125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Sony XPERIA™ Z Ultra, Official Thread V2, The only Snapdragon™ 800 ~ 6.44" Beast!!

benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 11:32 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Jul 28 2013, 11:29 AM)
Uncle you rooted the phone already? How did it go?
Belum lah !! No reason to root yet as no custom kernel, tweal\ks, roms yet. Will definitely do it once I see purexaudio tweak is out. This tweak does real wonders to the sound quality of the Xperia Z
Maybe I will try to root it later today
h11g
post Jul 28 2013, 11:42 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 28 2013, 10:32 AM)
Belum lah !! No reason to root yet as no custom kernel, tweal\ks, roms yet. Will definitely do it once I see purexaudio tweak is out. This tweak does real wonders to the sound quality of the Xperia Z
Maybe I will try to root it later today
But can't use tibu to restore apps aihh
benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 11:47 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Jul 28 2013, 11:42 AM)
But can't use tibu to restore apps aihh
You mean you have already rooted it but unable to use Titanium Backup ??
TSAndrewtst
post Jul 28 2013, 11:59 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 28 2013, 11:24 AM)
Not a serious issue as the phone is big enough for you to hold it especially the bottom bexel is close to 1.6 cm high
I don't need to touch the display to do any typing
I just try out my current Z, and I just know actually I never touch the screen at all during typing/swiping. Haha! It really not a issue then. biggrin.gif
h11g
post Jul 28 2013, 12:13 PM

2,114 posts

no I haven't root yet uncle because I don't have accessto aany laptop until now.
plasmapuff
post Jul 28 2013, 12:16 PM

38 posts

Super excited that you guys are lucky enough to have it already smile.gif

Could someone please comment on how reading text - pdf/web browsing compares to something like the note 2?

Screenshots of a text pdf in portrait would be much appreciated smile.gif
TSAndrewtst
post Jul 28 2013, 12:18 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 28 2013, 10:26 AM)
Sample shoot and click camera shots taken . These are all on 7MPX ( 3104x2328 (4:3) with HDR on and all rest of settings as default.
I am not a pro when coming to take photos
I find the shots are satisfactory
Thanks for the sample snap, just download some. The quality is slightly wax but still in acceptable level, hope Sony can improve better in future and reduce the compression & post processing, it seems some edge issue happen due to high compression and post processing.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 28 2013, 12:20 PM
Xirality
post Jul 28 2013, 12:25 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(plasmapuff @ Jul 28 2013, 12:16 PM)

Could someone please comment on how reading text - pdf/web browsing compares to something like the note 2?

Im interested to know to but judging from the spec. Snapdragon 800 literally can handle pdf and heavy browsing like peanuts plus that trilluminous 1080p display!
plasmapuff
post Jul 28 2013, 12:30 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Jul 28 2013, 02:25 PM)
Im interested to know to but judging from the spec. Snapdragon 800 literally can handle pdf and heavy browsing like peanuts plus that trilluminous 1080p display!
More interested to see how good 1080p on a 6"+ screen actually is specifically for reading text - vs. a 720p screen (like galaxy mega 6.3, or huawei ascend mate). Is there actually a tangible day to day difference? Or do you really have to use a magnifying glass to tell? Does it allow you to read smaller text without zooming?

The processor shouldn't be a issue in my opinion - my note 2 handles large (500mb+ sometimes) PDFs just fine. SmartQ Reader is best for just reading imo (fastest), but if you want annotation features than ezpdf is best.

Would love someone who actually owns one to comment on the above smile.gif Still tossing up whether to buy this or a 6.3 galaxy mega/ascend mate as its ~$400 difference at the moment. Is the 1080p vs 720p on a 6"+ screen worth it? rclxub.gif

Thanks heaps in advance smile.gif

This post has been edited by plasmapuff: Jul 28 2013, 12:44 PM
aruja_69
post Jul 28 2013, 12:48 PM

3,786 posts

Seem Sony KLCC is not selling Xperia Z Ultra today and told after 1st August. Have anyone brought it from here yesterday and today.
TSAndrewtst
post Jul 28 2013, 12:56 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Jul 28 2013, 12:48 PM)
Seem Sony KLCC is not selling Xperia Z Ultra today and told after 1st August. Have anyone brought it from here yesterday and today.
Sony KLCC won't sell that Xperia Z Ultra anymore until 1st August, actually I do call them yesterday and I ask why, they said they cannot sell anymore as they received complain from Sony headquarter already.

