25 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 10:29 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(BeruangKelabu @ Aug 20 2013, 05:48 PM)
Ahh. There you go, that's why I cant find it  doh.gif .  Thanks for the hassle  notworthy.gif . I think I'll go with this laptop.

So, can I buy from you or any suggested shop? (Shop that is trustworthy and can get discount  laugh.gif )

I'm not a re-seller smile.gif
Try to look for re-sellers in LYN garage sales threads. Plenty of reputable one, and normally selling at lower than Dell RSP smile.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 10:34 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Aug 20 2013, 07:42 PM)
After some analysis, I have weighed the things that I should sacrifice or keep, mafan sifus recommend thank you!!

Brand any
Budget any to 1500
Basic use
Screen any

Three things needed are haswell, international warranty, Linux.
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 20 2013, 07:56 PM)
Closest would be this I guess:
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1549 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 4 cell

You have to fork out ~Rm250 to make it international warranty though..
You might want to omit the Haswell processor, then there'll be slightly more options
Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL @ RM1549
This is cheaper with Linux, but look even more plain laugh.gif
http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1
nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 10:39 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ikutakuta @ Aug 20 2013, 10:33 PM)
between these two models..which one is worth buying for gaming..

1- MSI GE60-2OC-093MY RM3,099

> 15.6" FULL HD Anti-Glare (1920 x 1080) LED Display
> Intel Haswell Core i7-4200QM
> NVIDIA® GeForce® GT750 2GB DDR5 128bit (Remark: With Boost Clock)
> 8GB DDR3 Ram 1600Mhz
> 750GB HDD 7200rpm

or

2-15.6" lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
In term of raw CPU & GPU power, both are on par.
You get a pretty good deal for the GE60, RSP was (is?) RM3599.
Can get slightly cheaper price for Y510P from re-sellers.

Other differentiating factors include matte vs glossy screen, keyboard, speakers, aesthetic design, etc, which are subjective preference and only you can decide smile.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 10:49 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Aug 20 2013, 08:43 PM)
Brand: Dell, Asus, Acer
Budget: RM 2k - 2.5k
Usage: Programming like C++, Visual Basic, and Java. Personal use as well.
Screen size: 14/15"

Currently looking more into Dell Inspiron 15R. Sufficient enough?

An i5 processor is enough right?
Yes, i5 CPU is more than sufficient for your usage.

Acer
V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200 + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD
E1-472G-54204G75k, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 750GB, W8
V3-571G-53212G50, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB

Asus
A450CC, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2199[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; 4-cell
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD
A550CC-XX530H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2199[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8
S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[2.3kg], 4GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14-3437, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL @ RM1799
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1999 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699
Vostro 5460, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA SSD + 500GB(5400rpm))@RM2199[1.54kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3 cell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400@RM1749, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1899
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5)@RM2449 [2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2649
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W8
Vostro 5560, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2349[2.2kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8, ODD

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 10:55 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 20 2013, 10:51 PM)
Netbooks are always best for seeding/torrenting lol, eco friendly laugh.gif
I seed / torrent through my NAS tongue.gif Also quite eco friendly biggrin.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 10:56 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Aug 20 2013, 10:49 PM)
the MSI model thayt he 's showing RM 3099 rpp is correct  biggrin.gif
Price drop? Competition is good for consumers thumbup.gif
sifu, can update MSI price at price list thread? notworthy.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 20 2013, 11:35 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 20 2013, 11:13 PM)
What is NAS? laugh.gif
once I got my Synology 2-bay NAS running at RAID-1, I never look back smile.gif
I mostly seed / torrent music files (lossy format since my ears really is not that good to need FLAC), so TB size HDD is sufficient.
The NAS run rather quiet and cool, and I set it up so that I could even access it from office tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 21 2013, 09:43 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Aug 20 2013, 11:54 PM)
wow thanks for the reply of choices of laptops  notworthy.gif
but so many to choose from. Any highly recommended one?  rclxub.gif
also, whats RSP?
you're a re-seller?
Not that many models actually, some are just different specs for the same model.
Basically all of them are sufficient for you in terms of usage requirement.
If you like longer battery running time, then go for U(LV/LT) rather than M(obile) CPU. Those Haswell ULT (ix-4xxxU) has even better battery running time (assume same battery capacity).

