Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

k.mark45
post Dec 10 2013, 08:31 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Dec 9 2013, 09:10 PM)
Anybody knows if vibration from virboseis survey can cause damage to nearby property say shop lot / houses?
any vibration frequency do affect on any structure. but it depends the structure's natural frequency.

as if the vibration is equal or similar to natural freq, structure will vibrate uncontrollably unless a damper is introduce.
heliosi
post Dec 10 2013, 09:04 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(acrylic_26 @ Dec 9 2013, 11:38 PM)
I just received invitation 2 days assessment from Petra energy. I searched throughout this forum and findout wunanwarrior question left unanswered. So can anyone please help me with, what exactly they do during this 2 day assessment n other tips. I really2 do need this job to start my career im OnG. thanks in advance sir
Hi Acrylic, may I know what position you applied for? Was it the Fast-Track Engineers/Business Position? If yes, are you from an engineering or business background? I'm wondering if I didn't get through, seeing as you just got a reply
iPad@pple
post Dec 10 2013, 08:02 PM

13 posts

Dear all o&g pros,

Anyone can share with me about "business development executive" and career experience @ Dialogue Asia Berhad.

BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT EXECUTIVE
Responsible :
To handle Business Administration function relation to on-going projects and completed projects
To liaise with internal and external parties to resolve issues related to Business Administration
To prepare or compile reports required by the divisionTo follow-up on sales enquiries
To arrange and schedule meetings or appointment requiring interaction with various internal and external personnel and to coordinate various meetings
To respond positively and professionally to customers' queries and work closely with other departments to resolve issues within the stipulated deadline
To respond to customers requirements and problems solving to achieve customers' satisfaction
To assist Business Development Division on tasks assigned

Many thanks
preakzz
post Dec 10 2013, 08:23 PM

224 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by preakzz: Dec 11 2013, 12:41 AM
elijah3art
post Dec 10 2013, 08:41 PM

61 posts

when i send my resume.. the interview is already prior for FS.. my other friends who got the same degree and similar and even lower pointer for FE and even as Geophysicisist in SLB.
God knows how they are being shortlisted. don't tell me resume cuz i got a longer story than that..

Soony
post Dec 10 2013, 08:52 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(elijah3art @ Dec 10 2013, 08:41 PM)
when i send my resume.. the interview is already prior for FS.. my other friends who got the same degree and similar and even lower pointer for FE and even as Geophysicisist in SLB.
God knows how they are being shortlisted. don't tell me resume cuz i got a longer story than that..
Well from what you say I can only tell that their resume shine better than yours. Long does not mean it's better, though I can't judge much as things are done differently.
nash9701
post Dec 10 2013, 09:09 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,357 posts

Anyone ever heard about Rich Ergon? Or anyone ever work with them or have them to troubleshoot at site? Expert on flanges, gasket, bolt etc.

(^__^)
lifeisgoood
post Dec 10 2013, 10:29 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(elijah3art @ Dec 10 2013, 08:41 PM)
when did u apply?
preakzz
post Dec 11 2013, 10:25 AM

224 posts

What's with FE vs FS? You think you're too good to become just FS when you know the minimum requirement is diploma? Wah wah wah.......

hahahihihehe
post Dec 11 2013, 01:32 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(iPad@pple @ Dec 10 2013, 08:02 PM)
Dear all o&g pros,

Anyone can share with me about "business development executive" and career experience @ Dialogue Asia Berhad.

BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT EXECUTIVE
Responsible :
To handle Business Administration function relation to on-going projects and completed projects
To liaise with internal and external parties to resolve issues related to Business Administration
To prepare or compile reports required by the divisionTo follow-up on sales enquiries
To arrange and schedule meetings or appointment requiring interaction with various internal and external personnel and to coordinate various meetings
To respond positively and professionally to customers' queries and work closely with other departments to resolve issues within the stipulated deadline
To respond to customers requirements and problems solving to achieve customers' satisfaction
To assist Business Development Division on tasks assigned

Many thanks
Dialog? the pay isn't too good i think....
elijah3art
post Dec 11 2013, 07:40 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Dec 10 2013, 08:52 PM)
Well from what you say I can only tell that their resume shine better than yours. Long does not mean it's better, though I can't judge much as things are done differently.
I don't want to put words on this initially but just a little. I sincerely hope resume is the key factor in being shortlisted (at least in this scenario) because it if does, it's something one can definitely improve and no,i don't think i sounded as if my resume are long lmao..
and there are details in our resume but to say certain things would reflect badly upon myself as if i'm bragging. biggrin.gif

