13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Hardware HP Pavilion 14-N060TX, Intel 4200U With Nvidia 740M

fastreader
post Jan 3 2014, 11:45 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Jan 3 2014, 10:40 AM)
Yes, there is this sudden freeze symptom that I also experience, both on the black and white unit. I find the sudden freeze thing alleviated somewhat if I were to dual channel the system. Add another piece of 4GB ram and system did became smoother and more responsive - not sure if it is the lack of RAM or the single channel.

Although, another thing to note that the black unit does this strange DVD snapping. Sometimes when you fire up media players such as iTunes or WMP that checks the DVD player, there is this snapping sound as the system test the dvd to see if there is any DVD in the player.

Another strange thing, I don't see it happening on the white units.
black and white...racist kah?? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

juz joking sifu...dun get mad at me...

happy new year 2014... thumbup.gif
-kytz-
post Jan 3 2014, 08:17 PM

12,573 posts

Just got mine today from Harvey Norman IPC, Black colour. RM1849.

Going to upgrade to a 120GB SSD, probably will create a recovery disc later on. I also notice there's a recovery partition on the HDD.

Question is, can I still retain the HP recovery manager software? Because I might be in deep trouble if I lose my recovery media....
bearbear
post Jan 3 2014, 10:41 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

cheers to you bro -kytz-, i will not be posting with this baby if it's not you because i really gave up looking where else they have this in stock.

the guy in IPC still recognize me as i went yesterday, saying the stock only arrived this morning. See this is the part i really cannot stand - stock come in today they don't know yesterday? And they didn't even bother to take my number so they can inform me when it comes in.

despite the weight i quite like the slim design, what i hate the most is the mousepad

This post has been edited by bearbear: Jan 3 2014, 10:43 PM
-kytz-
post Jan 4 2014, 06:05 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jan 3 2014, 10:41 PM)
cheers to you bro -kytz-, i will not be posting with this baby if it's not you because i really gave up looking where else they have this in stock.

the guy in IPC still recognize me as i went yesterday, saying the stock only arrived this morning. See this is the part i really cannot stand - stock come in today they don't know yesterday? And they didn't even bother to take my number so they can inform me when it comes in.

despite the weight i quite like the slim design, what i hate the most is the mousepad
Glad to hear that cheers.gif

Yes, it's pretty slim but one of the more surprising thing is that the keyboard and touchpad area is very cool when you are just doing basic stuff. When I was benchmarking the GPU and CPU, the temperatures didn't rise above 70C, CPU around 50C only. Pretty damn good and the keyboard and touchpad area is ONLY a little warm. You can hardly find any budget laptop that is able to do that, even the Lenovo gaming series are warm even during idle sweat.gif

But hor, the fan is quite loud during the benchmarking just now. I will download MSI Afterburner later and tune the fan speed a bit, lower it. I wouldn't mind higher component temperature as long as they do not exceed 80C or something. Actually at 80-90C the components would do fine but they won't last long under such high temperatures..

Later on Monday will try to get a matte screen protector as I cannot TAHAN the glossy screen. And perhaps some dual layer DVDs as I need to create a recovery disc because I'll be upgrading to the Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD and another 4GB RAM stick.
dadurtyz
post Jan 4 2014, 06:39 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 3 2014, 08:17 PM)
Just got mine today from Harvey Norman IPC, Black colour. RM1849.

Going to upgrade to a 120GB SSD, probably will create a recovery disc later on. I also notice there's a recovery partition on the HDD.

Question is, can I still retain the HP recovery manager software? Because I might be in deep trouble if I lose my recovery media....
harvey norman give how long warranty?
possible for me to upgrade my warranty after purchase? buying at authorized HP reseller
-kytz-
post Jan 4 2014, 06:48 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Jan 4 2014, 06:39 PM)
harvey norman give how long warranty?
possible for me to upgrade my warranty after purchase? buying at authorized HP reseller
It comes with standard 2 years warranty, warranty is from HP. Better to tell this straight to the sales personnel because apparently, a lot of them do not even know of such things. First year international, 2nd year local.

dadurtyz
post Jan 4 2014, 06:51 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 4 2014, 06:48 PM)
It comes with standard 2 years warranty, warranty is from HP. Better to tell this straight to the sales personnel because apparently, a lot of them do not even know of such things. First year international, 2nd year local.
how do i check my warranty? i already buy my lapy 2 days ago with 1 year warranty their tell me
-kytz-
post Jan 4 2014, 06:56 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Jan 4 2014, 06:51 PM)
how do i check my warranty? i already buy my lapy 2 days ago with 1 year warranty their tell me
They can tell you whatever they want but truth is that by default, it's 2 years warranty.

Probably can register here, not too sure though..

https://register.hp.com/apac/flowPage/regis...&cc=MY&lang=en#
dadurtyz
post Jan 4 2014, 07:15 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 4 2014, 06:56 PM)
They can tell you whatever they want but truth is that by default, it's 2 years warranty.

Probably can register here, not too sure though..

https://register.hp.com/apac/flowPage/regis...&cc=MY&lang=en#
how come mine not even 2 years after check. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

-kytz-
post Jan 4 2014, 07:19 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Jan 4 2014, 07:15 PM)
how come mine not even 2 years after check.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Bro, that's the US website right? Laptops come with standard 1 year international warranty lor that's why it's stated there 1 year. It makes sense right?

But for Malaysia, mana tahu so good they give extra 1 year local warranty. Just keep your receipt and warranty card (if any) and bring it to the HP service centre if needed.

