Amps/Pedals Vox Amplification Official Thread, everything related to our amp!
Banzai_san
Nov 23 2007, 02:56 PM
ermm guys, I took my vox ad30vt original 2 pin power cable to an electrical shop (me trying to get a 3 pin socket power cable). I showed them the cable and the shop assistant/technician found that my original ad30vt 2 pin power supply cable is 16Amp where as normal power supply cable here in Malaysia is 13A. He said that for a small amp, its ok to use the normal 13A cable. Me not sure (100% confident) though... Do you think that for a 30Watt amp, a suitable 16A power supply cable is required (ie not recommended to use the normal 13A cable)? Or maybe the 16A original cable is a standard which vox use for the 50W and 100W amp and hence they (vox) provide a 16A cable as standard for all their amps? any comments? Added on November 23, 2007, 3:00 pmQUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 23 2007, 11:19 AM) Anybody know where I can try one out in Penang? anyone from penang can help mr supercolossal? IIRC, Rene @ Silver Isle auditioned the vox and roland cube in Penang and eventually chose the cube (for the pink color?  ) over vox But I dont know which shop... This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Nov 23 2007, 03:00 PM
supercolossal
Nov 23 2007, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Nov 23 2007, 02:56 PM) ermm guys, I took my vox ad30vt original 2 pin power cable to an electrical shop (me trying to get a 3 pin socket power cable). I showed them the cable and the shop assistant/technician found that my original ad30vt 2 pin power supply cable is 16Amp where as normal power supply cable here in Malaysia is 13A. He said that for a small amp, its ok to use the normal 13A cable. Me not sure (100% confident) though... Do you think that for a 30Watt amp, a suitable 16A power supply cable is required (ie not recommended to use the normal 13A cable)? Or maybe the 16A original cable is a standard which vox use for the 50W and 100W amp and hence they (vox) provide a 16A cable as standard for all their amps? any comments? Added on November 23, 2007, 3:00 pmanyone from penang can help mr supercolossal? IIRC, Rene @ Silver Isle auditioned the vox and roland cube in Penang and eventually chose the cube (for the pink color?  ) over vox But I dont know which shop...  Thanks alot... anybody can help? I'm curious about the cables. How does it look like originally? I wonder if those 3-pin plug cables which we use for kettles and PCs would work.
sean392
Nov 23 2007, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 23 2007, 05:17 PM) Thanks alot... anybody can help? I'm curious about the cables. How does it look like originally? I wonder if those 3-pin plug cables which we use for kettles and PCs would work.From the pins, it looks the same, but I haven't tried it yet. Need to go find the cable first lol.
Banzai_san
Nov 23 2007, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 23 2007, 05:17 PM) Thanks alot... anybody can help? I'm curious about the cables. How does it look like originally? I wonder if those 3-pin plug cables which we use for kettles and PCs would work. Ive just asked several people (including CK Music's technician) regarding using our normal Malaysian 3 pin socket (13A) with my ad30vt. Replies are should be no problem. The CK technician also said that the vox has its own internal fuse. So should be safe. After hearing from these guys, I braved myself using an unused normal computer 3 pin socket power source cable and connect my ad30vt to the electrical socket. So far... looks like no problem... and amp hissing reduced drastically nb: I think the cable for kettles is similar to the one for PCs. (DISCLAIMER: I do not hold any responsibility should any problem arises from using the normal 13A 3 pin socket power cable  ) This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Nov 23 2007, 10:42 PM
supercolossal
Nov 24 2007, 10:04 AM
I think those kettle cables are rated for higher amperage, so I guess it should be fine.
Banzai_san
Nov 24 2007, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 24 2007, 10:04 AM) I think those kettle cables are rated for higher amperage, so I guess it should be fine. maybe if somebody can be rajin enough to go to the kitchen, get an electric kettle cable and check the amperage? Should easily be visible on either sockets written something like 13A ~220V. I cant check for you, as we use gas to boil water at home, no electric kettle This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Nov 25 2007, 09:44 AM
supercolossal
Nov 24 2007, 11:14 PM
I see that mine is rated at 10A 220V
Banzai_san
Nov 25 2007, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 24 2007, 11:14 PM) I see that mine is rated at 10A 220V if an electric kettle ( >= 1000 W ) uses only 10A rated cable, then I believe I can safely say that my 30W ad30vt amp should be safe using a 13A 3pin cable pheww...  I feel legaaa, knowing the above
sean392
Nov 26 2007, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Nov 26 2007, 08:56 PM) Anyone know if ad15vt is loud enough for 18meters times 8meters room? Scared tak cukup ommph  mmm? 1w should be enough =/
supercolossal
Nov 29 2007, 09:13 AM
So anybody knows where I can try out one in Penang?
Banzai_san
Nov 29 2007, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Nov 26 2007, 08:56 PM) Anyone know if ad15vt is loud enough for 18meters times 8meters room? Scared tak cukup ommph  playing alone or accompanied by metal-headbanging-drummer ? if alone, maybe enough for the listener sitting at the end of the room to hear.
RootOfJesse
Nov 30 2007, 12:38 AM

opps..  hehe..forget to mention..with drummer, vocalist, guitarist, bassit and the full band
sean392
Nov 30 2007, 02:14 AM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Nov 30 2007, 12:38 AM) opps..  hehe..forget to mention..with drummer, vocalist, guitarist, bassit and the full band ah then that changes things completely if your drummer really pummels it, the 30 watter may not have enough juice to cut in the mix the 50 has plenty of juice tho
supercolossal
Dec 4 2007, 11:00 AM
If you are playing in an enclosed studio i think 30w is more than enough. For an stage performances, you might want to use the PA to drive your sound to the audience from the mixer rather than from the amp itself.
judas
Dec 7 2007, 12:11 PM

I had changed the head of the cable from 2 pin socket to 3 pin socket before...It really helps a lot in reducing unwanted noise...But anyway, do u guys really think that changing the whole cable was neccesary?? Because im noob in those cables stuff...16A and 13A...i dun understand the differences..is it with more power the amp would go louder???
sean392
Dec 7 2007, 12:25 PM
Cables carrying higher amperage rating won't melt when high current flows through it. If the device the cable is connected to, has a higher current requirement, it might melt the cable.
Banzai_san
Dec 7 2007, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(judas @ Dec 7 2007, 12:11 PM) I had changed the head of the cable from 2 pin socket to 3 pin socket before...It really helps a lot in reducing unwanted noise...But anyway, do u guys really think that changing the whole cable was neccesary?? Because im noob in those cables stuff...16A and 13A...i dun understand the differences..is it with more power the amp would go louder??? Shouldnot be a problem
judas
Dec 8 2007, 01:30 AM

Now...did anyone mod the grill?? Cause seriously i myself think the pathfinder series cloth grills are sexy and would look better on the AD series amp...the ori one looks so "unvintage" LOL ...Would it cost a bomb to do that??
sean392
Dec 8 2007, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(judas @ Dec 8 2007, 01:30 AM) Now...did anyone mod the grill?? Cause seriously i myself think the pathfinder series cloth grills are sexy and would look better on the AD series amp...the ori one looks so "unvintage" LOL ...Would it cost a bomb to do that?? Nah it isn't an expensive mod. TBH, I've always wanted to make the metal grill into a clothe grill, to make it look more vintage. There was an online Vox forum that had a tutorial or was it pictorial for the mod. I'll try to dig see whether I can find it. =D