131 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 12 2013, 03:02 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(michael_och @ Jul 12 2013, 02:58 PM)
Preferred brand: Any
Budget <2.5k
Usage: programming, fifa and nba2k, daily usage
Preferred laptop/screen size: <2kg, with odd
~if K46CB-WX060H with RM300 left of budget, what to modify?
Thank smile.gif
Yup, pretty much that one if you want an optical drive and is capable of gaming nod.gif

14"
Asus K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

* use remaining budget yo upgrade RAM to 4-8GB
* Can consider to upgrade to SSD later on when you have the budget
michael_och
post Jul 12 2013, 03:07 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 12 2013, 03:02 PM)
Yup, pretty much that one if you want an optical drive and is capable of gaming  nod.gif

14"
Asus K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

* use remaining budget yo upgrade RAM to 4-8GB
* Can consider to upgrade to SSD later on when you have the budget
Thank you boss!!! biggrin.gif

johnlth93
post Jul 12 2013, 04:28 PM

Debian
1,200 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 12 2013, 01:45 PM)
Your Acer seems to be with you for some time already.
And you does not sounds like someone who has ever clean their laptop laugh.gif
When dust clog up the air inlet/outlet vent and the internal fan, the abilities of the laptop to dissipate heat is compromised, which leads to bad temp. You should periodically (at least once every 1/2 year  hmm.gif ) clean all these off dust properly.
100C is really bad.
Your Acer is really amazing being able to survive for so long in such high temp laugh.gif

But the Acer V3 that I listed earlier, with the i7, could get a bit warm.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2738492&hl=acer
see here for owner's view on the spec with IPS panel  thumbup.gif

Yes, the Lenovo Z580 is the cheapest laptop with i7 quad core in Malaysia, if you could still find it smile.gif
it did, IIRC i bought it since July 2011
and lol how could you tell by that
i did clean my laptop every 2/3 semester
the first time i took this particular model of i took some pictures =3 https://www.facebook.com/johnlth93/media_se...60675645&type=3

IPS is cool and so does FHD but 1 thing i dun like about FHD is that the desktop become so small with the default 100% view
nexus2238
post Jul 12 2013, 04:33 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(johnlth93 @ Jul 12 2013, 04:28 PM)
i did clean my laptop every 2/3 semester

IPS is cool and so does FHD but 1 thing i dun like about FHD is that the desktop become so small with the default 100% view
then maybe you should try re-paste thermal paste. But that's moot now since it is holding to life by a thin thread sweat.gif

Since you know the "default 100% view", then you must know how to change it easily right? smile.gif
jedrek_eng123
post Jul 12 2013, 05:13 PM

QUOTE(devour @ Jul 11 2013, 03:10 PM)
its already in Malaysia
ok...which lowyat shop i can get it? price and info pls...thx

cheemm
post Jul 12 2013, 05:18 PM

107 posts

Hi all...

Helping my friend looking for a laptop for her study years~~

1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: <RM2k
3. Usage: Accounting programs (not sure which programs) and normal usage (Microsoft office, online game, watch movie, listen songs)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14''

No need touch screen. smile.gif

Please suggest any suitable laptop for me...

Thanks for your help~~~~

This post has been edited by cheemm: Jul 12 2013, 05:29 PM
nexus2238
post Jul 12 2013, 05:42 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(cheemm @ Jul 12 2013, 05:18 PM)
Hi all...

Helping my friend looking for a laptop for her study years~~

1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: <RM2k
3. Usage: Accounting programs (not sure which programs) and normal usage (Microsoft office, online game, watch movie, listen songs)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14''

No need touch screen. smile.gif

Please suggest any suitable laptop for me...

Thanks for your help~~~~
Accounting is actually one of those course that punch in lots of numbers, and I think she may want to have the dedicated numpad in a 15" hmm.gif
If she go for 14", then she may need to have a external numpad (Logitech wireless ~ RM80 is very good), otherwise life will really be miserable laugh.gif
For her usage, i3 & HD4000 is more than enough.

Anyway, 14"

Asus
K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
Inspiron 14R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1549 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 4 cell
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + HD 4000@RM1,549[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM1,749

HP
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS
G400s, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1599, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Use remaining budget to get RAM (4G stick ~ RM100, 8G stick ~ RM200), extend warranty (Dell, extend to 3 years next business day on site ~ RM250, very good in case laptop broke down during assignment time tongue.gif ), swap HDD for SSD (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600).

