125 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Astro B.yond Episode VI (Version 11.0), HD, PVR, IPTV and VOD

munchoong
post Aug 2 2013, 09:58 AM

414 posts

I confirm TV3, ntv7, 8TV, and TV9 are now available on Byond IPTV (at least the Time version, not sure about the Maxis version)

TV3 had always been there, while the other three channels were added around two months ago.
prawnny
post Aug 2 2013, 10:44 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Aug 2 2013, 01:17 AM)
just want to ask a quick question..

my grandparents are still using the old astro silver box decoder..in the recent Astro bill, they sent a leaflet saying my grandparents can switch to the new byond decoder FOC..

my question is, is it really free? will they need to pay the extra RM20 per month for Byond? If they dont need to add another RM20, then they will change..if not, my grandparents will go on with the old decoder..

so is it free switching?
To share my experience with you.

Last year July I did add RM20 to change from older decoder to beyond for my parents. The RM20 included some additional chinese channels and Astro on demand.

For me there seemed to be conspiracy for making us change... after astro started promoting beyond HD, we started to get more and more lousy signal with theolder decoder. Some nights with clear sky clear moon no rain, we cannot receive any signals at all, or the signals kept breaking off. My parents were frustrated. I called Astro help line and of course they always started off with some retarded instruction like, plz power off and on the decoder, take out the smart card and reinsert bla bla blah but it won't work. If want to send astro technician over need to add rm50 and some additional charge if need to change decoder or watever. Then they started to promote the conversion to HD with no additional installation charge. At first I rejected that idea. But as it continued for a few days with no consistent signals, I decided to just change it, partly thinking alright, maybe my parents can watch in HD, better also.... so I changed...

Turns out most chinese channels that my mom tuned in to, were NOT in HD shakehead.gif On the other hand, when my dad watch sport channel, he still always switch to non-HD one even though I told him many times that there are HD sports channels~ laugh.gif ok this part is human issue, haha.

Since then I think Astro is slowly transforming more channels to HD, but I still need to remind my parents now to stop tuning to the non-HD one.

Last month I grabbed the Astro FOC offer to change the beyond to PVR. Enjoying it right now. finally I am at peace with the decision icon_rolleyes.gif

smileguy
post Aug 2 2013, 10:49 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(prawnny @ Aug 2 2013, 10:44 AM)

Last year July I did add RM20 to change from older decoder to beyond for my parents. The RM20 included some additional chinese channels and Astro on demand.

For me there seemed to be conspiracy for making us change... after astro started promoting beyond HD, we started to get more and more lousy signal with theolder decoder. Some nights with clear sky clear moon no rain, we cannot receive any signals at all, or the signals kept breaking off. My parents were frustrated. I called Astro help line and of course they always started off with some retarded instruction like, plz power off and on the decoder, take out the smart card and reinsert bla bla blah but it won't work. If want to send astro technician over need to add rm50 and some additional charge if need to change decoder or watever. Then they started to promote the conversion to HD with no additional installation charge. At first I rejected that idea. But as it continued for a few days with no consistent signals, I decided to just change it, partly thinking alright, maybe my parents can watch in HD, better also.... so I changed...

Turns out most chinese channels that my mom tuned in to, were NOT in HD shakehead.gif On the other hand, when my dad watch sport channel, he still always switch to non-HD one even though I told him many times that there are HD sports channels~  laugh.gif ok this part is human issue, haha.

Since then I think Astro is slowly transforming more channels to HD, but I still need to remind my parents now to stop tuning to the non-HD one.

Last month I grabbed the Astro FOC offer to change the beyond to PVR. Enjoying it right now.  finally I am at peace with the decision icon_rolleyes.gif
Lost signals in old decorders is astro's dirty tactic to make us change the decorder.MIne the signal went off at selected timings,its very obvious its a dirty game,it happens on Saturdays and sundays the most! Anyway what choice do we hv in this country!! Finally got rid of he old box sad.gif
jianwei87
post Aug 2 2013, 11:43 AM

481 posts

how about the performance using the powerline for iptv?
dxjb
post Aug 2 2013, 12:16 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(prawnny @ Aug 2 2013, 10:44 AM)

Turns out most chinese channels that my mom tuned in to, were NOT in HD shakehead.gif On the other hand, when my dad watch sport channel, he still always switch to non-HD one even though I told him many times that there are HD sports channels~  laugh.gif ok this part is human issue, haha.

Last month I grabbed the Astro FOC offer to change the beyond to PVR. Enjoying it right now.  finally I am at peace with the decision icon_rolleyes.gif
so are you paying anything additional to your bill while using old decoder? or are you paying extra RM20?
prawnny
post Aug 2 2013, 02:12 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Aug 2 2013, 12:16 PM)
so are you paying anything additional to your bill while using old decoder? or are you paying extra RM20?
They come to our house to switch our older decoder to the Beyond decoder without any charges. After that we pay monthly extra RM20 in our bill for the HD service and some additional channels.

