Iconia W4 (W3-810 refresh) 8" tablet IPS screen, Baytrail Z3740 - Available Dec 6, 2013

Eiraku
post Jan 2 2014, 03:33 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Currently contemplating getting a W4. Getting an 8 inch tablet that comes with 'proper' windows is mighty tempting to say the least, if not just for Office and full standards compliant access to WordPress.

It's either this or the DV8P, as the active pen is mighty damn interesting to say the least (especially considering I'm an avid Note user). A shame Dell Malaysia is not bring this in though.

Oh, and you CAN install android stuff on Win 8 with Bluestacks, like somebody mentioned before. Weather or not it works well enough to be of any use is another matter altogether, as I have it running fine on my laptop (which is fully specced i7 machine) but have never really used it much anyway.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 2 2014, 03:53 PM
Eiraku
post Jan 2 2014, 03:57 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 2 2014, 03:46 PM)
My Rapoo bluetooth is delivering today... cant wait to test it out...
Keyboard? Mouse?

The E6700 E6500 mini I got is working fantabulously for my Note 2. It's good enough for me to hammer about 40 000 words on it so no real complaints.

@marauderz: Where did you get that USB charging doodad anyway? The one that comes with the button? Should be useful in tricking more iPad spec USB ports to charge my N2 (charges faster with more amps) and (hopefully) the W4.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 2 2014, 04:08 PM
Eiraku
post Jan 2 2014, 04:07 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 2 2014, 03:59 PM)
You also get the E6700? Where did you bought it? Had to ship it from Taobao.
Sorry mang. Mine was the E6500. But damn that E6700 looks like nearly EVERYTHING I ever wanted from a bluetooth keyboard.Wonder if it'll work with Android too.

How much and where didcha get it from? Linkies?

Crap now I want one. If only Rapoo made a version of the tiny E35 with a touchpad.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 2 2014, 04:17 PM
Eiraku
post Jan 2 2014, 04:18 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 2 2014, 04:12 PM)
Well, you can search for it in Taobao. I cant find anyone selling it here.

Coincidentally, when I bought it, Taobao was doing this double 12 celebration, for 12-12-2013. Got it for RMB289 and paid another 35RMB for shipping. Total about RM180.

Usual price is 399RMB.
Photos when it arrives okay? I'm especially curious as to the size of the thing. Though that's already twice the price of my E35, which - considering I already have a perfectly usable bluetooth mouse - might not make it worth the added convenience.

That said, it IS still cheaper than a Wedge mobile and you still need to get a mouse with that.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 2 2014, 04:34 PM
Eiraku
post Jan 3 2014, 08:48 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 3 2014, 08:29 AM)
Starts today but I wonder if internal people will grab it before it starts. Only 10 units at Digital Mall.
Oh mai. That's pushing the W4 ever closer to impulse buy territory.

Will check it out later. Hope I get lucky.
Eiraku
post Jan 3 2014, 01:55 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

So anyone managed to get the W4 discount thingy from Digital Mall?
Eiraku
post Jan 3 2014, 05:24 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(terukble @ Jan 3 2014, 03:01 PM)
Same. I buy the RM15 touchpen to use with OneNote and W4. So good for my work to write notes
Decided to wait for the Asus first before deciding on the W4. The digitizer and built in stylus will be VERY useful when you're out and about sans external pointing devices, and a capacitive stylus is not really comparable to the exact accuracy of an active one.

Besides, I'm a Note addict. Only Wacom can satisfy my cravings lol. Hopefully it's not a laggy mess like the Synaptics on the Dell V8P.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 3 2014, 05:25 PM
Eiraku
post Jan 6 2014, 03:25 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 6 2014, 10:30 AM)
Just got my keyboard. Didn't have my W4 with me now. Stupid courier didn't even apologised for FFK when I self collect just now.

It is smaller than I expected. A bit cramped. Will update later.
Check if the pad works with an Android device if you have any?
Eiraku
post Jan 6 2014, 10:10 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 6 2014, 04:31 PM)
Typing this from my Rapoo. Man, this really need some time to get used. Keys are too damn small. Touchpad works too. Oh, this is paired to ny Note2.

Let see what works with Note 2.

1. both keyboard and touchpad works well with note2
2. gestures like pinch zoom works, but a bit weird because when you start using the keyboard, the screen moved and you cant see what you are typing (Im only testing it with fast reply). Strangely though, if you pinch zoom from note2 screen, then the position of the screen is intact.
3. more gestures like 2 fingers to scroll up and down, and even 3 fingers works too as back and forward in browser. At first, it seem like 4 fingers minimize/maximize gesture works, but Im not too sure why it worked once and stop working then.

Update: Seem like it works with iPhone too but only keyboard works.
Niceeeeee. Just what I needed to know.

Now, if only anybody could take my old 6500 off my hands.

Eiraku
post Apr 5 2014, 02:37 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

I can confirm that it has already started, the offer. I just (after nearly a year waiting and mulling) got mine lol.
Eiraku
post Apr 8 2014, 08:44 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Oh my. Had an unfortunate mishap involving my 3 day old W4 and the hidden enemy all gadgets - Gravity. Thankfully, there wasn't really much damage due to the crunch cover (and the fact that the W4 was built tough).

