ntw
post Nov 27 2023, 11:55 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 27 2023, 11:40 PM)
The green wan is for PC.

Red is for NAS. As what I know la.

I already have 4x16tb Ironwolf running. I need another 4set.
The Seagate consumer line-up Barracuda (green) comes with 2 years warranty, Ironwolf (red) comes with 3 years warranty, Ironwolf Pro (red) comes with 3-5 years warranty. Exos (green) is marketed for commercial/ enterprise, comes with 5 years warranty.

For the same or lower price, I'd go for the Exos

This post has been edited by ntw: Nov 27 2023, 11:57 PM
WaNaWe900
post Nov 28 2023, 01:05 AM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Nov 27 2023, 10:25 PM)
Ah okay! Exos not good? Because it's written datacenter hard drive
Exos better than Ironwolf / Ironwolf Pro icon_rolleyes.gif

The green wan is for PC.

Except for Exos since its specific for Datacenter brows.gif

QUOTE(ntw @ Nov 27 2023, 11:55 PM)
The Seagate consumer line-up Barracuda (green) comes with 2 years warranty, Ironwolf (red) comes with 3 years warranty, Ironwolf Pro (red) comes with 3-5 years warranty. Exos (green) is marketed for commercial/ enterprise, comes with 5 years warranty.

For the same or lower price, I'd go for the Exos
Totally agreed notworthy.gif ... there's another one Seagate SkyHawk (Blue) for CCTV icon_rolleyes.gif
If same price between Ironwolf vs Exos will go for Exos surely thumbup.gif
thankyou
post Nov 28 2023, 01:30 AM

1,939 posts

The green wan is for PC.

Maybe can consider Exos X

I'm quoting from website, don't bash me if it's false info:

Seagate Exos vs IronWolf Pro

Seagate Exos
The Exos series is an upgraded version of the IronWolf Pro series. However, unlike only a few drives in the IronWolf Pro line that are filled with helium, every drive in the Exos line is filled with helium.

The Seagate Exos is a high-performance, helium-based hard drive designed for creative professionals. This means it can hold more data and access it faster than a traditional drive.

Seagate Exos

Advantages:

Unlimited Potential: Since the Seagate Exos series is compatible with any number of drives, the number of Seagate Exos drives you can combine in a single NAS is only limited by the number of bays in the server.
Great Responsiveness: Seagate Exos drives are among the fastest on the market, and they’re designed to be extremely durable.
Disadvantages:

Cost: The price of Seagate Exos is a little high. However, the value provided by the Exos series drives outweighs the cost.

IronWolf Pro

Advantages:

Adaptability: While the hard drives in the IronWolf Pro series may be out of the price range of the average consumer, they are well-suited to the needs of hobbyist data enthusiasts. They represent the perfect choice for small to medium business NAS applications.
Data Recovery: When you purchase one or more IronWolf Pro drives, you don’t need to worry about investing in additional data recovery services.
Hard Drive Health: IronWolf Pro hard drives come pre-configured with a hard drive health application that automatically pinpoints and resolves potential hard drive problems before they become serious problems.
Disadvantages:

Limited Applications: If you feel that your business is likely to experience significant growth before your drives fail, you may want to avoid the IronWolf Pro Series. Since these drives are only compatible with up to 24 bays, if you want to exceed that hard cap, you’ll need to invest in a new NAS system.

seand19
post Dec 6 2023, 02:09 PM

86 posts

Not sure if this is considered a NAS so i thought could post here to get some help on the matter.

I saw this and was wondering if there are any experts that can help build this or know where i can find these items to build it out.

This is as close as i can to describe exactly what i intend to do, https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSNCkEdBj/

Posted this in the rig suggestion g&a is there more details needed.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=108689527
ntw
post Dec 6 2023, 07:03 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(seand19 @ Dec 6 2023, 02:09 PM)
Not sure if this is considered a NAS so i thought could post here to get some help on the matter.

I saw this and was wondering if there are any experts that can help build this or know where i can find these items to build it out.

