131 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Jul 18 2013, 05:23 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(raenl @ Jul 18 2013, 05:00 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: any
2. Budget:RM 1000
3. Usage: for study, watch video
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: above 11"
5. light weight and have good keyboard

tks
Study what course? What softwares are you expected to use?
Above 11", but want light weight + good keyboard with RM1k, tough smile.gif

13"
Lenovo
S300, Pentium 997 + Intel HD @RM1199[1.8kg], 2GB,500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS; W7HB/W8@RM1399, no ODD, 1 yr warranty
S300, 1007U + Intel HD @RM999[1.8kg], 2GB,500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS; W8@RM1199

FreeDOS mean you need to get OS yourself.

If you can forget about light weight, then also can consider:

14"
Asus
X44H-VX231, B820 + Intel HD@RM1099[2.44kg], 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; 1 year warranty

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, 1007U + Intel HD@RM999[1.99kg], Linux, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1099
Inspiron 14-3421, B997 + Intel HD@RM1199[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

Lenovo
G480, Celeron 1000M + Intel HD@RM999, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; W8@RM1199
G480, B830 + Intel HD@RM999, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS; W8@RM1199

Prices are RSP, negotiable slightly.
sgh141
post Jul 18 2013, 06:11 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 04:39 PM)
ODD - Optical Disc Drive (DVD)
i5 vs i7 - if you are talking about CPU that end with U, then i5 & i7 are both duo core, i7 still better, but not by much and price/performance may not worth it.
if you are talking about CPU that end with M vs QM, the i5 is only duo core and i7 is quad core. For application that can utilise quad core, it make a big difference.

Other brands:

Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099
Vostro 5460, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA SSD + 500GB(5400rpm))@RM2199[1.54kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3 cell

HP
Envy4-1204TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M + 32GB mSATA +500GB(5400rpm)@RM2399[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, W8
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Thanks... smile.gif For budget below 3k?...Not so heavy to carry,good video/picture editing,dota 2.... price for both i5 and i7....
yen2009
post Jul 18 2013, 06:50 PM

203 posts

Preferred Brand: Good+fast+effective in warranty service
Budget: Around 2k
Usage: Gaming, rendering

Features: 14inch+, no touch screen, less than 1TB (tune the budget to buy external HDD), avoid FreeDOS, 2G graphic card, avoid U processor, comes in 4gb RAM

This post has been edited by yen2009: Jul 18 2013, 06:53 PM
michael_och
post Jul 18 2013, 08:04 PM

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 03:22 PM)
The GT740M in the K46CB is better than GT630M or GT730M. So you will have better performance while you game on Dota2 & NFS.

Also look at build (screen, speaker, keyboard, touchpad, etc). This is quite subjective, go out and touch the real things to decide.

But for students who sometime cannot afford down time (assignment time), going with Asus require good luck on your part (Asus Malaysia warranty service is very iffy).
Dell, with next biz day on site support, is good in warranty support. 3 years should cover your time in uni.
alright. thanks alot thumbup.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 18 2013, 09:09 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(sgh141 @ Jul 18 2013, 06:11 PM)
Thanks...  smile.gif For budget below 3k?...Not so heavy to carry,good video/picture editing,dota 2.... price for both i5 and i7....
Did you even read the reply? doh.gif
be_happy
post Jul 18 2013, 09:17 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 01:48 PM)
What is "good resolution"?  hmm.gif With your budget, you will only get HD screen (1366x768).
15" with your budget should be enough for "online, movie, browsing".
Editing picture, well, depends on your file size and what kind of job you do.

Acer
V3-571G-53212G50, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB

Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1749[2.25kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1899
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1799[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1949
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W8

Lenovo
Ideapad G580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1699, 2GB, 500GB, freeDOS, 1 yr warranty
Ideapad Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white

Toshiba
Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white

The Toshiba is the most powerful among the above  hmm.gif
I had a bad comment for Toshiba from my friend but i duno which model.... hmm.gif
HD screen is enough? casual use for online
Well, i will just edit some pic and print it out... not a designer
nexus2238
post Jul 18 2013, 09:18 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(yen2009 @ Jul 18 2013, 06:50 PM)
Preferred Brand: Good+fast+effective in warranty service
Budget: Around 2k
Usage: Gaming, rendering

Features: 14inch+, no touch screen, less than 1TB (tune the budget to buy external HDD), avoid FreeDOS, 2G graphic card, avoid U processor, comes in 4gb RAM
Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W8
Inspiron 15R, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.65kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

HP
Pavilion 14-e018/019/020TX, i5-3230M + AMD HD8670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty

