7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Astro B.yond Episode VI (Version 11.0), HD, PVR, IPTV and VOD

smileguy
post Jul 24 2013, 06:11 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(lpsoldier007 @ Jul 24 2013, 12:34 AM)
No need to buy long cable.

Just buy a used dish. Put at your neighbour's house. Then plug in the 2nd decoder to that dish. Simple.
Thats right rclxms.gif What worries me maybe one day they could detect this, experts here is that possible ? hmm.gif Many are doing this with family and neighbours!
smileguy
post Jul 26 2013, 11:21 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(QQHTJ @ Jul 26 2013, 11:03 AM)
I have some problem with my astro byond hd , some channels written service not available while i had signed those channel.And this is multi room decoder which located different house, what is the problem actually? If i call operator would they detect ?
This could be some dish alignment problem at the new end hmm.gif Get the boys to readjust the dish

smileguy
post Jul 26 2013, 06:22 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(QQHTJ @ Jul 26 2013, 11:51 AM)
However im using centalized dish
Your centralised dish HD ready installed by astro?
smileguy
post Jul 28 2013, 04:35 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jul 28 2013, 03:53 PM)
Its more money for astro but worthless to TM customers cos its only selected matches,and it is an insult to the so called content sharing!TM might as well forget the idea smile.gif
smileguy
post Jul 28 2013, 06:33 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Jul 28 2013, 06:25 PM)
Ok, hi guys, before I do anything stupid and start burning Astro's CS with their 'fixed scripts', I'd like to know if anyone has/have/had encountered this issue.

My issue : Copy Protection Failed, henceforth known as CPF
Connection Pathway : Astro B.Yond > AVR* > TV**, all via HDMI

So technically, if I watch anything HD related content, I'll get the CPF screen after 10 seconds, but I still have audio in the background.
If I direct conntect the Astro STB to the TV, everything works fine. So, what sort of fault do I have with my system?
The reason why I route it to my AVR* is that I can fully utilize the 5.1 surround sound from the HBOHD or Fox Premium channels, or lets say if there's football or F1 live, I could view it from my Home Projector (From AVR to the Home Projector). Now I'm going to have this issue stuck in my head with this damn CPF thingy.... Any ideas how to solve it?
----------------------
*Onkyo TR-809 AVR
** LG 65" LED 3D TV, 65LW6500 (I think)
1. Press Home for Menu. Select Settings and press OK
2. Select System Versions and press OK
3. If your Astro B.yond is not updated with the latest Software Version, please proceed to reboot the box followed by turning off your TV. It will go to auto update in 1 minute.
4. Ensure that TV is using only 1 HDMI cable (No AV or component cable are connecting together) and tune to correct HDMI channel.
*Example: HDMI1*
5. Please re-secure the HDMI connection between Astro B.yond box & TV HDMI port by plugging out & plugging in connection at both ends.
6. If problem still persist please swap using another HDMI port on TV, tune the TV channel.
*Example: HDMI2*
7. If you have own HDMI cable, please try to swap Astro HDMI cable with own HDMI cable. If “Copy Protection Failed” message disappear, try again with Astro HDMI cable.
8. If customer is using HD Ready TV, please change the HD setting to 720P (Home > Settings > Installation Settings > HD Settings)
9. Please switch off the TV and Decoder together and Turn it on again in few seconds for hand shaking to take place.

From ass FB hope it helps tongue.gif Maybe a handshake issue.

This post has been edited by smileguy: Jul 28 2013, 06:36 PM
smileguy
post Aug 2 2013, 10:49 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(prawnny @ Aug 2 2013, 10:44 AM)
To share my experience with you.

Last year July I did add RM20 to change from older decoder to beyond for my parents. The RM20 included some additional chinese channels and Astro on demand.

For me there seemed to be conspiracy for making us change... after astro started promoting beyond HD, we started to get more and more lousy signal with theolder decoder. Some nights with clear sky clear moon no rain, we cannot receive any signals at all, or the signals kept breaking off. My parents were frustrated. I called Astro help line and of course they always started off with some retarded instruction like, plz power off and on the decoder, take out the smart card and reinsert bla bla blah but it won't work. If want to send astro technician over need to add rm50 and some additional charge if need to change decoder or watever. Then they started to promote the conversion to HD with no additional installation charge. At first I rejected that idea. But as it continued for a few days with no consistent signals, I decided to just change it, partly thinking alright, maybe my parents can watch in HD, better also.... so I changed...

Turns out most chinese channels that my mom tuned in to, were NOT in HD shakehead.gif On the other hand, when my dad watch sport channel, he still always switch to non-HD one even though I told him many times that there are HD sports channels~  laugh.gif ok this part is human issue, haha.

Since then I think Astro is slowly transforming more channels to HD, but I still need to remind my parents now to stop tuning to the non-HD one.

