The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 12:41 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 9 2014, 11:39 AM)
Is your kitchen cabinet finish install?

If you plan to have kids, the island cabinet top table extend out corner is abit dangerous.  sweat.gif  For children will bang his head or eye. For adult, that hurt stomach.

But if haven't finish, ignore it.
The quartz counter top will be coming in tomorrow. It will lays on top of the wood backing. Then it will have more inches in thickness and slightly rounded edges. Still possible to knock ourself on it tongue.gif ...but I've seen a very simple little corner protecting pad in Aino Living yesterday. Will put that when I've children... hmm.gif

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 9 2014, 11:41 AM)
You didn't said the magic word.  biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Apr 9 2014, 12:41 PM
TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 12:46 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(azleena @ Apr 9 2014, 12:07 PM)
Its like this... Here is the kitchen from the inside. The hob will go roughly where that left sink is, that sink will be taken out, leaving only the sink by the window. I was thinking that the ducting should go over the upper cabinet and over the window where it needs to run to the end of the "yard".
[attachmentid=3923278]

But i was looking at pics the other day, and realized something about this pic taken from the outside looking at the "yard" and back of the kitchen:
[attachmentid=3923247]

The ceiling at the yard area is much lower, don't think ducting will fit. I need to check with kitchen designers, but i am guessing one of those top square glass panes will have to come out... but then really ugly lor.... maybe I should cancel all my headaches and just settle for a recirculating hood...  rclxub.gif
What's the possibility if:
1) the duct to go thru the dropped box and come out from top of the ceiling at the yard?
2) the duct to go thru the dropped box and all the way up to the roof (provided there is a roof above the yard area)?

azleena
post Apr 9 2014, 01:37 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Apr 9 2014, 12:46 PM)
What's the possibility if:
1) the duct to go thru the dropped box and come out from top of the ceiling at the yard?
2) the duct to go thru the dropped box and all the way up to the roof (provided there is a roof above the yard area)?
I need to go back to the site to check. From the plan, above the yard area is a balcony and also an aircond unit area, presumably on a tiled RC floor. I have no idea if drilling through the RC is possible, or if someone would be able to get inside the dropped box to install the ducting... but even if it is possible, surely its not a good idea to have the ducting come out on the balcony or near the aircond unit??? rclxub.gif

Forgot to ask, from the pics of your kitchen, doesn't look like the backsplash is in yet? what kind of backsplash will you have?

This post has been edited by azleena: Apr 9 2014, 01:55 PM
mrgoodgood
post Apr 9 2014, 01:58 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(azleena @ Apr 9 2014, 01:37 PM)
I need to go back to the site to check. From the plan, above the yard area is a balcony and also an aircond unit area, presumably on a tiled RC floor. I have no idea if drilling through the RC is possible, or if someone would be able to get inside the dropped box to install the ducting... but even if it is possible, surely its not a good idea to have the ducting come out on the balcony or near the aircond unit???  rclxub.gif
Hi azleena,

Your ceiling seems very high (11-12ft?). Perhaps it is worth checking out if the ducting can go above the RC floor to the balcony area. I think that will be the best solution (and you won't have the problem of an oily yard!)

I think it will be quite expensive for you to build full-height cabinets biggrin.gif . Very difficult to access too since they will be so high up. When is your renovation starting?
azleena
post Apr 9 2014, 02:13 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(mrgoodgood @ Apr 9 2014, 01:58 PM)
Hi azleena,

Your ceiling seems very high (11-12ft?). Perhaps it is worth checking out if the ducting can go above the RC floor to the balcony area. I think that will be the best solution (and you won't have the problem of an oily yard!)

I think it will be quite expensive for you to build full-height cabinets  biggrin.gif . Very difficult to access too since they will be so high up. When is your renovation starting?
yes, will check that. but i guess can only be confirmed after I actually choose and appoint a kitchen contractor and do a site visit.

