63 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Iconia W4 (W3-810 refresh) 8" tablet IPS screen, Baytrail Z3740 - Available Dec 6, 2013

Eiraku
post Apr 30 2014, 11:11 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(arcxandroid @ Apr 30 2014, 10:48 AM)
The offer already ended, gonna try the free for while  tongue.gif
I just checked the link I gave above and it's still on. God knows for how long though.

That said, I'll prolly hold off getting another three year key. Just in case they start to get crappier as time goes by, let's see in 3 years if they're still worth giving money to.

That said RM30 per annum for a top range AV for UNLIMITED devices is still very, very tempting.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 30 2014, 11:36 AM
arcxandroid
post Apr 30 2014, 11:52 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Apr 30 2014, 11:11 AM)
I just checked the link I gave above and it's still on. God knows for how long though.

That said, I'll prolly hold off getting another three year key. Just in case they start to get crappier as time goes by, let's see in 3 years if they're still worth giving money to.

That said RM30 per annum for a top range AV for UNLIMITED devices is still very, very tempting.
I miss the link for that offer, just bought it now biggrin.gif , thanks again
Eiraku
post Apr 30 2014, 02:40 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(arcxandroid @ Apr 30 2014, 11:52 AM)
I miss the link for that offer, just bought it now  biggrin.gif , thanks again
You're welcome, bro.

Looking though Garage sales, most AV programs are being sold at that price (RM30-40) anyway (OEM keys probably, the legality of which demands an entire argument of its own) although there are very little choice besides the usual Kaspersky (bloat), Norton (used to be bloat, now not so sure), Avast (good but quickly getting bloated) and Bitdefender (good but slightly bloated) - and the fact that for ALL of the other brands, it's usually sold "device-centric" (limited to a certain number of devices: 1PC or 3PC).

Even the Avira resellers in garage seem to not want to upsell (or are not aware of) the fact that Avira is actually free of this "limitation" (within reason of course - buying a 1-user licence and deploying it on 100 corporate computers would obviously warrant a blacklisting from Avira). Then again, if everyone knew it would really hurt sales lol.

That said, for a typical Malaysian household, RM60-70 (normal Malaysian MRSP for Avira) for 1 year "premium" protection of 10+ devices in the house of whatever OSes (Window/OSX/Linux/Android) is a pretty sweet deal indeed. If you don't mind the slightly archaic UI of course.

The only other brand to offer this is Bitdefender with BD Sphere but that is RM200+ for 2 years and I can't even find a local distributor for the stuff.

Really, the other vendors have to stop this "device-centric" madness soon. Having to go for yearly subscriptions is bad enough, and I really hope what Avira is doing will become a trend.

And again, the free versions of AVG, Bitdefender and of course, Avira, is plenty good but they will of course slow things down with ads, nags and promos so that's that.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 30 2014, 10:51 PM
marauderz
post Apr 30 2014, 04:11 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Apr 30 2014, 10:17 AM)
Yup, sure looks that way.
csong60
post Apr 30 2014, 05:32 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Dec 11 2013, 06:55 PM)
One piece MicroUSB OTG converter? Got, I'm using it, go to all it and find it near the USB cable place.
Hi!,

Can you post a picture of the "one piece" MicroUSB OTG converter?

marauderz
post Apr 30 2014, 05:51 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(csong60 @ Apr 30 2014, 05:32 PM)
Hi!,

Can you post a picture of the "one piece" MicroUSB OTG converter?

Such a late reply. But here you go!

csong60
post Apr 30 2014, 05:58 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 30 2014, 05:51 PM)

That was quick ;-) Many thanks!

Eiraku
post Apr 30 2014, 08:56 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 30 2014, 05:51 PM)

Yum. How much is this and where from (which All IT)? I already have a billion OTG cables but this seems to be a great backup.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 30 2014, 08:58 PM
marauderz
post Apr 30 2014, 09:38 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Apr 30 2014, 08:56 PM)
Yum. How much is this and where from (which All IT)? I already have a billion OTG cables but this seems to be a great backup.
around RM15-RM20, while it's more compact and easier to carry around, note that you're applying more stress on the USB port, so be careful.
csong60
post May 1 2014, 08:22 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 30 2014, 09:38 PM)
around RM15-RM20, while it's more compact and easier to carry around, note that you're applying more stress on the USB port, so be careful.
Yup .... from the look of the design, I am pretty sure it is going to add more stress on the USB port. I reckon I better stick to the original OTG cable then.
marauderz
post May 1 2014, 11:05 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(csong60 @ May 1 2014, 08:22 AM)
Yup .... from the look of the design, I am pretty sure it is going to add more stress on the USB port. I reckon I better stick to the original OTG cable then.
Good thing about a plug is that it's easy to keep around in your wallet. So think of it as for emergency 🚨 purposes!
Eiraku
post May 4 2014, 01:42 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ May 1 2014, 11:05 AM)
Good thing about a plug is that it's easy to keep around in your wallet. So think of it as for emergency 🚨 purposes!
On the subject of OTG cables, the cheapest I've found the stuff for offline are RM5 in the night market in front of Sogo. And these are the better built ones, not those cheapo ones with crappy plastic casing and flimsy cable.