This is as close as i can to describe exactly what i intend to do, https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSNCkEdBj/

if you plan to build custom NAS can refer to my homelab build using old parts in my signature.

planning to upgrade to LGA1151 next year, currently researching parts based on NAS Killer 6.0
WaNaWe900
post Dec 6 2023, 07:25 PM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

Clearly its kinda "Network Attached Storage aka NAS"...

from the TikTok he's kinda jumble up information and someone with no such knowledge may miss-interpret his direction.. read the comments too and so mixed-up rclxub.gif

There's so called Standard NAS (Hardware + software) or custom built NAS (either using existing hardware or totally new built and using such freeware like TrueNAS as interface) icon_rolleyes.gif

You may also read on the type of JBOD (unraid) vs RAID here "JBOD vs. RAID: What Are the Differences?" as start notworthy.gif

There's reason in why we select JBOD or RAID when doing NAS... you need to understand the pro & cons of this clearly sweat.gif

In my opinion if you want to built custom such in the TikTok maybe he's using refurbish server rack can oso but you need to have some knowledge on how to maintain it properly after that notworthy.gif

It's just not about storage unit itself... Other such secondary hardware, peripheral equipment, uninterruptible power supply, networking devices & cables, storage area, VPN, etc sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Yes there's expert who can built you such NAS such as SysIT brows.gif

I'm kinda in the same dilemma few years back and for now happy with my selection icon_rolleyes.gif

seand19
post Dec 6 2023, 09:29 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Dec 6 2023, 07:03 PM)
if you plan to build custom NAS can refer to my homelab build using old parts in my signature.

planning to upgrade to LGA1151 next year, currently researching parts based on NAS Killer 6.0
Great server forum. will do more research and find out exactly so i know how to maintain my own server at home.

your homelab builds good.

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Dec 6 2023, 07:25 PM)
Clearly its kinda "Network Attached Storage aka NAS"...

from the TikTok he's kinda jumble up information and someone with no such knowledge may miss-interpret his direction.. read the comments too and so mixed-up  rclxub.gif

There's so called Standard NAS (Hardware + software) or custom built NAS (either using existing hardware or totally new built and using such freeware like TrueNAS as interface)  icon_rolleyes.gif

You may also read on the type of  JBOD (unraid) vs RAID here "JBOD vs. RAID: What Are the Differences?" as start  notworthy.gif

There's reason in why we select JBOD or RAID when doing NAS... you need to understand the pro & cons of this clearly  sweat.gif

In my opinion if you want to built custom such in the TikTok maybe he's using refurbish server rack can oso but you need to have some knowledge on how to maintain it properly after that  notworthy.gif 

It's just not about storage unit itself... Other such secondary hardware, peripheral equipment, uninterruptible power supply, networking devices & cables, storage area, VPN, etc  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Yes there's expert who can built you such NAS such as SysIT  brows.gif

I'm kinda in the same dilemma few years back and for now happy with my selection  icon_rolleyes.gif
yes, thats why i came here and thought id seek the advice and opinions of those who are more knwledgable than i am.

but from the video, as fas as i understand its a JBOD he's running with some software like Unraid. but i need to learn more or have someone explain to me how run the server and maintain it.

As for the JBOD NAS itself, id use a refurbished half or quarter height server rack. of course if i have to pay someone to help me build and train me, i wouldnt mind. but trying to save costs where i can.

so what selection did you go with that made you happy?
WaNaWe900
post Dec 7 2023, 02:41 AM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(seand19 @ Dec 6 2023, 09:29 PM)
Great server forum. will do more research and find out exactly so i know how to maintain my own server at home.

your homelab builds good.
yes, thats why i came here and thought id seek the advice and opinions of those who are more knwledgable than i am.

but from the video, as fas as i understand its a JBOD he's running with some software like Unraid. but i need to learn more or have someone explain to me how run the server and maintain it.

As for the JBOD NAS itself, id use a refurbished half or quarter height server rack. of course if i have to pay someone to help me build and train me, i wouldnt mind. but trying to save costs where i can.

so what selection did you go with that made you happy?
Indeed take your time to be familiar with Network Attached Storage, as for the Storage Pool type can be set later (JBOD/unRAID, RAID 0/1/5/6) icon_rolleyes.gif

Basically unRAID is JBOD at basic... try to compare Pro/Cons of unRAID/JBOD vs RAID and what can benefit your hassle & time

NAS system interface such as freeware TrueNAS / Synology DSM / QNAP QTS / Asustor ADM & few others are use for the setup / maintenance so that the storage pool can communicate with other devices in the set network system.

