QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 9 2014, 11:25 PM)
crap always thought they were using that. Misread the review. Mistook it for the seagate.
the sandisk extreme ii was the next target after my neutrons although a bit keen to get back to intel 720.
my x25ms lol been performing so consistent for years already.
yeah the lamd controller is probably the best controller we can have in consumer ssd's to provide much better consistency (because it's developed by a company that mainly focus on enterprise market). however consistency alone is not the only factor that dictates everything imo.
also seagate's implementation is somewhat different from the one in neutron gtx. (seagate push for more performance than consistency, while corsair focus on the strength of lamd controller, consistency)
QUOTE(Saphira4597 @ May 9 2014, 11:28 PM)
Samsung 840 Evo
120GB: RM290
250GB: RM510
Sandisk Extreme II
120GB: RM 460

ya true lah.. think I go research more first lol, I'm more concerned about stability/can tahan how long because I intend to buy and use for very long so might as well pay some more $$ for something that has higher durabilityÂ

edit:
also if you don't mind, can you briefly explain the difference between marvell controller and lamd to me? Thanks

sorry but i am really not an expert in these controllers. to me i can only see the differences in features and outcomes, which vary because of different implementations by manufacturers, that might change in time due to firmware updates. to me the obvious differences between the two are adoption rate and focus:
1. marvell controller is a proven stable one due to much higher adoptions by manufacturers, while lamd is a bit dated with less adoption. (which doesn't mean it's not good)
2. due to its enterprise origin, lamd is more focused on data read/write consistency. this also means less features. (which might be meaningless to you depending on how you use the drive)
as for the speed, any decent ssd have great speed if you connect it to the right sata port. since your concerns are more about stability and endurance of a drive, you can narrow down to those with mlc chip, larger capacity, and longer warranty. the tbw (terabytes written) allowed for consumer ssd is kind of a standard these days, i.e. 72tb within the 3-year warranty period.
edit: here's one of the references that can give you an idea on endurance,
http://techreport.com/review/26058/the-ssd...ion-after-600tbThis post has been edited by horns: May 10 2014, 09:55 AM