Amps/Pedals Vox Amplification Official Thread, everything related to our amp!

Banzai_san
post Nov 14 2006, 11:35 AM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

Hope to join you guys/gals soon... me considering (& saving some of my wage) getting the AD30VT or AD50VT smile.gif

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Nov 14 2006, 11:38 AM
Banzai_san
post Nov 16 2006, 11:29 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

Appreciate anyone can comment on ADxxVT's (especially AD30VT which I plan to buy) build quality.

I know AD30VT is meant for bedroom/home practise amp. But will it withstand if I were to tug it along here and there in the boot of the car or carry it around when travelling? Will the amp construction be able to withstand rough treatment such as that?

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Nov 17 2006, 07:30 AM
Banzai_san
post Dec 6 2006, 12:27 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

Just ordered my AD30VT. Cant wait for it to arrive via air parcel from CK. Hopefully will arrive in excellent order.. user posted image

wooohoooo... Im excited user posted image
Banzai_san
post Dec 6 2006, 07:24 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Dec 6 2006, 03:25 PM)
Wow!!..air parcel....damn you've got alot of greens man... laugh.gif

I wish... unsure.gif
Actually I just had to take advantage of CK Music's end of year sales. Could not resist their price blush.gif
Air parcel is much cheaper than pos laju or courier ( about half the rate ) but take twice longer to arrive.
Banzai_san
post Dec 7 2006, 06:09 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Dec 7 2006, 11:26 AM)
Believe me, most of the time... the normal Pos Malaysia air parcel will take less than 5 days.

My last postage only took about 2 days, that is from KL to Miri.

2 DAYS ?!!! WOOAAH !!! that's mighty fast.
I have to start checking my PO Box for parcel notification slip from tomorrow (Friday), and everyday la.

argghh...!!! I do not like waiting cry.gif
Banzai_san
post Dec 9 2006, 08:11 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(Ryo @ Dec 9 2006, 07:25 PM)
Joining the VOX owner group hehe. just got my AD15VT, spent the whole day playing around with it. this amp is sweet, more than enough for me to practice in my small room:thumbs:
waah.. so jealous la me reading your post.
Im still waiting for my amp cry.gif

From where did you get you AD15VT from, and how much?

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Dec 9 2006, 08:12 PM
Banzai_san
post Dec 12 2006, 04:57 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

YEAYYYY!!! Just received my AD30VT. Jeez, the box is quite big for a small 30W amp, and my goodness, its quite heavy. Luckily I manage to find a parking space close to the Post Office. If not, I would've sweat dragging the packed item.

Gonna have a busy evening trying out the Vox AD30VT. Hopefully is in excellent working order.

But I have to commend on CK Music's service. I have to say that looks like they pack the item very nicely. Professionally packed. Not 'cincai' macam pack using those 'tali rafia'. No... my amp didnot come with 'tali rafia', but they use the (I dont know what's the name) macam plastic bands to securely tie the box. Looks like it came out from Vox factory, untouched.

Ok, time to mess around with my new amp. I feel like a "real MAN", although still a newbie learning to play guitar.

At last, officially join Vox AD owner group. I hope I will like my new amp (bought it without even prior hands on testing it. Purchased it purely from reading high recommendations from Vox AD owners.)
Banzai_san
post Jan 15 2007, 01:10 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Jan 12 2007, 03:47 AM)
erm guys?
does your amp give u a hissing sound when u pump the gain for high gain models like uk modern, numetal n so on?

is it a sign of my tube dying or is my amp just gaying with me?
p/s this problem has been here for quite awhile
n now only remember to ask bout it
lol

Hows your amp now sean?
hope nothing's broken unsure.gif
Banzai_san
post Jan 30 2007, 11:36 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

Hi guys/gals,

Know where to get Celestion Speaker to replace my stock AD30VT Vox speaker (ie 10" speaker)? Any idea? Doesnt matter in Malaysia or overseas.

Added on January 30, 2007, 11:40 pm
QUOTE(ggoo @ Jan 16 2007, 02:22 PM)
what the difference between the AD vox series and the DA Vox series??

I think the DA is the smaller (portable/cut-down) version of the AD series.

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Jan 30 2007, 11:40 PM
Banzai_san
post Feb 6 2007, 10:55 AM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

NAMM Show 2007 vidclips

http://www.samash.com/content_x/namm_vids.asp

Vox AC50, AD50VT212, Classic Plus Series, Handwired Heritage Series & Tonelab LE ( http://www.samash.com/videos/namm07/Vox%20Tonelab%20LE.mov )

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Feb 6 2007, 10:56 AM
Banzai_san
post Feb 9 2007, 07:19 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

Welcome to the Vox family bro...

AD30VT uses 10 inch & 8 ohm speaker.

For Rock/Metal, the best choice if choosing Celestion speaker is the G10 Vintage. I do not know how much the speaker cost. My rough estimate is about the same price you pay for the AD30VT biggrin.gif

The other is Eminence. I think you have several choices, ie Ramrod, Raging Cajun, etc. I do not know how much they cost, but much less than Celestion if Im not mistaken.