The the rest is subjective and all up to you. Go out and look / touch / click / type / listen / carry the models to see which one you like best smile.gif

RSP - recommended selling price by brands. Re-sellers typically sell at lower than RSP.
No, I'm NOT a re-seller smile.gif

If you want a very responsive laptop, may want to set aside some budget for SSD (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600). Swap the SSD with the HDD, install OS and apps on the SSD (keep the HDD as external HDD), normally will not void hardware warranty.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 21 2013, 09:46 AM
nexus2238
post Aug 21 2013, 09:53 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kantiaros @ Aug 21 2013, 02:10 AM)
Less than 2k budget , what laptop do you suggest? I just need one for internet surfing, entertainment and a bit of work.

Would prefer it is light ; 2 brands Im considering Fujitsu & Asus any model you can recommend?
Since you did not specify what type of "work" you do, I'm going to assume just some MS Office stuff hmm.gif

Asus
S300CA-C1050H, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB, W8
A450CC, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2199[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; 4-cell
S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2199[2kg], 4GB, W8

Fujitsu
LH532, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT620M@RM1599 [2.1kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8
LH532, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1599 [2.1kg], 2GB, 750GB, FreeDOS
LH532, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT620M@RM1749 [2.1kg], 2GB, 750GB, FreeDOS
LH532, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT620M@RM1999 [2.1kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

FreeDOS mean you need to get OS yourself.
nexus2238
post Aug 21 2013, 03:54 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(BeruangKelabu @ Aug 21 2013, 11:37 AM)
Hai, its me again biggrin.gif but this time its not for me, but my friend.

1) Brand - Anything
2) Budget - Maximum Rm1000
3) Usage - Works using Ppt, Excel and Word, watch movies, facebook games.
4) Screen size - Small (One that can be put inside handbag  sweat.gif )

She needs a lightweight laptop because she rides bus everyday.

Any insight is much appreciated! biggrin.gif
Just don't expect too much from this price range, ok? tongue.gif

Traditional laptop form factor:
Acer
V5-121-C72G50K, AMD C-70 + AMD HD7290G@RM999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL
Aspire AO756s, Celeron 877 + Intel HD@RM1149, 2GB, 500GB, W8
V5-131-10074G50, 1007U + Intel HD@RM1149, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL

Asus
X201E-KX178D/9D , Intel 1007U + Intel HD@RM999, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 1 year

Tablet:
Microsoft
Surface RT, Nvidia Tegra 3 + 32GB SSD + (1366x768; touch)@RM1099[680g]; WRT, 2GB
Surface RT, Nvidia Tegra 3 + 64GB SSD + (1366x768; touch)@RM1399[680g]; WRT, 2GB
This is actually quite appealing.
1. There is major inventory dump by Microsoft right now. Bulk order is being organised and running at LYN garage sales threads (order through education institution laugh.gif even lower price). Get a Type Cover, and she could get some work done.
2. It come with a free licensed copy of Office RT (which has Word, Excel, Powerpoint, OneNote) and come mid-Oct when W8.1RT roll down, the Office RT will even have Outlook thumbup.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2789869
post 773.

nexus2238
post Aug 21 2013, 07:14 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(joscmh90 @ Aug 21 2013, 11:50 AM)
1. No preferred brand
2. Around 3.5k-4
3. Gaming, and normal stuffs
4. 15.6' minimum

I'm not looking into mobility but rather a laptop which I can game and bring around at times instead needing to bring over the whole desktop.
I'm actually looking into Lenovo 510 (Sli) and ILLEGEAR RE-15.
I play games at 1080p and hope that I could get them at least on high settings. Any recommendations from you guys ? Any better models? Best buy?
At your budget, there are only a few choices in Malaysia.
Keep in mind SLI depends on games and driver support.

