective institutes of higher leaning to identify high quality students from the information communication technology, biotechnology and marketing fields.

"Once graduated, they can work at once for the state's agencies and subsidiaries without the hassle of finding a job.

"We lack such skilled workers to help develop the sectors," Mohd Ali said.

Indirectly, this would help reduce the unemployment rate in the country which stood at 3.4%, he said.

Mohd Ali said the unemployment rate in the state in the second quarter of the year was 1.2%, the lowest among the states for three consecutive years.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...&sec=southneast

Pennywise
post Jan 1 2007, 04:29 PM

5,796 posts

Aiyaaaa... third class is still good. Even though education is there for everybody there are still people who only have Diploma la... If ppl can find a job, you can. Simple as that. It's all in the head - keep thinking third class degree cannot find job, then you wait for death to take you la.

Ask yourself, how many of your friends do not have a degree even and when you have it at third class, you got nobody else to blame but yourself. From here on out, you strive for what you did not in the past. Savvy?
kraly
post Jan 2 2007, 01:32 PM

84 posts

NEVER EVER think u r not value.
3rd class means nothing. all is inside. result doesn't clarify anything.
future, and ur hardwork, and ur potential and attitude is the most important.

u must show them u r capable to do work. gambatte, my friend smile.gif
dando
post Jan 4 2007, 08:35 AM

Hi there, just want to share my friend's experience... he got 3rd class degree and managed to secure a respectable position in a MNC.
It is not through cable or wat... but it is how he planned his way up
until now i have respect for him.

below is wat he did:
he prepared a really good resume.. this is because the first think employer see is ur resume... really professional looking one... and he didn't put the CGPA results or class in his resume.... just put in the name of the degree... and all other info that is relevant to the job

he managed to attend the aptitude test... so, for this... u need to work hard and score high la... after the aptitude test, the instructor asked everyone to submit their resume and photostated copies of their relevant certificates. wat he did was to submit all the clubs n society certificates but not the result transcripts... when the guy asked for it.... he said he just graduated and haven't got the transcript... but will be getting soon....

at this stage, the company doesn't even know his results. but by looking at his way of dressing/talking... he looked like a really smart student....
after that, the results came out and he was required to attend the interview... so he went in... dressed really smart and very executive-like.... talked confidently.... and i guess his soft skill was really good.... because he managed to turn a 1 hour interview into a chit chat about sports, jokes....... gues he really jived with the interviewer....

not untill the last minute, the interviewer asked him about his results... and he told him that he is a 3rd class holder.... and the interviewer asked how did he managed to go through the screening and test.... i guess he got nothing to lose, so he told him the truth on how he hide his results. interviewer was kinda impressed and later he was hired on the spot...

so, results are not everything... there are always ways to get everything....depending on ur creativity.

SUSfunkyboi
post Jan 4 2007, 11:06 PM

147 posts

me 3rd class too, got a job in less than a month upon grad.
gaji 2.4k
just resign though, now looking for a job.
btw, 1st job not a MNC.
apply few MNC no reply even though send a few letter them all reject, to them 3rd class is no value.
ky_khor
post Jan 4 2007, 11:17 PM

No.22
894 posts

will the bad degree result come back and haunt you even u're applying for the second job?

i have a great academic result from UPSR til Diploma. but a very bad degree. dun ask me why here LOL
SUSfunkyboi
post Jan 4 2007, 11:25 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Jan 4 2007, 11:17 PM)
will the bad degree result come back and haunt you even u're applying for the second job?

i have a great academic result from UPSR til Diploma. but a very bad degree. dun ask me why here LOL
same, all my results are superb xcept my degree.
so when interview, kinda easy to tell interviewer i do part time job while study in Uni, and the proof my excelent result befre my degree.
but now dam hard to find job. almost 1 month d jobless.
SUSKerrang
post Jan 4 2007, 11:53 PM

205 posts

RM2400 job upon graduation and you resigned? shakehead.gif

wos
post Jan 5 2007, 12:00 AM

908 posts

in this case, work for small company 1st gain experience then only jump to bigger boat.
wos
post Jan 5 2007, 12:03 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(dando @ Jan 4 2007, 08:35 AM)
Hi there, just want to share my friend's experience... he got 3rd class degree and managed to secure a respectable position in a MNC.
It is not through cable or wat... but it is how he planned his way up
until now i have respect for him.

