[My compressor]
[The connector from the air compressor to the hose]
[2.5hp,40liter capacity,adjustable bar output]
Sorry for the bad picture quality.
Hobbies Air Brush Acessories, Airbrush hose etc.
Aug 25 2009, 01:12 AM
1 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Hey guys, im a newbie to airbrush. I know that to have an air brush system you 1st need an air compressor and an air brush. i already have an air compressor but im unsure if it can be used for the air brush for model kits. Can any advice me whether this compressor can be used for the air brush gun to paint modal kits? Here are some picture of my air compressor.
[My compressor] [The connector from the air compressor to the hose] [2.5hp,40liter capacity,adjustable bar output] Sorry for the bad picture quality. |
Aug 25 2009, 10:31 AM
382 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Wow is this compressor meant for car?
This post has been edited by kyoshooo: Aug 25 2009, 10:31 AM |
Aug 26 2009, 10:23 PM
1 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Im not too sure myself, but i think it can be used for car.anyways any sifu can advice me on my prob?
Aug 28 2009, 12:15 AM
31 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah. |
Anyone knows any shop selling these airbrush stuff in KK, Sabah?
Added on September 1, 2009, 3:34 pmi have a question, If we run out of paint, is it possible to make a diy paint out of dye or food colouring? This post has been edited by Adam1172: Sep 1 2009, 03:34 PM |
Sep 15 2009, 12:24 AM
20 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Hi all, I happen to see the introduction of this compressor: HSENG AS186
http://www.haoshengnb.com/Product_Info.asp?ID=69 Anyone has any idea or review regarding this compressor? Thx! |
Sep 15 2009, 08:38 AM
356 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(Adam1172 @ Aug 28 2009, 01:15 AM) Anyone knows any shop selling these airbrush stuff in KK, Sabah? There should be a shop in Karamunsing Complex that sells airbrush related item. I forgot the name of the shop but its in the ground floor.Added on September 1, 2009, 3:34 pmi have a question, If we run out of paint, is it possible to make a diy paint out of dye or food colouring? Added on September 15, 2009, 8:45 am QUOTE(Aquarii @ Sep 15 2009, 01:24 AM) Hi all, I happen to see the introduction of this compressor: HSENG AS186 I owned a similiar model but not HSENG AS186. It works great. No complaint about it. You should go to the supplier and try it out at his place.http://www.haoshengnb.com/Product_Info.asp?ID=69 Anyone has any idea or review regarding this compressor? Thx! This post has been edited by eehtsitna: Sep 15 2009, 08:45 AM |
Sep 15 2009, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Sep 15 2009, 08:38 AM) I owned a similiar model but not HSENG AS186. It works great. No complaint about it. You should go to the supplier and try it out at his place. - Horsepower: 1/8 - 1/5 should be more than enough for air paint rite - Auto stop function (I think this AS186 has the function) - Noise level (normally how much dB is acceptable?) - Whether moisture trap included Anything else? Appreciate for any other opinion from those experienced in buying compressor. Happy modeling everyone~ |
Sep 15 2009, 01:20 PM
Horse power: 1/8 - 1/5 should be more than sufficient.
Auto stop function: Is a must to avoid overheating. Noise level: Dont think u will have a gauge to measure the dB level so anything close to the humming produce by your fridge will do. Moisture trap: Is a must. It is to prevent water from spluttering out from your handpiece. Besides that, there must be a pressure meter and not to forget a pressure valve to control the amount of pressure. Another thing to note is that the compressor should cost around rm500 to rm600. |
Sep 15 2009, 01:56 PM
Thx man~ I will take note on your points...
By the way, regarding the maintainance of air brush after painting... I heard that Mr Color paint can only be diluted using Mr Hobby Thinner but not the normal thinner from hardware shop. So we have to use the expensive Mr Hobby Thinner for cleaning as well? And need to clean everytime we wanna change color? @.@ I am 100% newbie to air paint so I think it's good to know some detail about the steps and sequences in handling/taking care of the AB & compressor. Thanks again eehtsitna! |
Sep 15 2009, 02:17 PM
It depends on which type of Mr Color paint you are using. For your information, there are 2 types of Mr Color paint in the market. The first type is the aqueous (water based) and the second lacquer. For the first type, you can use water to clean your airbrush but if you want a better solution, you can try kleenex (or whatever window cleaning liqiud in the market. If you are using the lacquer type, yes you can use Mr Hobby thinner but a cheaper alternative is the industrial thinner in hardware shop. Do take extra precaution on using those thinner though. If it is too strong, it might ruin your handpiece.
