126 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

** Google Nexus 4 Official Thread V12 **, The Heritage of Nexus.

x800
post Nov 7 2013, 03:23 PM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

Yup i think he's talking about the official 4.4 OTA, not the custom 4.4..but if its really a hardware limitation why is it available inthe custom kitkats?

This post has been edited by x800: Nov 7 2013, 03:25 PM
NightFelix
post Nov 7 2013, 03:56 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

I wonder possible to customized it into like the Ironman 3 the Computer Interactive Assistant "Jarvis"... Like, Okay Jarvis, hurray! laugh.gif
Fubar20
post Nov 7 2013, 04:01 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 7 2013, 03:56 PM)
I wonder possible to customized it into like the Ironman 3 the Computer Interactive Assistant "Jarvis"... Like, Okay Jarvis, hurray! laugh.gif
Why not? Can use the Open Mic+ app.
Ajiko
post Nov 7 2013, 04:02 PM

246 posts

yes we can. try use open mic+ apps. I tried change the phase to "okay baby" and it works tongue.gif
bryanbc
post Nov 7 2013, 04:13 PM

75 posts

lol can try this theme and add the open mic+ apps like the others mention. biggrin.gif

But no Jarvis to talk back to you unlike the iOS version. sad.gif

Fubar20
post Nov 7 2013, 04:19 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(bryanbc @ Nov 7 2013, 04:13 PM)
lol can try this theme and add the open mic+ apps like the others mention. biggrin.gif

But no Jarvis to talk back to you unlike the iOS version. sad.gif
Can lah by using Tasker to set it up.
tongaz86
post Nov 7 2013, 04:46 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Nov 7 2013, 03:02 PM)
har? swipe side (left) to google now i thought have for nexus 4.

what do you mean activating google voice from home screen? you will get it by saying ok google.
QUOTE(bryanbc @ Nov 7 2013, 03:22 PM)
Swiping left for Google now I think he meant the google experience launcher. I don't think it's available for stock 4.3 and it will be exclusive for N5 for now. We can only activate google now via home button for stock(please correct me if i am wrong), but not sure about custom roms.

Yep, i believe its the ok google function, which is also exclusive for N5 due to hardware reasons, as quoted by google.  sad.gif
QUOTE(x800 @ Nov 7 2013, 03:23 PM)
Yup i think he's talking about the official 4.4 OTA, not the custom 4.4..but if its really a hardware limitation why is it available inthe custom kitkats?
Yup I'm talking about the soon to be release KitKat for the other Nexus family. We will not have the swipe to the left from home screen for Google Now and the 'OK Google' function.

But the AOSP have it so I'm wondering why Google decide it to be exclusive for N5.

Although it still rumours. I just read the article somewhere last night.
bryanbc
post Nov 7 2013, 04:59 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Nov 7 2013, 04:46 PM)
Yup I'm talking about the soon to be release KitKat for the other Nexus family. We will not have the swipe to the left from home screen for Google Now and the 'OK Google'  function.

But the AOSP have it so I'm wondering why Google decide it to be exclusive for N5.

Although it still rumours. I just read the article somewhere last night.
For the Launcher, it is not really a rumour, here is the article that says it won't be available to other devices for now.

And also, the ok google function is due to hardware, the S800 supports voice commands without affecting battery that much. Probably google is afraid of the battery drain if it were to be implemented to other nexus/GPE devices that do not have this chip?but many complained that nexus 4 is handling it well so not sure the actual reason.

Not sure you guys have heard about this, for those using Android Device Manager, you have to re-activate it again. smile.gif
iceman31
post Nov 7 2013, 05:12 PM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

you can say ok jarvis instead of ok google. http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comments/1...ok_jarvis_will/
AweFace
post Nov 7 2013, 06:51 PM

276 posts

How do I edit this screen

Im using CynanogenMod.and how do I delete that torch app?(comes with the mod)

This post has been edited by AweFace: Nov 7 2013, 06:52 PM
cowithgun
post Nov 7 2013, 06:58 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

Introducing Android ART

Another underlying feature of Android Kitkat is a new Android Runtime (ART). Since the dawn of time, Android has been using Dalvik to execute your APK. Your App, which normally in a form of APK, are essentially partial compiled code. Dalvik is responsible into unzipping and using Just-In-Time, compile it and execute it, it does this every time you start an App.