So now they actually have stock but not willing to sell anymore until 1st August.
Noobi3
post Jul 28 2013, 12:58 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(plasmapuff @ Jul 28 2013, 12:30 PM)
More interested to see how good 1080p on a 6"+ screen actually is specifically for reading text - vs. a 720p screen (like galaxy mega 6.3, or huawei ascend mate). Is there actually a tangible day to day difference? Or do you really have to use a magnifying glass to tell? Does it allow you to read smaller text without zooming?

The processor shouldn't be a issue in my opinion - my note 2 handles large (500mb+ sometimes) PDFs just fine. SmartQ Reader is best for just reading imo (fastest), but if you want annotation features than ezpdf is best.

Would love someone who actually owns one to comment on the above smile.gif Still tossing up whether to buy this or a 6.3 galaxy mega/ascend mate as its ~$400 difference at the moment. Is the 1080p vs 720p on a 6"+ screen worth it? rclxub.gif

Text do look better on FHD on 6"+ especially when u zoom in text . That's about all . Colors do look better as well compared to the other 2 models you mentioned . As for 6+ 720p , i still prefer Huawei over Samsung , colors are better as well but that's me .
alfredtwl
post Jul 28 2013, 01:06 PM

2,013 posts

I have to repeat again, the screen really amazed me. Seems like can't turn back anymore. tongue.gif

But seems like Snapdragon 600 and 800 not feel too much difference. But loading page more faster. nod.gif

Btw TS, mine set is White color ya. smile.gif
benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 01:12 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(plasmapuff @ Jul 28 2013, 12:16 PM)

Using aldiko

Using ezpdf

benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 01:18 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(plasmapuff @ Jul 28 2013, 12:30 PM)

Price difference between Mega/Mate with this is not rm400 but is rm800. I will be interested to know where you can get the XZU for just rm1.8k
Paying rm800 extra just for display is not worth it. The XZU has more to offer besides a nicer better display
Go n view these phones yourself as your taste /requirements is different from others
benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 01:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 28 2013, 12:18 PM)
Thanks for the sample snap, just download some. The quality is slightly wax but still in acceptable level, hope Sony can improve better in future and reduce the compression & post processing, it seems some edge issue happen due to high compression and post processing.
I believe you can definitely take better camera shots than me.
benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 01:30 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

How some web pages look on the XZU. I am using Boat browser

h11g
post Jul 28 2013, 01:33 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 28 2013, 12:18 PM)
Price difference between Mega/Mate with this is not rm400 but is rm800. I will be interested to know where you can get the XZU for just rm1.8k
Paying rm800 extra just for display is not worth it.  The XZU has more to offer besides a nicer better display
Go n view these phones yourself as your taste /requirements is different from others
yea for me the xzu is a lot snappier than my note 2. and the double glass design just oozes class. build quality is top notch.
plasmapuff
post Jul 28 2013, 01:36 PM

38 posts

Thanks Benny888 smile.gif

Is it possible to get a screenshot of something like theverge.com /engadget.com on desktop mode?

Want to compare how much further 1080p goes for browsing smile.gif

I'm essentially after the biggest screen I can fit in my pocket. At the moment its between the XZU and Galaxy Mega 6.3.

In Australia, at the moment there is going to be a ~$400 AU price difference at launch for the XZU. (Mega $450, XZU $850+).

For me if I can read text more clearly without zooming in for pdf and web browsing then I'd consider it.

Thanks heaps in advance! smile.gif You guys are so lucky smile.gif
benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 01:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

This is the verge site. I can easily read without zooming

125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top