Toshiba
Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty

sgh141
post Jul 18 2013, 09:19 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 09:09 PM)
Did you even read the reply?  doh.gif
Becoz I saw you give to other ppl price range from rm28XX if they quote for 3k...sorry Im not good at this thing...
I thought you didn't notice I was quoting for 3k price range....sorry...
nexus2238
post Jul 18 2013, 09:34 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Jul 18 2013, 09:17 PM)
I had a bad comment for Toshiba from my friend but i duno which model.... hmm.gif
HD screen is enough? casual use for online
Well, i will just edit some pic and print it out... not a designer
Don't think too much about "brand". Each brand has lots of models, some are good, some are not good value for money, ... (hope you get the picture).
The Toshiba listed is good value since the price is good for its spec and come with 3 years warranty (longer than any other brands listed standard spec (other brand you have to pay more to extend to 3 years)).

For your budget, you can only get HD screen unfortunately. If you have seen 14" laptop before, most (if not all) are HD screen. For casual online, HD screen is sufficient.
For 15", if you want better screen, you need to pay close to RM3k.
For example,
Acer
V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8
This has 1 of the nicest screen around. FHD panel (can display 1080p video), great colour and contrast.

The other model can process higher resolution, you just have to connect to external display or TV that support those higher resolution (normally through HDMI port).

How should I put this? hmm.gif
Supposed you took a picture using your smartphone or camera. You transfer the file to your laptop. The picture pop up on the laptop screen. You edit, make adjustment, everything look nice. Then you print. Holy ***, the print does not look like what it show on the screen (colour and contrast all off) cry.gif
That is because most of the laptop screen are not calibrate properly to show the colour correctly right out of factory. (Even on expensive model like MacBook tongue.gif)
For casual use, some users don't really care. But if you are willing to spend a little bit of money (~RM60), you could get your laptop screen calibrated using professional tool.
For example:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=162&t=2666788
(I'm not related to the TS, and am not endorsing his service tongue.gif ).
nexus2238
post Jul 18 2013, 09:38 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(sgh141 @ Jul 18 2013, 09:19 PM)
Becoz I saw you give to other ppl price range from rm28XX if they quote for 3k...sorry Im not good at this thing...
I thought you didn't notice I was quoting for 3k price range....sorry...
Don't worry, those models are < RM3k. Sufficient for your usage biggrin.gif Don't overspend for specs that you don't need.
If you still have budget, consider use the remaining of your budget to change the HDD to SSD (solid state drive), keep the HDD as external storage. SSD 128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600. SSD make user feels the laptop performance become a LOT snappier (really worth the money).
sgh141
post Jul 18 2013, 10:01 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 09:38 PM)
Don't worry, those models are < RM3k. Sufficient for your usage  biggrin.gif Don't overspend for specs that you don't need.
If you still have budget, consider use the remaining of your budget to change the HDD to SSD (solid state drive), keep the HDD as external storage. SSD 128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600. SSD make user feels the laptop performance become a LOT snappier (really worth the money).
Thanks again..You can pm me and suggest where to buy tho.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sgh141: Jul 18 2013, 10:52 PM
be_happy
post Jul 18 2013, 10:34 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 09:34 PM)
Don't think too much about "brand". Each brand has lots of models, some are good, some are not good value for money, ... (hope you get the picture).
The Toshiba listed is good value since the price is good for its spec and come with 3 years warranty (longer than any other brands listed standard spec (other brand you have to pay more to extend to 3 years)).

For your budget, you can only get HD screen unfortunately. If you have seen 14" laptop before, most (if not all) are HD screen. For casual online, HD screen is sufficient.
For 15", if you want better screen, you need to pay close to RM3k.
For example,
Acer
V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8
This has 1 of the nicest screen around. FHD panel (can display 1080p video), great colour and contrast.

The other model can process higher resolution, you just have to connect to external display or TV that support those higher resolution (normally through HDMI port).

How should I put this?  hmm.gif
Supposed you took a picture using your smartphone or camera. You transfer the file to your laptop. The picture pop up on the laptop screen. You edit, make adjustment, everything look nice. Then you print. Holy ***, the print does not look like what it show on the screen (colour and contrast all off) cry.gif
That is because most of the laptop screen are not calibrate properly to show the colour correctly right out of factory. (Even on expensive model like MacBook tongue.gif)
For casual use, some users don't really care. But if you are willing to spend a little bit of money (~RM60), you could get your laptop screen calibrated using professional tool.
For example:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=162&t=2666788
(I'm not related to the TS, and am not endorsing his service  tongue.gif ).
wow... thx a lot for the info bro... which wan u recommend the most ?
and which wan lighter?
JohnDiew0107
post Jul 18 2013, 10:48 PM