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Feb 9 2007, 08:17 PM
Banzai_san
post Jun 26 2007, 02:45 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Jun 26 2007, 03:29 AM)
hey guys,
any chance that your ad50 has its tube mounted upside down?
cuz mine looks like its mounted upside down

I have not tried opening my vox. Dont know hows my AD30vt's tube mounted blush.gif

Im thinking of getting an EQ pedal. I think, the AD series's EQ is lacking.
Banzai_san
post Jun 26 2007, 03:42 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Jun 26 2007, 03:20 PM)
eq pedal eh?
a ge-7 should do the job

don't get behringer's eq pedal
sure it works well sounds ok too, till the switch and jack craps out

=.=

yeah, Im thinking of getting the ge-7. I'll stay away from behringer's eq pedal as per your advise. Thanks.

Hopefully I will be able to find a tone suitable to my liking. Not that I dont appreciate the AD's features/tones. I guess Im still soul searching/experimenting for a 'special' tone for myself biggrin.gif
Banzai_san
post Nov 17 2007, 01:30 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(-YS- @ Jul 31 2007, 11:14 PM)
Hi guys , i am wondering whether the tube inside my AD50VT has reached the limit , how do we find out that we hv to change the tube already? Anyway , i am kedah now , anyway i can change the tube myself? How much is one?

Added on August 2, 2007, 2:36 pmwhere are all the VOX owners here?

ermm... Im a proud vox ad30vt owner biggrin.gif

On changing tube yourself, I would reckon that you can change it yourself. (Ive never done it before though blush.gif ). How much? ermm donno. Im in KKinabalu so I would not know. But if I were you, I would check with nik of ceriatone or with bentley music in KL.
Banzai_san
post Nov 18 2007, 12:28 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Nov 17 2007, 06:09 PM)
changing tubes so quickly? better to get someone who is experienced to do the change, since this involves many things like biasing and stuff like that.

My ad30vt is still running fine. I do not plan to change the tube at the moment.
btw, what is biasing? I thought that changing the tube would be as easy as taking out the old tube and putting on a new one? Just like changing a light /lamp bulp? Im new to this hmm.gif

Added on November 18, 2007, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Nov 17 2007, 06:33 PM)
i did tat on the 1st day i bought my amp. lol. terrible hissing with 2 pin socket.  sweat.gif

The computer power cable can fit or not? It has 3 pins kan?

Added on November 18, 2007, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(nerd @ May 10 2006, 11:21 PM)
Ok I think we have enough Vox AD series owners here to open our own thread. biggrin.gif

List of owners:
- nerd - AD30VT
- led_zep_freak - AD50VT
- nick_drake - AD30VT
- sean392 - AD30VT
- jo5h - AD30VT
- PSY84 - AD15VT
- chanti-sama - AD30VT
- dilin - AD30VT
- Reload - AD50VT
anyone who has a Vox AD series report in with your amp model, and I'll update 'em here. smile.gif

Post reserved for owner's list. biggrin.gif

Just notice that the Vox AD owner list needs some updating. Can this thread owner kindly update?
Tq.

Banzai - AD30VT

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Nov 18 2007, 12:35 PM
Banzai_san
post Nov 18 2007, 09:16 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Nov 18 2007, 04:26 PM)
clicky
Heres an article about how to bias and basically what biasing affects in the amp. Truth be told, I'm not sure whether this is relevant or not since our amp is using a preamp tube in the power amp section. Assuming it works like how it should, this should play a role.

Anyway, I'm not very well versed in tube and how amps work, there are people who are better versed than me, so google for more info.

Final note, threadstarted is having finals now. Cut him some slack for the time being. =D

Hope it helps dooooood XD

thanks for the link. Nice reading...
Now Im scared of wanting to change my tube myself. Soo many things to take into account blink.gif . Afraid shorten the life of my beloved ad30vt sad.gif .

Added on November 18, 2007, 9:37 pm
QUOTE(nerd @ Nov 18 2007, 05:07 PM)
ooh, thread back from the dead tongue.gif

owner's list updated!

thanks for updating the Vox AD owner list nerd, but you've missed several names:

Gen-X 's son (ad50vt)
darrencw (ad30vt)
yuejon(ad50vt)
Ryo (ad15vt)
judas (ad30vt)
winkybear (ad50vt)
eye (ad30vt)
antonio (ad100vt ??)
-YS- (ad50vt)
(p/s: I may have missed some names. I didnot checked this thread thoroughly)

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 30 2006, 07:52 PM)
my  son  liked  the  VOX  and  we  decided  to  get  AD50VT over  the  AD30VT  so  that  future  no  need  to  consider  upgrading.

