Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

mangoman
post Jul 25 2013, 12:11 AM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jul 24 2013, 11:51 PM)
yes, we also got the notice from Petronas about Perunding Ranhill Worley being suspended indefinitely beginning 17 July, both upstream and downstream business.

heard form the grapevine, LEKAS project budget was grossly overrun, and PGB needed a scapegoat to pin the blame to. Ranhill was an easy target.

but Ranhill is appealing now against the suspension. but will Petronas favour its subsidiary or its contractor?  hmm.gif

RNZ wasn't lucky a few years back. They also were suspended and got the stick when another Petronas subsidiary's project went sour.

traditionally, contractors always lost.  sad.gif
And perhaps soon-to-be Aker Subsea. brows.gif
Givmi
post Jul 25 2013, 01:33 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Jul 25 2013, 12:11 AM)
And perhaps soon-to-be Aker Subsea.  brows.gif
Kanowit?

Oh boy...just join Aker Subsea few months only...PM please cry.gif cry.gif

MyRedz
post Jul 25 2013, 02:52 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Jul 22 2013, 04:58 PM)
I bought one 3 months ago. Nadayu 92. 2.5 storeys link. gng with clubhouse. probably one of the last rm600k++ with that kind of characteristics
QUOTE(anarchy04 @ Jul 24 2013, 11:45 AM)
any CSWIP 3.4U holder here?
can i know why u asked?
MyRedz
post Jul 25 2013, 02:53 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(anarchy04 @ Jul 24 2013, 11:45 AM)
any CSWIP 3.4U holder here?
can i know why u asked?
meonkutu11
post Jul 25 2013, 04:03 AM

1,597 posts

Be careful friends...For those who are working on the rigs/platforms please keep focus on the job even though you have to work during Hari Raya...hehehe...

Recent Accident:

http://www.upstreamonline.com/live/article1332936.ece

"Global Hunter also said Walter Oil & Gas reported that the blind shear rams on the rig's blowout preventer failed to close"
KVReninem
post Jul 25 2013, 04:09 AM

IX
5,369 posts

interestingly news about the suspension of RanHill as they about to sail their boat. laugh.gif
missnurul90
post Jul 25 2013, 08:06 AM

Hello, newbie here.
I just finish my study in local uni here in Bachelor Degree in Mechanical Engineering, and only second class upper. I went for my internship just for a short period at Technip KL and learned about design (PDMS) and ended up loving it. I got an interview 2 months back from Petrofac (Mechanical dept) and at the very last stage, I didnt get the job offer. Prolly I didnt do my very best at that point. And now many companies Im applying but no feedbacks so far. I think I just have to wait.. Never giving up! But Im interested to go offshore but since I am a lady, they said I should not do that kind of work. What do you think seniors?

Please tell me if there's any job application anywhere guys. wink.gif
abgkik
post Jul 25 2013, 08:13 AM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Jul 24 2013, 11:47 PM)
Few years back it was RnZ right? Hmm... blink.gif
RNZ now Petrofac yang punya... smile.gif
noruazumi
post Jul 25 2013, 09:07 AM

509 posts

Ranhill downsized from 1200 employees to 600 a couple of months back. Now kena suspend indefinitely and officially by the mighty yellow coveralls pulak. Nasib badaaan... biggrin.gif
rabloo
post Jul 25 2013, 09:26 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jul 24 2013, 07:17 PM)
well...you can try apply for Petronas Art Galeri.  biggrin.gif
Guess what, I have a friend who has a degree in Mechanical Engineering and now works in Petronas Art Gallery, so anything is possible biggrin.gif
k.mark45
post Jul 25 2013, 09:38 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(rabloo @ Jul 25 2013, 09:26 AM)
Guess what, I have a friend who has a degree in Mechanical Engineering and now works in Petronas Art Gallery, so anything is possible  biggrin.gif
people says, follow ur own passion
anarchy04
post Jul 25 2013, 09:52 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(MyRedz @ Jul 25 2013, 02:53 AM)
can i know why u asked?
because I'm planning to go for it, maybe early next year.. Need the course notes... and current market demand.. I heard there a lot of 3.4U holder out there already, so might be hard to secure a job.. dunno true or not..

