110 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V2, Please post according to Format stated.

DarReNz
post Dec 29 2013, 11:51 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Dec 29 2013, 11:02 PM)
they removed the 20% rebate for air ticket?
it's there
http://www.cimbbank.com.my/creditcard/inde...pg=cc_lu&ac=17#
owenwong84
post Dec 30 2013, 01:53 AM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

It is time to review which card to retain.

I have:
Maybank2 amex
OCBC Titanium
UOB One platinum
CITI Clear

It hurt when it comes to GST and Annual fee charge to my statement when i rarely use the card.

Citi Clear very useful when it comes to dining,shopping, privilege & movie ticket. So i will keep this
OCBC revise to 1%, hardly see the savings unless i swipe a lot. Everymonth max swipe until 400. Sometimes no swipe. Hardly see retailer tie with OCBC for promotion except the curve dining.
Maybank2, the treatpoint easily to achieve when waiving GST. The con is spend on weekend to enjoy cashback.
UOB one, i apply this becoz the BT is the most cheapest. This can only compare with Maybank cashback.

These i normally spend, Maybank2 can achieve more savings if i do it on weekend.
Petrol - RM300
Grocery - RM100
Digi - RM80

Need sifu to advise which 2 card to cancel ? If all free annual fee and GST, then i dun need to headache.

bearbear
post Dec 30 2013, 02:21 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Dec 30 2013, 01:53 AM)
It is time to review which card to retain.

I have:
Maybank2 amex
OCBC Titanium
UOB One platinum
CITI Clear

It hurt when it comes to GST and Annual fee charge to my statement when i rarely use the card.

Citi Clear very useful when it comes to dining,shopping, privilege & movie ticket. So i will keep this
OCBC revise to 1%, hardly see the savings unless i swipe a lot. Everymonth max swipe until 400. Sometimes no swipe. Hardly see retailer tie with OCBC for promotion except the curve dining.
Maybank2, the treatpoint easily to achieve when waiving GST. The con is spend on weekend to enjoy cashback.
UOB one, i apply this becoz the BT is the most cheapest. This can only compare with Maybank cashback.

These i normally spend, Maybank2 can achieve more savings if i do it on weekend.
Petrol - RM300
Grocery - RM100
Digi - RM80

Need sifu to advise which 2 card to cancel ? If all free annual fee and GST, then i dun need to headache.
Cut UOB and possibly OCBC Ti

Using Amex (If it is accepted) on weekdays the 5xTP is equal to 2% rebate. your only problem is when Amex is not accepted but as you mentioned max only 400 a month which rebate RM4 only. sufficient to cover the OCBC Ti GST you reckon? I would cut it and use Maybank2Kard Master/Visa as backup since it's free (You pay GST to use Amex, might as well just utilize the master/visa to gain 0.4% rebate via the TP)

For BT pls check other cards (Bank Islam, Aeon and etc - there is a thread specifically on BT), there are bank that offer 0% interest and 0% fee 6 months BT. in other word this mean it is free to do BT.

Recommend you to get the Aeon Watami
1. You can do 0% interest / fee 6 months BT
2. This can act as your back up card for big transaction, it offer 3% rebate if you spend minimum 3k within 3 months.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Dec 30 2013, 02:28 AM
QuickFire
post Dec 30 2013, 03:10 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 29 2013, 08:19 PM)
CIMB Cash Rebate Platinum MasterCard?
URL: http://www.cimbbank.com.my/creditcard/inde...u&ct=cashrebate
Ah OK thanks.

Also the UOB Vox card:
http://www1.uob.com.my/personal/cards/cred...b_vox_card.html

simplesmile
post Jan 1 2014, 08:30 PM

2,991 posts

Sigh... time to review my credit card.
Currently I have:

1. MBB2 (Amex + Visa)
2. OCBC Titanium

Ever since the OCBC rewards program changed to 1% rebate, I have been thinking of canceling it and possibly apply another card. Any recommendation, to keep or replace with another card?

Usually I spend on:
1. Utilities, petrol, some dining, .... eh, I spend so little only?
simplesmile
post Jan 1 2014, 09:43 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jan 1 2014, 08:30 PM)
Sigh... time to review my credit card.
Currently I have:

1. MBB2 (Amex + Visa)
2. OCBC Titanium

Ever since the OCBC rewards program changed to 1% rebate, I have been thinking of canceling it and possibly apply another card. Any recommendation, to keep or replace with another card?

