PROTON SAVVY LYN club, D4F, JB1 repair manual inside

CooShyRee
post Nov 22 2006, 12:17 PM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

i like that article, n 4 the past couple of months, ive been hearing nuttin but good things bout savvy.. i think, i have 2 admit that 4 that kinda price, its an ok car.. sure, the styling's a bit odd, but so is the renault megane, but its the 2003 european car of the year.. i think those bashers r simply bashing it juz becoz of that lion green n blue logo stick in front of it.. if it were 2 have say a perodua logo instead, i bet things would be juz fine..

im not a savvy owner, n im not satisfied wit wat proton has come up wit these couple of yrs too.. but, i really think that we should test it n really listen 2 owners who have lived wit it b4 start bashing it like nobodys business.. dont juz hate it juz coz its a proton..

CooShyRee
post Dec 6 2006, 12:43 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 6 2006, 12:29 PM)
but looks are subjective, there are still people going around in Renault Kangoo. ugly? yeah....... but to some it might not be. smile.gif
i totally agree.. i was like that too when the savvy was 1st launched.. i thought it was fugly n i said 2 myself that i can never buy this car cos i juz couldnt live wit that kinda styling.. but then again, after seeing quite a number on the road these days, plus wit the kit, i think its looks good..

wat im trying 2 say here, looks r subjective.. 4 example, i myself fancy the citroen berlingo n thinks that its quite cute.. n also 4 some reason, i dont find uma thurman attractive at all..
CooShyRee
post Dec 7 2006, 11:14 AM

3,806 posts

i actually agree wit n305er..

the thing is, at the end of the day, it comes down 2 wat u exactly want from a car.. not everybody wants small car wit excellent handling n good fc.. i think the main reason y the myvi is such sales phenomenon here in our country is coz it delivers wat malaysians exactly want from a car.. its a small practical city runaround which has excellent space inside 2 carry 5 adults around.. i myself would rather have spacious interior than good cornering capability.. dont get me wrong here, im not a basher.. those who know me here would surely know that im a fan of the savvy too.. but then again, a car is sumthin that cost a lot 2 buy n maintain.. so when we're buying one, we must choose properly wat we exactly want from it.. im not a fast driver, i dont take corners at high speeds n im a huge person, so the logical choice would definitely be the myvi..

im not saying the savvy is bad car.. theres no doubt in my mind its the best car that proton makes 2day, but the reason y i would go 4 the myvi is coz it fulfills better the requirements that i want from a car..

pls stop bashing.. both cars has its pros n cons.. its up 2 the buyers themselves 2 workout which they rather live wit.. its no point arguing on which one is better, coz theyre both flawed..
CooShyRee
post Dec 7 2006, 02:21 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Dec 7 2006, 01:23 PM)
really good point here. but somehow, i do feel that the savvy owners bashed in the act of frustration after having many many proton bashers condemning the savvy. not to say that they have the rights to bash others, just that they are angry, that's all. one way to deal with bashers is just to ignore them.
i agree.. juz ignore those bashers.. coz sumtimes they talk without facts, n worst still, talk without even testing the cars.. n im not goin against one side here, im talkin bout both savvy bashers n myvi bashers whistling.gif
CooShyRee
post Dec 7 2006, 09:21 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Ah Beng @ Dec 7 2006, 09:05 PM)
its better than my friend...he bought myvi becoz it  has LED andsignal at side mirror doh.gif  tongue.gif
thats actually typical of malaysians.. a lot of car buyers tend 2 get mesmerize by tiny little details.. ive come across one guy b4 who bought the chevy aveo juz coz he likes the 2 spike thingy on the front bumpers skirting..
CooShyRee
post Dec 7 2006, 10:13 PM

3,806 posts

plus goldfries, theyve been offering some really good deals on the savvy these days.. u can see that theres a steady increase of it on the road these days..
CooShyRee
post Dec 7 2006, 11:09 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 7 2006, 10:25 PM)
herd mentality. smile.gif hrmm......... when Myvi and Savvy were released, my favor goes to Myvi but heck till now i sat in Myvi so many times i've yet to drive it or sat on it when moving. biggrin.gif but i couldn't care really, i tested Savvy also because of AMT - nothing else.
ive sat in a myvi n driven it b4 quite a number of times, long distance too.. the thing that i like the most bout the myvi is the space.. the interior does feel cheap, but which malaysian car isnt?? i kinda like the interior, looks modern.. i especially like the instrumental panel that lights even during the day.. n i also like the fact that they offer abs n airbag on the premium model.. exterior wise, so-so only laa.. but hey, looks r subjective rite?? but its not all good news.. coz its kinda boring drive.. cornering is quite bad, i juz have no confidence on the car at all 2 really corner.. n the engine, even being a dvvt, isnt that very powerful, n this is the 1.3 im referring to.. fc?? cant really comment on that now, have 2 do further observation..

