12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Sony XPERIA™ Z Ultra, Official Thread V2, The only Snapdragon™ 800 ~ 6.44" Beast!!

benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 03:14 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Jul 27 2013, 02:48 PM)
very impressed with the build quality though... love thetempered glass and the aluminium edge at the side. so smooth...

really sad there is no root for this phone yet otherwise I'll port all my apps over and start abusing this beast.

as of now note 2 is still the phone I'm using...
There is a one click root at the xda thread
I will try it when I am back home
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 03:19 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Jul 27 2013, 03:07 PM)
Dont mind asking did u get free battery bank?
I got mine plus an empty bag
Apparently the free gift is limited n only to certain centers only

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 27 2013, 03:20 PM
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 03:21 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 27 2013, 03:09 PM)
already got mine. its HUGE  tongue.gif

No freebies, promoter said just launching. I'm the 1st customer get this beast.  wink.gif

Will post photo later.  biggrin.gif
Dont you think the display is fantastically great. What would you say vs HTC one? I prefer it over the Htc1 anytime
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 04:13 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Jul 27 2013, 03:38 PM)
ya, the shop got display set. and the promoter show me the display. I was like ' WOW '  rclxms.gif

I'm still working now. so only can play after working time.

btw Uncle Benny, the speaker totally turn me off if compare with my One  sad.gif
Speaker loudness cannot match Htc1 but not audio quality. Play with the sound settings in setting/sound n adjust to what you wish in the Walkman app
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 07:05 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AbyssXII @ Jul 27 2013, 06:34 PM)
can owner show what inside the box please?
i really want this one.Thank you
Only charger, usb cable n earpiece
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 07:56 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Jul 27 2013, 07:52 PM)
Anyone please help to ask about LTE version ZU stock arrive date and pricing? biggrin.gif
Completely no idea
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 07:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Hertz96 @ Jul 27 2013, 07:53 PM)
Okay, I wanna ask the owners something, hope someone replies. I was wondering if when y'all guy bought, already got screen protectors for it or not yet come to Malaysia yet?
No casing n SP yet
Phone comes installed with anti shatter film
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 08:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Hertz96 @ Jul 27 2013, 08:36 PM)
Okay, so bro, in your own opinion, do you think a ordinary screen protector is needed?
I don't believe in using SP but for this phone no choice because the anti shatter film gets scratches easily
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 09:22 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jul 27 2013, 09:02 PM)
Please add me in the user list for black color, was getting it at Ikano, and it's even come with the free gifts. I was surprised at first as the Sony store at curve refused to sell it before the release date on the first August.
My sales receipt was purposely dated 1aug as they are not supposed to sell it earlier!!
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 09:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Some benchmark figures

Quadrant : 18531

Antutu : 31376

Nemamark2 : 60 fps

3d mark ice storm extreme : 10891

Vellamore browser html5/metal : 2950/1125
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 10:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The writing using stylus so far I can only use pencil. It doesn't work with my old ballpen n plastic stylus
You can only use Sony keyboard n must select write mode n write on the pad. I see no point using it as it is too troublesome to invoke it. You need to write slowly to have accurate capture. I rate it hopeless to me.
At first I thought can just write straightaway on any note app without all these constraints

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 27 2013, 10:54 PM
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 10:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(funguss @ Jul 27 2013, 10:46 PM)
Wow..... blazingly fast indeed !!

Does the ZU get excessively hot under prolonged processor load ?
I was using it non stop past 3-4 hours installing stuff, checking mail, news feed n tweeter plus browsing all on 3g n hardly feel any serious warmness n phone connected to portable charger
Average battery temperature 35-38 degree C

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 27 2013, 10:58 PM
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 11:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

So far I would say only audio quality is soft though speakers. And this is main weaknes. Phone is excellent in all other aspects. Sound is quite similar to stock xperia z...... Hope to see pureX audio tweak as in XZ available soon
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 11:28 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(funguss @ Jul 27 2013, 11:12 PM)
Shucks. ...not like the Note 2 eh?
Note 2 stylus is completely different class. An insult to Note2 to even compare
benny888
post Jul 27 2013, 11:30 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AbyssXII @ Jul 27 2013, 11:10 PM)
Phonecall speaker have too much noise.is that true ?

does ringtone loud enough when you got some call.
Don’t seem to have any noise while receiving calls
Phone speakers is generally soft like XZ
You need to choose a loud Ringtone yourself. The default ones are all poor

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 27 2013, 11:31 PM
benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 07:21 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Jul 27 2013, 11:37 PM)
It won't wipe your data. If you are worried, just do a nandroid backup first before updating.
Excellent 3g/h+. Best ever recorded in my town Batu Pahat. This area is one of the stronger areas which usually hover around 8000kbps

benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 07:32 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jul 28 2013, 03:19 AM)
Well I would say that was the first thing I looked out for ever since they started showing videos. @deddo kindly did the demo on failed palm rejection for us all yesterday, and IINM, he is the first person in the world to do it. Nobody else has picked up on this in the West since they haven't gotten their hands on it, and I think the HK review site only did conductive stylus testing without considering palm rejection either.

Fail on writing as a gimmick, but otherwise useful as a smaller-than-7-inch-device.

I do not think firmware will solve the palm rejection as it has to do with the digitizer hardware differentiating between 2 conductive areas.

A Wacom digitizer can differentiate between the resonant stylus vs your body's resistance, and this is, IMHO, not present in the XZU digitizer.
Thank you uncle for your resounding vote for the Note 2 stylus.
Writing mode will not work even with a slight touch of your palm on the display.
benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 08:36 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Another excellent 3g speed. This kopitiam I frequent usually only around 4000-5000 kbps

Btw I am on Maxis

benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 10:11 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 28 2013, 09:57 AM)
Oh!  How about swiping/typing via keyboard? Are they working?
If any of your palm/fingers is resting on the display, you CANNOT type or swype !!!
benny888
post Jul 28 2013, 10:18 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

This is an update on battery usage. First of all, my phone was ONLY being charge using a Powerocks 12000mAh powerpack. I have yet to charge it using live AC till now. And phone was continually being charge while it was being used yesterday. I took off the charger at about 97% and than restarted the phone
Battery I'd say is not yet fully being charged and optimised yet

Phone was put on Stamina mode. This is the battery drain over 6+ hours lastnight with 3G on , GPS on ( forgot to disable it), WiFi off. I'd say the stamina mode is working very well as the drain is hardly 2%

This morning testing :

Browsing, checking mails, newsfeed, tweeter on 3G/H+ : Average 12-13% /hour battery drain
Video playback ( HD video) using MX Player Pro : About 10% /hour

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0507sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:43 AM