No idea when we will start reno... still waiting to get the keys and start defect rectification first!!! Thats why I am taking my time to appoint someone, using all my available time to visit every kitchen contractor in this area!!!
SUSsupersound
post Apr 9 2014, 02:23 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(azleena @ Apr 9 2014, 02:13 PM)
yes, will check that. but i guess can only be confirmed after I actually choose and appoint a kitchen contractor and do a site visit.

No idea when we will start reno... still waiting to get the keys and start defect rectification first!!! Thats why I am taking my time to appoint someone, using all my available time to visit every kitchen contractor in this area!!!
Any problem with defects so far?
Visual inspection nothing much, you need to seal the toilet holes with plastics and tapes, fill water in and flood them. Double storey houses must do this, else you will have leaking problem after some time. Then look for someone that can climb up and check on the roof's construction.
Since you are going to do a major reno, just lay new water pipes. If budget not a problem, use AC pipes, can withstand high pressure compare to poly pipe. Else, poly pipe.
Like a Bause
post Apr 9 2014, 02:35 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 9 2014, 02:23 PM)
Visual inspection nothing much, you need to seal the toilet holes with plastics and tapes, fill water in and flood them. Double storey houses must do this, else you will have leaking problem after some time. Then look for someone that can climb up and check on the roof's construction.
Since you are going to do a major reno, just lay new water pipes. If budget not a problem, use AC pipes, can withstand high pressure compare to poly pipe. Else, poly pipe.
any advice to check for defect if it is a condo unit? not sure who is my up neighbour yet though.. blink.gif
azleena
post Apr 9 2014, 02:38 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 9 2014, 02:23 PM)
New water pipes? Its a new house, why do i need new water pipes?

I hope its not a major reno - electrical, plaster ceiling downstairs, kitchen and wardrobes. Hopefully no extension.
azleena
post Apr 9 2014, 02:49 PM

183 posts

How do we tag people in a post? Would like anyone with experience installing hoods like zheilwane (did i spell that correctly?) to come give an opinion on my hood situation.
monkey9926
post Apr 9 2014, 03:41 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Apr 9 2014, 11:27 AM)
Yup, this price. Cash and carry~
Make sure you look for Zean himself but not his parent to get the best deal.
wah family politics
Like a Bause
post Apr 9 2014, 03:48 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Apr 9 2014, 03:41 PM)
wah family politics
lol.. maybe young ppl give discount song fai di ~ biggrin.gif
TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 04:01 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(zoe33 @ Apr 9 2014, 12:36 PM)
just bought 2 sets of JS como and a JS sink from builders. I didnt buy the accessories yet. I thought Builders have good price for JS until you mentioned Ga Hing on the accessories.
What were the accessories you bought from Gahing? their tiles cheap? what brand?
Things i get from GH:
i) JS for all bathroom taps, bidet, shower heads and rails, mixer, WC and bathroom basin.
- I get 50% off all JS bathroom accesorries (excluded WC and basin). Compared with others, GH is cheaper. They manage to give good price on JS coz they really have volume. Went to collect something from their warehouse in Kuchai Lama, very big warehouse they have with many pallets of JS stocks!

ii) bath tub

iii) all my tiles except peranakan tiles and tiles for feature wall of shared bathroom.
- reasonable price for all brands and i got 30% off for Niro Granites. As they are a big comp, i have less worry on hanky panky things...Eg. I heard that buying from Ipoh rd got to be careful sometimes, some unethical vendors (not all vendors of course) will mixed grade B tiles into grade A's tiles and offer very low price to lure customers. I'm not sure how true is this saying, pls don't quote my name.

However, i find that only one or two sales guys there are keen to serve (I'm refering to their branch in Old Klang Rd). A Bangladeshi is very good and hardworking on assisting customers on tiles selection, but for other fittings stuff, he is not good in guiding the selection. There is a chinese guy quite good. Other staffs are passive, not keen to serve and hardly crack a smile on the face. Mine was served by their branch manager that time...

