Yes, from what I read the ECU has self learning capablities. It will adapt to your driving styles.
PROTON SAVVY LYN club, D4F, JB1 repair manual inside
Nov 18 2006, 02:07 AM
1,636 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Yes, from what I read the ECU has self learning capablities. It will adapt to your driving styles.
Nov 18 2006, 02:11 AM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
So what happens if you always step on the gas when you have just got your car, the fuel consumption will be higher whenever you drive the car in the future because the ECU thinks that you have a need for speed?
QUOTE(hypermount @ Nov 18 2006, 02:07 AM) |
Nov 18 2006, 02:53 AM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 18 2006, 02:11 AM) So what happens if you always step on the gas when you have just got your car, the fuel consumption will be higher whenever you drive the car in the future because the ECU thinks that you have a need for speed? Yes the ECU will adapt to your driving style affecting the fuel/air mixture and gear shifting, gives you good FC when you drives slow and keeping your engine in its powerband when you feel like going fast esp in automatic mode in AMT... if you drive slow, the air/fuelmixture will be leaner, less fuel burn...dun worry the self learning pattern can be easily derided if you change ur driving habit instantly.Some people didn't understand well about Savvy's drive by wire and say the pickup is sluggish but in fact the power to weight ratio is good like what you said. It doesn't have that linear pickup feeling in conventional throttle by mechanical cable. let say if you are a fast driver, pedal to metal most of the time, the ECU and TCU will change gear in high RPM and adapt to your driving style and later even if you half press or fully press, the gear change is still in the same rpm band. The only diff between MT and AMT is in AMT the ECU and TCU providing the gear shifting which is not controlled by us.. This post has been edited by hypermount: Nov 18 2006, 02:54 AM |
Nov 18 2006, 07:06 PM
726 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Cyberjaya |
how much to tint whole car? say, black color? any jpj approved version?
How much is v-kool? any other brand offers same quality but cheaper price? how much leh? help. thanks. |
Nov 18 2006, 09:55 PM
I like Savvy's AMT version, something rare for a budget car and power to weight ratio, Savvy beats MYVI anytime but I wasn't a little comfortable with the interior, too much European feel I guess and the steering wheel could be better, looked worst than a toy car. I guess if Proton has an eye for details, they could make Savvy a winner, they just missed out some fine details of this car. I guess it's not too late, it could be done since cars get a facelift after a few years. Among the current Proton models, Saga, Gen 2 1.3, Satria Neo 1.3, etc ...... I guess Savvy has the best pickup among the lot and it's a zippy car for city driving.
So, to reset the ECU, can it be done by removing the battery terminal or it needs to be reset by the service centre? |
Nov 19 2006, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(Ripp87 @ Nov 18 2006, 07:06 PM) how much to tint whole car? say, black color? any jpj approved version? There must be 70% light penetration on the front windscreen and 50% for the rest...but last I heard tint film is actually not approved by the authorities..as long as it's not too dark and they can see ur face, it's ok la.How much is v-kool? any other brand offers same quality but cheaper price? how much leh? help. thanks. I had this tint film done on my savvy, RM250 on the front and RM280 on the 5 windows...the visible light penetration percentage is 70 on the front and 50 the rest. http://www.rightcool.com/ I use their cheapest real cool range..so far no prob..no bubbles when installing..already 1 year |
Nov 19 2006, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 18 2006, 09:55 PM) I like Savvy's AMT version, something rare for a budget car and power to weight ratio, Savvy beats MYVI anytime but I wasn't a little comfortable with the interior, too much European feel I guess and the steering wheel could be better, looked worst than a toy car. I guess if Proton has an eye for details, they could make Savvy a winner, they just missed out some fine details of this car. I guess it's not too late, it could be done since cars get a facelift after a few years. Among the current Proton models, Saga, Gen 2 1.3, Satria Neo 1.3, etc ...... I guess Savvy has the best pickup among the lot and it's a zippy car for city driving. Yes it can be reset by that way no need to go to SC.So, to reset the ECU, can it be done by removing the battery terminal or it needs to be reset by the service centre? |
Nov 19 2006, 10:28 PM
Do you have any problems searching for a good set of performance tyres for your ride? I mean the Savvy has a pretty weird size for its tyres and most brands don't have performance tyres for this size. I'm not sure, that was what my cousin told. By the way, he bought a Savvy 2 months ago but most tyre shops don't have any performance tyres for this size. Any advice if my cousin is still using the stock rims.
