126 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Credit Cards OCBC Titanium MasterCard Cash-Back v4, From 29-Nov, unlimited 1% cashback only

kurtkantoi
post Dec 17 2013, 12:00 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Dec 17 2013, 11:58 AM)
You mean by walking in to the counter and pay - then yes.
No, I have Streamyx bill & Celcom bills put in autopay OCBC-Ti's system. So, if want to terminate my OCBC-Ti, do I need to inform my streamyx & Celcom? Or just terminate the card and pay the bills via maybank2u or cimbclicks. Sorry for confusing question..
cfa28
post Dec 17 2013, 12:16 PM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ Dec 17 2013, 12:00 PM)
No, I have Streamyx bill & Celcom bills put in autopay OCBC-Ti's system. So, if want to terminate my OCBC-Ti, do I need to inform my streamyx & Celcom? Or just terminate the card and pay the bills via maybank2u or cimbclicks. Sorry for confusing question..
You should need to do both

1) Inform streamyX / Celcom to stop auto billing as they will continue to charge to your OCBC

2) Pay Manually

But since you are paying Manually, it may not matter but their system will continue to charge to invalid card.
victorywp
post Dec 17 2013, 12:20 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ Dec 17 2013, 12:00 PM)
if you did not inform streamyx and celcom, they will continue to charge an invalid card (your cancelled card). but after a few attempts, they (streamyx/celcom) will send you a letter that they were unable to charge to your card and ask you to clarify with your bank.

This post has been edited by victorywp: Dec 17 2013, 12:20 PM
nothingz
post Dec 17 2013, 12:22 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Dec 17 2013, 10:17 AM)
speak of the devil, just got the offer yesterday in the mail lol
hahaha, good for you. Can upgrade already
Zer0 c00L
post Dec 17 2013, 12:33 PM

i haz hammer!
3,510 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Dec 17 2013, 12:22 PM)
hahaha, good for you. Can upgrade already
I see no point in that, its not really an upgrade, more like a way to let OCBC earn more from me potentially
victorywp
post Dec 17 2013, 12:37 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Dec 17 2013, 12:33 PM)
I see no point in that, its not really an upgrade, more like a way to let OCBC earn more from me potentially
you are right, i threw away that letter right away without reading it.
because i already read from here before i received it. biggrin.gif
cfa28
post Dec 17 2013, 01:33 PM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 16 2013, 08:57 AM)
Like you, I spend about RM1K per month only previously and I also received the upgrade offer where the first year annual fee is waived plus RM50 rebate.

To ALL:

I just published a freaking long article where I did a comparison between OCBC Titanium MasterCard versus OCBC "fake" World MssterCard. And the OCBC Titanium MasterCard beat the heck out of the OCBC WMC.

Like I said, it's a freaking long article and in the article I touched on many subjects which may not interest most of you. But if you really got time to waste, click the link below and find out why we should just stick with our OCBC TMC instead of getting the OCBC WMC:

AGAIN - A Little Bit of This and A Little Bit of That.
Unfortunately I cannot view Blogs at work but will definitely check out what u wrote at home.

Noted that you wrote that for ppl who spend RM5K a month, the best card is the Alliance Platinium as it offers RM68 in Cash Back (based on their tier system) which is higher that RM50 for Titanium or RM60 for the World Card. Of course, the drawback of the World Card is the high Annual Fee.

What do you think of ppl who spend RM5K to split into 2 Cards, RM1,666 for AEON Watami (so every quarter about RM5K for Cash Back of RM150) for monthly Cash Back of RM50 per month and charge RM3,333 to Titanium for Cash Back of Rm33.33

The total effective monthly Cash Back will be RM83.33. of course, AEON Watami only pays the CB every quarter. Both Cards offer free Annual Fee. Under this way, the incremental CB every month is RM83 - RM68 or about RM15 a month or RM180 a year. After less of RM50 for GST, the incremental is still RM130.

But another drawback is neither card offers free entry to the Airport Lounge.

This post has been edited by cfa28: Dec 17 2013, 01:36 PM
kurtkantoi
post Dec 17 2013, 02:07 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Dec 17 2013, 12:16 PM)
You should need to do both

1) Inform streamyX / Celcom to stop auto billing as they will continue to charge to your OCBC

2) Pay Manually

But since you are paying Manually, it may not matter but their system will continue to charge to  invalid card.
Thanks. I will terminate my card withoout informing the billers. thumbup.gif
bearbear
post Dec 17 2013, 02:10 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

you still get more cashback with Alliance Platinum for RM3333 compared to OCBC Titanium, slightly but still more. This we have not include the reward point and unlimited KLIA lounge entry.

OCBC: RM 33.33
Alliance Plat: (500*0.6/100) + (850*0.7/100) + (1200*0.9/100) + (783*2/100) = RM 35.41

If you take OCBC offer to upgrade to WMC, you do get more cash back in it compared to Alliance Plat but add in the annual fee for OCBC WMC we can go to the next discussion already biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bearbear: Dec 17 2013, 02:12 PM
nakedtruth
post Dec 17 2013, 02:12 PM

931 posts

i will cancel the once reach the annual cycle. not worth keeping it. may look into other cc any suggestion? No offer to upgrade but can apply for the platinum.
cfa28
post Dec 17 2013, 02:23 PM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Dec 17 2013, 02:10 PM)
you still get more cashback with Alliance Platinum for RM3333 compared to OCBC Titanium, slightly but still more. This we have not include the reward point and unlimited KLIA lounge entry.

