QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 12 2015, 03:00 PM)
Below 240gb? Try to see what options i got thanksThe SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive
The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive
Feb 12 2015, 03:20 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
479 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Feb 12 2015, 03:23 PM
5,043 posts Joined: Aug 2013 From: Putrajaya |
QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ Feb 12 2015, 03:20 PM) The one TristanX mentioned has the best price/performance.. If i were you,i'd pull the trigger and get the Liteon 900S 256GB. This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Feb 12 2015, 03:24 PM |
Feb 12 2015, 03:23 PM
24,334 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
Feb 12 2015, 03:25 PM
1,339 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 12 2015, 03:00 PM) Nice, Liteon. I remember the last device I purchased this brand is DVD-Writer haha. Ok back to the topic, may I know why Plextor recently is getting famous nowadays? I've been hearing this brand ever since sata3 tech released. Does this brand proves its QOS and hardware satisfaction? For Liteon, what this the controller it used? For example, my existing Corsair SSD 64gb is sandforce controller which during that time this controller is very famous. And from other forumer mentioned about transcend and crucial, I know about the crucial during my purchase on the corsair SSD. Maybe you can guide me the difference between those 3. |
Feb 12 2015, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 12 2015, 03:25 PM) Nice, Liteon. I remember the last device I purchased this brand is DVD-Writer haha. Ok back to the topic, may I know why Plextor recently is getting famous nowadays? I've been hearing this brand ever since sata3 tech released. Does this brand proves its QOS and hardware satisfaction? For Liteon, what this the controller it used? For example, my existing Corsair SSD 64gb is sandforce controller which during that time this controller is very famous. Plextor is known for reliable products. Read thisAnd from other forumer mentioned about transcend and crucial, I know about the crucial during my purchase on the corsair SSD. Maybe you can guide me the difference between those 3. http://www.overclock.net/t/1453688/liteon-...e-badge-Plextor |
Feb 12 2015, 04:06 PM
3,038 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 12 2015, 12:31 PM) Where's the Crucial MX100? the endurance rating by manufacturer for crucial mx100 is 72tb. about the bolded part, they are all estimates by manufacturers, not reviewers. (maybe it's hard and not practical to establish one. it takes time to do all these endurance testings. also, by the time the results are out, new models already come out, new die, new tech and all, and the ones in the tests are long phased out) however imo this information is useful because it's the guarantee by manufacturers themselves, which is tied to warranty.Also, do you know what's the flash memory used in the Transcend drive? There's not much information right now, and the quality of flash memory is crucial (no pun intended) for the longevity of SSDs. IMO, my choice would be the Crucial MX100. BTW, LiteOn and Plextor have a loose relationship - I think Plextor drives are made by LiteOn... About the bolded part - is this already proven by reviewers, or is this an estimate by the manufacturer? i think it's better to dig deeper for details of nand flash memory if you wanna know more. such information should be available somewhere. however, longevity is linked directly to usage. all we know is that for general use, it will last for quite some years (for 128gb with proper OP and optimizations, 7 years plus?). QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 12 2015, 01:52 PM) that's not considered a damage if you really need that much of performance. the damage from m.2 options is worse lol |
Feb 12 2015, 04:11 PM
14,673 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(horns @ Feb 12 2015, 04:06 PM) the endurance rating by manufacturer for crucial mx100 is 72tb. about the bolded part, they are all estimates by manufacturers, not reviewers. (maybe it's hard and not practical to establish one. it takes time to do all these endurance testings. also, by the time the results are out, new models already come out, new die, new tech and all, and the ones in the tests are long phased out) however imo this information is useful because it's the guarantee by manufacturers themselves, which is tied to warranty. OK, thanks for your informative post. You are pretty experienced in SSDs, eh? i think it's better to dig deeper for details of nand flash memory if you wanna know more. such information should be available somewhere. however, longevity is linked directly to usage. all we know is that for general use, it will last for quite some years (for 128gb with proper OP and optimizations, 7 years plus?). that's not considered a damage if you really need that much of performance. the damage from m.2 options is worse lol |
Feb 12 2015, 04:15 PM
4,619 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
What is the price drop for ssd in the past 1 year(local pricing, because our distributor will jack up prices somewhat). i.e for now, 256gb ssd hovers around 400-500+(the liteon model being an exception), but what is its price a year ago?
