131 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Jul 19 2013, 07:12 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(ethelion1 @ Jul 19 2013, 03:56 AM)
Can someone please help me? Any good recommendations? I want something that will last as I will be leaving overseas for studies long term.

1. Anything besides Asus
2. 3-3.5k
3. Gaming/studies (Dota2 in high spec)
4. Anything above 14 inch
Could you tell us where you are going? For certain countries, it is better (more choices, cheaper ... ) for you to buy there.
If you buy in Malaysia, you better look for those brands that give you international warranty. Praying that your laptop last long is not a very good bet laugh.gif
raymondtong94
post Jul 19 2013, 07:17 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Laenor @ Jul 19 2013, 07:09 AM)
Morning, hi..
Need some help here..  icon_question.gif

Preferred brand: Any
Budget: 1.6k~2k
Usage: Gaming(WoW -consistent fps would be nice ,LoL and few others), Univ work(word,ppt,pdf), watch movies
Preferences: 14", not so heavy

note: i am not much in a hurry, i read something about Haswell processor or something in earlier posts (honestly i dont understand), does it include in my budget range and is it worth the wait?
One more thing, ive been using Acer Aspire 4741G (i5, Nvidia 310M) for more than 2 years now which i bought at around 1.8k(dont really remember). Its not really in a bad condition but if i buy a new laptop now, would the upgrade be a lot (since the price range is still the same) or should i just save up same more?

Thanks in advance..  smile.gif
you should get a new laptop if you plan to upgrade, cuz upgrading it is not worth except for SSD investment. and according to haswell, it is just a new microarchitecture of intel processors. it just mainly have better graphic performance and power efficient. it just depends on you if you are urgent to get a laptop or not. however, your choices :

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1699[1.99kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, W8SL

ASUS
K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD

HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

prices are RRP and negotiable.
nexus2238 wah, so early to post in the morning? tongue.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Jul 19 2013, 07:17 AM
nexus2238
post Jul 19 2013, 07:31 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Laenor @ Jul 19 2013, 07:09 AM)
Morning, hi..
Need some help here..  icon_question.gif

Preferred brand: Any
Budget: 1.6k~2k
Usage: Gaming(WoW -consistent fps would be nice ,LoL and few others), Univ work(word,ppt,pdf), watch movies
Preferences: 14", not so heavy

note: i am not much in a hurry, i read something about Haswell processor or something in earlier posts (honestly i dont understand), does it include in my budget range and is it worth the wait?
One more thing, ive been using Acer Aspire 4741G (i5, Nvidia 310M) for more than 2 years now which i bought at around 1.8k(dont really remember). Its not really in a bad condition but if i buy a new laptop now, would the upgrade be a lot (since the price range is still the same) or should i just save up same more?

Thanks in advance..  smile.gif
You Acer 4741G is probably using the 1st gen i5 CPU (i5-430M ?), and the Nvidia 310M GPU as you mentioned.
Is it giving you the performance that you want for the games you play? If yes, then better don't change laptop lah. Just increase the RAM (8G stick ~ RM200) or change HDD to SSD (256G ~ RM600).

If you are not happy with the performance of the Acer 4741G, then things have move along quite a bit smile.gif
Haswell is the code name for the 4th gen Intel I-core CPU. Solely on CPU performance, it is more frugal on power usage compared to the 1st gen (so battery running time on same battery capacity will be better), and performance also is >20% better clock for clock vs 1 gen. That will not has much impact on the games you play or MS Office though.
Haswell also has much better IGPU now. It now come with Intel 42/44/46/50/51/5200 IGPU, performance of some of these is already on par (or exceed) the Nvidia 310M smile.gif

For your budget, you could probably get a laptop that spec with Nvidia GT630M to GT740M, which outperform the Nvidia GT310M by a LOT. So you will definitely see lots of improvement in the games you play.

Haswell is a generation refresh cover the full spectrum of Intel I-core CPU, definitely will has choices within your budget range.