Meet ART, this is a AOT (Ahead-of-Time) compiler. What it will do if you enable this option in Kitkat (developer option), it will recompile your APK into full machine language and keep it that way. Once in full machine language, your code should run at full speed. And without starting additional Dalvik VM overhead, you also freed up some memory.

Read more:

http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/11/06/me...buts-in-kitkat/

My personal take on this is that, with today's fast CPU, the gain is probably not as much as in the link above. However I suspect the best benefit is without Dalvik, you could free up some more RAM on low memory device. Don't really know for sure. Will test this out... if I am free. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Nov 7 2013, 06:59 PM
Ah hao
post Nov 7 2013, 07:02 PM

1,619 posts

will going to japan next week, so tempting to sell my n4 and buy a n5 there :|
muaz9768
post Nov 7 2013, 07:37 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Nov 7 2013, 07:02 PM)
buy extra one for me rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Bugeca
post Nov 7 2013, 07:41 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(AweFace @ Nov 7 2013, 06:51 PM)
How do I edit this screen

Im using CynanogenMod.and how do I delete that torch app?(comes with the mod)
Settings - Interface - Quick Settings panel - Tiles and layout

Press and hold any tile, the ADD tile will change to Delete tile; move the unwanted tile over it (it will change to red).
matkim
post Nov 7 2013, 07:43 PM

iFag
711 posts

so still no update to 4.4 n4?
ic-klass
post Nov 7 2013, 08:51 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Nov 7 2013, 07:02 PM)
Can help me get N5...pls....

x800
post Nov 7 2013, 09:20 PM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

QUOTE(cdwithgun @ Nov 7 2013, 06:58 PM)
My personal take on this is that, with today's fast CPU, the gain is probably not as much as in the link above. However I suspect the best benefit is without Dalvik, you could free up some more RAM on low memory device. Don't really know for sure. Will test this out... if I am free.  rolleyes.gif
From my experience, even on Dalvik, Kitkat really uses a small amount of ram, IIRC about 300MB without any 3rd party apps running. And after I enabled ART, i see that it apps opens up faster, almost instant. Downside at the moment is some apps just refuse to open using ART, straight away FC...and you are right on the CPU part as I notice no significant increase in synthetic benchmarks. User experience is greatly increased though with the faster app load time.
cowithgun
post Nov 7 2013, 09:41 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Nov 7 2013, 09:20 PM)
From my experience, even on Dalvik, Kitkat really uses a small amount of ram, IIRC about 300MB without any 3rd party apps running. And after I enabled ART, i see that it apps opens up faster, almost instant. Downside at the moment is some apps just refuse to open using ART, straight away FC...and you are right on the CPU part as I notice no significant increase in synthetic benchmarks. User experience is greatly increased though with the faster app load time.
awesome! first hand experience! thanks for sharing.
jonjon87
post Nov 7 2013, 10:45 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Nov 7 2013, 09:20 PM)
Good to hear man
ikki_ahmad
post Nov 8 2013, 02:10 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Nov 7 2013, 08:19 AM)
Anyway anyone who already got updated to kitkat successfully converter from dalvik to ART? I used gnome's rom+gapps, and so far had 3 apps fc (tb, whatsapp, & camera/gallery). Plus always got the "android is upgrading" everytime restart.
yep that is the known issue right now if u enabled ART. sure the apps run faster with ART but i cant live without whatsapp. lol. so i changed back to dalvik. im using gnome's kk aosp rom along with ak kernel right now. the best and the most stable kk rom out there atleast for me.

126 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:38 PM