125 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

Pennywise
post Feb 28 2007, 01:58 AM

5,796 posts

What I'd like to know today is whether can dogs differentiate between licking and biting?

My Casper love to lick my fingers. I know human hands got bacteria and germs and I believe many of you will advise me against it. But when he wanna sleep time, I will let him lick my fingers whenever I am with him at night. He loves it.

Sometimes, he lick already, he will try to bite it (possibly to see whether its edible). Then I will grab his mouth, shake his head a bit and say NO BITING! Then, he will shock and then get up and try to put a distance between us. When I ask him to come again, he quietly come again.

So, can dogs differentiate between bite and lick? How to teach him not to bite? Usually I just force him bite his own paw but that does not seem to work.
jootat
post Feb 28 2007, 03:05 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Feb 28 2007, 01:58 AM)
What I'd like to know today is whether can dogs differentiate between licking and biting?

My Casper love to lick my fingers. I know human hands got bacteria and germs and I believe many of you will advise me against it. But when he wanna sleep time, I will let him lick my fingers whenever I am with him at night. He loves it.

Sometimes, he lick already, he will try to bite it (possibly to see whether its edible). Then I will grab his mouth, shake his head a bit and say NO BITING! Then, he will shock and then get up and try to put a distance between us. When I ask him to come again, he quietly come again.

So, can dogs differentiate between bite and lick? How to teach him not to bite? Usually I just force him bite his own paw but that does not seem to work.
LoL ? What's the point for u to let him lick ur fingers leh? If you stop him from doing it, then you mar no need scared he will bite u? Some more u forced him to bite his own paw? sweat.gif what a cruel act wor?
moon*
post Feb 28 2007, 03:09 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

ehh.. mebbe i can chit chat here more often den smile.gif

didnt know there;s a kopitiam for dog lovers here tongue.gif

my rooney loves to bite my arms n starts to chew it a little biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by moon*: Feb 28 2007, 03:10 PM
ihawk98
post Feb 28 2007, 03:27 PM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Feb 26 2007, 10:50 AM)

I bring my Westie out for evening walks every alternate days. When I bring him back, I would wash his feet before letting him in the house. Yesterday, I noticed how black his nails were and I cant seem to clean it off.

So, right now I am looking for a solution - either a shoe or a shampoo / cleaning liquid that's strong enough to remove the stain but yet not hurt him.

Any suggestions?
a Westie's nails are both white and black. there is usually 1 or 2 white nails in the front legs and the rest are black.
MOUSEY
post Feb 28 2007, 04:31 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Feb 28 2007, 01:58 AM)

I believe the dog can differentiate between biting and licking. However, both action are not encouraged due to our surrounding environment that are filled with poison and materials which are not suited for consumption. Anyway it's also not wise to force the pup to bite it's own paw. I mean it's no point doing so as well because they can't associate their paw and your hand.

Presumely your dog is still at an infant stage; they may be just curious and playful toward their surrounding environment. Have you seen how a puppy play with their mother dog ? They'll sometimes *nib the mother dog to encourage the mother dog to play with them. It's just part of growing up for them...

IMHO, What you need to be aware of is the other things they ought to bite apart from your hand (i.e. furnitures, wires and such).

* Nibbing and biting is different. If they really choose to bite or chew on your hand, then it's a different story.

This post has been edited by MOUSEY: Feb 28 2007, 04:35 PM
Digitral
post Feb 28 2007, 06:23 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ May 4 2006, 08:29 PM)
White palace, next time you oughta open a kopitiam shop for doggies. laugh.gif
white palaca ... is true , next time u open a kopitian for doggie and owner can enjoy meal together hahahah !!! i sure go that time =PPP rclxms.gif

RedBox
post Mar 1 2007, 12:40 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Happy Birthday to yooouuuuuuu..... Happy birthday to youuuuuuuuuuuu Happy birthday to....... tongue.gif tongue.gif rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

* May I have my cake now... pleaseeeee..... ?

RB
snowcandy
post Mar 1 2007, 01:01 AM

Peek-a-ish-boo! :D
828 posts

RedBox, is that your dog?
kawaii-desu!
RedBox
post Mar 1 2007, 01:01 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Mar 1 2007, 01:01 AM)
RedBox, is that your dog?
kawaii-desu!
Yes! smile.gif

RB
simchi
post Mar 1 2007, 01:34 AM

Meanie.
820 posts

QUOTE(RedBox @ Mar 1 2007, 12:40 AM)
Happy Birthday to yooouuuuuuu..... Happy birthday to youuuuuuuuuuuu Happy birthday to....... tongue.gif tongue.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

RB
HAPPY BURRRRRRFDAY TO MIKAA !!
RB , you sure that cake is enough for Mika ?