This post has been edited by eehtsitna: Sep 15 2009, 02:18 PM |
Sep 15 2009, 03:26 PM
2,287 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Anno Domini Time Ultra: 1,000,000 Trans Am Attack! |
Unless your handpiece is made of plastic, it won't ruin it.
Just let the thinner run thru your AB piece and wash it thru, not by leaving them inside a bucket of thinner. |
Sep 15 2009, 04:00 PM
4,250 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(Adam1172 @ Aug 28 2009, 12:15 AM) Anyone knows any shop selling these airbrush stuff in KK, Sabah? i think kk toys might have some for sale, if not i heard that there is a place in kompleks karamunsing. Try asking around in the local forum (google click,start,play)Added on September 1, 2009, 3:34 pmi have a question, If we run out of paint, is it possible to make a diy paint out of dye or food colouring? |
Sep 15 2009, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Sep 15 2009, 02:17 PM) It depends on which type of Mr Color paint you are using. For your information, there are 2 types of Mr Color paint in the market. The first type is the aqueous (water based) and the second lacquer. For the first type, you can use water to clean your airbrush but if you want a better solution, you can try kleenex (or whatever window cleaning liqiud in the market. If you are using the lacquer type, yes you can use Mr Hobby thinner but a cheaper alternative is the industrial thinner in hardware shop. Do take extra precaution on using those thinner though. If it is too strong, it might ruin your handpiece. QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Sep 15 2009, 03:26 PM) Unless your handpiece is made of plastic, it won't ruin it. What I worry is the thinner will ruin the model kits that I am working on. Just let the thinner run thru your AB piece and wash it thru, not by leaving them inside a bucket of thinner. |
Sep 15 2009, 05:19 PM
4,250 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
you do not use thinner from hardware shops to mix with your paint wor. Not unless if you like the 'melted laser' effect
it's ok if you use it to clean the AB, just make sure you spray all of it out before using the AB again. Also, i heard from somewhere someone that using industrial thinner might harden/spoil any rubber rings that might be in the AB, but so far i have no problems at all. as for brand, i just go in and ask for thinner |
Sep 16 2009, 11:07 PM
8 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(Aquarii @ Sep 15 2009, 12:24 AM) Hi all, I happen to see the introduction of this compressor: HSENG AS186 Hi, can i know which shop in kl tat u can get this compressor?http://www.haoshengnb.com/Product_Info.asp?ID=69 Anyone has any idea or review regarding this compressor? Thx! |
Sep 17 2009, 04:31 PM
0 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Sep 17 2009, 04:45 PM
I think a fellow member here has that compressor for sale. You guys should do a search in 'Trade Zone".
Sep 17 2009, 07:47 PM
8 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
just enquired VA for compressor & airbrush, it costs 1000 total...wtf
only compressor with airtank alone ady cost 700++.... Added on September 18, 2009, 10:29 pm QUOTE(PhotoFrame @ Sep 17 2009, 04:31 PM) had a look just now that af-hobby is selling tat china made compressor as186 and it is 420, quite cheapThis post has been edited by raidenVT: Sep 18 2009, 10:29 PM |
Sep 26 2009, 03:48 PM
675 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
hey guys....erm...i wanna know....where can i get a basic single action airbrush kit....i dun need a compresor...just the propellant can will do. just need to use it once only to paint my model airport...any idea where to get it and more importantly how much will it cost?...single action one only...duwan double action all....too expensive
tq |
Sep 26 2009, 04:26 PM
5,510 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: On Earth. |
got someone sell it at garage sales... quite cheap also... i've bough some of my item from him
| Change to: | 0.0210sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:57 PM |