Hardware form factors are very subjective to your plan... some more info on How to set up a NAS: A step-by-step configuration guide or you can Youtube others

My basic earlier was connect a SSD to my Router (certain model only) and make the storage available over the network & internet sweat.gif

Further to an incident with my portable external disk is the turning point when I start exploring NAS rclxub.gif takes few months and most Sifus here very helpful on every Q&A notworthy.gif

Considering time, cost & knowledge limitation then I decided to go with standard Synology NAS about 3.5 years back icon_rolleyes.gif

It were up/down situation for couple of months and after that settle down, have 2 disk failure first year but since I'm on RAID 6 so just RMA and swap with replacement brows.gif everything good to go without data losses rclxm9.gif

**p/s.: RAID not the ultimate backup of our data!!! and get a UPS

some figures on unRAID

This post has been edited by WaNaWe900: Dec 7 2023, 02:56 AM
incognitroll
post Dec 29 2023, 05:46 AM

148 posts

just came across your post. been running an unraid server for about 17 months now. played with omv (on rpi), synology (xpe on vm), and then unraid trial version free for 30 days, and decided that unraid is the most suitable for me. started with 3 shucked drives from seagate external HDD cases and now running 10 HDDs (1 parity, 8 data, 1 unassigned device) and 2 SSDs (cache, mirrored) with 60TB.

if you just want to use it as a NAS for storage, can start with cheap used dell, lenovo refurbished desktop for 150-300. If you plan to run vm, docker, or multiple of these, then i suggest you get something more recent. i ran it with 4th gen intel i7, Z87-A & 16gb ram.

used dell: https://shopee.com.my/elink1128/14540451850

case that i use, supports 14 HDDs + 2 SSDs (sold out at shopee, check aliexpress or taobao): https://shopee.com.my/econova/11813674190

sata card (start with this when you run out of SATA ports on your motherboard; you will upgrade to LSI card eventually): https://shopee.com.my/acasisofficialshop.os/9665126297

For HDDs, bought mine from amazon jp, 8TB seagate and WD. cost about 50% less than here, but there's no warranty.

useful tutorials on anything unraid: https://www.youtube.com/@SpaceinvaderOne

This post has been edited by incognitroll: Jan 8 2024, 01:04 AM
ntw
post Dec 29 2023, 06:35 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(incognitroll @ Dec 29 2023, 05:46 AM)
just came across your post. been running an unraid server for about 17 months now. played with omv (on rpi), synology (xpe on vm), and the unraid trial version free for 30 days, and decided that unraid is the most suitable for me. started with 3 shucked drives from a seagate external HDD case and now running 10 HDDs (1 parity, 8 data, 1 unassigned device) and 2 SSDs (cache, mirrored) with 60TB and growing.

if you just want to use it as a NAS for storage, can start with cheap used dell, lenovo refurbished desktop for 150-300. If you plan to run vm, docker, or multiple of these, then i suggest you get something more recent. i ran it with 4th gen intel i7, Z87-A & 16gb ram.

used dell: https://shopee.com.my/elink1128/14540451850

case that i use, supports 14 HDDs + 2 SSDs (sold out at shopee, check aliexpress or taobao): https://shopee.com.my/econova/11813674190

sata card (start with this when you run out of SATA ports on your motherboard; you will upgrade to LSI card eventually): https://shopee.com.my/acasisofficialshop.os/9665126297

For HDDs, bought mine from amazon jp, 8TB seagate and WD. cost about 50% less than here, but there's no warranty.

useful tutorials on anything unraid: https://www.youtube.com/@SpaceinvaderOne
What's the temp of your HDD in that case? I only have 6 hdds in a Fractal R6 and they are quite toasty, average about 45C, max at 51C
L
I would recommend to get a LSI2308 from taobao for below rm100 than the sata expansion card. Also be cautious when choosing the sata expansion card. Pciex4 goes up to 4GBps, pciex1 can only go up to 1GBps
incognitroll
post Dec 29 2023, 07:09 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Dec 29 2023, 06:35 AM)
What's the temp of your HDD in that case? I only have 6 hdds in a Fractal R6 and they are quite toasty, average about 45C, max at 51C
L
I would recommend to get a LSI2308 from taobao for below rm100 than the sata expansion card. Also be cautious when choosing the sata expansion card. Pciex4 goes up to 4GBps, pciex1 can only go up to 1GBps
under 40c. 3 x 140mm fan at the front of the case also 3 X 120mm strapped to the HDD cage to pull hot air away.

may be try to avoid seagates, they always run few degrees hotter. if yours are not seagate and still reaching 45c then really need to improve air flow in the case.