AMINT
post Jul 25 2013, 11:04 AM

7,446 posts

QUOTE(MyRedz @ Jul 25 2013, 02:52 AM)
can i know why u asked?
Errr. u copied from property talk and pasted it here?
Stamp
post Jul 25 2013, 02:37 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(rabloo @ Jul 25 2013, 09:26 AM)
Guess what, I have a friend who has a degree in Mechanical Engineering and now works in Petronas Art Gallery, so anything is possible  biggrin.gif
well....I knew about the Petronas ARt Gallery from a friend, a graduate of Electrical Engineering, who asked for a transfer to that outift from the Presidents Office.
ch_teo
post Jul 25 2013, 05:10 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 25 2013, 04:03 AM)
Be careful friends...For those who are working on the rigs/platforms please keep focus on the job even though you have to work during Hari Raya...hehehe...

Recent Accident:

http://www.upstreamonline.com/live/article1332936.ece

"Global Hunter also said Walter Oil & Gas reported that the blind shear rams on the rig's blowout preventer failed to close"
it is a warning news for those who always think want to go offshore --> they (especially those who want to be cook at the rig or those fresh grads or not from petroleum engineering background wanna turn to grey side without strong technical in petroleum engineering) have no idea how dangerous the kicks can become if not detected earlier and the hydrostatic pressure of the well and BOP fail.
there are better opportunities instead of go offshore.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Jul 25 2013, 05:11 PM
chuinwern21
post Jul 25 2013, 06:26 PM

26 posts

Hi guys,

today i got a call from OAG Group of Companies to attend the interview for Project Engineer.

Anyone here worked or heard about the company before? It seems there are very limited information available about this company on the Internet, aside from their not-so-convincing company website.

meonkutu11
post Jul 25 2013, 06:40 PM

1,597 posts

Malaysian joint venture allowed back into upstream sector
Australia’s WorleyParsons said the suspended licence of its Malaysian joint venture has now been reinstated, allowing it to conduct upstream activities in the country.

Local media revealed on Wednesday that state regulator Petronas had issued a licence suspension to Ranhill Worley, an engineering company jointly owned by WorleyParsons and Ranhill Energy and Resources.

This effectively banned the company from working in both the upstream and downstream sectors of Malaysia as of 17 July, including participating in any new or ongoing Petronas tenders.

In an emailed statement to Upstream on Thursday, WorleyParsons said resolution had now been achieved with Petronas, providing for the reinstatement of the licence.

However, the reinstatement will only permit Ranhill Worley from conducting upstream activities.

A WorleyParsons spokesperson confirmed on Thursday that the downstream suspension was still in place, although added that “this represents a very small part of the business”.

Local reports suggested the suspension was related to work undertaken on Petronas’ Melaka regasification project, which suffered delays and other issues. However, this has not been confirmed.

MyRedz
post Jul 25 2013, 11:13 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(anarchy04 @ Jul 25 2013, 10:52 AM)
because I'm planning to go for it, maybe early next year.. Need the course notes... and current market demand.. I heard there a lot of 3.4U holder out there already, so might be hard to secure a job.. dunno true or not..
well yeah.i got iv for 3.4 cswip postion holder..for inspection
there sure is demand there
mohamedmun
post Jul 25 2013, 11:56 PM

Hello guys! I'm newbie in here. Enjoy to read all posts in here. Btw on this tuesday I have final interview with position as Field Specialist for Westerngeco Marine Segment. Do you have any tips to pass through this interview? I was informed there also have practical test in the interview. They will provide some kind of equipment to see my common sense to handle mechanical problems. Have any idea what kind of equipment that related with marine seismic stuff? I really need helps.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
chuinwern21
post Jul 26 2013, 12:10 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Jul 23 2013, 03:40 PM)
Guys how do I apply to schlumberger? I did apply online on their website last week, then today I got a reply stating "Your application has been reviewed but we regret that we do not have an opportunity available that fits your qualifications and our staffing needs."

I am a fresh grad in E&E engineering. I applied for the Field Engineer position

Where did you read the reply "Your application has been reviewed but we regret that we do not have an opportunity available that fits your qualifications and our staffing needs." ?

Did you apply through careers.slb.com?

128 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:08 AM