125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V15

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 1 2013, 09:54 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

hmmm.. till he converts to Singaporean it seems like quite expensive for him to maintain his family here. sad.gif
JohnJon82
post Nov 1 2013, 10:26 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 1 2013, 09:54 AM)
hmmm.. till he converts to Singaporean it seems like quite expensive for him to maintain his family here. sad.gif
Now you know why locals day day kpkb about the living cost.
razo2
post Nov 1 2013, 01:52 PM

534 posts

Good Day everyone,

I am an instrumentation and electrical engineer that have 2 years mining design&site experience. Just a bit curious, anyone here by any chance work as a service engineer for marine and offshore? Since this is a new working field to me (compared to my previous experience in mining), can someone share their experience with me, please?

Currently a company offered me SG 3.5k as a service engineer, is that salary alright in that field?
(company is P&C, please do not ask)

Thank you.

This post has been edited by razo2: Nov 1 2013, 01:52 PM
hitsugaya2010
post Nov 1 2013, 02:27 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 1 2013, 01:52 PM)
Good Day everyone,

I am an instrumentation  and electrical engineer that have 2 years mining design&site experience. Just a bit curious, anyone here by any chance work as a service engineer for marine and offshore? Since this is a new working field to me (compared to my previous experience in mining), can someone share their experience with me, please?

Currently a company offered me SG 3.5k as a service engineer, is that salary alright in that field?
(company is P&C, please do not ask)

Thank you.
I am working offshore, but not in marine products. and I am a service engineer as well. for 2 years I think it's around that price. I think the range is 3.5k to 4k. Besides that, I think we still have allowance in the end. So mainly we are earning more with that.

Working condition might be harsh and travelling will be very often. Might not be able to plan your holidays and other stuffs. Less time to spend with your loved ones. That's all I can say. Working wise, maybe someone in the company or same field can share more with you. =)
razo2
post Nov 1 2013, 02:39 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Nov 1 2013, 02:27 PM)
I am working offshore, but not in marine products. and I am a service engineer as well. for 2 years I think it's around that price. I think the range is 3.5k to 4k. Besides that, I think we still have allowance in the end. So mainly we are earning more with that.

Working condition might be harsh and travelling will be very often. Might not be able to plan your holidays and other stuffs. Less time to spend with your loved ones. That's all I can say. Working wise, maybe someone in the company or same field can share more with you. =)
Thank you for sharing your experience notworthy.gif . Well, mining didnt really have much of a life than work. So one less thing to worry, i guess. Not a proud thing to share that engineers dont have life tongue.gif . Maybe spending time with love ones might be a bit of a concern.

I am guessing my life would be like my dad. My dad use to work at rigs as a geologist. 7 day week, no family life. Teach his son how to read well logs at age 9 so he can get more people to help him.

This post has been edited by razo2: Nov 1 2013, 02:41 PM
hitsugaya2010
post Nov 1 2013, 03:04 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 1 2013, 02:39 PM)
Thank you for sharing your experience  notworthy.gif . Well, mining didnt really have much of a life than work. So one less thing to worry, i guess. Not a proud thing to share that engineers dont have life  tongue.gif . Maybe spending time with love ones might be a bit of a concern.

I am guessing my life would be like my dad. My dad use to work at rigs as a geologist. 7 day week, no family life. Teach his son how to read well logs at age 9 so he can get more people to help him.
Yea something like geologist, but we are service, so won't be that long out the sea, maybe 2 weeks, the thing is, if business very good, it will be consequently.