LSI cards sold on taobao and shopee for around 100-150 are not genuine. they tend to run extremely hot, and some users on unraid forum have reported read/write errors. genuine ones can be purchased on eBay for around 500 with shipping https://www.ebay.com/itm/165949664051

currently only using gigabit ethernet, and i mostly write directly to the array, so HDD speed is another bottleneck. pciex4 sata card is serving me just fine at the moment, but i'm running out of HDD space. may consider getting an LSI card when i outgrow this case.

edited: ntw just noticed you ran yours with PRO1201SFCU on your siggie, may i ask how many watts your system is drawing and how much run time the ups can provide in case power goes out? i'm planning to get one for my nas too. this exact same model with no fans (less noise) and USB so that it can communicate with unraid.

This post has been edited by incognitroll: Dec 29 2023, 10:39 AM
ntw
post Dec 29 2023, 04:41 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(incognitroll @ Dec 29 2023, 07:09 AM)
under 40c. 3 x 140mm fan at the front of the case also 3 X 120mm strapped to the HDD cage to pull hot air away.

may be try to avoid seagates, they always run few degrees hotter. if yours are not seagate and still reaching 45c then really need to improve air flow in the case.

LSI cards sold on taobao and shopee for around 100-150 are not genuine. they tend to run extremely hot, and some users on unraid forum have reported read/write errors. genuine ones can be purchased on eBay for around 500 with shipping https://www.ebay.com/itm/165949664051

currently only using gigabit ethernet, and i mostly write directly to the array, so HDD speed is another bottleneck. pciex4 sata card is serving me just fine at the moment, but i'm running out of HDD space. may consider getting an LSI card when i outgrow this case.

edited:  ntw just noticed you ran yours with PRO1201SFCU on your siggie, may i ask how many watts your system is drawing and how much run time the ups can provide in case power goes out? i'm planning to get one for my nas too. this exact same model with no fans (less noise) and USB so that it can communicate with unraid.
the hba that I got looks as fake as it comes but it identified as a LSI 9207 and has been working fine for 6months

my total system draws about 300-400W based on OuterVision power supply calculator -> https://outervision.com/b/gmo6ij. The UPS can keep the server + main machine + switch running for at least 5min, that's what I tested so far. this weekend I try and see how long it can work
incognitroll
post Dec 30 2023, 01:45 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Dec 29 2023, 04:41 PM)
the hba that I got looks as fake as it comes but it identified as a LSI 9207 and has been working fine for 6months

my total system draws about 300-400W based on OuterVision power supply calculator -> https://outervision.com/b/gmo6ij. The UPS can keep the server + main machine + switch running for at least 5min, that's what I tested so far. this weekend I try and see how long it can work
If you didn't overpay and it worked, then I guess it's not bad at all. Consider that the performance you can get out of it is much greater than a SATA card for the same price. Plus sff cables are neat, way easier to organize than sata.

As for power, my system is only at 10-20% load most of the time, and it will have the UPS all to itself. If you're getting 5mins runtime for two systems and a switch, I think mine will have more than enough time to complete a safe shutdown in case power goes out. Thanks for the reply.

