Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

andrewhtf
post Feb 12 2014, 11:39 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(guilt @ Feb 12 2014, 10:29 PM)
I see. Glad to hear that its a solid bike.

I actually don't know much about the gears, but I thought high number of gears is only useful if the rider is trying to get the optimal pedaling resistance? Does it mean even at the lowest gear it still is though to climb most hill?
Yes, u can say that.

But look at it the other way round. It gives me a good resistance and good workout to strengthen my legs, since i have been living a sedentary lifestyle, my legs are weak to start with.

Which is my original intention to buy a bicycle in the first place. To exercise, so even if it is abit hard to pedal, i believe it is all worth it once i gained enuf strength and stamina. Getting a near-perfect bike to suit oneself is a neverending process. Till then, i would just pedal whatever i have now.
vivaldi
post Feb 13 2014, 12:24 AM

240 posts

Bout cycling shoe for foldie..any recommendation?
zeliustitan
post Feb 13 2014, 07:41 AM

466 posts

QUOTE(vivaldi @ Feb 13 2014, 12:24 AM)
selipar or CROCS (im using it everyday)
andrewhtf
post Feb 13 2014, 10:23 AM

1,583 posts

unknown, unheard of china branded sports shoes bought from econsave. RM39.90 only.

seriously. do u really need special shoes to ride a foldie?
vivaldi
post Feb 13 2014, 10:52 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 13 2014, 10:23 AM)
unknown, unheard of china branded sports shoes bought from econsave. RM39.90 only.

seriously. do u really need special shoes to ride a foldie?
Just curious... tongue.gif

How about those that on long tour? hmm.gif
andrewhtf
post Feb 13 2014, 10:58 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(vivaldi @ Feb 13 2014, 10:52 AM)
Just curious...  tongue.gif

How about those that on long tour?  hmm.gif
ahahh... duno i only ride inside taman so far. try ask mbax
ozzy79
post Feb 13 2014, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 12 2014, 10:50 PM)
The Vigor is more worthy! Firstly it's a 9 speed, secondly, it has double walled rim with better hubs, thirdly the components are better, slightly lah! The rims itself is a worthy upgrade already. Tern D8 uses cassette but single walled rim also the crank cannot accommodate another extra chain ring. The Vigor's, in future you just need an extra smaller chainring (RM80), a pair of shifters, FD ,cables to upgrade to double chain ring.

Also the Vigor is much lighter. You really need to change Vigor's shifters though. They are louyah!  rclxub.gif
you know what, if i can't get the Tern D8 in non-girly colours, then i might just go for the Tern C7. Cheaper too, which leaves more resources for other non-bike accessories (helmet, light, saddle bag, etc).

Again, can i add an extra chainring to the crank? and how much would it cost in total to upgrade? i presume that the resulting 14-speed would be better climbing hills to the stock Tern D8?
H2D
post Feb 13 2014, 02:15 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 11 2014, 03:44 PM)
Trinx was in my watch list before. but as etigge advised, give so much spec for a cheap price, quality is a suspect. so did you bought this? what is your opinion of this foldie?
for me I would have bought this trinx, if im on a budget cos...

1.. i dun like to upgrade the crank.... ( got more gears liao )
2. feel dahon etc over priced..
3. i'm oni 60kg
4. can trash around won't sakit hati...
5. not a hardcore rider so no nid waste $$$ more on branded bike.... n park at home most of the time...
6. design not bad... bleh tahan,,, laugh.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Feb 13 2014, 02:16 PM
mbax
post Feb 13 2014, 02:20 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Feb 12 2014, 08:46 PM)
hahaha, so how to buy???  Don't even know which button to click.  Now I regret not listening to my parents about studying Chinese...... cry.gif
sorry bro 7 speed 11 teeth one has been sold, they only have the normal 14-28 and another 8 speed sunrace freewheel which start with 13 teeth.

about shoe, i would prefer sport shoe, but i do ride with croc look alike (asadi blush.gif ) shoe or this one..

This post has been edited by mbax: Feb 13 2014, 05:05 PM
H2D
post Feb 13 2014, 02:25 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(shiniraz @ Feb 6 2014, 02:42 PM)
Hehe. How expensive is Change expensive? Let say for the similar model that u posted, what is the price range?