Soony
post Dec 11 2013, 07:58 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(elijah3art @ Dec 11 2013, 07:40 PM)
I don't want to put words on this initially but just a little. I sincerely hope resume is the key factor in being shortlisted (at least in this scenario) because it if does,  it's something one can definitely improve and no,i don't think i sounded as if my resume are long lmao..
and there are details in our resume but to say certain things would reflect badly upon myself as if i'm bragging. biggrin.gif
Definitely definitely. Another thing to point out is to always study your employer and tailor your resume accordingly. There is really no point throwing everything in but always be precise and concise in what you want to bring across.

All the best in your career =)
freshie_newbie
post Dec 12 2013, 10:36 AM

13 posts

Hi guys,

I have been offered a job opportunity as entry level engineer in one of major shipyard company. I want to ask if i want to expand my career growth toward oil ans gas industry is this going to be a good start? Or should i seek for a better option? Btw im a fresh grad in mechanical engineering
VWXYZ
post Dec 12 2013, 04:49 PM

122 posts

SOS: The Star
MEngineer
post Dec 12 2013, 07:39 PM

...Look at my stars...
888 posts

QUOTE(freshie_newbie @ Dec 12 2013, 10:36 AM)
Hi guys,

I have been offered a job opportunity as entry level engineer in one of major shipyard company. I want to ask if i want to expand my career growth toward oil ans gas industry is this going to be a good start? Or should i seek for a better option? Btw im a fresh grad in mechanical engineering
I would say it is a good start. Some skills that you learn in the shipyard can be applied in O&G. Based on my experience just take that job first then continue to apply directly into O&G companies. Since you are a fresh grad usually companies won't expect much from your working experience.
freshie_newbie
post Dec 12 2013, 07:56 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ Dec 12 2013, 07:39 PM)
I would say it is a good start. Some skills that you learn in the shipyard can be applied in O&G. Based on my experience just take that job first then continue to apply directly into O&G companies. Since you are a fresh grad usually companies won't expect much from your working experience.
Hi thanks for the advice. and in the meantime I also got an offer from a mnc manufacturing company as a permanent worker and better salary. I know I should not care for the salary much as a fresh grad but would it be better for me to choose the manufacturing company instead of the shipyard company since future ong company (perhaps) that i would like to join doesnt really care about my prior experience? Need some advice on this from sifus smile.gif
orangminyak2013
post Dec 12 2013, 08:37 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(VWXYZ @ Dec 12 2013, 04:49 PM)

SOS: The Star
Which rig does the survivors work on? Thank god all of them are still alive? Another example of how risky upstream is

ultrajack
post Dec 12 2013, 08:50 PM

207 posts

hi, may i know is it possible to switch from downstream to upstream and vice versa? thanks
MEngineer
post Dec 12 2013, 08:51 PM

...Look at my stars...
888 posts

QUOTE(freshie_newbie @ Dec 12 2013, 07:56 PM)
Hi thanks for the advice. and in the meantime I also got an offer from a mnc manufacturing company as a permanent worker and better salary. I know I should not care for  the salary much as a fresh grad but would it be better for me to choose the manufacturing company instead of the shipyard company since future ong company (perhaps) that i would like to join doesnt really care about my prior experience? Need some advice on this from sifus smile.gif
If you apply for a job in big O&G companies like Shell etc, anyone with working experience of 5 and below is considered fresh graduate. Therefore your prior experience is not really the main thing their are looking for at hiring people. Since you are fresh, companies pay more attention to the type of person you are in terms of character and how you carry yourself. Even working 2 years outside you will be competing with people who are just fresh out of university. You will be surprised to find people with mechanical / electrical / electronic degrees doing Petroleum engineering's job in O&G.
freshie_newbie
post Dec 12 2013, 09:47 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ Dec 12 2013, 08:51 PM)
If you apply for a job in big O&G companies like Shell etc, anyone with working experience of 5 and below is considered fresh graduate. Therefore your prior experience is not really the main thing their are looking for at hiring people. Since you are fresh, companies pay more attention to the type of person you are in terms of character and how you carry yourself. Even working 2 years outside you will be competing with people who are just fresh out of university. You will be surprised to find people with mechanical / electrical / electronic degrees doing Petroleum engineering's job in O&G.
I see. Thanks for the advice/info! Its really help me to decide which job offer i should pursue.

128 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Top

0.0362sec    2.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:18 PM