Anyhows, anybody find a tempered glass protector that fits our W4 yet? I've seen people use Nexus 7 protectors for the Venue, maybe it could fit the W4?

That said, I've never even seen anyone selling the N7 glass protectors locally in shops lol.
Eiraku
post May 4 2014, 09:25 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

BTW, All IT has a promo going for powerbanks right now: The Huntkey HPBA6000 6000mAh lipoly with a single 2.1A output for RM30.

I tested it in-store just to be sure, especially I got burned by the RM50 for a crappy powerbank scam a few weeks back in Lowyat Plaza (supposedly discounted from RM90, apparently the 2.1A output port on it couldn't even do 500mA).

The Huntkey chugged along like a boss with a 1800 in the GCC app on my Note 2. Plus, as a bonus, it charges my W4 *directly* sans booster adapter, and even does it at an oklah speed. Woohoo.

Sure, another port would be nice, but it's RM30!

Needless to say, I took two. Maybe I should go back and take one more lol.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: May 4 2014, 09:34 PM
sotong168
post May 4 2014, 10:32 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ May 4 2014, 09:25 PM)
BTW, All IT has a promo going for powerbanks right now: The Huntkey HPBA6000 6000mAh lipoly with a single 2.1A output for RM30.

I tested it in-store just to be sure, especially I got burned by the RM50 for a crappy powerbank scam a few weeks back in Lowyat Plaza (supposedly discounted from RM90, apparently the 2.1A output port on it couldn't even do 500mA).

The Huntkey chugged along like a boss with a 1800 in the GCC app on my Note 2. Plus, as a bonus, it charges my W4 *directly* sans booster adapter, and even does it at an oklah speed. Woohoo.

Sure, another port would be nice, but it's RM30!

Needless to say, I took two. Maybe I should go back and take one more lol.
nice price but dun u think 2.1A is a bit too high for your N2? for tablet ok lah
andrekua2
post May 4 2014, 10:47 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 4 2014, 10:32 PM)
nice price but dun u think 2.1A is a bit too high for your N2? for tablet ok lah
Note2 original charger is rated at 2A. Just a bit more.

Im more interested in whether is it really authentic Huntkey powerbank? RM30 is really cheap for 6000mAH.
sotong168
post May 4 2014, 10:53 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 4 2014, 10:47 PM)

Im more interested in whether is it really authentic Huntkey powerbank? RM30 is really cheap for 6000mAH.
oic, me noob blush.gif ya, RM30 is cheap for a real 6000mAh
Eiraku
post May 4 2014, 11:48 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 4 2014, 10:47 PM)

Apparently it is authentic because the RM30 thing is only temporary. From tomorrow it'll go back to the normal price of RM60++. Which is more reasonable for a single port powerbank of that capacity, albeit still worth it as does 2.1a *properly*.

I just found out that bit of info about the end of the promo BTW. Now I am kicking myself for not buying 4 or more of the thing. I would have had 24000mAh with 4 dedicated 2.1a ports at my disposal for an investment of *just* RM120.

Provided it's a real 6000mAh pack, anyway.

Of course I'll have to charge it all separately (and at 1a input it's gonna be quite a while), but that still doesn't really lessen the regret much.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: May 5 2014, 10:47 AM
marauderz
post May 5 2014, 01:18 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 4 2014, 10:32 PM)
Amps is how fast current can flow, if your device doesn't consume that much amps, it'll just work like normal, volts are the thing to watch for discrepancies.
marauderz
post May 5 2014, 01:20 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ May 4 2014, 01:42 PM)
On the subject of OTG cables, the cheapest I've found the stuff for offline are RM5 in the night market in front of Sogo. And these are the better built ones, not those cheapo ones with crappy plastic casing and flimsy cable.

Anyhows, anybody find a tempered glass protector that fits our W4 yet? I've seen people use Nexus 7 protectors for the Venue, maybe it could fit the W4?

That said, I've never even seen anyone selling the N7 glass protectors locally in shops lol.
Considering I use a cut W4 screen protector on my Venue, it it should work.
jeopardise
post May 7 2014, 12:32 PM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

My W4 fell on the road yesterday and lived.

Thanks for the 3rd party case cover.

I think can change the damaged cover if I send to service center right? (Forget the price: can or not?)

This post has been edited by jeopardise: May 7 2014, 12:54 PM

63 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:08 PM