Since you are not in a hurry, strongly suggest you wait a bit. Come back again say in 4Q13, most models should be refreshed with Haswell CPU already. Or you could attempt to snatch a bargain when brands clear stock for Ivy Bridge spec laptop during 3Q13 smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 19 2013, 07:39 AM
nexus2238
post Jul 19 2013, 07:32 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 19 2013, 07:17 AM)
nexus2238 wah, so early to post in the morning? tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
woke up by the babies, can't get back to sleep tongue.gif
Laenor
post Jul 19 2013, 07:45 AM

Lucky me, got replies from two pros rclxms.gif
Thanks a bunch for the long and fast response..
Understand a lot better now..
Just one more thing what is 4Q13? sweat.gif

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 19 2013, 07:31 AM)
Since you are not in a hurry, strongly suggest you wait a bit. Come back again say in 4Q13, most models should be refreshed with Haswell CPU already. Or you could attempt to snatch a bargain when brands clear stock for Ivy Bridge spec laptop during 3Q13 smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Jul 19 2013, 08:53 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Laenor @ Jul 19 2013, 07:45 AM)
Just one more thing what is 4Q13?  sweat.gif
4th quarter of year 2013. smile.gif
sgh141
post Jul 19 2013, 09:06 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 19 2013, 06:54 AM)
You need to tell us where you are right?  sweat.gif
KL... smile.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 19 2013, 09:56 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Laenor @ Jul 19 2013, 07:45 AM)
Lucky me, got replies from two pros  rclxms.gif
Actually, I'm not in IT sector, just an enthusiast tongue.gif
Raymond, on the other hand, currently work in a IT shop smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Jul 19 2013, 11:10 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 19 2013, 09:56 AM)
Actually, I'm not in IT sector, just an enthusiast.
Raymond, on the other hand, currently work in a IT shop smile.gif
hoho. im the same as you too, an IT enthusiast. laugh.gif

BUT, i dont think i wanna reveal myself too much. laugh.gif
ben3003
post Jul 19 2013, 01:27 PM

10,859 posts

any recommendations for a desktop replacement laptop? my pc is i5, gtx650ti, 8gb ram. I wan to have maybe decent performance with medium-high graphics.. budget maybe 3-4k.
foxxy
post Jul 19 2013, 02:01 PM

646 posts

Brand : Any, prefer a better aftersales service in case anything happens.
Budget : 1.4k max, cheaper the better, bang for buck ?
Usage : no gaming. Youtube and movie watching, surfing, reading, microsoft office.
Preference : 14 inch and above? Prefer something that is really worth the money spent.
I saw dell inspiron 15(3521) , any better alternatives? Thank you.

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 19 2013, 02:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(foxxy @ Jul 19 2013, 02:01 PM)
Brand : Any, prefer a better aftersales service in case anything happens.
Budget : 1.4k max, cheaper the better, bang for buck ?
Usage : no gaming. Youtube and movie watching, surfing, reading, microsoft office.
Preference : 14 inch and above? Prefer something that is really worth the money spent.
I saw dell inspiron 15(3521) , any better alternatives? Thank you.
Can consider these, then use the remaining budget (~RM250) to extend warranty to 3 years on-site happy.gif
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, 1007U + Intel HD@RM999[1.99kg], Linux, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1099
Inspiron 14-3421, B997 + Intel HD@RM1199[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
mingwei1992
post Jul 19 2013, 02:48 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 03:47 PM)
Satellite S40t-AS102X, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2449[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty

Errr ... all laptop (current gen) has fan. Ultrabook also has fan. (btw, even MacBook Air has fan). Can't survive with passive cooling yet  hmm.gif
thx! will definitely look into it

haha i always tought macbookair dont have fan.. because is so slim and dint really lift the whole thing up when checking out the display unit
nexus2238
post Jul 19 2013, 03:01 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Jul 19 2013, 02:48 PM)
thx! will definitely look into it

haha i always tought macbookair dont have fan.. because is so slim and dint really lift the whole thing up when checking out the display unit
you can see the inside of MBA 2013 in these tear down screen shot. The fan is tiny, but it's there smile.gif
http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook+Air...eardown/15042/1
nexus2238
post Jul 19 2013, 05:35 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 19 2013, 01:27 PM)
any recommendations for a desktop replacement laptop? my pc is i5, gtx650ti, 8gb ram. I wan to have maybe decent performance with medium-high graphics.. budget  maybe 3-4k.
you need to scale down your expectation, moving from desktop to laptop smile.gif Desktop replacement laptop are expensive.
To perform at the level of GTX650 Ti, you will probably need GTX770M or GTX780M hmm.gif
And for mobile CPU, only i7 is quad core.