Usually I spend on:
1. Utilities, petrol, some dining,  .... eh, I spend so little only?
Let me try to answer my own question.
After reading Gen-X wonderful analysis on best cash back credit card, I think the best combination for me is the MBB2 Amex + Alliance Hybrid Premium Debit card.

I thought of OCBC Titanium, but if I can get 2% from Alliance debit card then why do I need to keep OCBC Titanium?
I thought of HLB Wise, but I don't think I can swipe RM500 on the selected categories. Heck... I don't even think I can swipe 10 times RM50 to qualify for rebate.

Appreciate feedback on my analysis.
virgoguy
post Jan 2 2014, 09:49 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jan 1 2014, 09:43 PM)
After reading Gen-X wonderful analysis on best cash back credit card, I think the best combination for me is the MBB2 Amex + Alliance Hybrid Premium Debit card.

I thought of OCBC Titanium, but if I can get 2% from Alliance debit card then why do I need to keep OCBC Titanium?
I thought of HLB Wise, but I don't think I can swipe RM500 on the selected categories. Heck... I don't even think I can swipe 10 times RM50 to qualify for rebate.

same to me here. I plan to fully utilize my MBB2C and keep my current OCBC Ti till the next annual date while waiting for any good CC(which suit my spending behavior)
TSGen-X
post Jan 2 2014, 10:40 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jan 1 2014, 09:43 PM)

Thank you for the kind words and glad that you figured out which cards combinations are good for you.

There is also a diff between Alliance Debit and OCBC Titanium - i.e. RM50GST.
EvanSoon
post Jan 2 2014, 02:17 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM36K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must

3. Card required for: Travel Insurance and, if any, travel related benefits

4. Existing credit cards if any: Citibank Clear Card

5. Looking at CC from: Unknown due to Annual Fees

cg_ng87
post Jan 2 2014, 09:59 PM

82 posts

1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM44K

3. Card required for: Great Eastern life assurance auto debit

4. Existing credit cards if any: MBB 2 Cards, OCBC Titanium Mastercard

5. Looking at CC from: Change from OCBC Titanium to OCBC Great Eastern Platinum Mastercard

6. Others: I have GE insurance premium tat more than RM2.2k which entitled for the Auto Installmemt Payment Plan. I currently pay my premium using OCBC Titanium quarterly and get charged for 4% by GE company. Can I ask OCBC bank to change my Titanium into GE Platinum card? Is it OCBC Titanium and OCBC Great Eastern Platinum card now sharing the same benefits?
simplesmile
post Jan 2 2014, 10:33 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 2 2014, 10:40 AM)
Thank you for the kind words and glad that you figured out which cards combinations are good for you.

There is also a diff between Alliance Debit and OCBC Titanium - i.e. RM50GST.
Aiya... didn't notice the qualifying criteria for Alliance Debit Premium is "privilege banking customer" only. Looks like I have to settle for the Alliance Debit Platinum. Only 1.5%. This means only 0.5% advantage over OCBC Titanium. sad.gif
Maybe I'll just keep my OCBC Titanium until a better card comes along.

The Alliance debit cards do not have GST, but it comes with Annual fee of RM12. Though this amount is still lower than the RM50 GST.
alvincks
post Jan 2 2014, 10:54 PM

1,499 posts

Hi Sifu,

Thanks ahead for the advice !

1. Annual Income: >RM100k

3. Existing credit cards if any: MBB 2 Cards, OCBC Titanium Mastercard, HSBC gold card, Standard Chartered Business Platinum card.

Consumption item: Petrol (<>RM400), GE Insurance (<>1.5k), Grocery (<>1.2k), Online usage (<>USD100)

Question:
a. What card is good for online payment? ie: better conversion rate.
b. Which card i should remove and retain?
c. After card cancellation, do i need to get any card which beneficial for my case?

This post has been edited by alvincks: Jan 2 2014, 10:56 PM
TSGen-X
post Jan 3 2014, 12:43 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(alvincks @ Jan 2 2014, 10:54 PM)
Hi Sifu,

Thanks ahead for the advice !

1. Annual Income: >RM100k

3. Existing credit cards if any: MBB 2 Cards, OCBC Titanium Mastercard, HSBC gold card, Standard Chartered Business Platinum card.

