25 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Aug 18 2013, 08:08 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Aug 18 2013, 07:37 PM)
Hello, my mom needs a new low budget laptop.

1. Any brand.
2. Lower the price the better.
3. Simple entertainement such as watch movie, listen song, play bigfishgames.
4. The bigger the better. She's half blind...
5. No windows or any OS is needed.
Basically what im looking for is a budget laptop with a big screen.
Thx in adv. :-)
cheapest 17"
Lenovo
Ideapad G780, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M + (1600x900)@RM2299[3.0kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm); W7HP (need to do some leg work to find this)

cheapest 15"
Dell
Inspiron 15, i3-3227U + AMD HD7670M@RM1499, 4GB, 500GB, Linux; W8SL@RM1599
Lenovo
G500S, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Aug 18 2013, 08:13 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(dinbo88 @ Aug 18 2013, 07:24 PM)
Hi, my sister wants to buy a new laptop, and so she need some input from you guys

1. Preferred Brand : anything
2. Budget : 1.5 - 2k
3. Usage : Uni use (medic course), movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14'
5. Additional features : Lightweight, touch screen enabled, and if possible Haswell processor

any recommendations will be much appreciatedĀ  biggrin.gif
Not many Haswell spec laptop in Malaysia yet.

Acer
V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200 + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400 + (1366x768;touch)@RM1988 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, Touch) @RM2299 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

Lenovo
S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768, touch)@RM2399[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8, 2 yrs

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 18 2013, 08:21 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 18 2013, 08:20 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(BeruangKelabu @ Aug 18 2013, 05:06 PM)
Hey everyone smile.gif

I need a replacement for my 5-years old Acer laptop. Following are the preferences:

1) Brand : Any as long as it has a warranty and comes with good after-sales service.
2) Budget : RM1800-RM2200
3) Usage : Gaming (Dota 2, CS, L4D2, COD), Software (Matlab, CAD/CAM software, basically engineering software), Multitask (Browsing with 10-20 tabs open while typing in Word, and compiling a short-medium code)
4) Screen size : Doesn't matter; Not a touch screen definitely (unless someone can convince me why I should take touch screen biggrin.gif ).

On the other note, I was thinking of adding another rm200 for additional RAM, and am looking for an external hard disk too.

I also need the laptop before 26th of August, so no waiting for me sad.gif

Thank you in advance smile.gif
Dell has the best warranty support service in Malaysia.

Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1999 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell
Price is RSP, negotiable.
Haswell spec for good battery running time. GT740M is the best GPU you can buy with your budget. Extend warranty from standard 1 year to 3 years next biz day on site for ~ RM300. All in within your budget.
Can increase RAM after market, will not void hardware warranty. RM200 can get you 8GB stick right now.
May want to consider going SSD. Buy a SSD (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600), swap it out with the HDD (and turn the HDD to become your external HDD) (again, will not void hardware warranty), and your machine will become very very responsive.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 18 2013, 08:21 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 18 2013, 08:58 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ananinsuran @ Aug 18 2013, 08:42 PM)
hi all,
1. Preferred Brand - no
2. Budget - no more than 1500
3. Usage - movie, browsing, and some programming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14 or bigger
Other
-high battery life, hope can 8hour or more
-no need graphic card, integrated is ok
-OS no needed
-light laptop, if no more than 2kg is better
are this is possible within the budget?
need to make compromise tongue.gif
You don't need powerful spec for movie and browsing, but may need reasonable spec for programming (but you didn't mention what type of programming hmm.gif )
If you are not in a hurry, wait for Haswell to flood the market, you may have more choices for cheap laptop with long battery running time.

Closest:
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1549 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 4 cell
Price is RSP, negotiable.
Try to get 6-cell battery (from re-sellers or Dell online by online chatting), then it will hit the battery running time criterion. Only thing is that this is not < 2kg biggrin.gif

Edit:
Just saw Dell has launch Inspiron 14 with Haswell i3 @ RM1399. Tick all your boxes laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 18 2013, 09:12 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 18 2013, 09:50 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ananinsuran @ Aug 18 2013, 09:32 PM)
i found the RM1399 laptop, that is what i want thumbup.gif
thank you very much  notworthy.gif
Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL @ RM1549

Make sure you get the 6-cell battery for long battery running time thumbup.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 18 2013, 11:32 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(daimo raff @ Aug 18 2013, 09:35 PM)
urgent...
1. Preferred Brand - asus (latest)
2. Budget - Rm 3000
3. Usage - more on gaming (PES or FIFA -ultra)
4. screen size - any
PES and FIFA is not very GPU demanding.

