NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS) V2

seand19
post Dec 6 2023, 02:09 PM

86 posts

Not sure if this is considered a NAS so i thought could post here to get some help on the matter.

I saw this and was wondering if there are any experts that can help build this or know where i can find these items to build it out.

This is as close as i can to describe exactly what i intend to do, https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSNCkEdBj/

Posted this in the rig suggestion g&a is there more details needed.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=108689527
seand19
post Dec 6 2023, 09:29 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Dec 6 2023, 07:03 PM)
if you plan to build custom NAS can refer to my homelab build using old parts in my signature.

planning to upgrade to LGA1151 next year, currently researching parts based on NAS Killer 6.0
Great server forum. will do more research and find out exactly so i know how to maintain my own server at home.

your homelab builds good.

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Dec 6 2023, 07:25 PM)
Clearly its kinda "Network Attached Storage aka NAS"...

from the TikTok he's kinda jumble up information and someone with no such knowledge may miss-interpret his direction.. read the comments too and so mixed-up  rclxub.gif

There's so called Standard NAS (Hardware + software) or custom built NAS (either using existing hardware or totally new built and using such freeware like TrueNAS as interface)  icon_rolleyes.gif

You may also read on the type of  JBOD (unraid) vs RAID here "JBOD vs. RAID: What Are the Differences?" as start  notworthy.gif

There's reason in why we select JBOD or RAID when doing NAS... you need to understand the pro & cons of this clearly  sweat.gif

In my opinion if you want to built custom such in the TikTok maybe he's using refurbish server rack can oso but you need to have some knowledge on how to maintain it properly after that  notworthy.gif 

It's just not about storage unit itself... Other such secondary hardware, peripheral equipment, uninterruptible power supply, networking devices & cables, storage area, VPN, etc  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Yes there's expert who can built you such NAS such as SysIT  brows.gif

I'm kinda in the same dilemma few years back and for now happy with my selection  icon_rolleyes.gif
yes, thats why i came here and thought id seek the advice and opinions of those who are more knwledgable than i am.

but from the video, as fas as i understand its a JBOD he's running with some software like Unraid. but i need to learn more or have someone explain to me how run the server and maintain it.

As for the JBOD NAS itself, id use a refurbished half or quarter height server rack. of course if i have to pay someone to help me build and train me, i wouldnt mind. but trying to save costs where i can.

so what selection did you go with that made you happy?

0.0159sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:26 PM