Got  it  for  RM1160  whereas  AD30VT  they  offered  RM870.  Wanted  to  get  the  floor  channel  selector  but  out  of  stock.
QUOTE(darrencw @ Oct 3 2006, 10:54 PM)
muahahahaha i alreayd bought an AD30VT vox wakakakakakak....but i do'nt have a guitar....i just test it out with my friends yamaha cheapo guitar.i gonna get a strat wakakak.
QUOTE(yuejon @ Nov 5 2006, 01:35 PM)
Guess what I did to my AD50VT? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
--- 8< --- snip --- 8< ---
QUOTE(Ryo @ Dec 9 2006, 07:25 PM)
Joining the VOX owner group hehe. just got my AD15VT, spent the whole day playing around with it. this amp is sweet, more than enough for me to practice in my small room thumbup.gif
QUOTE(judas @ Feb 9 2007, 06:28 PM)
Hey dude...i got a VOX AD30Vt as well
wat modification can i make??? the celestion speakers???
QUOTE(winkybear @ Dec 22 2006, 10:34 PM)
^ But doing that voids your warranty...

Btw just got the ad50 last monday smile.gif
QUOTE(eye @ Feb 14 2007, 02:35 PM)
aiyaaaa .. so sad, over the weekend, my newly bought ad30vt "died" on me .... all of a sudden, i smelt a burn and some of the diode lights went out on me sad.gif

just sent it back to ck music; the chap there was very attentive and helpful but ... aiyaaaaa .. my jam session for the cny holidays .. all ruined ......

why so jialakkkkk oneeeeee sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif
aaaaa latest development, the man at ck music, has resolved the problem and called just now. i can collect the unit back!!!!!!!!!!!! first class service, this good fella  notworthy.gif ... i am so very happy:D
QUOTE(-YS- @ Sep 22 2006, 02:09 AM)
haha , i am user of AD50VT now =D haha bought it ady ! Serene sound lor at ss15

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Nov 18 2007, 09:54 PM
Banzai_san
post Nov 22 2007, 10:55 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(judas @ Jul 7 2007, 03:34 AM)
I just wanna ask all the sifus here....
Have anyone changed the 2 pin socket of the amps to 3 pin socket??
I did it and my amp stop hissing...especially when i use single coils...but i dun understand...Does it got to do with those grounding of the amp or something else???

Ive just tried that using my pc power cable and my ad30vt hissing stop/drastically reduce the hissing. I dont have to noise reduce aggressively, even when using hi-gain amp model

Nice tip judas. Thanks for sharing.

~~ Me gonna try find some old pc electrical power source cable to replace my vox 2 pin socket cable. If cant find, kena beli new 3 pin socket cable la...
Banzai_san
post Nov 23 2007, 02:56 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

ermm guys,

I took my vox ad30vt original 2 pin power cable to an electrical shop (me trying to get a 3 pin socket power cable). I showed them the cable and the shop assistant/technician found that my original ad30vt 2 pin power supply cable is 16Amp where as normal power supply cable here in Malaysia is 13A. He said that for a small amp, its ok to use the normal 13A cable. Me not sure (100% confident) though... sad.gif

Do you think that for a 30Watt amp, a suitable 16A power supply cable is required (ie not recommended to use the normal 13A cable)? Or maybe the 16A original cable is a standard which vox use for the 50W and 100W amp and hence they (vox) provide a 16A cable as standard for all their amps?

any comments?

Added on November 23, 2007, 3:00 pm
QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 23 2007, 11:19 AM)
Anybody know where I can try one out in Penang?

anyone from penang can help mr supercolossal?
IIRC, Rene @ Silver Isle auditioned the vox and roland cube in Penang and eventually chose the cube (for the pink color? biggrin.gif ) over vox tongue.gif
But I dont know which shop... sad.gif

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Nov 23 2007, 03:00 PM
Banzai_san
post Nov 23 2007, 10:33 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 23 2007, 05:17 PM)
Thanks alot... anybody can help?

I'm curious about the cables. How does it look like originally? I wonder if those 3-pin plug cables which we use for kettles and PCs would work.

Ive just asked several people (including CK Music's technician) regarding using our normal Malaysian 3 pin socket (13A) with my ad30vt. Replies are should be no problem. The CK technician also said that the vox has its own internal fuse. So should be safe.

After hearing from these guys, I braved myself using an unused normal computer 3 pin socket power source cable and connect my ad30vt to the electrical socket. So far... looks like no problem... and amp hissing reduced drastically icon_idea.gif

nb: I think the cable for kettles is similar to the one for PCs.

(DISCLAIMER: I do not hold any responsibility should any problem arises from using the normal 13A 3 pin socket power cable tongue.gif )

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Nov 23 2007, 10:42 PM
Banzai_san
post Nov 24 2007, 09:35 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 24 2007, 10:04 AM)
I think those kettle cables are rated for higher amperage, so I guess it should be fine.

maybe if somebody can be rajin enough to go to the kitchen, get an electric kettle cable and check the amperage? Should easily be visible on either sockets written something like 13A ~220V. I cant check for you, as we use gas to boil water at home, no electric kettle smile.gif

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Nov 25 2007, 09:44 AM

0.0242sec    1.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:23 PM