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 12 2013, 05:43 PM
nexus2238
post Jul 12 2013, 05:46 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(jedrek_eng123 @ Jul 12 2013, 05:13 PM)
ok...which lowyat shop i can get it? price and info pls...thx
This is not a sales thread. Please go to LYN garage sales thread and search for it smile.gif
alcalcalc
post Jul 12 2013, 07:12 PM

15 posts

thanks for the input... but are there any non gaming orientated laptop but fulfill these requirements?

budget 3k n below
brand: any except lenovo acer hp
usage: for gaming (skyrim, bioshock, dota2) , photoshop, music recording n editing
preffered screen size : 15 inch
devour
post Jul 12 2013, 08:02 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(alcalcalc @ Jul 12 2013, 07:12 PM)
thanks for the input... but are there any non gaming orientated laptop but fulfill these requirements?

budget 3k n below
brand: any except lenovo acer hp
usage: for gaming (skyrim, bioshock, dota2) , photoshop, music recording n editing
preffered screen size : 15 inch
1)Asus N56VB-S3070H (Black)
I5-3230, 4G, 750G, - gt 740m 4GV, W8

2)Asus S551LB-CJ120H
TOUCH Aluminum Black 15.6 HD(GL,LED)
4200(i5)
NVIDIA GeForce G740 DDR3 2GB
DDR3 1600 4G

3) Asus S550CB-CJ102H (Black) - Vivobook
I5-3337, 4G, 500G+24G, gt 740 m - 2GV, W8

4) Asus S56CB-XX390H

15.6 HD(GL,LED) 3537(i7) NVIDIA Geforce GT 740M DDR3 2GB DDR3 1600 4G 1TB 5400R SATA+24G SSD

or

Toshiba Satelite L50- i5-3230 / 4G / 750G (SATA) with shock absorbers/ GT 740 -2GB VGA / Window 8

casphere
post Jul 12 2013, 09:04 PM

51 posts

1. Preferred Brand :
Any one that has reliable after-sales service centres
2. Budget : max RM2700
3. Usage : Document processing - MS Word & Excel, surfing WWW
4. Preferred laptop/screen size
11-12 inches (priority is mobility as i need to work on the go)

Extra preferences : Min 4GB memory, 500GB HDD (SSD not important), Intel Core i5 CPU, Win 7 OS, dedicated graphics card

Something like this to give a better idea (reference):
http://www.lazada.com.my/Acer-Aspire-V5-12...er-436454.html#

Lazada prices are cheap, but after I went through the feedback from those who ordered from them before, i would prefer to buy from an honest retailer with a storefront.
cheemm
post Jul 12 2013, 09:26 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 12 2013, 05:42 PM)
Accounting is actually one of those course that punch in lots of numbers, and I think she may want to have the dedicated numpad in a 15"  hmm.gif
If she go for 14", then she may need to have a external numpad (Logitech wireless ~ RM80 is very good), otherwise life will really be miserable laugh.gif
For her usage, i3 & HD4000 is more than enough.

Anyway, 14"

Asus
K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
Inspiron 14R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1549 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 4 cell
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + HD 4000@RM1,549[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM1,749

HP
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS
G400s, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1599, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Use remaining budget to get RAM (4G stick ~ RM100, 8G stick ~ RM200), extend warranty (Dell, extend to 3 years next business day on site ~ RM250, very good in case laptop broke down during assignment time tongue.gif ), swap HDD for SSD (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600).
Thanks nexus!! i will copy this for her to consider first~
15'' is heavy for gal to carry. so i think 14'' is enough.
she just want more stable laptop. her bro just bought acer last few months, alot problems.
she totally no idea about laptop, so which 1 u think is more stable (seldom heard of problem)? lenovo is using broadcom wireless card......too weak right..

how about toshiba?

thanks~~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 12 2013, 09:54 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(casphere @ Jul 12 2013, 09:04 PM)
1. Preferred Brand :
Any one that has reliable after-sales service centres
2. Budget : max RM2700
3. Usage : Document processing - MS Word & Excel, surfing WWW
4. Preferred laptop/screen size
11-12 inches (priority is mobility as i need to work on the go)

Extra preferences : Min 4GB memory, 500GB HDD (SSD not important), Intel Core i5 CPU, Win 7 OS, dedicated graphics card