Last month I grabbed the Astro FOC offer to change the beyond to PVR. Enjoying it right now.  finally I am at peace with the decision icon_rolleyes.gif
Lost signals in old decorders is astro's dirty tactic to make us change the decorder.MIne the signal went off at selected timings,its very obvious its a dirty game,it happens on Saturdays and sundays the most! Anyway what choice do we hv in this country!! Finally got rid of he old box sad.gif
smileguy
post Aug 6 2013, 05:54 PM

3,147 posts

The best part here is astro plays save if u dont get astro it is not astro fault (just like in all other issues ) its the HSBB problem of Unifi and Maxis!! We hv read many complains from customers when traffic is heavy ,reception unsatisfactory and astro had said its not their problem end but the network!

This post has been edited by smileguy: Aug 6 2013, 05:56 PM
smileguy
post Aug 9 2013, 06:25 AM

3,147 posts

No wonder our HBO has no HD on the logo
smileguy
post Aug 13 2013, 04:14 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(munchoong @ Aug 13 2013, 03:29 PM)
I think the hard disk in my Byond PVR just died yesterday.

There was a grinding sound in my Astro, and my recordings under My TV are missing and attempts to book new recordings returned the error message 'Booking Failed'.

Watching live content is fine though, just lost PVR capabilities.

I hard reset and even attempted to format the hard disk, but no improvements at all.

Will I get a free replacement hardware, or do I need to fork out $$? The PVR is only 14 months old sad.gif
Mine was replaced with a new PVR at RM100 instalation fees and new 2 yr contract!! biggrin.gif
smileguy
post Aug 31 2013, 06:11 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(BeeDeePee @ Aug 31 2013, 03:47 AM)
512kbps confirm lags. Even mine with 8mbps lags occasionally. to bad not fibre broadband in my state yet biggrin.gif
Thats right dont go for VOD is interent in your area sucks, mine only availiable TMNuts 1mbps sulking all the way! biggrin.gif Unifi MAYBE 2015,Endless Possibilities!
smileguy
post Sep 5 2013, 02:10 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Violet Ling @ Sep 5 2013, 01:46 PM)
do you think Astro will give another new dish FOC if I request for it?
Mine all new set biggrin.gif
smileguy
post Sep 9 2013, 06:02 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(CrOmer @ Sep 8 2013, 11:59 PM)
Hi everybody

Currently I'm facing some problem with my b.yond

My astro b.yond only display certain channels even the weather is good .Actually this problem occur for second time in 3 weeks. For the first time the technician already fix it by adjusting my dish but now it happened again.
I'm already make a report about it but until now, after 6 days there are no call from any technician.

I'm still confuse either the problem come from the dish because when i check the signal strength, the signal strength is very high and if it really from the dish, how can it be repeatable?

anyone can share any idea or have some experience on this?
This is a typical bad job scenario,your dish is not aligned properly,after fixing make sure u check u get all channels u hv subscribed before the tecnician leaves.
smileguy
post Sep 14 2013, 05:59 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Sep 13 2013, 08:26 PM)
Seems quiet here.....posting some random pixs fr THRILL, SD sister channel of KIX HD. Friday the 13th marathon on Friday The 13th itself. :-)
Thanks for the pics,Kix HD(astro JV) seems to be a flop here not many following! hmm.gif
smileguy
post Sep 16 2013, 11:30 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 16 2013, 12:53 AM)
The system upgrade even affects payment by CC at their Astro Interactive Centers mad.gif
From what I heard there is NO system upgrade its just a clean up process against inside malpractices,every customer package database is rechecked and updated! tongue.gif
smileguy
post Sep 16 2013, 09:24 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(penanghomes @ Sep 16 2013, 09:07 PM)
that cud be done...if only ...only...
If only hmm.gif finish it pal !!!!!!!!!!!! tongue.gif
smileguy
post Sep 17 2013, 08:48 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(penanghomes @ Sep 16 2013, 10:55 PM)
if only i was Ananda K...... rclxm9.gif
brows.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif
smileguy
post Sep 29 2013, 06:44 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(krel89 @ Sep 29 2013, 12:35 AM)
turns out astro is not trolling
they said it was only for new subscriber.. damned.. i pay a lot more but new subscriber pay less and get the same things..
that's not fair at all...  mad.gif
This is not the first time we see these type of issues,remember the first astro dish it was RM1600,I bought it in1996,now its FOC mad.gif
smileguy
post Sep 29 2013, 06:46 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Sep 29 2013, 12:51 AM)
The discount service still available.

Btw Krel89,
Ananda Krishan owns Assteruk and Maxshit.
See what shit will come out.
I think AK is no more he has sold evrything and taken off,now both are "close" to BN owned.
smileguy
post Oct 1 2013, 08:58 AM

3,147 posts

Guys,why is it my Yamahaha displays audio as PCM and not Dolby or is it astro audio is PCM,thanks!
smileguy
post Oct 1 2013, 02:12 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(BaronVonchesto @ Oct 1 2013, 12:35 PM)
To get Dolby Digital audio:
1) You must set the Digital Audio Settings to Dolby Digital not Stereo (Analogue & Digital)
2) You must connect either the coax Digital or HDMI to your Amp
3) Go to a HD channel with olby audio like HBO HD or FMP HD
Ok thanks pal, just one question hw abt sound is it PCM is best? hmm.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1602sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:10 AM