Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

andrewhtf
post Jan 6 2014, 12:40 AM

1,583 posts

Hi, i am planning to start riding foldies and i am considering between these :

1. Raleigh ugo, or

2. Mongoose foldie (http://www.mudah.my/Mongoose+lightweigh+folding+bike+-24432072.htm?last=1)

Appreciate your input. I am 90kg. Would my weight spoil this mongoose foldie's thin wheels?
andrewhtf
post Jan 6 2014, 10:32 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 6 2014, 01:41 AM)
Raleigh Ugo is a proven tough bike but a bit heavier and also for RM850 or there abouts, it only has 7 speed. I never seen the Moongoose before but judging from the frame geometry, it imitates KHS. I don't know about the metal used too so I can't really judge but it does has multiple chainring in the front though and for RM800, it's a steal. But so highly spec-ed bike which cost RM800 seems to be doubtful, especially the components. The slick tires is not a problem as it is compensated with higher tire pressure but ride is bumpy though.

Given me, I still go for the Raleigh BUT if possible at least go for the Dahon Vybe which might be another RM100 extra compared to Raleigh but the quality is at least assured!
thanks for input. another one to survey.

**update 06/01/14 1.20pm** etigge

just checked dahon bikes... priced out of my intended budget... which is about RM800 and below. Raleigh ugo were priced at RM750.

Since u mentioned KHS, i saw this : http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/225168/...hs-folding-bike

What do you think?

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Jan 6 2014, 01:16 PM
andrewhtf
post Jan 6 2014, 12:50 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Jan 6 2014, 11:23 AM)
saw this mongoose at hong lim cycle, price tag was about 1k if not mistaken. ask the uncle there what the frame was made of got simple answer - alloy.... blink.gif  blink.gif
How was the weight? It looked light to me but i havent have time to go down to dengkil yet.

Am looking forward to buy a foldie for that ocbc cycling event soon. Teman wife punya pasal. Sigh...
andrewhtf
post Jan 6 2014, 01:36 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Klpegaso @ Jan 6 2014, 01:26 PM)
Hi Andrew, 

Aren't you a biker?....
Yes bang. lama dah tak dengar khabar. your username is something i have not seen for quite some time. How are you lately? smile.gif

I go motorbiking, my wife go cycling. now she bising want me to start cycling because of my increasing wasitline, which think i shud do something about it too. hence a small bicycle to get some sweat flowing.

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Jan 6 2014, 01:36 PM
andrewhtf
post Jan 6 2014, 03:17 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Klpegaso @ Jan 6 2014, 01:54 PM)
Thought I recognize the name. Alhamdulillah I am as healthy as I can be considering I've had two bypasses....and a stroke.
Still ride the Aprilia once in a blue moon. What was the name of our bikers group?....
Which? the old SpitfireBikers or that short-lived Renegades that i made?

Abang riding bicycles too?
andrewhtf
post Jan 6 2014, 09:36 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Klpegaso @ Jan 6 2014, 08:52 PM)
Was a member in both groups. Yes I cycle now i.e. 5 to 6 kms on daily basis in Taman Melawati.
I currently own an XDS AFB320 and a Dr. Hon Boardwalk D8. FYI bought the D8 last Thursday, strongly recommend it.
Over budget bang. Bicycle pun only bcoz of wife. My heart still on motorcycle. biggrin.gif
andrewhtf
post Jan 8 2014, 05:55 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(theotheryun @ Jan 8 2014, 02:14 AM)
i end up sending it to nearby bike shop
heres de result

cuz the front fork is a bit longer so the bike folded geometri is kinda errr...panjang sebelah...hehe  sweat.gif
but still stroll-able
just need to get use to it  whistling.gif

dats all for now
cheers
huh? a foldie with front susp? how did you do that? can it be modded into ALL foldies? because if can, i will seriously consider doing it!

etigge
i am almost decided to go with Ugo, plainly because i dont know how long i can keep up in this cycling activity whether this interest will last long or not so i dont want to put too much initial investment. if only i got hooked then i will splurge on a dahon mu p28 but for starters, i guess a cheap but trusted option (ugo) will do.

until i bumped into this. http://www.mudah.my/Trix+FA2007+ALLOY+Fold...al-24363971.htm

between this or Ugo, whats your take?
andrewhtf
post Jan 9 2014, 12:57 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 8 2014, 10:51 PM)
I still go for the Raleigh Ugo. My suspicion, if a bike gives good components and the price is still low, there must be a drawback somewhere!  hmm.gif  The Trinx 16 speed is shodded with 451 (22inch ) wheels, Shimano Claris 2 X 8 speed gearing and the price can be had for just RM850. I see many riders buys that after persusasion from shops and see them in rides and gradually dissappear. Something must have stopped them riding!