Digitral
post Mar 1 2007, 02:48 AM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

Happy Birthday to yooouuuuuuu..... Happy birthday to youuuuuuuuuuuu Happy birthday to....... tongue.gif tongue.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

RB

]

so cute ur doggie , happy birthday to mika then ^^ got so much present , sure happy then wub.gif

RedBox
post Mar 1 2007, 06:47 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

QUOTE(simchi @ Mar 1 2007, 01:34 AM)
HAPPY BURRRRRRFDAY TO MIKAA !!
RB , you sure that cake is enough for Mika ?
No.. not enough! I sometimes underestimate the size of my dog because I see her everyday. She finished the cake in about 3 bites. I did not give her the frosting.. just the 'inside' of the cake. tongue.gif

RB
Digitral
post Mar 1 2007, 07:54 AM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(RedBox @ Mar 1 2007, 06:47 AM)
No.. not enough! I sometimes underestimate the size of my dog because I see her everyday. She finished the cake in about 3 bites. I did not give her the frosting.. just the 'inside' of the cake. tongue.gif
RB
lol , so good la , your Mika got a good owner , birthday got cake can taste and enjoy tongue.gif ...st benard very big size wan , sure very fast finish the cakes . my lui lui ( miniature schnanuzer ) going to birthday already , thinking of what should i give her as a present haha !!! any suggestion ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Digitral: Mar 1 2007, 08:08 AM

jootat
post Mar 1 2007, 02:56 PM

1,994 posts

RB
lolz ... your dog's life i better compared to mine so many times. I don't even have a chance to received any birthday present and no one even celebrate it with me. Can i just be ur pet ar?? hahaha ... jk btw. And nice to see you treat your dog so nice ... notworthy.gif
M2K2Land
post Mar 1 2007, 03:05 PM

Inevitable 忍者
2,407 posts

Remind me a prince birthday on August 28 .... hahaha... Happy birthday to your furkid !

to : jootat
No need so sad... next time my furkid birthday i invite u also tongue.gif hahaha smile.gif jk jk...
Digitral
post Mar 1 2007, 04:03 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Mar 1 2007, 03:05 PM)
Remind me a prince birthday on August 28 .... hahaha... Happy birthday to your furkid !
No need so sad... next time my furkid birthday i invite u also tongue.gif hahaha smile.gif jk jk...
my lui lui is april 13th ='P hahahhahahaha dunno what present should i buy for my lui lui lah , sigh laugh.gif any sugeestion ah .. my lui lui got lots of clothes edi , so i dun plan to buy her any clothes anymore lol .....she sleep own a pyjamas oso tim =.=

jootat
post Mar 1 2007, 04:41 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Mar 1 2007, 03:05 PM)
hahaa .... thanks to u first .... but make sure u don prepare dog food for me ok?? prepare some human food for me ... hahaa ....
RedBox
post Mar 1 2007, 11:15 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ Mar 1 2007, 04:03 PM)
my lui lui is april 13th ='P hahahhahahaha dunno what present should i buy for my lui lui lah , sigh  laugh.gif  any sugeestion ah .. my lui lui got lots of clothes edi , so i dun plan to buy her any clothes anymore lol .....she sleep own a pyjamas oso tim =.=
More toys for her? I mainly got chewing stuff for Mika. She goes through the nylabone ver quickly but she likes it. If you have a lot of clothes already, I guess get him treats and chewing bones. smile.gif

QUOTE(jootat @ Mar 1 2007, 04:41 PM)
hahaa .... thanks to u first .... but make sure u don prepare dog food for me ok?? prepare some human food for me ... hahaa ....
You'll be surprise at how good some of the food smells. Milkbone smells just like a regular human cookie! tongue.gif tongue.gif

RB
Digitral
post Mar 2 2007, 12:52 AM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

yeah perhaps chewing bone is good enough edi , and many sleeky =.= lol ...!!!
anyway thanks for the suggestion hehe , yeah too many clothes and less wear la ,go out only wear ... tongue.gif
M2K2Land
post Mar 2 2007, 10:20 AM

Inevitable 忍者
2,407 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ Mar 1 2007, 04:03 PM)
my lui lui is april 13th ='P hahahhahahaha dunno what present should i buy for my lui lui lah , sigh  laugh.gif  any sugeestion ah .. my lui lui got lots of clothes edi , so i dun plan to buy her any clothes anymore lol .....she sleep own a pyjamas oso tim =.=
just invite your friend (with dog) and celenrate with ur lui lui. I did this to my prince, I invited 10+ people and come for his birthday party... you might also can invite me smile.gif

QUOTE(jootat @ Mar 1 2007, 04:41 PM)
Hahaha... Dog food prepared... human food also... let you choose... maybe dog food taste nicer smile.gif

125 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:10 AM