127 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Sony XPERIA™ Z Ultra, Official Thread V3, 14.1.B.1.510 -New UI & X-Reality FW out!

Fasap
post Aug 15 2013, 09:22 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 15 2013, 08:56 AM)
... Just accept this weakness if one wants to get this phone.  Pointless to complain about it....
thumbup.gif well said Uncle

No use complaining now, just sell it off once Note 3 arrives, surely a lot of people in Garage Sales wants a piece of XZU later on..

If good sound functions were such a priority, one should just get HTC One with its superb beats audio and boomsound. It was an obvious choice imo.

But then again, when XZU is marketed as a media consumption device, these basics like sound quality and speaker quality should've been Sony's priority to the least IMO. Bad decision indeed.

This post has been edited by Fasap: Aug 15 2013, 09:24 AM
SUSgogo2
post Aug 15 2013, 09:23 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Aug 15 2013, 09:22 AM)

No use complaining now, just sell it off once Note 3 arrives, surely a lot of people in Garage Sales wants a piece of XZU later on..

If good sound functions were such a priority, one should just get HTC One with its superb beats audio and boomsound. It was an obvious choice imo.

But when its marketed as a media consumption device, these basics like sound quality and speaker quality shouldve been Sony's priority to the least, IMO.
it''ll be awesome to get bomb sound + xzu screen + Mega size + water resistant icon_question.gif
Superman7
post Aug 15 2013, 09:24 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Aug 15 2013, 09:22 AM)

But when its marketed as a media consumption device, these basics like sound quality and speaker quality shouldve been Sony's priority to the least, IMO.
I think the proper comparison would be to compared the speaker output volume with those phones which are IP58 compatible
Superman7
post Aug 15 2013, 09:25 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 15 2013, 09:23 AM)
it''ll be awesome to get bomb sound + xzu screen + Mega size + water resistant  icon_question.gif
6.3 vs 6.44 sweat.gif
what's the difference?
SUSgogo2
post Aug 15 2013, 09:27 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Aug 15 2013, 09:25 AM)
6.3 vs 6.44 sweat.gif
what's the difference?
mega size with 6.44 screen. Means remove the top and bottom bezel from XZU rclxms.gif
Fasap
post Aug 15 2013, 09:31 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 15 2013, 09:23 AM)
it''ll be awesome to get bomb sound + xzu screen + Mega size + water resistant  icon_question.gif
Haha.. good one! really true. One could only hope.. maybe XZU 2 later?

Sony would have an instant classic if the XZU had:
- on par sound qualities (speaker and headphone) of the HTC one,
- on par stylus capabilities like note series,
- a better camera with led flash.

All these will silence most people in here sweat.gif . Those are the most complained about features from what ive seen here. wink.gif

Superman7
post Aug 15 2013, 09:35 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Aug 15 2013, 09:31 AM)

All these will silence most people in here  sweat.gif . Those are the most complained about features from what ive seen here. wink.gif
I guess they rushed on the release of the XZU.. even the X-Reality thinggy was also not implemented in the launch
benny888
post Aug 15 2013, 09:40 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Those thinking of getting the LTE model from Singapore, apparently it is not available yet this month though is launching tomorrow. One HWZ forumer had reported :

Pre-order starts on 23rd Aug, collection 1st Sept, purple avialable after 15th Sep
Fasap
post Aug 15 2013, 09:42 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Aug 15 2013, 09:35 AM)
I guess they rushed on the release of the XZU.. even the X-Reality thinggy was also not implemented in the launch
X-reality was not of a big game changer regardless if it were available at launch or not. The XZU display was already a huge improvement over the older xperias, and on par with the current market's best.

but indeed, Sony rushed out the device to gain some early market ground before the Note 3 onslaught. Hence only Asian countries got hold of the HSPA+ versions before official worldwide release. Asia is after all samsung's home market and denying samsung some 3-5% market share is still quite a feat.
Andrew_1980
post Aug 15 2013, 09:45 AM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 15 2013, 09:40 AM)
Those thinking of getting the LTE model from Singapore, apparently it is not available yet this month though is launching tomorrow. One HWZ forumer had reported :

Pre-order starts on 23rd Aug, collection 1st Sept, purple avialable after  15th Sep
Thanks! laugh.gif well have to wait till 15 sept then. nod.gif
benny888
post Aug 15 2013, 09:47 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Aug 15 2013, 09:31 AM)

All these will silence most people in here  sweat.gif . Those are the most complained about features from what ive seen here. wink.gif
would be my perfect ideal phablet. But than all manufacturers always never released the ideal phone - the improvements will only come in subsequent upgrade models. If all the top specs are available, how are they going to maintain their business growth ??

Note 3 - wonder what will be the deficiencies ? But if Note 3 were to carry on the Note 2 features and with improved display, processor, memory , stylus input etc - I'd say Note 3 seems looks like the ideal phablet. Only worry is Samsung DO NOT carryover the mistakes of S4 and packed it with unnecessary gimmicky added software ( which I'd say 30-40% of it is half baked n hopeless) and end up taking up valuable storage space
Superman7
post Aug 15 2013, 09:51 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 15 2013, 09:47 AM)
would be my perfect ideal phablet. But than all manufacturers always never released the ideal phone - the improvements will only come in subsequent upgrade models. If all the top specs are available, how are they going to maintain their business growth ??