Is it expensive for the MONTAGUE PARATROOPER PRO model if the price range is around RM3.8k - RM4k? With the below specs:

change bike is expensive...

if u search earlier post, i have mentioned the price.
mebe cos the taiwanese inventor thinks that they have invented something specialll
so have to $$$ lor...

like those foldie frm pacific bike all $$$ wan...

iMO only if u really nid a full size folding MTB then u get wan...

otherwise i think loading the bike on a rear car carrier is much more faster n convenient...
if u intend to use it as a mtb.. the bike will be muddy dusty etc..
u dun wana put it in the car boot etc....

search earlier post for montague custom by member here, bought frame in penang n parts from taobao....

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=63718921

This post has been edited by H2D: Feb 13 2014, 02:29 PM
yk.chong
post Feb 13 2014, 04:53 PM

For me I prefer a sport shoe with harder sole
desastar
post Feb 13 2014, 05:10 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Feb 13 2014, 02:20 PM)
sorry bro 7 speed 11 teeth one has been sold, they only have the normal 14-28 and another 8 speed sunrace freewheel which start with 13 teeth.

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
guilt
post Feb 13 2014, 07:38 PM

40 posts

hi guys, got a question again.

I visited a bike shop near my workplace earlier, not planning to buy anything, just wanted to try and see the bikes in person.

Turns out the shop don't have a Raleigh Ugo in stock, so I can't try it out. They do have a Dahon C7A in stock, but it's rather pricey, around RM1200+.

One thing that caught my eyes is a folding bike with a sticker that says GTA, which I guess is the brand. I am pretty sure it is the same thing as the one in this one:

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/232413/gta-folding

Thing is, that place is selling it for < RM 650. How can there be such a big difference? ( For those who don't want to click the online listing, the price there is RM 1300. )
Is the online listing overpricing it? or the place I visited is underpricing it (which I doubt, seeing how their Dahon price is higher than other places.)?

Personally, I do think it is very cheap for a folding with 3X7 gears ( I think, I don't know much about bicycle gear).

If the market rate is indeed around RM 650, how can it be so cheap with such spec?
andrewhtf
post Feb 13 2014, 10:17 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(guilt @ Feb 13 2014, 07:38 PM)
hi guys, got a question again.

I visited a bike shop near my workplace earlier, not planning to buy anything, just wanted to try and see the bikes in person.

Turns out the shop don't have a Raleigh Ugo in stock, so I can't try it out. They do have a Dahon C7A in stock, but it's rather pricey, around RM1200+.

One thing that caught my eyes is a folding bike with a sticker that says GTA, which I guess is the brand. I am pretty sure it is the same thing as the one in this one:

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/232413/gta-folding

Thing is, that place is selling it for < RM 650. How can there be such a big difference? ( For those who don't want to click the online listing, the price there is RM 1300. )
Is the online listing overpricing it? or the place I visited is underpricing it (which I doubt, seeing how their Dahon price is higher than other places.)?

Personally, I do think it is very cheap for a folding with 3X7 gears ( I think, I don't know much about bicycle gear).

If the market rate is indeed around RM 650, how can it be so cheap with such spec?
U gotta pay attention to the components that is installed on the bike. The gears? The pedals? Crank? Fd and rd? Chain? Perhaps thats what make the price different. Just like the link that u posted. Both pictures of the GTA are not the same. I noticed the white came with disc brake while the red came with normal C-brake.

Just like those montague paratrooper clones. Price ranged from 750-900. Why? Different speeds, different derailleurs, different brake components, hell even different folding pattern!
guilt
post Feb 14 2014, 05:57 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 13 2014, 10:17 PM)
U gotta pay attention to the components that is installed on the bike. The gears? The pedals? Crank? Fd and rd? Chain? Perhaps thats what make the price different. Just like the link that u posted. Both pictures of the GTA are not the same. I noticed the white came with disc brake while the red came with normal C-brake.

Just like those montague paratrooper clones. Price ranged from 750-900. Why? Different speeds, different derailleurs, different brake components, hell even different folding pattern!
It seems to me like they the same model. Are you saying they switched out the parts on a new bike?

Or do you mean the ones I saw might be a Chinese clone model like the 800+- Hummer bikes?
andrewhtf
post Feb 14 2014, 09:24 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(guilt @ Feb 14 2014, 05:57 AM)
It seems to me like they the same model. Are you saying they switched out the parts on a new bike?

Or do you mean the ones I saw might be a Chinese clone model like the 800+- Hummer bikes?
i cant say for sure. need someone more experienced to advise.

but just my feel, it is better to be on the safe side by buying known brands and tried, tested and proven bicycles. well unless if u dont mind being the white mouse lah.
etigge
post Feb 14 2014, 09:31 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(guilt @ Feb 14 2014, 05:57 AM)

There are a few of those similar looking bikes. I have seen Montague Paratrooper and also the said Hummer. Hummer is a spin off from the original Montague. Montague became famous after the military ordered them for troop use. Both frames look alike but the replica ones, the joints will get loose and you will eventually lock it permanently with a strong nut and bolt tongue.gif after a few hard uses.