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GX60-3BE, AMD A10-5750M + AMD HD8970 + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4399 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series multi color backlit KB
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard
GE70-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4499,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080;matte)@RM3599[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ][/color]
Illegear RE-17, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3799[Onkyo], 4GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 21 2013, 07:19 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 21 2013, 07:18 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Aug 21 2013, 05:39 PM)
Got rid of some of my old stuff, now ready to get a new lappy =)

1. Not fussy, just No Acer/HP
2. Myr 2000
3. Basic usage (m/s office, GIMP 2.0) + Game (not a hardcore gamer, can run sims3 & starcraft HotS smoothly sudah ok)
4. 14" and above
StarCraft HoTS could get pretty demanding with details turned up tongue.gif
Anyway, the best GPU you could get with your budget is GT740M now.

Asus

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1999 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 21 2013, 07:19 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 09:41 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(arar @ Aug 22 2013, 03:43 AM)
Between lenovo y510p and msi GE60-2OC, which one is better for gaming since the prices are both same, in term of performance, cooling system, look etc and what are the pros and cons? What's the extra item coming with these 2 laptops eg: backpack,  mouse etc?
Better for gaming - CPU & GPU on par.
Performance - CPU & GPU on par.
Cooling system - both not that good, but I will give the edge to Y510P
Look - subjective, only you can decide.
Extra items - ask re-resellers.
nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 09:56 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(earlgrey77 @ Aug 22 2013, 01:54 AM)
Helping friend looking for laptop

1. Preferred Brand -HP , but if have other option do list down .
2. Budget - MYR 2000-2200
3. Usage - normal , studies purpose .lil gaming such as maple and sims 3
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 13 /14 is ok

Another consideration , is the weight of the laptop .the lighter the better .
Study what? Since you did not specify, can't tell how powerful a spec the user need.

HP
Envy4-1204TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M + 32GB mSATA +500GB(5400rpm)@RM2399[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, W8
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Dell
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + HD 4000@RM1,549[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM1,749
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1949[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8SL, 3 cell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099
Vostro 5460, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA SSD + 500GB(5400rpm))@RM2199[1.54kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3 cell

nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 10:00 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ttz @ Aug 21 2013, 11:29 PM)
May I ask what's the difference between Inspiron 14 and 14R and 14Z?
Inspiron 14 - most basic entry level model. Plain look.
Inspiron 14R - basic model, could (but not necessary) has spec that are slightly more powerful than Inspiron 14, try to look nicer than Inspiron 14, but lots of potential buyers still think it look plain laugh.gif
Inspiron 14z - skinnier and lighter than 14 & 14R. Usually (but not necessary) don't have ODD to achieve lighter weight.
nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 10:08 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(john_makaay @ Aug 21 2013, 09:13 PM)
i wanna to have same specs as lenovo G500S/G400S and budget max @ RM 1699

any other recommended lappy to buy beside G400S and G500s?

G500S (i5-3230) NEW 5939-0946 i5-3230/4G/500G/DVD/DOS/1YR GT720 2G BLACK 15.6"

and comparable to below specs

RM1850 Click HERE To Buy Now!! Inspiron 15R (5520) - Intel Core I7-3612QM | FreeDos | 1000GB SATA | 8GB 1600MHz | DVDRW | 1GB AMD Radeon 7670M | 6 Cell
RM1799 Click HERE To Buy Now!! Inspiron 15R SE (7520) - Intel Core I5-3210M | Windows 7 Home Premium | 1000GB SATA | 4GB 1600MHz |DVDRW | 2GB Radeon HD 7730M | 6 Cell
RM1599 Click HERE To Buy Now!! Inspiron 15 (3521) - Intel Core I5-3337U | FreeDos | 1000GB SATA | 4GB 1600MHz |DVDRW | 2GB Radeon 8730M | 6 Cell
RM1899 Click HERE To Buy Now!! Inspiron 15 (3521) - Intel Core I7-3537U | FreeDos | 1000GB SATA | 4GB 1600MHz |DVDRW | 2GB Radeon 8730M | 6 Cell
closest
Dell
Inspiron 14-3437, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL @ RM1799