but, given the choice n the budget of bout 50k, theres no doubt that id go 4 the myvi.. sorry 2 say, but the myvi fulfills my requirement more than the savvy.. im not a fast driver, so i dont need a powerful engine.. im not a sporty driver as well, so i dont need the cornering ability.. wat i do need, is a frugal car, thats good around town, practical, n can carry me n 4 other passengers comfortably..

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 7 2006, 10:25 PM)
EDITED : btw i went upclose and personal with the new face-lifted Savvy today. nice!!!.
do tell us the details.. how does it look??
CooShyRee
post Dec 7 2006, 11:24 PM

3,806 posts

well, not much done 2 be honest.. it still looks pretty much the same.. if they redo the back 2 look nicer, im sure itll be a more attractive car thumbup.gif
CooShyRee
post Dec 7 2006, 11:49 PM

3,806 posts

btw goldfries, wats the deal u got on the amt savvy that u wanna buy??
CooShyRee
post Dec 7 2006, 11:56 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 7 2006, 11:50 PM)
RM3k discount and tinted glasses (i donno about the tint specs)

that's all.
not bad.. u gonna take it??
CooShyRee
post Dec 8 2006, 12:16 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(LPJ @ Dec 8 2006, 12:14 AM)
actually, the colour of the Gen 2 is new too... silver i think... but i believe it is for export only at this moment...
yeah.. the rims kinda different too..
CooShyRee
post Dec 8 2006, 03:38 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 8 2006, 03:30 PM)
yer........ nice meh this one? but then user preference la, this one i find too riced. smile.gif i prefer simple color and skirt.
yeah.. i think its too much too.. i prefer the grey color, wit the simple aerokit on thumbup.gif

maybe wit an aftermarket rim too drool.gif

This post has been edited by CooShyRee: Dec 8 2006, 03:39 PM
CooShyRee
post Dec 16 2006, 11:54 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(DreMAx @ Dec 16 2006, 11:51 PM)
Hmmm... I like the wing... looks a little like the Nissan March from IMPUL
i agree wit jVIPERs2.. i only like the twin pipe.. the rest looks too much 2 me..

my my.. that guy mustve spent a lot on his savvy..
CooShyRee
post Dec 17 2006, 12:58 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(DreMAx @ Dec 17 2006, 12:02 AM)
The mods done is a little too much for a small car like that. Guess the owner must have spent at least i say RM1k?
im guessin much more than 1k..

i think its ugly, but its definitely a head turner.. thats 4 sure thumbup.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 17 2006, 12:05 AM)
i only like the rims. other than that - yuck. not my taste. i find it pointless to spend so much time and effort just to mod the looks. however it's the owner's money and time - so i respect that. biggrin.gif

i find Savvy looks best with slight mods like the skirts and stuff. too much mods makes a beautified ugly car look ugly again.

the $$$ can be used to improve the more important aspects of the car, like ride comfort, driving efficiency, security & safety, ICE.........balblablabla. smile.gif
i agree.. wit juz the aerokit n some cool rims, i think the savvy looks great that way..

btw dude, wat happened 2 ur savvy?? booked one already??
CooShyRee
post Jan 4 2007, 05:27 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Jan 4 2007, 05:21 PM)
when will facelifted savvy out in market?
no news at all.
i thought its already out..?? its juz some minor changes on the exterior..
CooShyRee
post Jan 4 2007, 05:57 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 4 2007, 05:40 PM)
hehe. i posted quite a while back on my report of checking out the goods myself. smile.gif
wat happened anyway? did u booked one??

OT: i really like ur pocoyo avatar, so cute!! tongue.gif
CooShyRee
post Jan 4 2007, 08:01 PM

3,806 posts

did euroncap did a crash test on the savvy?? curious 2 wat itll score..
CooShyRee
post Jan 4 2007, 10:00 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Jan 4 2007, 08:42 PM)
proton has improved for savvy and neo, but to win back malaysian trust, it takes long time...not 1-2 months.....their next sedan will be crucial...
yeah.. plus the fact that they came up wit such a love or hate design is not helping at all..

0.0231sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:03 PM