If you want can try to check Malaysia HP website to see whether can register warranty there or not.
dadurtyz
post Jan 4 2014, 07:22 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 4 2014, 07:19 PM)
Bro, that's the US website right? Laptops come with standard 1 year international warranty lor that's why it's stated there 1 year. It makes sense right?

But for Malaysia, mana tahu so good they give extra 1 year local warranty. Just keep your receipt and warranty card (if any) and bring it to the HP service centre if needed.

If you want can try to check Malaysia HP website to see whether can register warranty there or not.
register at link u give, but the warranty its like 1year 10 month state there hmm.gif hmm.gif , maybe just need o keep my receipt, because 1 year warranty too short.
-kytz-
post Jan 4 2014, 07:50 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Jan 4 2014, 07:22 PM)
register at link u give, but the warranty its like 1year 10 month state there  hmm.gif  hmm.gif , maybe just need o keep my receipt, because 1 year warranty too short.
Actually I think you don't even need to register. It's normally better if you are going overseas or something so that the foreign country service centre has a record of your laptop. For local warranty, just bring receipt /warranty card to service centre, it's the norm hmm.gif
bearbear
post Jan 4 2014, 09:54 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

like that i need go back screw HN liao cos i upgraded the warranty. They claimed and typed in receipt 1+4.
-kytz-
post Jan 4 2014, 10:21 PM

12,573 posts

Can you guys please download any benchmarking software like unigine heaven or 3d mark?

My laptop fan speed is incredibly loud when benchmarking and this is quite unbearable.

Not sure if this is a defect and if so I definitely would wan to get an exchange.
PaulReedSmooth
post Jan 4 2014, 11:50 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 4 2014, 10:21 PM)
Can you guys please download any benchmarking software like unigine heaven or 3d mark?

My laptop fan speed is incredibly loud when benchmarking and this is quite unbearable.

Not sure if this is a defect and if so I definitely would wan to get an exchange.
I experienced loud fan noise during gaming.

And also once during a certain driver/software update, which was strange.
Can't recall what driver/software was that.
-kytz-
post Jan 4 2014, 11:53 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(PaulReedSmooth @ Jan 4 2014, 11:50 PM)
I experienced loud fan noise during gaming.

And also once during a certain driver/software update, which was strange.
Can't recall what driver/software was that.
Oh damn, was hoping that I was the only one experiencing this really loud fan noise during gaming *sigh*

Anyways, does it help if you use a notebook cooler?
PaulReedSmooth
post Jan 4 2014, 11:58 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 4 2014, 11:53 PM)
Oh damn, was hoping that I was the only one experiencing this really loud fan noise during gaming *sigh*

Anyways, does it help if you use a notebook cooler?
In my exp, using cooler doesn't really improve the fan noise level. Maybe just a little bit.

I usually position the cooler fan closer to the left, where the air intake is biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by PaulReedSmooth: Jan 4 2014, 11:58 PM
-kytz-
post Jan 5 2014, 12:10 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(PaulReedSmooth @ Jan 4 2014, 11:58 PM)
In my exp, using cooler doesn't really improve the fan noise level. Maybe just a little bit.

I usually position the cooler fan closer to the left, where the air intake is biggrin.gif
Yes, the heat is on the left side.

Once the temperature rises above 55C, the mini hair dryer starts its work vmad.gif mad.gif
fastreader
post Jan 5 2014, 02:44 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 4 2014, 06:05 PM)
Glad to hear that cheers.gif

Yes, it's pretty slim but one of the more surprising thing is that the keyboard and touchpad area is very cool when you are just doing basic stuff. When I was benchmarking the GPU and CPU, the temperatures didn't rise above 70C, CPU around 50C only. Pretty damn good and the keyboard and touchpad area is ONLY a little warm. You can hardly find any budget laptop that is able to do that, even the Lenovo gaming series are warm even during idle sweat.gif

But hor, the fan is quite loud during the benchmarking just now. I will download MSI Afterburner later and tune the fan speed a bit, lower it. I wouldn't mind higher component temperature as long as they do not exceed 80C or something. Actually at 80-90C the components would do fine but they won't last long under such high temperatures..

Later on Monday will try to get a matte screen protector as I cannot TAHAN the glossy screen. And perhaps some dual layer DVDs as I need to create a recovery disc because I'll be upgrading to the Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD and another 4GB RAM stick.
i got this lappy last friday tooo... smile.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

what do we need to do to the backup os?..burn it into the DVD?..i'm planning to backup it to an external media than to leave it at the hdd...how to create recovery disc btw?.. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

btw, i'm also planning to slap on a 4gb ram...last i checked, the price is Rm139..but the shopowner says that the price will drop summore in few weeks time..so i;m holding out my purchase of the ram for now.. smile.gif
-kytz-
post Jan 5 2014, 03:24 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Jan 5 2014, 02:44 AM)
i got this lappy last friday tooo... smile.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

what do we need to do to the backup os?..burn it into the DVD?..i'm planning to backup it to an external media than to leave it at the hdd...how to create recovery disc btw?..  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

btw, i'm also planning to slap on a 4gb ram...last i checked, the price is Rm139..but the shopowner says that the price will drop summore in few weeks time..so i;m holding out my purchase of the ram for now.. smile.gif
Burn into DVD or usb drive. I think I'll burn it into DVD drive because I've heard that sometimes usb drive might cause problems (from experience also)

I checked the BIOS and I don't think it's bootable from usb drive. Correct me if I'm wrong.

To create a recovery disc you go to the HP program there, it should be on your taskbar, the one with a "HP" wording iinm.

4GB Ram price should be around RM120 actually....

13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:50 AM