A450CC, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2199[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; 4-cell
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD
A550CC-XX530H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2199[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8
S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[2.3kg], 4GB, W8
S550CB-CJ103H i7-3537U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 1TB + (1366x768; touch)@RM3199[2.3kg], 4GB, W8
S551LB-CJ077H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x767; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 750GB, W8
N56VB-S3070H, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2899[/b][2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8

nexus2238
post Aug 19 2013, 12:16 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(BeruangKelabu @ Aug 18 2013, 11:39 PM)
Thank you for your recommendation.

Say, if I take the 3 years warranty, swap my HDD with 128G SDD, and turn the HDD into external, the cost will be RM2599. If this is true, then its out of my budget already  cry.gif

With that being said, I've also look at other laptops with almost similar specs which are:

1) Asus K46CB i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M @RM2199 [2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4 cell.
2) Acer Aspire V5-473PG-54204G50  i5-4200U + NVidia GT740M @ RM2299 [2kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8, 4 cell (up to 8 hrs).
3) Lenovo Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty. *Though this is slightly above my budget, but I might be able to paw some money from my mum  brows.gif

Can you give insights for these laptop (pros & cons) in regard with my preferences.

And btw, can the battery be removed for the mentioned laptops? I like to unhook the battery and use direct power supply in order to not spoil the battery so fast.
Asus K46CB - Asus Malaysia has iffy warranty support service now. Only 2GB RAM. Battery within case.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2848760

Acer Aspire V5-473PG - has touch screen. Haswell, same as the Dell. 4GB RAM soldered, has 1 RAM slot open. Battery within case.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2887194

Lenovo Y400 - bad battery running time as it does not support Nvidia Optimus. Battery detachable.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2851949
nexus2238
post Aug 19 2013, 09:57 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(BeruangKelabu @ Aug 19 2013, 08:57 AM)
Too bad Asus support is like that now. I always see my friends praising Asus's product and its services biggrin.gif

I think now I left with two choices, either the Dell or the Acer mentioned.

I can't find the Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U on Dell Malaysia website, mind to show where I can find it? smile.gif

For the Acer, it says that the Graphics Memory Accessibility is Dedicated, isn't that bad?  sweat.gif
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1999 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell
http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...=dhs&cs=mydhs1&
price seems to increase by RM50

"Graphics Memory Accessibility is Dedicated" - huh? hmm.gif If this mean dedicated VRAM, then every discrete GPU has it laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 19 2013, 06:22 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Aug 19 2013, 06:00 PM)
Preferred Brand : as long as os on ssd
Budget : RM 2k
Usage : Basic use
Preferred laptop/screen size : anything above 14''
Do you mean you want a 15" or larger laptop, with SSD standard spec, within your budget? Nothing tongue.gif

You may upgrade the laptop with aftermarket SSD (128G ~ RM300) and install / migrate OS onto it though (normally will not void hardware warranty).

Asus
A55VD-SX825/826/837/933, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT610M@RM1699[2.52kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 15, i3-3227U + AMD HD7670M@RM1499, 4GB, 500GB, Linux; W8SL@RM1599
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1749[2.25kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1899
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1799[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1949
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400@RM1749, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1899
Inspiron 15R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1599 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

Lenovo
G500S, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

nexus2238
post Aug 19 2013, 06:26 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(apisflava @ Aug 19 2013, 05:22 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : ASUS , DELL , lenovo (i5*latest)
2. Budget : rm 1500-rm2000
3. Usage : Studying, gaming (dota2 fifa14 haha) watching movies and blala
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : > 14'
>14" as in 15"?