Consumption item: Petrol (<>RM400), GE Insurance (<>1.5k), Grocery (<>1.2k), Online usage (<>USD100)

Question:
a. What card is good for online payment? ie: better conversion rate.
b. Which card i should remove and retain?
c. After card cancellation, do i need to get any card which beneficial for my case?
Sorry can't give you direct answers to your questions a and c. As for b, you should know if your HSBC and SCB cards are any good.

Instead read my articles in the following order:

The Best Cash Back Credit Card Combination 2014.

The Best Credit Card for Overseas Transactions 2014

From the above article, try and do comparison yourself but I suggest you try the option below:

1. Hong Leong Bank for your petrol and groceries up to RM1K. Balance use on weekends with your MBB 2 AMEX.
2. Insurance go with AEON Watami.
3. That leaves you with USD100 which you can either go with AEON Watami but it will then go above the RM5K mark with your insurance premiums, so see if it is worthwhile to get the CIMB Cash Rebate Platinum MasterCard.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 3 2014, 12:45 AM
DarReNz
post Jan 3 2014, 05:18 PM

7,496 posts

hmm i think if you use your card strictly for online shopping than UOB Vox would be better than CIMB Platinum
alvincks
post Jan 4 2014, 01:19 AM

1,499 posts

Thanks Gen-X and Darrenz!!
frozen7
post Jan 4 2014, 05:07 PM

176 posts

1. Annual Income: 36k to 60k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferably free lifetime

3. Card required for: Petrol

4. Existing credit cards if any: CitiClear, Standard Chartered World Miles

5. Looking at CC from: Anyone which gives better offer

6. Others: Planning to cut Standard chartered sooner.
TSGen-X
post Jan 4 2014, 06:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Jan 4 2014, 05:07 PM)
1. Annual Income: 36k to 60k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferably free lifetime 

3. Card required for: Petrol

4. Existing credit cards if any: CitiClear, Standard Chartered World Miles

5. Looking at CC from: Anyone which gives better offer

6. Others: Planning to cut Standard chartered sooner.
If you want FREE FOR LIFE, then get Maybankard 2 Cards where the AMEX earns you 5X Treats Points everyday PLUS 5% cash back on Saturday and Sunday. Goto MBB 2 Cards Thread for more info.

However, if you pump between RM500 to RM1K per month AND can split it to 10 times, then the HLB WISE will earn you more cash back even after deducting the annual fee. Goto HLB Wise Thread for more info. You can also click here to my article The Best Cash Back Credit Cards Combination 2014 where I have prepared a table of comparison for various credit card and how one can benefit from the HLS Wise.

As for wanting to terminate your SCB, I suggest you go read SCB Thread last 2 pages and you'll be glad you did.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 4 2014, 08:44 PM
djronzai
post Jan 5 2014, 10:16 PM

KL ron
881 posts

1. Annual Income: 36k - 40k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A must

3. Card required for: petrol, cash rebate, mobile credit, a little bit of groceries (clothing)

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Looking at CC from: any banks will do, as long as i can apply it at KL

6. Others: prefer cash back,not interested with rewards point
bearbear
post Jan 6 2014, 04:09 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(djronzai @ Jan 5 2014, 10:16 PM)
1. Annual Income: 36k - 40k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A must

3. Card required for: petrol, cash rebate, mobile credit, a little bit of groceries (clothing)

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Looking at CC from: any banks will do, as long as i can apply it at KL

6. Others: prefer cash back,not interested with rewards point
1. Maybank2Kard Amex
5% rebate on weekend
5X Treat Points everyday (Equivalent to 2% value)
0 annual fee

2. WISE Hong Leong
10% on selected category
Require minimum 10X RM50 transactions per month to qualify for rebate else 0
No waiver on annual fee
djronzai
post Jan 6 2014, 10:28 PM

KL ron
881 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jan 6 2014, 04:09 PM)
1. Maybank2Kard Amex
5% rebate on weekend
5X Treat Points everyday (Equivalent to 2% value)
0 annual fee

2. WISE Hong Leong
10% on selected category
Require minimum 10X RM50 transactions per month to qualify for rebate else 0
No waiver on annual fee
1. Maybank2kard Amex minimum requirement 60k PA, i am not qualified to apply this card still
2. I dont spend that much every months.

Thank you for your recommendation. what do you think about Cimb cash rebate platinum mastercard?

110 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:35 AM