For your budget, your choices are:

Asus
G55VW-S1216H, i7-3630QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GX60-3AE, AMD A10-5750M + AMD XT HD7970 + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4399 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080;matte)@RM3599[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Can refer here for some mobile GPU benchmark:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphi...List.844.0.html

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 19 2013, 05:37 PM
juniorlcq
post Jul 19 2013, 06:01 PM

61 posts

Preferred Brand : Any I guess .. ( Is ILLEGEAR or Alienware better ? )
Budget : Around RM 5k ( The cheaper the better of course )
Usage : Heavy Microsoft Office use , gaming ( HoN , Dota 2 , Maple Story , DmC reboot edition , etc ) , movie , and for Mechanical programming use ...
Preferred laptop/screen size : 15 to 17 inch ( Is 15 inch good enough for gaming and moving ? )
Additional requirements : Keyboard must be nice to type ( I have no idea why I'm so choosy on this lol ) , overall not-so-heavy ( Reasonable weight to carry around ) , most important is speed speed speed ! I hate lags !! I guess storage isn't a huge problem as we can use external hard disk to save movie ...

This post has been edited by juniorlcq: Jul 19 2013, 06:16 PM
martian7793
post Jul 19 2013, 06:37 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 07:21 AM)
edited: (sorry, sorry, devour sifu point out my mistake)

I make a mistake in my split tongue.gif
Z400 touch and Satellite S40t-AS102X both have ODD.
Both are not that "light" though smile.gif (~ 2.2kg)
ok..how bout change from light to not too heavy tongue.gif
there is other option for me?laptop less than 2.2Kg and fulfill all my demand?

Price = around 2k-2.5k
Brand = Asus ,Lenovo, Dell, Acer, HP, Toshiba
Purpose = Uni purpose. (doing assignment). Slight gaming (Left 4 dead 2),dota 2,watching movie
Others (Must) = dvd rom,Screen 14",not too heavy, thin,touchscreen
Optional:SSD

This post has been edited by martian7793: Jul 19 2013, 06:40 PM
ben3003
post Jul 19 2013, 06:44 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 19 2013, 05:35 PM)
you need to scale down your expectation, moving from desktop to laptop smile.gif Desktop replacement laptop are expensive.
To perform at the level of GTX650 Ti, you will probably need GTX770M or GTX780M  hmm.gif
And for mobile CPU, only i7 is quad core.

For your budget, your choices are:

Asus
G55VW-S1216H, i7-3630QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GX60-3AE, AMD A10-5750M + AMD XT HD7970 + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4399 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080;matte)@RM3599[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Can refer here for some mobile GPU benchmark:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphi...List.844.0.html
looks like illegear got 1 of the best spec out of all.. biggrin.gif the lenovo y500 not haswell.. damn.. if 2 gt750m will better than gtx765? haiz have to tone down expectation is very hard to do sad.gif the RE-15 onkyo sound nice?
lee0525
post Jul 19 2013, 09:38 PM

24 posts

hey guy, if i want to upgrade the ram, need to detach the original ram and then replace with the new ram?i mean is it the different brand rams are compatible?
devour
post Jul 19 2013, 10:01 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(juniorlcq @ Jul 19 2013, 06:01 PM)
Preferred Brand : Any I guess .. ( Is ILLEGEAR or Alienware better ? )
Budget : Around RM 5k ( The cheaper the better of course )
Usage : Heavy Microsoft Office use , gaming ( HoN , Dota 2 , Maple Story , DmC reboot edition , etc ) , movie , and for Mechanical programming use ...
Preferred laptop/screen size : 15 to 17 inch ( Is 15 inch good enough for gaming and moving ? )
Additional requirements : Keyboard must be nice to type ( I have no idea why I'm so choosy on this lol ) , overall not-so-heavy ( Reasonable weight to carry around ) , most important is speed speed speed ! I hate lags !! I guess storage isn't a huge problem as we can use external hard disk to save movie ...
fork out more money , get Asus G750 rclxms.gif , haswell i 7 , gtx 770m graphic card thumbup.gif

131 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:54 AM