PS/ If you meet the right group and understanding group of riders and become regular, I am very sure you will move up.  tongue.gif
Ok great, ugo it is then. Theres a seller in kajang (bicycle malaysia) posted advert in bbs selling ugo for rm750.

QUOTE(H2D @ Jan 8 2014, 11:17 PM)
ur wife cycle with her frens?

i suggest that you borrow her frens' bikes. diff brand n model etc. to have a ride.
to get a feel of it...

bike with small wheels feels different..
90kg on a folding bike feels diff than 60kg on a folding bike....

mebe u get so used to twisting the throttle... on two wheels...

having the need to crank that leg muscle up the hill ... may be too 'potong stim... '  biggrin.gif
She has a java fit. I am fine with small bikes mainly i dont plan on riding fast and yes the main purpose is to get me sweating and exercising, so even if the bike is heavy and i had to ride harder than a 26" mtb or 29" roadie, so be it.. Plus as added benefit when i get slimmer and reduce my body weight, the power to weight ratio on the bike improves too smile.gif
andrewhtf
post Jan 9 2014, 11:06 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jan 9 2014, 01:16 AM)
if u feel ok with the java fit.. then shud be ok la with others...

some heavy rider will feel that some 'cheaper' bike is not solid enuf..
there is a difference when the rider is heavy... esp foldie, where there are joints on frame n post...
long seat post doesn't help.. ..
brake oso tak makan when down slope...
when cranking force is high, cheaper component oso takut nanti break....

but when ur main purpose is to exercise,.. then all those 'feel' are kinda pointless...
just ride man.. the more difficult the bike rides.. the more u will loose weight... just don't cancel it with extra food...  biggrin.gif

when food is the sole purpose of/motivation of cycling... then susah to loose weight liddat...
Haha... Thats why lor... I ride big bikes also for traveling trips and MAKAN.
So i thought join some bicycle groups to go ride and MAKAN also smile.gif

Just like some hashers. After run go drink alcohol. Lol.
andrewhtf
post Jan 13 2014, 01:47 PM

1,583 posts

Hooray, i've bought it!

however after a short ride, suddenly i feel like i would run out of gears very fast on a flat road cruise or a downward slope. But for now, it should suffice.

By the way i kinda hate the plastic foldable pedal. No doubt it is good when folding the bike for storage/transport but the pedal felt flimsy and wobbly. Anyone has extra, unused and unitilised metal pedal willing to donate? smile.gif

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Jan 13 2014, 01:51 PM
andrewhtf
post Jan 13 2014, 01:55 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(darthkir @ Jan 13 2014, 12:57 PM)
Thanks etigge...

I didnt personally see the bike, just merely asking on my friend's behalf. I think the spec I copy and pasted is inaccurate, it was actually 16 speed and came with hidraulic disk brakes. smile.gif
Havent seen or tested the cronus, but my wife has a java fit and i think that it is quite a good foldie.. Bought it 2 years ago, old model (non-sealed bearing) at closeout for only rm1.4k.
andrewhtf
post Jan 15 2014, 10:25 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Klpegaso @ Jan 13 2014, 08:20 PM)
Dear Andrew

Congratulations on yr recent purchase. 
Come and ride with me in Taman Melawati.....After the ride will "donate" you teh tarik and roti canai... no problem!!!!!.....
Boleh bang. But let me train my stamina first. Yesterday i pancit after 1km continuous pedalling. icon_question.gif

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 13 2014, 11:51 PM)
tongue.gif  Donate! rclxub.gif  You have a peculiar choice of words. I doubt Andrew needs charity! hahaha. laugh.gif
Haha, that was because i asked if anyone willing to donate their unused non-foldable pedals ma... laugh.gif
andrewhtf
post Jan 15 2014, 06:40 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Klpegaso @ Jan 15 2014, 05:19 PM)
Hi Andrew

I have a pair of metal pedals. They are from my XDS AFB 320. You can have it.
Not sure if I am in a charitable mood.....get back too you esok...
murah2 pun boleh bang.
andrewhtf
post Jan 15 2014, 11:47 PM

1,583 posts

Am joining ocbc comunity ride this coming sunday. Anyone else here riding?
andrewhtf
post Jan 16 2014, 12:12 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jan 16 2014, 12:05 AM)
wow u joined before you got ur bike..... ?  rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif
Wife punya pasal lah....
andrewhtf
post Jan 16 2014, 09:47 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Jan 16 2014, 07:11 AM)
Hi all,
I'm interested to know why you own a folding bike? Lack of storage space? Cute to look at or be looked at? Fun to ride?
Some of you have plans to ride big distances or tackle big hills, so I'm curious why you would want a foldie? For the same price of a high end foldie, I can get a carbon framed racer that would eat distances and climb hills, so why a foldie?

