Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

Stamp
post Jul 14 2013, 09:05 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 14 2013, 12:22 PM)
This will be my 16th year in the industry.
I'm in my 21st year in the industry, just barely managed to hit the RMhalf million pa mark. Never work overseas before, but sometimes I wonder how much I'm worth overthere....... whistling.gif
Stamp
post Jul 21 2013, 10:59 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(reddishpink @ Jul 20 2013, 09:52 PM)
Hi Guys,

Anyone know how much is Talisman paying for fresh grad? Got a verbal offer and interviewer said i wont be dissapointed with the salary.

Can anyone describe their working culture, well anything lah about working with Talisman. Office will be at Menara Citibank. Many thanks!
i heard the starting salary is around RM5K. you must have a super high CGPA (more than 3.80) to be offered a fresh grad place in Talisman. the company doesnt recruit many fresh graduates. good for you. congrats.

the company have high expectations from its fresh graduates, of course. the company believes in the saying 'you pay peanuts, you get monkeys'. so it pays high salaries to unproven fresh graduates, so it's hoping to get highly productive young engineers.

good luck. smile.gif
Stamp
post Jul 24 2013, 07:17 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Jul 24 2013, 08:21 AM)
If I study fine arts, will I get a position in Oil and Gas?
well...you can try apply for Petronas Art Galeri. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Stamp: Jul 24 2013, 07:21 PM
Stamp
post Jul 24 2013, 07:21 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(reddishpink @ Jul 22 2013, 12:35 AM)
Are you working with Talisman at the moment? Or have you worked with Talisman before? Can you elaborate on "high expectations from its fresh grad"? As i believe every company has high expectations from their new employee / fresh grads?

And also how would you describe the company culture? Working environment? Is it more or less like Petronas, or more hectic?
just accept the offer and brave the new world of oil & gas. whistling.gif
Stamp
post Jul 24 2013, 11:51 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Jul 24 2013, 11:08 PM)
today "kecoh" Ranhill being blacklisted by Petronas...heard because delayed on LEKAS project...

(^__^)
yes, we also got the notice from Petronas about Perunding Ranhill Worley being suspended indefinitely beginning 17 July, both upstream and downstream business.

heard form the grapevine, LEKAS project budget was grossly overrun, and PGB needed a scapegoat to pin the blame to. Ranhill was an easy target.

but Ranhill is appealing now against the suspension. but will Petronas favour its subsidiary or its contractor? hmm.gif

RNZ wasn't lucky a few years back. They also were suspended and got the stick when another Petronas subsidiary's project went sour.

traditionally, contractors always lost. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Stamp: Jul 24 2013, 11:55 PM
Stamp
post Jul 25 2013, 02:37 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(rabloo @ Jul 25 2013, 09:26 AM)
Guess what, I have a friend who has a degree in Mechanical Engineering and now works in Petronas Art Gallery, so anything is possible  biggrin.gif
well....I knew about the Petronas ARt Gallery from a friend, a graduate of Electrical Engineering, who asked for a transfer to that outift from the Presidents Office.
Stamp
post Jul 28 2013, 09:41 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 25 2013, 06:40 PM)
Malaysian joint venture allowed back into upstream sector
Australia’s WorleyParsons said the suspended licence of its Malaysian joint venture has now been reinstated, allowing it to conduct upstream activities in the country.

Local media revealed on Wednesday that state regulator Petronas had issued a licence suspension to Ranhill Worley, an engineering company jointly owned by WorleyParsons and Ranhill Energy and Resources.

This effectively banned the company from working in both the upstream and downstream sectors of Malaysia as of 17 July, including participating in any new or ongoing Petronas tenders.

In an emailed statement to Upstream on Thursday, WorleyParsons said resolution had now been achieved with Petronas, providing for the reinstatement of the licence.

However, the reinstatement will only permit Ranhill Worley from conducting upstream activities.

A WorleyParsons spokesperson confirmed on Thursday that the downstream suspension was still in place, although added that “this represents a very small part of the business”.

Local reports suggested the suspension was related to work undertaken on Petronas’  Melaka regasification project, which suffered delays and other issues. However, this has not been confirmed.
yes, PRW's license suspension for upstream biz has been lifted. but the suspension on downstream biz is still being enforced.

its' a relief to all PSC operators since they want competitive bids from all the engineering companies. PRW is at par with Technip and Aker, as far as upstream engineering is concerned.
Stamp
post Aug 1 2013, 10:00 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(urbanstripe @ Aug 1 2013, 08:45 PM)
Just would like have some info on the company.

What is the different between the office in mines and office at solaris? Is your housemate in engineering? Hows the environment and career prospect?
the office in mines is for their installation group; i.e. TLOffshore.

the one in solaris; engineering and others.

and i dont work at sapura kencana.
Stamp
post Aug 1 2013, 10:04 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jul 31 2013, 12:39 PM)
I think its quite bias that contractor / fabrication company / client list education background requirement for a certain post i.e. field / project engineer with certain discipline i.e. mechanical engineering background etc. Seeing other discipline from civil/electrical is often sidelined or neglected.

Where the truth is, fresh in the job, these young chaps are on the same platform being new & inexperience & need to be trained regardless of their background.
welcome to the real world, man! brows.gif
Stamp
post Aug 4 2013, 09:58 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(humblebro @ Aug 4 2013, 06:05 PM)
Abgkik joining client? Must be 7 figure irresistable offer... wink.gif all the best to you. (Can i pass my cv to you later?)