This post has been edited by incognitroll: Dec 30 2023, 06:19 AM
simmarjit
post Jan 7 2024, 10:33 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(incognitroll @ Dec 29 2023, 07:09 AM)

edited:  ntw just noticed you ran yours with PRO1201SFCU on your siggie, may i ask how many watts your system is drawing and how much run time the ups can provide in case power goes out? i'm planning to get one for my nas too. this exact same model with no fans (less noise) and USB so that it can communicate with unraid.
Actually buying Inspur ones not bad, doubt people want to create fakes for that

https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?t...er.40506/page-3

I bought mine from taobao and flashed the card
simmarjit
post Jan 7 2024, 10:34 PM

980 posts

Didnt know there was a thread like this on here! MY Homelabers!
incognitroll
post Jan 8 2024, 01:26 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Jan 7 2024, 10:33 PM)
Actually buying Inspur ones not bad, doubt people want to create fakes for that

https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?t...er.40506/page-3

I bought mine from taobao and flashed the card
came across this brand often on taobao and thought they are just another LSI knock-off. just did some reading and looks like they are legit. even patrick from sth visited their factory few years back. will definitely look into it. thanks for info.
simmarjit
post Jan 8 2024, 11:01 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(incognitroll @ Jan 8 2024, 01:26 AM)
came across this brand often on taobao and thought they are just another LSI knock-off. just did some reading and looks like they are legit. even patrick from sth visited their factory few years back. will definitely look into it. thanks for info.
Well not really knockoff, they are a server/datacenter chinese manufacturer. I would assume if someone wants to make fakes they rather have LSI logo than an Inspur one. But tbh even the "fakes" LSI they are probably made in the same factories anyway. Either way, i have been using Inspur HBA and no issues.
xxboxx
post Mar 27 2024, 11:19 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,256 posts

This is interesting. Drive can now transcribe audio to text. I see it can be useful for meeting or lecturer notes.
Unfortunately it only for iOS now as it uses iOS transcribe engine. Works with mp3, m4a, wav. Doesn't work with aac and ogg

I record this youtube video audio and let it transcribe. It is very fast too, this almost 3 minutes video only takes less than 10 second to complete. This is the text as how it appears in notepad
CODE
In this video will show you how to transcribe audio files into text files and how to search for them using keywords you'll find the timestamp for each section in the video description

Launch the Synology Drive app on your phone

Choose the audio file you want to transcribe tap options tap transcribe audio into text

The recognition language is based on your keyboard settings if the language you need doesn't appear go to iPhone settings

Keyboard

Keyboard

And the language you need

Go back

And make sure enable dictation is on then tap dictation languages and make sure the languages selected go back to the technology Drive mobile app tap OK to start transcribing

For better performance, keep the app open tap you status to follow the transcription progress. You can also track it by tapping the clipboard on the homepage.

Complete a text file containing the transcription will be created

To search and locate transcribed audio or text files by keyword you first need to turn on music and document indexing in DSM launch universal search

And click preferences click index folder list and go to technology tab to activate the feature for an individual user

And click edit select music and document

And click OK

You can also activate the feature under the team folder tab for team wide access

Now you can search keyword in the mobile app to find audio and text files that have been transcribed

To learn more about Synology Drive, subscribe to the technology YouTube channel or click on another video to keep watching

iZuDeeN
post Apr 2 2024, 02:29 PM

3,466 posts

Guys I tried to use Xpenology on my old HP PC core i3 (2017) and 4gb ram.. someone get stuck and can't seem to load the DSM ; likely the USB stick is not compatible

Anyway I need a Synology NAS ; mainly or only using to backup Google photos. I need the AI recognition and metadata manager

Which model should I consider .. is 2x4tb sufficient?
xxboxx
post Apr 3 2024, 07:23 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,256 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Apr 2 2024, 02:29 PM)
Guys I tried to use Xpenology on my old HP PC core i3 (2017) and 4gb ram.. someone get stuck and can't seem to load the DSM ; likely the USB stick is not compatible

Anyway I need a Synology NAS ; mainly or only using to backup Google photos. I need the AI recognition and metadata manager

Which model should I consider .. is 2x4tb sufficient?
You mean you need the Synology Photos app with it's face recognition and support of metadata?

2x4TB in RAID 1, you'll have 4TB of storage space. Really it depends on your needs whether that is enough for the next 5 or more years before the HDD dying. I'll advise against getting the non plus model as those CPU are a lot slower and might not support some functions that the plus model have.

Also 2 bays and 4 bays price difference need to consider if the gap makes it more worth to get the 4 bays, that makes it easier and cheaper to increase the storage space when needed. Now you thinking just for the photos, but it is also useful for other stuff such as videos, files and computer backup. The storage need increase very fast once you started using it.

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Apr 3 2024, 07:24 AM

102 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:30 PM