And if you really could get the 15R SE @ RM1799, and it is brand new sealed, you should consider, as that is close to 20% discount from RSP.
nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 10:13 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(akeng90 @ Aug 21 2013, 08:52 PM)
Helping friend looking for laptop

1. Preferred Brand - any
2. Budget - MYR 1,600
3. Usage - gaming (dota 2 etc) and daily usage (fb,email,skype)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" and above

Thx biggrin.gif
Dell

Lenovo
G400s, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1449, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
G500S, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 10:31 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(aurorenoire @ Aug 21 2013, 08:52 PM)
Hi all,

I'd really appreciate some help with a gaming laptop. I do have some unusual requests (the ASCII thing) but have never owned a laptop, so please bear with me and let me know if some of my requirements are not possible.

1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: RM2.5 - 3.5k (It'd be great if I don't have to go over 3k but I doubt that...)
3. Usage: Gaming and work - I play Guild Wars 2 (It's an MMORPG) and would like to have a smooth gaming experience on a medium to high graphics setting (medium is good enough, I prefer performance to graphics) - and I don't need anything fancy for work. (Note: Would prefer 6-8GB RAM, SSD and matte screen; ASCII keyboard if possible.)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15.6" max... As lightweight as possible coz I hate lugging heavy stuff around.

Would appreciate feedback/suggestions. Another note: I do not need to purchase this immediately, and will probably need a couple of months to save up for it, so I don't mind waiting for new releases that will come out in a month or two.
ok, you need to set your expectation properly tongue.gif

1. 15" is normally heavy, the lightest 15" around in ~ 2.2kg (excluding adapter). So if you want light weight, start from 14" or lower size.
2. Gaming on laptop is expensive. And laptop that has discrete GPU to play Guild Wars 2 at medium setting smoothly won't be cheap, will not be too light (otherwise may not have enough space to put in reasonable thermal dissipate solution).
3. Laptop with SSD as standard spec are probably expensive. You could probably buy a laptop without SSD and upgrade aftermarket without voiding laptop hardware warranty (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600).
4. Not many consumer class laptop come with matte screen. Samsung probably - but they don't bring in too many models to Malaysia. So you probably have to look at some specific consumer class models that pop up with matte screen from time to time, or go business class laptop (but these are probably more expensive, and with your budget, probably won't be spec with good enough GPU to play Guild Wars 2).
5. ASCII keyboard? hmm.gif You mean you need to type in ASCII characters? Then any normal keyboard will do, but of course laptop with dedicated numpad make it slightly easier, just "ALT+(number combo)". But dedicated numpad is normally found in 15", and 15" is not light laugh.gif (if you go with 14", then get an external USB numpad, the Logitech is good)

Currently, the models that come closest to your requirement (but look at their weight laugh.gif )

Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

MSI
GE60K, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2899, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, 2 years warranty
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080;matte)@RM3599[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ][/color]

But laptop models get obsolete really fast. Come back and ask again after you save up in a few months smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 22 2013, 11:25 AM
nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 10:34 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(liverpooluc @ Aug 22 2013, 10:14 AM)

Not sure if this is the correct topic to post my questions, i am thinking of getting a tablet, between surface rt and note 10.1 which one would be good?

The tablet will be use mainly for watching movie online

Both is good enough for watching movie online.
Go out and look at the real thing to decide (screen, sounds, etc).
nexus2238
post Aug 22 2013, 10:38 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ajax sahida @ Aug 22 2013, 10:00 AM)
may I know, is it tablet function same as pc? can do such IBM SPSS or not?
Check the CPU and the OS on the tablet spec, and see if it support SPSS that you have (SPSS has version for Linux, MacOS, and Windows).
Just don't expect SPSS to run as fast on a tablet CPU as on a desktop laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 22 2013, 10:38 AM

25 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0402sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:17 PM