Something like this to give a better idea (reference):
http://www.lazada.com.my/Acer-Aspire-V5-12...er-436454.html#

Lazada prices are cheap, but after I went through the feedback from those who ordered from them before, i would prefer to buy from an honest retailer with a storefront.
You can't have the best of everything, not at this size and price range unfortunately sad.gif
Since you don't game, you don't really need a dedicated graphic card, its overkill, and not to mention generate excessive heat.
Can consider this one, its one of the best options out there for a portable working machine~
Almost all notebooks come with W8 already nod.gif

11.6"
Lenovo Yoga 11s, i3-3229Y + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1366x768, IPS touch)@RM2599, 4GB, W8, 2 years; colors: grey/orange

* Price in RRP, negotiable
* Use remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years
hadoupening
post Jul 12 2013, 10:21 PM

476 posts

1. Preferred Brand : Any
2. Budget : max RM2000
3. Usage : Surfing internet, mostly document work, occasional coding
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15.6", or as big as possible

Prefers to have no Windows installed.

Do you think it's worth waiting for more Haswell equipped laptops to come out before buying a laptop? My current laptop is failing quite constantly, but I think it can still hold for about an extra month or so.

Is it worth waiting it out first? Will there be a significant increase in the number of Haswell equipped choices?

Thanks a lot!
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 12 2013, 10:22 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Jul 12 2013, 10:21 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Any
2. Budget : max RM2000
3. Usage : Surfing internet, mostly document work, occasional coding
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15.6", or as big as possible

Prefers to have no Windows installed.

Do you think it's worth waiting for more Haswell equipped laptops to come out before buying a laptop? My current laptop is failing quite constantly, but I think it can still hold for about an extra month or so.

Is it worth waiting it out first? Will there be a significant increase in the number of Haswell equipped choices?

Thanks a lot!
Buy when you need, wait if you can nod.gif
Haswell notebooks will surely come, and replace all the Ivy Bridge ones currently in the market nod.gif

camera whizz
post Jul 12 2013, 11:22 PM

99 posts

1. Preferred Brand=Any good reliable brand
2. Budget=rm1.5k
3. Usage=internet surfing, HD videos, buisness work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size=13" and lightweight
jimmylim85
post Jul 12 2013, 11:35 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 12 2013, 09:30 AM)
How about these?
11.6"
Acer
P3-131-21292G06, Pentium 2129Y + Intel HD + 60GB SSD + (1366x768 IPS;touch)@RM1799, 2GB, W8
P3-171-3322Y2G06, i3-3322y + Intel HD + 60GB SSD + (1366x768 IPS;touch)@RM1999, 2GB, W8

Lenovo
Yoga 11s, i3-3229Y + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1366x768, IPS touch)@RM2599, 4GB, W8, 2 years; colors: grey/orange

14"
Toshiba Satellite U940-1001X, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA + 640GB HDD)@RM2349[1.7kg], 4GB, W8SL, backlit keyboard, 3 years local warranty (1st year on-site); color: Light blue

- Full SSD is always better and more consistent. Probably last longer too. But they are of course, more expensive
- The Toshiba has an Ethernet port
How about Sony?

Is Hybrid drive good? HDD + mSATA? i enjoy better loading speed and more space storage. Of course will lose to SSD.
Cjcchris
post Jul 13 2013, 12:09 AM

I wanted to ask Asus k46cm-wx060h is it suitable on gaming such as FIFA 2013, all steams games, Dota 2 and other high graphics game?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 13 2013, 12:12 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Cjcchris @ Jul 13 2013, 12:09 AM)
I wanted to ask Asus k46cm-wx060h is it suitable on gaming such as FIFA 2013, all steams games, Dota 2 and other high graphics game?
Yeah, no problems there thumbup.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 13 2013, 12:15 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(camera whizz @ Jul 12 2013, 11:22 PM)
1. Preferred Brand=Any good reliable brand
2. Budget=rm1.5k
3. Usage=internet surfing, HD videos, buisness work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size=13" and lightweight
Try to bargain for this one nod.gif
11.6"
Acer P3-131-21292G06, Pentium 2129Y + Intel HD + 60GB SSD + (1366x768 IPS;touch)@RM1799, 2GB, W8

Otherwise this:
11.6"
Asus VivoBook S200E, B847 + Intel UMA + (1366x768; touch)@RM1499[1.38kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: Grey/Pink/White, 2-cell, 1 year

131 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:04 AM