Note 3 - wonder what will be the deficiencies ? But if Note 3 were to carry on the Note 2 features and with improved display, processor, memory , stylus input etc - I'd say Note 3 seems looks like the ideal phablet. Only worry is Samsung DO NOT carryover the mistakes of S4 and packed it with unnecessary gimmicky added software ( which I'd say 30-40% of it is half baked n hopeless) and end up taking up valuable storage space
when the hardware reached limitation, software is the only thing they could look at..
Hence, the crappy S4 laugh.gif

Fasap
post Aug 15 2013, 09:56 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 15 2013, 09:47 AM)

One could only hope for a perfect phone. Be it HTC, Sony, Samsung etc. cry.gif

True that Uncle. Samsung has already a working formula for blockbuster smartphones and phablets. If it cuts down on its gimmicky-less-than-useful bloatware, and introduce premium build quality design (fire the current hardware designers!) to their phones like Sony and HTC, Samsung will be invincible. Let us see the Note 3 design, which they say might use metal?

This post has been edited by Fasap: Aug 15 2013, 09:57 AM
kuntakinte
post Aug 15 2013, 09:57 AM

607 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Aug 15 2013, 09:25 AM)
6.3 vs 6.44 sweat.gif
what's the difference?
Seems like quite a number of XZU sellers in garage sales cite its size as the main reason for selling, after short ownerships of a few days to a couple of weeks

Looks like there's an acceptance curve for the general public.

bosouman
post Aug 15 2013, 10:08 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 15 2013, 08:57 AM)
What glitch are you saying?
battery indicator glitch. this is the 2nd.time im facing it actually. charged the phone. turn off. insert sim. turn on suddenly 100% battery. but then when i charged it when the phone is off.. the indicator shows it has less than 50%
benny888
post Aug 15 2013, 10:13 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kuntakinte @ Aug 15 2013, 09:57 AM)
Seems like quite a number of XZU sellers in garage sales cite its size as the main reason for selling, after short ownerships of a few days to a couple of weeks

Looks like there's an acceptance curve for the general public.
5.5 inch and above display size phones is a niche market . It will never be a common hit among the masses.

I still remember the first time I got myself the 5 inch Dell Streak ( specially imported in from UK through a forumer here) - the number of stares I got in the kopitiam/cofeehouse/warong at my place was uncountable. On several occasions , some curious chaps even came over and asked me what gigantic phone was that !!
Than Samsung launched Note - and in this forum , a lot of bad comments that it was freaking big, unsuitable as a phone and those using it were even called freaks !!! Well, history had proven those critics wrong and thereafter we have seen Note 2 and a rise of phablets by other manufacturers
It had now reach a stage that 5 inch display size phones are considered normal already
But still till today, we had guys debating on the size of this phone as to its suitability for use. I'd say only time will tell whether 6 incher and above display size phones will succeed or fail. Sony I'd say had taken a big risk at 6.4 inch. A 6 inch size would be more acceptable
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 15 2013, 10:15 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(shien @ Aug 15 2013, 09:13 AM)
anyone user of XZU here experience hang in using wee chat? always when use voice chat and talk in groups time in wee chat this phone hangs. only happen when using wee chat. other apps runs smooth and fast but wee chat when use for voice chat time hangs. anyone experience this please advise thanks
I didn't face this issue. I everyday use wechat.
shockk
post Aug 15 2013, 10:21 AM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 15 2013, 10:13 AM)
5.5 inch and above display size phones is a niche market . It will never be a common hit among the masses.

I still remember the first time I got myself the 5 inch Dell Streak ( specially imported in from UK through a forumer here)  - the number of stares I got in the kopitiam/cofeehouse/warong  at my place was uncountable. On several occasions , some curious chaps even came over and asked me what gigantic phone was that !!
Than Samsung launched Note - and in this forum , a lot of bad comments that it was freaking big, unsuitable as a phone and those using it were even called freaks !!! Well, history had proven those critics wrong and thereafter we have seen Note 2 and a rise of phablets by other manufacturers
It had now reach a stage that 5 inch  display size phones are considered normal already
But still till today, we had guys debating on the size of this phone as to its suitability for use. I'd say only time will tell whether 6 incher and above display size phones will succeed or fail. Sony I'd say had taken a big risk at 6.4 inch. A 6 inch size would be more acceptable
Good points there, but to be frank if the XZU was 5.5"-6", I would not even bother considering it. But they released such a phablet at such outstanding thinness with a terrific display, it's surely a worthy buy in my opinion and probably others would think so as well. The current size of XZU is just a tad shy from 7" tablets. It truly is the in-betweener, so to speak. Of course, most people that buy it now just want the FASTEST thing on the market now - the ultimate Snapdragon 800. brows.gif

This post has been edited by shockk: Aug 15 2013, 10:21 AM
Superman7
post Aug 15 2013, 10:57 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 15 2013, 10:13 AM)

I still remember the first time I got myself the 5 inch Dell Streak ( specially imported in from UK through a forumer here)  - the number of stares I got in the kopitiam/cofeehouse/warong  at my place was uncountable. On several occasions , some curious chaps even came over and asked me what gigantic phone was that !!
It had now reach a stage that 5 inch  display size phones are considered normal already
very true..
I was also one of those people who thinks the Note I 5.3-inch size was crazy with a slab piece of plastic on the face.
But then, eventually I got mine and shit happens laugh.gif Smaller screen are no longer acceptable tongue.gif
Andrew_1980
post Aug 15 2013, 11:10 AM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Aug 15 2013, 10:57 AM)
very true..
I was also one of those people who thinks the Note I 5.3-inch size was crazy with a slab piece of plastic on the face.
But then, eventually I got mine and shit happens laugh.gif Smaller screen are no longer acceptable tongue.gif
Haha. I also worry about after touch the XZU, I can't accept my Ion laugh.gif 4.6 inch => 6.4 inch, very big different whistling.gif

127 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:24 AM