below is wat he did:
he prepared a really good resume.. this is because the first think employer see is ur resume... really professional looking one... and he didn't put the CGPA results or class in his resume.... just put in the name of the degree... and all other info that is relevant to the job

he managed to attend the aptitude test... so, for this... u need to work hard and score high la... after the aptitude test, the instructor asked everyone to submit their resume and photostated copies of their relevant certificates. wat he did was to submit all the clubs n society certificates but not the result transcripts... when the guy asked for it.... he said he just graduated and haven't got the transcript... but will be getting soon....

at this stage, the company doesn't even know his results. but by looking at his way of dressing/talking... he looked like a really smart student....
after that, the results came out and he was required to attend the interview... so he went in... dressed really smart and very executive-like.... talked confidently.... and i guess his soft skill was really good.... because he managed to turn a 1 hour interview into a chit chat about sports, jokes....... gues he really jived with the interviewer....

not untill the last minute, the interviewer asked him about his results... and he told him that he is a 3rd class holder.... and the interviewer asked how did he managed to go through the screening and test.... i guess he got nothing to lose, so he told him the truth on how he hide his results. interviewer was kinda impressed and later he was hired on the spot...
so, results are not everything... there are always ways to get everything....depending on ur creativity.
i seriously respect your friend, notworthy.gif

toda6866
post Jan 5 2007, 12:07 PM

303 posts

we should all learn from dando's fren.....actually i did the similiar thing;

I nvr showed my results to my interviewer and I nvr needed to...phew! It was great to know u r hired not based on your results (look on the bright side k!)

of coz, dun jz stop there...prove to them that they hired the right candidate!
SUSspanker
post Jan 5 2007, 12:21 PM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

ok ppls, this is the cruel reality of the world.

The A's students work for the C's students
The B's students help C's manage the A's students
And the D's students cleans up after they work.
lilzany
post Jan 5 2007, 12:56 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(python_king @ Jun 15 2006, 01:51 PM)
I hv a degree from US. There is NO and xxx-class degree, only CGPA.
So how am i going to know which class i in? Are there any guides? Eg: 80-100 is A, 0-39 is Fail.
got there is between honors and no honors...and graduating with honors make a big deal of difference, there are 3 lvls (cum laude=3.50, magna cum laude=3.75, and summa cum laude=4.0). Other than that there's no difference between a 3.5 to 2.0.
emememe
post Feb 6 2007, 05:38 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(jinyee80 @ Jun 16 2006, 05:19 AM)
Once, I was attending the third group assessment to get a job in a MNC, my final result released. My final result was dissapointed, CGPA 2.99, a little bit close to 3.0.

It was a 4 stages job interview. I passed the earlier two, doing well in the case study and group discussion as well. Since my final result has not been released, and I was using my previous exam result to apply for a job, they called me up for an interview, the first interview. My CGPA was 2.8 that time. They told me that the job will require at least 3.0, and she asked me whether my final will get it or not. I said maybe I could or maybe I could not. She asked me to do some personality test and I got through. I was then called for second interview and move on to the third.

That was a cold morning. I woke up at 6am as the 3rd interview started on 8.30am sharp. I went there with my 'just-released' result, which is 2.99 one. The HR personnel asked me to submit my resume, photostated result and original again. Then, waiting for a while, I was called into a room, which there were 3 interviewers. They looked at my result and said how would I be sitting in front of them since my result did not even touch 3.0. I was like feeling depressed as they kept on mentioning that I will not be their cup of tea and wasting their time. I told them I will perform because results did not show everything. I was slightly near to 3.0 and I believe I have the quality that they required.

Well, during the group assessment, AGAIN, I was mentioned, I mean I was insulted again as the speaker mentioned I have the lowest CGPA around those 20 candidates.

I did not get the job. The HR people called me up and told me no matter how good you are, no matter how well you perform during the interview or how well you would be willing to show yourself out, they just don't want you to have a CGPA lower than 3.0. This is the pride of the company, they did not want others saying that they hire a nearly 3.0 person. They want people to know they absorb those high CGPA person and coach them well.

Well, I did not believe that high CGPA means high performance. But I do believe that we should treat every class as the same.
wow they were jerks for throwing that at you one too many times. u made the interview, why not evaluate you and be a little open minded? why cant these people see beyond CGPA's?

CGPA's are so overrated. its a cruel shameful world.
Irresistible
post Feb 6 2007, 06:08 PM

3,283 posts

QUOTE(emememe @ Feb 6 2007, 05:38 PM)
wow they were jerks for throwing that at you one too many times. u made the interview, why not evaluate you and be a little open minded? why cant these people see beyond CGPA's?

CGPA's are so overrated. its a cruel shameful world.
Thats how people evaluate ur "intellegence" by using CGPA.

I don't fully agree, but it is one of the best way to see if someone actually smart enough to learn or hardworking enough to work...

16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:37 PM