OCBC: RM 33.33
Alliance Plat: (500*0.6/100) + (850*0.7/100) + (1200*0.9/100) + (783*2/100) = RM 35.41

If you take OCBC offer to upgrade to WMC, you do get more cash back in it compared to Alliance Plat but add in the annual fee for OCBC WMC we can go to the next discussion already biggrin.gif
Hey, you're right.

But just that this OCBC is still attractive for big ticket items > RM5K.

Looks like I should also apply for Alliance Platinium and just use my OCBC for one off items.
Gen-X
post Dec 17 2013, 02:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Dec 17 2013, 01:33 PM)
Unfortunately I cannot view Blogs at work but will definitely check out what u wrote at home.

Noted that you wrote that for ppl who spend RM5K a month, the best card is the Alliance Platinium as it offers RM68 in Cash Back (based on their tier system) which is higher that RM50 for Titanium or RM60 for the World Card.  Of course, the drawback of the World Card is the high Annual Fee.

What do you think of ppl who spend RM5K to split into 2 Cards, RM1,666 for AEON Watami (so every quarter about RM5K for Cash Back of RM150) for monthly Cash Back of RM50 per month and charge RM3,333 to Titanium for Cash Back of Rm33.33

The total effective monthly Cash Back will be RM83.33. of course, AEON Watami only pays the CB every quarter.  Both Cards offer free Annual Fee. Under this way, the incremental CB every month is RM83 - RM68 or about RM15 a month or RM180 a year.  After less of RM50 for GST, the incremental is still RM130.

But another drawback is neither card offers free entry to the Airport Lounge.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif Thank you bro for the the info on how one can maximize cash back with AEON Watami and Titanium Combo.

In my article Effective Cash Back of Credit Cards, I have shown that with RM5K/month spending, one can earn up RM1,033.60 per year in total equivalent cash back after deducting RM50 GST with the Alliance Bank Plat. So the effective cash back from Alliance Bank with RM5K/month spending works out to be approximately RM86 after deducting GST versus RM83 for the AEON Watami and OCBC TMC Combo you mentioned above which has yet to deduct RM100 GST.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 17 2013, 02:49 PM
cfa28
post Dec 17 2013, 02:47 PM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 17 2013, 02:29 PM)
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif Thank you bro for the the info on how one can maximize cash back with AEON Watami and Titanium Combo.

In my article Effective Cash Back of Credit Cards, I have shown that with RM5K/month spending, one can earn up RM1,033.60 per year in total equivalent cash back after deducting RM50 GST with the Alliance Bank Plat. So the effective cash back from Alliance Bank with RM5K/month spending works out to be approximately RM86 after deducting GST versus RM83 for the AEON Watami and OCBC TMC Combo you mentioned above which has yet to deduct RM100 GST.
Thanks Sifu, forgot that the Alliance still has reward points compared to OCBC.

I cannot find the Reward Points that Alliance Bank offers that you were talking about in your Blog, you said RM5K spendings = 60,000 reward points but the Alliance website only mentions that 2x reward points for overseas spending.

So, this means that local spending can get 1 reward point for every RM1?

This post has been edited by cfa28: Dec 17 2013, 02:56 PM
bearbear
post Dec 17 2013, 02:59 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

Platinum local 1X, oversea 2X

Infinite local 2X, oversea 5X
ParticularD
post Dec 17 2013, 03:36 PM

42 posts

how to increase my CL for this card?

cfa28
post Dec 17 2013, 03:42 PM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(ParticularD @ Dec 17 2013, 03:36 PM)
how to increase my CL for this card?

Send your latest updated Salary Slip.
crusher
post Dec 17 2013, 04:05 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Dec 17 2013, 03:42 PM)
Send your latest updated Salary Slip.
I thought just call in would do? haha I also want to increase CL cos got increment. smile.gif
cfa28
post Dec 17 2013, 04:10 PM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Dec 17 2013, 04:05 PM)
I thought just call in would do? haha I also want to increase CL cos got increment.  smile.gif
If you have swiped quite a good amount and always paid in full, calling in may do the trick.

But some Banks, esp the foreign ones always ask for proof. My CL for Citibank was very low cos I applied like 15-years ago. I asked them to increase CL before but they asked for Salary Slip, BE Form, etc.

Was too lazy to provide but when I applied for new cards, I did give the latest info, so my other CC CL was very much higher than my Citibank CC

MGM
post Dec 17 2013, 06:03 PM

18,410 posts

Anyone receive SMS from OCBC regarding 5% rebate for paying bills thru OCBC online for Dec2013?
mgb
post Dec 17 2013, 06:18 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 17 2013, 06:03 PM)
Anyone receive SMS from OCBC regarding 5% rebate for paying bills thru OCBC online for Dec2013?
Yeah just received it.. wonder whats the T&C.

126 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0377sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:26 AM