ガンダム、行きます!
1,628 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 02:14 PM)
Anything with Intel HD3000 or above can handle 1080p video, but the lady need to connect to external display since at that budget she will not find FHD screen  hmm.gif
For good tech support, maybe want to give Asus Malaysia a miss tongue.gif (or you could be tech support  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif )

Asus
X201E, Intel B847 + Intel HD@RM999, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 1 year
X44H-VX231, B820 + Intel HD@RM1099[2.44kg], 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; 1 year warranty
X401A-091/092/093R, B820 + Intel HD3@RM1299[1.85kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, 1007U + Intel HD@RM999[1.99kg], Linux, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1099
Inspiron 14-3421, B997 + Intel HD@RM1199[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

Lenovo
S300, Pentium 997 + Intel HD @RM1199[1.8kg], 2GB,500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS; W7HB/W8@RM1399, no ODD, 1 yr warranty
S300, 1007U + Intel HD @RM999[1.8kg], 2GB,500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS; W8@RM1199
G480, Celeron 1000M + Intel HD@RM999, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; W8@RM1199
G480, B830 + Intel HD@RM999, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS; W8@RM1199
G480, B980 + Intel HD@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB, W8
G480, Pentium 2020 + Intel HD@RM1399, 2GB, 500GB, W8
G480, i3-2348M + Intel HD3000@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS

Prices are RSP, negotiable a bit.
Thanks for your recommendation...

any suggestion which shop should I purchase from since I'm going to LYP this weekend.

Or there's better choice such as online purchase

This post has been edited by JohnDiew0107: Jul 18 2013, 10:48 PM
hissyu
post Jul 18 2013, 11:25 PM

54 posts

boss, need a recommendation for
laptop < 2kRM
prefer light in weight
with at i5 processor
No Acer/HP. thanks/....
devour
post Jul 18 2013, 11:45 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(hissyu @ Jul 18 2013, 11:25 PM)
boss, need a recommendation for
laptop < 2kRM
prefer light in weight
with at i5 processor
No Acer/HP. thanks/....
Asus K46cb - wx060h icon_rolleyes.gif
ethelion1
post Jul 19 2013, 03:56 AM

Can someone please help me? Any good recommendations? I want something that will last as I will be leaving overseas for studies long term.

1. Anything besides Asus
2. 3-3.5k
3. Gaming/studies (Dota2 in high spec)
4. Anything above 14 inch

nexus2238
post Jul 19 2013, 06:54 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(sgh141 @ Jul 18 2013, 10:01 PM)
Thanks again..You can pm me and suggest where to buy tho....  biggrin.gif
You need to tell us where you are right? sweat.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 19 2013, 06:59 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Jul 18 2013, 10:34 PM)
wow... thx a lot for the info bro... which wan u recommend the most ?
and which wan lighter?
The models listed are all sufficient for your usage spec wise.
So the remaining question can only be answered by you biggrin.gif
Go out and look at the real thing. Look at the screen, type on the keyboard, use the touchpad, listen to the speakers, carry it, see if the design suit your taste .... (all rather subjective).

15" mostly not light lah smile.gif All > 2.4kg
Laenor
post Jul 19 2013, 07:09 AM

Morning, hi..
Need some help here.. icon_question.gif

Preferred brand: Any
Budget: 1.6k~2k
Usage: Gaming(WoW -consistent fps would be nice ,LoL and few others), Univ work(word,ppt,pdf), watch movies
Preferences: 14", not so heavy

note: i am not much in a hurry, i read something about Haswell processor or something in earlier posts (honestly i dont understand), does it include in my budget range and is it worth the wait?
One more thing, ive been using Acer Aspire 4741G (i5, Nvidia 310M) for more than 2 years now which i bought at around 1.8k(dont really remember). Its not really in a bad condition but if i buy a new laptop now, would the upgrade be a lot (since the price range is still the same) or should i just save up same more?

Thanks in advance.. smile.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 19 2013, 07:10 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Jul 18 2013, 10:48 PM)
Thanks for your recommendation...

any suggestion which shop should I purchase from since I'm going to LYP this weekend.

Or there's better choice such as online purchase
You can find some reputable re-sellers at LYN garage sales forum smile.gif
Some of them do delivery service tongue.gif like devour, numbertwo ...
If you prefer those who has shop in LYP, then look for re-sellers like rickyrich, itking ... (contact them first so that you could negotiate price and confirm stock 1st ... )
(I'm not related to these re-sellers tongue.gif )

131 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.2310sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:19 PM