For me, it is portability and practicality. Distances and hills, the foldie stays home.

What about you?
Easy to transport. No need set up hooks and carriers. Just fold and dump in the back seat. Plus somehow foldies are slightly easier to ride than a regular MTB since everything is smaller in proportion. Sometime i do wish i have bought that hybrid touring cycle at gainway klang but when i thought about transporting it, ah foldies je lah...
andrewhtf
post Jan 19 2014, 08:45 PM

1,583 posts

Hooray, done ocbc community ride 1 loop today... Total 13km within 1.5hours, instead of the 2-loops 24km, because we were riding slow and by the time we reach back dataran, we were ushered back to the finishing line instead of continuing the loop. Aiyak... So cannot consider successfully completed it lah... Wife tarik muka masam because of the short distance smile.gif wat to do, i am newbie mah...

That 3 uphill slopes at the start is enough to make my legs go jelly, even with the lowest gear. But i realy liked the fast downhill ride towards the mall pwtc, mainly because i am used to fast genting downhill on my motorcycle, so downhill is the only time i am faster than my wife rclxms.gif But enough to say that i felt riding my Ugo felt better than riding my wife's Fit. Thanks to etiigge for enforcing my decision. Plus i had swapped that wobbly fold pedal to a zeray earth pedal just last night, the feeling is much more stable and easier to step on.

Finally, i have realised today that looking at pretty chick's butt while cycling is a great motivator to keep on pedalling. drool.gif wub.gif whistling.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Jan 19 2014, 09:09 PM
andrewhtf
post Jan 19 2014, 09:08 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Mywasiim @ Jan 19 2014, 08:56 PM)
Btw did u wife read u last statement. ....lol
Uh...shhhh...!

She's not on LYN sweat.gif
andrewhtf
post Jan 19 2014, 11:39 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jan 19 2014, 09:58 PM)
did they stop u early or u took a long time to finish one loop?

this year the organisation is not good... VIP late so late start for 1/2 hour they said...

i tried to cycle as slow as possible to get back my $$$ worth....

next year 'ghost ride' aje...  biggrin.gif
Storied in my first paragraph, i was slow sweat.gif

Late half hour? As in the corp challenge session? I was late for the community ride. As i came down from the train at 8.45am and rode towards dataran, the first wave already jalan and i joined 2nd wave punya rear end.

What do u mean by ghost ride? Mean join in the ride without paying lah? If like that then i think i saw a few ghost riders today. Tarak bib numbers, just jerseys. Anyway the guy who sold me the zeray pedal joined the corp challenge and he told me that he and his bunch would usually find a mamak somewhere drink tea makan breakfast and when time is almost up, only pedal back for the finishing. True enough when i was passing dang wangi, plenty of cyclists in one mamak shop there lol.
andrewhtf
post Jan 20 2014, 01:22 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 20 2014, 11:27 AM)
Ghost riders is always the better way if you are not into ride memorabilia. Saves money also. Imagine the thousands of riders and imagine the money passing through, sponsors, fees, jerseys kick back etc etc. That's why I am not really into jamborees and community rides. To me, this kind of rides is " to be seen " kind of ride. That's just me. Doesn't matter as long as you enjoyed the ride. I have many friends who did the Penang CFAL round island ride and while many were rushing and racing to be in the first pack, they forgot to enjoy, while my friends just cycle around, stopping for pictures here and there. They even stopped in Sungai Pinang to enjoy 'assam laksa' and finish the ride a little over 4 hours. The average of the rest is about 3 hours plus. I think my friends burned their calories and also enjoyed to the fullest while many felt miserable with wounds after crashing after Titi Kerawang. It's was raining on the ride day.

Lesson here is , " Just Enjoy The Ride ", be your own master.  thumbup.gif
well, i am still new in cycling. (cycling during my school years doesnt count) so OCBC's was my first ride event. let it sink in for a while before i find what my real cycling interests are. heck i dont even know if this will be a long time thing or not sweat.gif

just like my motorcycling hobby, when i first picked up big biking, i always loved to join in big rides, big convoys and big events. now fast forward a few years later i found that all these are not my interest and i ride mostly alone or with only a few close friends, sometimes a weekend hooligan and sometimes a foodie. laugh.gif

memorabilia, yeah i really dont know what i want to do with that medal thing. keep, it becomes another rubbish in the house. throw, is like wasting resources and adding up to the dumpster. at least i can wear the t-shirt though. hahah

0.0512sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:00 PM