Many of the frames are now made in China due to cost cutting and also cheap labour force as with many other products. In fact most products now. Even Taiwanese bicycles are now made in China and so are many bicycle components. Sometimes you see same products at much much different prices. Why?

It is all to do with warranty and quality control. A factory can run into over runs and they dispose off in bulk, hence cheap components. They do not carry warranty nor any responsibilty on these products. Like Shimano or SRAM, a few grades are made in China and they are very much cheaper but the principal do make higher grade components in other more higher quality factories to safe guard their brand. Cheaper ones which are their bread and butter needs to be competitive in the expanding market. They are not made to last, else everyone will become a 'ONE TIME CUSTOMER".

Also bulk purchase is also a contributing factor. A factory might order components in big quantity to make it standard fittings and usually they are very much cheaper than buying in nicely boxed form. Eg. a bottom bracket might cost you RM80 when yours is kaput and need to be changed but during the factory fitting, they might cost as little as RM20 or less. This is just figuratively off course, there's no way we will know the actual cost.

Just like Dahon, the frames are also made in China and factory over runs do get into traders hands and they labelled it other brands although they are from the same stock. They don't go through the same QC and many other processes though. nod.gif
guilt
post Feb 14 2014, 01:53 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 14 2014, 09:24 AM)
i cant say for sure. need someone more experienced to advise.

but just my feel, it is better to be on the safe side by buying known brands and tried, tested and proven bicycles. well unless if u dont mind being the white mouse lah.
QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 14 2014, 09:31 AM)
There are a few of those similar looking bikes. I have seen Montague Paratrooper and also the said Hummer. Hummer is a spin off from the original Montague. Montague became famous after the military ordered them for troop use. Both frames look alike but the replica ones, the joints will get loose and you will eventually lock it permanently with a strong nut and bolt  tongue.gif after a few hard uses.

Many of the frames are now made in China due to cost cutting and also cheap labour force as with many other products. In fact most products now. Even Taiwanese bicycles are now made in China and so are many bicycle components. Sometimes you see same products at much much different prices. Why?

It is all to do with warranty and quality control. A factory can run into over runs and they dispose off in bulk, hence cheap components. They do not carry warranty nor any responsibilty on these products. Like Shimano or SRAM, a few grades are made in China and they are very much cheaper but the principal do make higher grade components in other more higher quality factories to safe guard their brand. Cheaper ones which are their bread and butter needs to be competitive in the expanding market. They are not made to last, else everyone will become a 'ONE TIME CUSTOMER".

Also bulk purchase is also a contributing factor. A factory might order components in big quantity to make it standard fittings and usually they are very much cheaper than buying in nicely boxed form. Eg. a bottom bracket might cost you RM80 when yours is kaput and need to be changed but during the factory fitting, they might cost as little as RM20 or less. This is just figuratively off course, there's no way we will know the actual cost.

Just like Dahon, the frames are also made in China and factory over runs do get into traders hands and they labelled it other brands although they are from the same stock. They don't go through the same QC and many other processes though.  nod.gif
I see. Then how do you feel about the GTA brand? are their bike durable? what are the usual market price for the model that I linked above?
andrewhtf
post Feb 14 2014, 03:09 PM

1,583 posts

First time hearing this GTA brand.
etigge
post Feb 14 2014, 06:08 PM

295 posts

Dahon Vigor SOLD! or traded.

An acquaintance who bought something from me last time wanted to buy my bike and some of my old parts and I was to bring the bike over to his house. When I went there, I was suprised to see a whole house of classic and retro bikes. There were about 30 or so bikes hanging all over his pad!

When we were negotiating the price, I spotted something familiar in one corner and it was this Dahon Dash P18 that I was hunting for. It's the 2000 model which are made in Taiwan and not the recent China made ones. The bike was practically unused as his wife did not liked the bike. He wanted quite a sum for it and we sat down over 'teh halia' in Titiwangsa lakeside to thrash over the trade. I really wanted this bike!

Finally, we took off all the modifications on my Dahon Vigor leaving him a bare bone bike while I am saddled with more components. I lose some and he lose some, I won some and he won some! Can't wait to mod it to Dash P20........

Modding to this later stages! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Feb 14 2014, 09:02 PM

144 Pages « < 137 138 139 140 141 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:41 AM