The stress normally comes from travelling and also the job scope. They might send you to service eventhou you do not have much experience. More to site learning I would say, hopefully they provide training to you. =)

Wah! your dad really passionate about his job.. haha..! We only work 7 days a week offshore. But in the office we are quite free and work 5 days a week. So there is some balance there. haha..
wlcling
post Nov 1 2013, 03:24 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 1 2013, 09:17 AM)
there are pros and cons whether to send your child to a care center or a nanny

care center will provide more interactivity with peers...but the downside is the kid will not have 100% attention from the caregiver (1 caregiver multiple kids) and also higher chances of getting infected with disease (depends on how u look at it, it may be a good thing as it helps to immunize your kid)

nanny looking after the kid will allow the kid to have 100% attention, less disease from infections but the interaction will most likely be bound to the kid and the nanny only since it is 1:1

so it all depends on which 1 the parents prioritize.
i basically grew up in a child care center...was healthy all the way.
For me when kid is below 18 months send to nanny so that he does not fall sick easily due to frail immune system and there's when he needs most attention as they are helpless

After 18 months go child care to socialize and get infected with stuff as it's for their better immunity building...

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Nov 1 2013, 09:18 AM)
Eh, you convert to singkie?
Yes la... If not poor salary earner with family like me cannot survive in Sg... Children fees and Rent is a killer...

whatla
post Nov 1 2013, 05:35 PM

33 posts

I am currently finding room in Singapore.. anyone here can have rooms for rent?

Or perhaps anyone can suggest a place for me to stay?

My company is near Eunos MRT. So mayb bedok, tampines, toa payoh is ok. And I am currently looking a room 600SGD max with wifi and aircon.

Thanks in advance.
chrisw
post Nov 1 2013, 06:42 PM

Stay hungry, stay foolish
1,275 posts

wage around S$5k-6k consider under EP pass 1 or pass 2? Anyone knows? smile.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 1 2013, 06:53 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(chrisw @ Nov 1 2013, 06:42 PM)
Wah high income! drool.gif

Anyway I think see luck one! I think it's the 2nd highest one lor, cos the highest one need 8k I think...
kswee
post Nov 1 2013, 09:45 PM

577 posts

hello,is there any offshore job for fresher in singapore?
LegendLee
post Nov 1 2013, 10:45 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,718 posts

I'm currently looking for a roomate to share a place in Singapore.
Fresh grad Malaysian SGPR here, looking for someone to share the heavy burden of the monthly rent.

PM me for more info !

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Nov 1 2013, 10:55 PM
chrisw
post Nov 1 2013, 11:24 PM

1,275 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Nov 1 2013, 10:45 PM)
Fresh grad Malaysian SGPR here, looking for someone to share the heavy burden of the monthly rent.

PM me for more info !
Where is your location? Pls pm me to discuss..
Mackiddo
post Nov 2 2013, 11:11 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

***********************************************************************************

UPCOMING GAME 10/11/13

VENUE : CLEMENTI TOWN SECONDARY SCHOOL HALL
TIME : 2PM - 4PM

***********************************************************************************

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3004792

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 2 2013, 11:12 AM
vincentwmh
post Nov 2 2013, 11:22 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(chrisw @ Nov 1 2013, 06:42 PM)
P2
babycry123
post Nov 2 2013, 12:05 PM

Nothing~
1,223 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Nov 1 2013, 10:45 PM)

PM me for more info !
Do you mind if I ask, where are you graduated from?
chrisw
post Nov 2 2013, 12:31 PM

1,275 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Nov 2 2013, 11:22 AM)
P2
Care to elaborate what's the difference between P1 & P2?

Also, what's the income tax structure? 15%?
LegendLee
post Nov 2 2013, 01:43 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,718 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Nov 2 2013, 12:05 PM)
Do you mind if I ask, where are you graduated from?
NTU
Why?
vincentwmh
post Nov 2 2013, 02:09 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(chrisw @ Nov 2 2013, 12:31 PM)
Care to elaborate what's the difference between P1 & P2?

Also, what's the income tax structure? 15%?
Self explanatory in MOM & IRA website. Care to help yourself to infomation made available as a start!
Janice.Forever
post Nov 2 2013, 06:25 PM

25 posts

Hi everyone, i read the news that Singapore increased restrictions on foreign workers. I plan to work in Singapore. It seems quite tough nowadays. Kindly advise. Tks

125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:54 PM