Asus
A550CC-XX530H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2199[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: black/red/white

Dell
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W8
Inspiron 15R, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.65kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1749[2.25kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1899
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1799[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1949

Lenovo
G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

nexus2238
post Aug 19 2013, 06:29 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(OhmonDieu @ Aug 19 2013, 04:48 PM)
Preferred Brand : Asus, Lenovo, MSI
Budget : RM 3,000 ~ RM 4,000 (Best below 4k)
Usage : Daily normal usage and loads of gaming (L4D, Bioshock Infinite that sort of games) 

I'm looking at the Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p for now and probably MSI GE40 and GE60 but depends on the budget :/

Thanks in advance !
Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard
G55VW-S1216H, i7-3630QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GX60-3BE, AMD A10-5750M + AMD HD8970 + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4399 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series multi color backlit KB
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard

nexus2238
post Aug 19 2013, 06:49 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Xincaberrie @ Aug 19 2013, 12:45 PM)
Excuse me, want to tumpang other posts:
So will the Thinkpad T430/T430u and Thinkpad Edge 431, haswell upgrades be coming out in October this year too? What do you think?
It all sounds great ie. get a cheaper laptop and then upgrade the ram and ssd later. However, most resellers I spoke to do not offer this service. They claim it's hard to find ssd and it will void the warranty, so they are not willing to do it. Can recommend some shops or resellers in Digital Mall/Sunway Pyramid that will do this ssd upgrade service when you buy their notebooks? Or even if you don't buy their notebooks (eg. let's say you buy a Dell online)?
I think Intel is running into some issues with Broadwell and will take its sweet time. Haswell is going to be with us for a while (2 years maybe).
No, I am not optimistic that we will see T440 T440u in Malaysia in 2013 tongue.gif

Maybe you talk to the wrong re-sellers biggrin.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Check with re-sellers here at LYN garage sales forum. Lots of reputable one, and are more than willing to help on SSD and RAM upgrade.
And you don't need to buy SSD or RAM from re-sellers who sell you the laptop.

It also depends on models. Eg. where are the "warranty void if broken" stickers, how easy / hard to disassemble a model to reach the components, ...
And for Inspiron 14R, to get to RAM and HDD, it take 3 minutes hmm.gif laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 19 2013, 09:48 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Xincaberrie @ Aug 19 2013, 09:17 PM)
Next headache is how to choose between different brands of ssd.  rclxub.gif
Don't worry about SSD too much, especially don't worry about the speed, you won't notice the difference from 1 model to another unless you run benchmark smile.gif
Stick with Intel, Crucial, Samsung, Plextor for good firmware support smile.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 19 2013, 09:58 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Aug 19 2013, 06:00 PM)
Preferred Brand : as long as os on ssd
Budget : RM 2k
Usage : Basic use
QUOTE(paintballtao @ Aug 19 2013, 07:37 PM)
Wa super fast reply!!! Actually i meant 14 inch and above, any 14 inch ones that you would recommend? If plus haswell and decent graphics? I saw new inspiron 14 with nvdia on win 8 1799
Again, don't expect full SSD standard spec with your budget smile.gif

You mentioned basic use, then why do you need decent GPU?
Since you need to set aside around RM300 for 128G SSD aftermarket, that mean you are looking at max RM1.7k for laptop.
And there are not too many Haswell spec laptop now.

Acer
E1-472G-54204G75k, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 750GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14-3437, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL @ RM1799

nexus2238
post Aug 19 2013, 10:01 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(magnifizio @ Aug 19 2013, 09:39 PM)
Can someone recommend the available macbook air alternative available in msia?
I want something portable and slim. Also I like the macbook keyboard 
Preferred brand: Any brand besides mac
Budget: 1.5k-2.5k
Usage: watching movie and surfing. No gaming at all.
Preferred screen size:13 and above
if you like MBA, save up to buy 1 smile.gif
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3299[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 09:25 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Aug 20 2013, 09:16 AM)
Hi, I need help, Please advice.

1. all but acer
2. 1.5k-2.3k
3. heavy web browsing with video streaming
4. Preferred 15 inch FHD with ultrabay available.

Looking for spec with 8gb ram and only M processor(don want U series).

dono isit possible with this price.. >.<
no 15" FHD models for your budget range.
nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 09:38 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Aug 20 2013, 09:16 AM)
Hi, I need help, Please advice.

1. all but acer
2. 1.5k-2.3k
3. heavy web browsing with video streaming
4. Preferred 15 inch FHD with ultrabay available.

Looking for spec with 8gb ram and only M processor(don want U series).

dono isit possible with this price.. >.<
QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Aug 20 2013, 09:28 AM)
okie... sweat.gif

if without budget limit, which model is the lowest price for this spec in market.
ultrabay is Lenovo "trademark".

Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

Dell
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60K, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2899, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, 2 years warranty
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080;matte)@RM3599[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ][/color]

Need to put in leg work to find GE60K. Y510P is easy to find, but the screen is meh (personal opinion) tongue.gif
Can add RAM aftermarket, 4G stick ~ RM100.
And for your usage, U CPU is perfectly fine.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 20 2013, 09:41 AM
nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 09:47 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(martian7793 @ Aug 19 2013, 11:50 PM)
whats the different between TOSHIBA SATELLITE S40T-AS102X and LENOVO IDEAPAD Z400 5936-6604? can't make up my mind whether i should take TOSHIBA SATELLITE S40T-AS102X or LENOVO IDEAPAD Z400 5936-6604..
Satellite S40t-AS102X, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2449[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

spec wise:
Z400T - stronger CPU, bigger HDD
S40T - longer battery running time, longer warranty.

Go out and touch / poke / type / look / click / listen / carry and decide which one you like better.
nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 12:48 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(deathlyhallows @ Aug 18 2013, 11:25 AM)
Hello all sifus,

1. Preferred Brand - Asus/ Lenovo
2. Budget - Not more than RM2200
3. Usage - movie (i watch a lot!!), music, browsing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14"

Prefer longer warraty period and light laptops (below 1.8 kg), with i5 processor

Thanks for recommendations! biggrin.gif
QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 18 2013, 03:48 PM)
But you don't need i5 CPU biggrin.gif
Asus Malaysia warranty support is rather iffy right now  sweat.gif

Asus 13" (don't have 14" that meet the weight criteria)
S300CA-C1033H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8
S300CA-C1050H, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Lenovo
S400, i3-2365M + AMD HD7450M@RM1699[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB
S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB; AMD HD7450M/W8@RM2199
S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768, touch)@RM2399[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8, 2 yrs
S400T, i5-3337U + AMD HD 7450M +(1366x768, touch)@RM2099[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8
S400T, B987 + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768, touch)@RM1499[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8
S300, 1007U + Intel HD @RM899[1.8kg], 2GB,500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS; W8@RM1099

Warranty period can be extended. Lenovo from 2 years to 3 years ~ RM70, from 2 years to 3 years on site ~ RM180.
QUOTE(deathlyhallows @ Aug 20 2013, 11:38 AM)
Thanks for your reply. How about Dell Inspiron 14R or Vostro  5460? Or the asus vivobook s400?
Which one is better?
Please neglect the weight criteria...
Dell do have the best warranty support service in Malaysia now. Extend from standard 1 year warranty to 3 year for ~ RM300.

As I mentioned, your usage require low spec, a Celeron CPU will do smile.gif
Since you watch a lot of movies on the laptop, ideal is to get 1 with good screen. Unfortunately for your budget, there is no good IPS screen laptop. So you probably should go out and look at the screen of all these models to decide which one you like best.
And laptop speakers are generally lousy, so you will better off connect it to cheap external speakers.

If you ignore light weight, then just get cheap i3 spec laptop, increase RAM to 8G (4G stick ~ RM100) to improve multi-tab browsing, then put in a SSD (128G ~ RM300) and install OS and apps (keep the HDD as external HDD to store your movies and music files).

Asus
S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2199[2kg], 4GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, 2127U + Intel HD + (1366x768;touch)@RM1599[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell
Inspiron 14-3421, B997 + Intel HD@RM1199[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; Ubuntu@RM1299
Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL @ RM1549
Inspiron 14R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1549 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 4 cell
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + HD 4000@RM1,549[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM1,749
nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 12:52 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Aug 20 2013, 09:56 AM)
Thanks for your help..
Since the price are still far away from my expectation, i might be look up for 14inch instead.

Now, 14inch got the "ultrabay"?
for extra ssd slot?
14" don't have FHD, except:
Alienware 14, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 64GB mSATA + 750GB(7200rpm)@RM4999[2.77kg], 8GB, W8SL, 802.11ac

Why are you so hung up on "ultrabay"?
You don't need "ultrabay" to put in SSD.
If you want to put in SSD, just swap out the HDD, and keep the HDD as external HDD.
Alternatively, get laptop with mSATA slot (make sure the BIOS support as well), and put in a mSATA SSD (max capacity up to 128G), and install OS and apps on it.

25 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0569sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:10 AM