This post has been edited by maxxon: Apr 9 2014, 11:23 PM
TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 04:13 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(azleena @ Apr 9 2014, 01:37 PM)
I need to go back to the site to check. From the plan, above the yard area is a balcony and also an aircond unit area, presumably on a tiled RC floor. I have no idea if drilling through the RC is possible, or if someone would be able to get inside the dropped box to install the ducting... but even if it is possible, surely its not a good idea to have the ducting come out on the balcony or near the aircond unit???  rclxub.gif
Forgot to ask, from the pics of your kitchen, doesn't look like the backsplash is in yet? what kind of backsplash will you have?
Do you mean there are aircond compressor units above the yard? If that's the case i don't think you want to place the duct output there to avoid oily and air with odor, unless you choose to re-allocate the compressors as it's better for it to draw clean air in...

I think the best and right person to consult is bring an experienced contractor to the site. Only the contractor knows what can be hacked and what's not. They might also have various ideas from their experience building so many kitchens. Correct?

My kitchen backsplash is still pending the desicion whether tempered glass or brushed stainless steel. I've got to make up my mind soon...

This post has been edited by maxxon: Apr 9 2014, 04:14 PM
fremont88
post Apr 9 2014, 04:14 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(azleena @ Apr 9 2014, 02:38 PM)

I hope its not a major reno - electrical, plaster ceiling downstairs, kitchen and wardrobes. Hopefully no extension.
mine also the same, no major reno, but also major headache lio....
TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 04:37 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Apr 9 2014, 03:41 PM)
wah family politics
QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Apr 9 2014, 03:48 PM)
lol.. maybe young ppl give discount song fai di ~  biggrin.gif
The son is the price decision maker...
The father hardly speak or crack a smile (maybe face original like that).
The mother not as good as Zean in giving advise on product selection. Eg., i bought a rounded shape sink tap and looking for another smaller ones to be put on the same sink... She recommended me a squarish type, Zean over-heard and quickly corrected her.

azleena
post Apr 9 2014, 04:40 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Apr 9 2014, 04:13 PM)
Do you mean there are aircond compressor units above the yard? If that's the case i don't think you want to place the duct output there to avoid oily and air with odor, unless you choose to re-allocate the compressors as it's better for it to draw clean air in...

I think the best and right person to consult is bring an experienced contractor to the site. Only the contractor knows what can be hacked and what's not. They might also have various ideas from their experience building so many kitchens. Correct?

My kitchen backsplash is still pending the desicion whether tempered glass or brushed stainless steel. I've got to make up my mind soon...
Exactly my thoughts. Nanti the balcony floor and glass sliding door, or aircond compressor will be covered with oil.

I really don't cook much oily or smelly stuff... no ikan masin or sambal belacan... at worst sambal nasi lemak. We do plan to get an air fryer. i do a lot of baking and roasting and steaming. Maybe a recirculating hood will be my best option......... cry.gif

This post has been edited by azleena: Apr 9 2014, 04:45 PM
SUSsupersound
post Apr 9 2014, 05:29 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Apr 9 2014, 02:35 PM)
any advice to check for defect if it is a condo unit? not sure who is my up neighbour yet though..  blink.gif
Terrace house I only know, but for those, should be the same.

QUOTE(azleena @ Apr 9 2014, 02:38 PM)

Its a new house, is a fact, it will still turn to old house, right?
Like a Bause
post Apr 9 2014, 05:54 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 9 2014, 05:29 PM)
i think the main issue is to get the upper floor neighbour perform flooding on their respective toilets. if they do not check it during completion, next time if later found leak sure very headache.. rclxub.gif
soR
post Apr 9 2014, 06:23 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 9 2014, 11:41 AM)
You didn't said the magic word.  biggrin.gif
Huh? hmm.gif
azleena
post Apr 9 2014, 06:32 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 9 2014, 05:29 PM)
Yeah, but with a new house i have no need to do major hacking. Would be a huge cost to replace new pipes!

50 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:13 PM