Minor correction to ur definition bro: PSC stands for Production Sharing Contracts, not profit sharing. (took a subject on this in my final yr)
He missed out ExxonMobil, a main and long time PSC in the PM area. Lundin came back recently after selling of its PSC to Talisman.
Stamp
post Aug 17 2013, 07:02 PM

4,864 posts

I was recently told that of a basic salary for a fresh engineering graduate working in oil and gas (a PSC in Msia) to be RM6K, which I thought could be the highest salary for a fresh graduate in oil & gas Malaysia.

Any other company offering higher than that?

Im curious to know.

Stamp
post Aug 28 2013, 09:44 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Aug 26 2013, 03:29 PM)
My friend got married, when Gumusut is first cut steel at MMHE. Now he got 3 kids yet still no production.
I believe Petronas will never ever built Semi FPS anymore in this region.  tongue.gif
one year delay due to shell usa screwed up the topside gumusut concept design; they underestimated the topside weight that led to redesign of the pontoons. i was in the "thick of things" during feed design; they found it difficult to admit they were wrong. until today. whistling.gif
Stamp
post Aug 29 2013, 09:32 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(syyang85 @ Aug 29 2013, 12:19 AM)
Who is the consultant?
concept was done in the US.
Stamp
post Aug 29 2013, 09:35 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Aug 29 2013, 11:24 AM)
One does not simply ask another man's salary. That's "Gentlemen Rules".  laugh.gif
Petronas should build another Semi FPS. One Gumusut-Kakap-Style is simply not enough.  laugh.gif
Aik! Macam pisang goreng panas!
BTW, camel_active is a she?  wub.gif

And yeah, anyone cycle around here?  blush.gif
I think Petronas wanted all major types of deep-water production facilities to be built/installed in Msia.

Kikeh is a SPAR, Gumusut a Semi-FPS, Malikai will be a Tension-Leg Platform I heard. I wonder what's next? subsea only?
Stamp
post Sep 1 2013, 08:59 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(syyang85 @ Aug 30 2013, 01:20 AM)
who was the consultant in US?
donno.
Stamp
post Sep 7 2013, 09:58 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Sep 7 2013, 04:48 PM)
Yes correct one of my friend went there at Houstan for FEED. It was wrong design by them after crosschecked by Technip Malaysia as Engineering Consultant. The topside weight was slightly different and therefore the delayed was affected the fabrication for hull at MMHE where they need to increase a little bit on the size due to impact of the topside weight.
The screw up was Shell (or rather it's appointed topside design consultant in Houston) grossly under estimated the topsides weight (close to 4000MT) less if my memory serves me right. This led to redesign of the hulls since there was not enough buoyancy to support the heavier topside weight. doh.gif

We suspected that Shell knew about it sweat.gif when they finished the concept in Houston, and planned to "correct it" during the next phase in FEED which they thought they were going to do in the US and hid the blunder from Petronas. That's why they initially resisted to Petronas' instruction to bring the FEED and detailed design to Msia.

But the rest is history now. brows.gif

Stamp
post Sep 8 2013, 05:42 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ Sep 8 2013, 04:00 PM)
biggrin.gif  same with resak...until now always giving a problem..
resak beranang? masih ada problem lagi? hmm.gif

Stamp
post Sep 25 2013, 05:09 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Sep 25 2013, 09:46 AM)
I wonder do have job available for Quantity Surveyor in O&G field?
A good friend of mine, a QS graduate, is now the Procurement Manager (now they call SCM) in one PSC company.

He started as a contracts administrator (he also doubled as meeting's scriber biggrin.gif ) in one of the local fabricators and worked his way up in a few PSC companies before landing on the current job.

Anything is possible in O&G, you just need to work hard and smart, and build a network of connections. And play golf! thumbup.gif
Stamp
post Sep 28 2013, 09:35 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 25 2013, 10:21 PM)
Just wondering, will structural engineer in oil n gas ,client/epcc(feed) get to go offshore (often)? How hard is it to get Ir if working as structural engineer in, say Technip? thanks notworthy.gif
Yes, structural engineers DO get to go offshore. As a matter of fact, they have to go if there are brownfield works to be done on the platforms. Structural engineers specializing in platforms life extension and integrity study often need to go to the platform to assess the conditions of the ageing structures in old platform. With Petronas' emphasis on brown field rejuvenation projects like the EOR, old and ageing platforms need to have their "lives" extended beyond the original design life. It's a big opportunity for current offshore structural engineers to divert their expertise to this growing field.

Technip has structural engineers with Ir, so there's plenty of opportunities to train under them and work towards your own Ir ship.
Stamp
post Oct 1 2013, 01:54 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Oct 1 2013, 02:16 AM)
yoo long time no see every one here...or rather long time no wifi/cable connection at the rig biggrin.gif

this might sound stupid, but why does a mopu sway like a boat(not as much but very minute ). being the first time being near to a mopu in my fledgling drilling career it kinda startled me since it had all 3 legs preloaded. hmm.gif
coz the MOPU legs are not braced like a fixed jacket, and therefore there isnt enough resistance from lateral movements due to wave/wind loads. but the lateral movement is still within the design tolerance.

0.1070sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:06 PM