was thinking of getting two(one for desktop and one for laptop), but 800+ is too much for me atm |
Feb 12 2015, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Feb 12 2015, 04:06 PM) that's not considered a damage if you really need that much of performance. the damage from m.2 options is worse lol Later, not now. Yeah, still cheaper than M.2 because of more storage.QUOTE(wcypierre @ Feb 12 2015, 04:15 PM) What is the price drop for ssd in the past 1 year(local pricing, because our distributor will jack up prices somewhat). i.e for now, 256gb ssd hovers around 400-500+(the liteon model being an exception), but what is its price a year ago? Plextor M5 Pro 256GB and Samsung 840 Pro 250GB was at around RM750. Replaced by M6 Pro 256GB at RM585 and Samsung 850 Pro 250GB at RM779. Intel 530 240GB was at around RM650 last year, now RM449.was thinking of getting two(one for desktop and one for laptop), but 800+ is too much for me atm This post has been edited by TristanX: Feb 12 2015, 05:20 PM |
Feb 12 2015, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 12 2015, 03:25 PM) Nice, Liteon. I remember the last device I purchased this brand is DVD-Writer haha. Ok back to the topic, may I know why Plextor recently is getting famous nowadays? I've been hearing this brand ever since sata3 tech released. Does this brand proves its QOS and hardware satisfaction? For Liteon, what this the controller it used? For example, my existing Corsair SSD 64gb is sandforce controller which during that time this controller is very famous. in terms of ssd, plextor and liteon share the same technology. of course the final products are usually different because of retail (plextor mainly) and oem (liteon) demands. And from other forumer mentioned about transcend and crucial, I know about the crucial during my purchase on the corsair SSD. Maybe you can guide me the difference between those 3. they are not well known for several reasons. one is the lack of general awareness that they are ssd vendors (like you, many still think that they are only ODD vendors). another one is related to the retail market, in which consumers get their stuff. most of the time, consumers only know performance numbers. with all marketing materials focusing on speed only, everything good about these two brands are overshadowed by others that show better numbers. they are not among the fastest. well, no one cares about the decision of plextor and liteon to use only good-quality nand flash and controller to achieve long-term reliability of their drives. about quality, imo they are pretty reliable under proper use. liteon ssds are often found in high-end workstation pc and laptops. (i guess these oem pc makers do take reliability of components inside their products seriously, mainly to avoid excessive warranty claims) QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 12 2015, 04:11 PM) no lah bro hehe.. ssd is still new. a lot of things can be learned from its development processes (which is interesting to me).QUOTE(wcypierre @ Feb 12 2015, 04:15 PM) What is the price drop for ssd in the past 1 year(local pricing, because our distributor will jack up prices somewhat). i.e for now, 256gb ssd hovers around 400-500+(the liteon model being an exception), but what is its price a year ago? dropped about half i think (mainstream drives). Edit: sorry facts from TristanX are better. It's not by half after all lol!was thinking of getting two(one for desktop and one for laptop), but 800+ is too much for me atm This post has been edited by horns: Feb 12 2015, 05:58 PM |
Feb 12 2015, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 12 2015, 05:17 PM) Later, not now. Yeah, still cheaper than M.2 because of more storage. hmm okay. I guess it will be something to look into next year then Plextor M5 Pro 256GB and Samsung 840 Pro 250GB was at around RM750. Replaced by M6 Pro 256GB at RM585 and Samsung 850 Pro 250GB at RM779. Intel 530 240GB was at around RM650 last year, now RM449. |
Feb 12 2015, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Feb 12 2015, 05:37 PM) dropped about half i think (mainstream drives). Edit: sorry facts from TristanX are better. It's not by half after all lol! typically it won't drop by half because our distributor will jack up the prices(that's why I wanted local pricing to get a more realistic data). Because if you look at amazon/ebay, the prices are crazy normally with coupons and even more crazy during big days like Black Friday btw, what do you guys look into when you look from the performance perspective? |
Feb 12 2015, 07:29 PM
SSD technology is hitting the wall. Further price drops are getting more difficult due to harder die shrink.
Feb 12 2015, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 12 2015, 07:29 PM) SSD technology is hitting the wall. Further price drops are getting more difficult due to harder die shrink. I think they will start to move to msata and pcie ssd so the sata ssd will become more mainstream as it goes cheaper.btw, what do you guys look into an ssd when you look from the performance perspective? |
Feb 12 2015, 08:56 PM
Feb 12 2015, 09:46 PM
517 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
do you think before gst is a good time to buy ssd and ram? thinking to get one to complete my rig.
Or the price will be dropping more and gst didnt affect too much? |
Feb 12 2015, 09:59 PM
Feb 12 2015, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 12 2015, 07:29 PM) SSD technology is hitting the wall. Further price drops are getting more difficult due to harder die shrink. well technically nothing is hitting the wall, yet. it's said that nand flash takes about 85% of the total costs of ssd production. the current practice is to cut costs via die shrinking. this part will hit the wall sooner because the smaller it goes the error rates will get higher. however, in terms of capacity, there is still v-nand (which can be applied to mlc and tlc). that, we need volume to bring the manufacturing costs down.another way to bring down the costs is via tlc nand flash. i know there are many questionable parts about tlc that need answers, especially about its endurance and reliability. however i think time will tell. as for endurance, previously i read about a way to boost endurance and speed in nand flash. if this technology can apply to tlc nand flash, i think tlc might be the next best thing to replace mlc in consumer space, at much cheaper costs. QUOTE(wcypierre @ Feb 12 2015, 07:13 PM) typically it won't drop by half because our distributor will jack up the prices(that's why I wanted local pricing to get a more realistic data). Because if you look at amazon/ebay, the prices are crazy normally with coupons and even more crazy during big days like Black Friday i will check my wallet first (if i wanna go for performance i will do this part first); then i set my expectations about its performance (usually based on what i wanna do with it). i will get as much tech details as possible from review sites and vendors, especially about type of nand flash (for now, preferably mlc), controller, then type and capacity of ram, connection type (sata or pcie; ahci or nvme), speed (seq. r/w, iops), and tbw/dwpd. the more practical part is the speeds after the drive is in steady state, not from fresh drives, but this is usually unavailable until you use the drive with your usage. btw, what do you guys look into when you look from the performance perspective? as of now, i will pick at least 240-256gb range because at this range and above, the performance is usually optimal for that particular model. (larger drives are not always the fastest. some are relatively slower at higher capacity drives) other than that, it's the same as TristanX, from reputable brands, and fast enough for me. however the simplest way is still grab a number of affordable and decent ones and make a raid0 |
Feb 12 2015, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Feb 12 2015, 09:46 PM) do you think before gst is a good time to buy ssd and ram? thinking to get one to complete my rig. if you wanna save 6% of additional tax and our weak currency, do it asap.Or the price will be dropping more and gst didnt affect too much? for the second part of the question, no idea. |
Feb 13 2015, 12:38 AM
351 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: alor setar, kedah |
| Change to: | 0.0374sec