Nov 20 2006, 02:11 AM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 19 2006, 10:28 PM) Do you have any problems searching for a good set of performance tyres for your ride? I mean the Savvy has a pretty weird size for its tyres and most brands don't have performance tyres for this size. I'm not sure, that was what my cousin told. By the way, he bought a Savvy 2 months ago but most tyre shops don't have any performance tyres for this size. Any advice if my cousin is still using the stock rims. For performance, the best tyres would be 195/45/15 if you stick to the 3% rules and use 15'' rims.. there's quite number of tyres of this size like the Falken.The stock rims with 5.5'' width still can accomodate tyres wider than 175 stock. The tyres will stretched a bit to fit the stock rims but it will improve the handling and ride will be bumpier cos lesser flex..still it is advisable to upgrade to a at least 6.0'' rims if wanna fit in wider tyres. Ugrading to 16'' rims will have clearance issues..still got people using 16'' after some mods.. I think 15'' is the best for performance, cos how much do you expect from a 1.1 NA car anyway...downgrade to 14'' if want comfort with higher profile tyres. FYI, the stock NCT5 tyres 175/50/15 is easily available...not bad actually but tend to screetch when taking hard corners. |
Nov 20 2006, 02:23 AM
oh my mistake what I meant was people ugrading to wider rims and still using stock tyres.. tyres strectched and improved handling.. still the stock rims would be able to fit a 185 or 195 tyres.. 185/45/15 tyres hard to find, 185/50/15 got but will have clearance issues.. stick to 195/45/15 there's lot of choice for this size, just ask your cousin to find
Nov 20 2006, 04:53 PM
Thanks for the tips Bro. Appericate it. My cousin
QUOTE(hypermount @ Nov 20 2006, 02:23 AM) oh my mistake what I meant was people ugrading to wider rims and still using stock tyres.. tyres strectched and improved handling.. still the stock rims would be able to fit a 185 or 195 tyres.. 185/45/15 tyres hard to find, 185/50/15 got but will have clearance issues.. stick to 195/45/15 there's lot of choice for this size, just ask your cousin to find |
Nov 20 2006, 09:09 PM
726 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Cyberjaya |
thanks for the infos hypermount. I'm getting my tint soon. hehe..
anyway, another question though, i personally dun like the plastic interior, i wonder if anyone ever turn the interior into something less plasticky ? say, leather? or fabric? something like toyota's interior's fine, savvy is just too much plastics.. how much would it cost though? |
Nov 21 2006, 02:35 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hypermount, the guy in Savoc not yet reply me but i hope you can - or at least give some info.
i plan to get some body kits, there's one i like where that Flying Savvy guy posted. i just don't know where to get them. |
Nov 22 2006, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(Ripp87 @ Nov 20 2006, 09:09 PM) thanks for the infos hypermount. I'm getting my tint soon. hehe.. I was quoted Rm500 to wrap the 4 door panels with fabric in a melaka shop...I feel that's too expensive cos some people did that for only RM400 plus for doors, center console and pillars at a cushion shop in Klang Valley. Actually I plan to diy the panels if have time, it's quite easy actually if you know how to open door panels ( i ha stuffed some superlon and bitumen inside). That's the advantage of the single piece injected mould for panels. We can simply wrap them with fabric.anyway, another question though, i personally dun like the plastic interior, i wonder if anyone ever turn the interior into something less plasticky ? say, leather? or fabric? something like toyota's interior's fine, savvy is just too much plastics.. how much would it cost though? QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 21 2006, 02:35 AM) hypermount, the guy in Savoc not yet reply me but i hope you can - or at least give some info. Flying Savvy?? I met that guy during a gathering in melaka, working in KL. That time he was doing his grill, yea he driving around without the front grill hehe.. and just installed the gen.2 front lips.i plan to get some body kits, there's one i like where that Flying Savvy guy posted. i just don't know where to get them. ![]() front lips : 120 + installation -gen.2 lips side skirt : 280 + 40 installation - R3 replica painting : 200 He done one part at one time This post has been edited by hypermount: Nov 22 2006, 10:21 AM |
Nov 22 2006, 11:55 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
eh - at least tell me where he got them la.
and also, the blue savvy has white rims - does the white powder coat chip off easily? i'm thinking of changing to white Volks lookalike rims. i think it's JRD brand la. hehe. |
Nov 22 2006, 12:17 PM
3,806 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Isle of Man |
i like that article, n 4 the past couple of months, ive been hearing nuttin but good things bout savvy.. i think, i have 2 admit that 4 that kinda price, its an ok car.. sure, the styling's a bit odd, but so is the renault megane, but its the 2003 european car of the year.. i think those bashers r simply bashing it juz becoz of that lion green n blue logo stick in front of it.. if it were 2 have say a perodua logo instead, i bet things would be juz fine..
im not a savvy owner, n im not satisfied wit wat proton has come up wit these couple of yrs too.. but, i really think that we should test it n really listen 2 owners who have lived wit it b4 start bashing it like nobodys business.. dont juz hate it juz coz its a proton.. |
Nov 22 2006, 12:40 PM
3,429 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: alor star • selangor • skudai |
cheers !
spot on brother . really , we should bash proton but not the cars . |
Nov 22 2006, 12:43 PM
4,883 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
Nov 22 2006, 01:45 PM
635 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh, Việt Nam |
Nov 22 2006, 02:54 PM