This post has been edited by prawnny: Aug 2 2013, 02:12 PM
Anonymous34
post Aug 2 2013, 06:32 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Aug 2 2013, 10:49 AM)
Lost signals in old decorders is astro's dirty tactic to make us change the decorder.MIne the signal went off at selected timings,its very obvious its a dirty game,it happens on Saturdays and sundays the most! Anyway what choice do we hv in this country!! Finally got rid of he old box sad.gif
where got ?i was using the thomson decoder from 2004(thats when my dad moved to a new house)and it was working all the time until i change to byond pvr this year.
though their name is assteruk, wont be that teruk la.
BeeDeePee
post Aug 2 2013, 08:41 PM

42 posts

and i really wonder why some of the user here insist of not replacing their old decoder to the Byond decoder. Isn't better to be able to watch HD channel and have newer decoder instead rclxub.gif ?

This post has been edited by BeeDeePee: Aug 2 2013, 08:42 PM
Anonymous34
post Aug 2 2013, 09:04 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(BeeDeePee @ Aug 2 2013, 08:41 PM)
and i really wonder why some of the user here insist of not replacing their old decoder to the Byond decoder. Isn't better to be able to watch HD channel and have newer decoder instead  rclxub.gif ?
most people still have CRT wut. -.-
and smart card also can interchange

This post has been edited by Anonymous34: Aug 2 2013, 10:22 PM
krel89
post Aug 3 2013, 04:31 AM

409 posts

QUOTE(fallend90 @ Aug 2 2013, 09:09 AM)
So is it true that Media Prima channels (like TV3 and all) will not be available if i change from astro byond hd to astro byond iptv? I am currently subscribing to astro byond hd and it has the Media Prima channels. Would be a bummer if the iptv don't have those channels.
for me, i have all MP channel.. maxis iptv here... thumbup.gif
Hianz
post Aug 3 2013, 05:46 PM

142 posts

I am on Wah package.
Anyone knows possible to add on just one channel 317?
What is the price?

Thx.

This post has been edited by Hianz: Aug 3 2013, 05:52 PM
Anonymous34
post Aug 3 2013, 09:43 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(Hianz @ Aug 3 2013, 05:46 PM)

I am on Wah package.
Anyone knows possible to add on just one channel 317?
What is the price?

Thx.
no refer to this link here, http://support.astro.com.my/HelpCenter/Art...bf-4855b0bc0d50

i recommend you taking superpack 3 as it aint that the expensive
wei8200
post Aug 4 2013, 08:06 AM

Anyone knows astro b.yond hd decoder have optical output?

This post has been edited by wei8200: Aug 4 2013, 08:06 AM
Fubar20
post Aug 4 2013, 01:21 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(wei8200 @ Aug 4 2013, 08:06 AM)
Anyone knows  astro b.yond hd decoder have optical output?
Nope. Don't have.
Anonymous34
post Aug 4 2013, 04:32 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(wei8200 @ Aug 4 2013, 08:06 AM)
Anyone knows  astro b.yond hd decoder have optical output?
only samsung decoder have it
normal pace dont have it
either you get PVR or you get NJOI zapper and then upgrade to Astro
wei8200
post Aug 4 2013, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Aug 4 2013, 04:32 PM)
only samsung decoder have it
normal pace dont have it
either you get PVR or you get NJOI zapper and then upgrade to Astro
Then how to i get samsung decoder?
BeeDeePee
post Aug 4 2013, 05:19 PM

42 posts

Got a question here. Since the PVR decoder are dual tuner, if i bring my decoder to my friend's place where his house only got the single tuner Byond decoder and plug in my decoder and leave the 2nd tuner slot empty will my decoder be able to use and receive the signal without change any of the setting ?

My friend just installed astro and the series he wanted to watch already finish airing since i got recorded it on my PVR so i thought swapping our decoder temporary for him to enjoy the series.
gamekeeper
post Aug 4 2013, 05:30 PM

QUOTE(BeeDeePee @ Aug 4 2013, 05:19 PM)
Got a question here. Since the PVR decoder are dual tuner, if i bring my decoder to my friend's place where his house only got the single tuner Byond decoder and plug in my decoder and leave the 2nd tuner slot empty will my decoder be able to use and receive the signal without change any of the setting ?

My friend just installed astro and the series he wanted to watch already finish airing since i got recorded it on my PVR so i thought swapping our decoder temporary for him to enjoy the series.
Should be ok to do that. Since what important is your sim card to access the data in your pvr decoder.
Anonymous34
post Aug 4 2013, 11:02 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(BeeDeePee @ Aug 4 2013, 05:19 PM)

yes you can.
if you want to watch certain channels, just unplug it from the other tuner and plug into the next one.
eg:you want to watch 832 but it says no service, take the cable from tuner 1 and plug it to tuner 2.repeat as watching other channel
Anonymous34
post Aug 4 2013, 11:05 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(wei8200 @ Aug 4 2013, 05:04 PM)
Then how to i get samsung decoder?
i really doubt that astro will give you samsung decoder as i think they still have pace ones.
the only confirmed way to get it is getting NJOi new set which is 408 and includes samsung decoder and then you can upgrade to astro for free

125 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:39 AM