That said, I'm beginning to think that the crunch cover is not protective enough. Wondering if there are any full body TPU covers for the W4 - with or without a front flip cover.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 8 2014, 08:47 AM
Eiraku
post Apr 8 2014, 10:34 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Apr 8 2014, 10:27 AM)
W4 is not made of metal or whatever unibody and therefore tends to flex under great force.

Hope your unit is working fine.

I ordered the crunch cover and on the way to me. Not hoping it could protect my device but I need a stand  nod.gif
Everything is working dandy. I'm thinking that being flexible actually helped save it from any major damage - this time. That plus the excess material around the crunch cover.

That said, a straight drop hitting any of the corners would probably crack the W4 open.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 8 2014, 10:36 AM
Eiraku
post Apr 8 2014, 11:34 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 8 2014, 11:30 AM)
The crunch cover is mainly for lightweight screen protection and also to be able to conveniently take a stand with you, I put mine in one of those 8" slip cases.
Hmm, a slip case does sound okay. If there was a TPU whole body case + crunch combo case that would be stellar though, considering how useful the crunch actually is as a stand.

That said, as it wasn't really designed for drops, guess I got really lucky with the crunch case this time. Fuuuh.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 8 2014, 11:37 AM
Eiraku
post Apr 8 2014, 08:11 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

I was wondering if any one of you are facing any difficulty waking up your sleeping W4?

In my case, *sometimes* the screen turns on but stays black after I wake it up (either using the power or win button). I know it's on because I can see the touch points and trails when I touch the screen but it remains blank.

Repeating the process (sleep -> wake up) returns me back to the blank screen. No lockscreen... nada.

Anybody else seeing this? I'm already on the latest BIOS btw.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 8 2014, 08:15 PM
Eiraku
post Apr 10 2014, 12:00 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 9 2014, 10:36 AM)
You can actually see the trails on the screen? Then it's not like the previous problem where it couldn't wake up after an auto update.

I suppose you've already tried pressing the power off and on again? Have U tried the windows button?

Reminds me of a weird thing that happening now with the vivotab 8 pressing the power button to wake it up gets me the 'do you want to shut down' lock screen drop down.
Apparently the blank screen after unlock I get is caused by changing lockscreen pictures. I dunno how that has to do with anything either, but that's what I got from my digging around in the system.

It was simply exacerbated by the fact that the Facebook app was having fun changing the lockscreen pic on its own, causing more random blank screen-ness.

That said, does the non-3G W4 come with GNSS? Googling gives me conflicting answers except for the fact that the 3G version DOES come with GNSS.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 10 2014, 12:03 PM
Eiraku
post Apr 11 2014, 12:18 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 11 2014, 10:23 AM)
aaa.. the more global term since there're so many systems for tracking now is It? tongue.gif
Yep. Since GPS specifically refers to the American system now.

That said I remember the early days of single constellation systems. Lock-on was slow and accuracy was erratic. Now with GNSS receivers lock-on is nearly instant and accuracy is almost impeccable.

That said we live in an age where I'm actually using Desktop Windows on a tiny, handheld, keyboardless device without it being totally useless, so yeah.

We've come a long way, though I can't wait for what the next wave of touch Atom device will bring - looking at how much better Bay Trail is compared to Clover Trail right before it.

Wait, I *actually* have an Adornit Jot mini somewhere at home. Maybe it's about time I dug it out for testing.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 11 2014, 12:24 PM
Eiraku
post Apr 14 2014, 06:45 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Apr 14 2014, 12:10 AM)
did anybody realize the Win 8.1 update has made the touch mode way better and friendlier in desktop mode than before?

Before the update, it was hard to tap on Chrome close button. Now piece of cake.
The keyboard sound volume is way down low now though, which is a shame cause I actually like the feedback.

Any way to mod that?
Eiraku
post Apr 14 2014, 09:19 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Any current deals on the W4 that's NOT on Lazada? I'm planning on getting another one + crunch cover.

That said, what do you guys do with the gaggle of fargly stickers on the back? Any cons in removing them - except maybe the serial number sticker.
Eiraku
post Apr 16 2014, 02:57 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Hackezkk @ Apr 16 2014, 12:28 PM)
yeah..the are some noise..however it gone while playing audio..usb dac might be works coz works on lappy too
USB DACs will work for sure, at least the lower powered ones.
Eiraku
post Apr 17 2014, 12:27 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Apr 16 2014, 10:27 PM)
In my previous post here, the AVF (local brand) USB power adapter that has 2 USB ports total wattage is 20W because both can go out 10V 2.1A. It works on 1 of the port.

Anyway, I found out an interesting thing on Kickstarter site. The +port adapter that works on Lenovo Mixx 8, Toshiba Encore.

Here it is https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/109477...me/posts/775186
Hopefully this works, I'm up for two if it does. Opens a whole new world of productivity - especially with the (cheapo) HDMI VGA cable I just scored.

Talking about cheapo:

Sleeve a fabricated with stuff from Mr.DIY. Funnily of all the B5 size sleeves I found (and I went to quite a few shops) only this particular one fits the W4 with the crunch cover attached. Everything else is either too big or too small.

So, total damage? 1x B5 pocket + 1x Thick Chamois Cloth (for shock absorbtion) = RM6. Not bad at all, considering it even has a pocket to store my Rapoo BT keyboard. I even ended up buying spares lol.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 17 2014, 12:38 PM

0.0454sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:48 AM