5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

RedBox
post May 11 2006, 09:56 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Plus, don't bath your dog too frequently. Use proper pet shampoo. If not you will end up stripping the natural oils from their hair.

RedBox

This post has been edited by RedBox: May 11 2006, 09:56 PM
RedBox
post May 12 2006, 02:53 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

QUOTE(andythology @ May 12 2006, 12:50 AM)
i bath her only once a week.. proper shampoo, proper conditioner.. warm but not hot water... er , wat else...
Not much else.. clean ears, cut nails, brush teeth,...

RedBox
RedBox
post May 15 2006, 09:48 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

I am quoting questions from littlegreen here which was posted at the Pets Picture thread since this Pets Kopitiam will be more appropriate.

QUOTE(littlegreen @ May 13 2006, 12:14 PM)
is it true that st bernard will drool alot...
how to get them not to drool can it be train to not to drool..... maybe next time i ll have one... considering....
and how to u train ur dog where to do his business...
Yes. St. Bernard will drool.. a lot as I have been told. It is their nature so I don't believe you can train them not to drool. Even with my St. Bernard at a young age currently, I keep some napkins/cloth on hand to wipe their mouth, especially after drinking so it doesn't get all over me. tongue.gif

Training a dog to do his/her 'business' takes some time and a lot of patience. smile.gif You can search the Internet and you will see many 'crate training' advice. When your dog is in the puppy stage, keep him/her in a crate when you are not around them. This is to prevent them from 'going' when you are not around. A dog inherent instinct is to keep their sleeping place or 'safe' place clean so they will try not to do their 'business' there. I say that only if you follow a schedule to take them out or they will be force to go when they cannot hold it.

To those that want to scream that it is cruel to keep your dog in a crate, it is not true. You are actually doing your dog a favor by keeping it safe as well while it is still young. You can adjust once your dog has learnt where to eliminate. You must of course take them out often as your dog will need the company. smile.gif

Time your feeding times so you will know when your dog will want to do 'big business' and the 'small business'. Your puppy will want to eliminate after eating, drinking and playing in general. If you know where you want them to eliminate, always take them to the same place all the time and also use words like 'go pee', 'go potty', etc so your puppy can associate those words with eliminating.

Depending on your puppy's age, you may need to take them out often. I take mine out every 2hours 30mins even during the night (so yes I need sleep now.. hehehe tongue.gif) If you take them outside the house and not to a specific spot in your house, be sure to use the same door as well. Your goal is to associate your action, your 'go pee'/'go potty' instructions and timing with their need to eliminate.

Once done, take them in immediately. You do not want to confuse them with 'eliminating time' and 'playing time'.

There will be 'accidents' where your puppy will eliminate at the wrong spot. If you catch them in the act, quickly make a loud noise to distract them (I usually say in a stern voice - 'NO!') and quickly take them to their designated eliminating spot. What you are doing is teaching them to associate their action at the correct spot.

DO NOT GET ANGRY with them if you find their 'accidents' after the fact. Contrary to what many will tell you especially in Malaysia, do not scold them, hit them or god forbid, 'stuff' their face in their urine or feces. All you're telling them is that you're angry at the urine or feces but not the incorrect spot. Just clean up the 'accidents' and keep doing the above.

All the best! smile.gif

RedBox

RedBox
post May 17 2006, 10:05 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

I think this idea is still tough to make it fly for now. Most dog owners I know in Malaysia cook their own food for the pets, do not take it for grooming and rarely take it to actual training classes. It's how the thinking is rather than the government.

Maybe start with a one stop pet shop with food supplies, toys, grooming, training classes, etc. But it may be tough like what crazymouse_yyh said, no support means it will close down very soon. sad.gif

RedBox

This post has been edited by RedBox: May 17 2006, 10:07 PM
RedBox
post May 19 2006, 01:25 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Mine loves to dig too. Currently I sternly keep telling her no! Hoping she would learn soon. They can easily get hook worms by eating soil.

RedBox
RedBox
post May 19 2006, 09:06 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ May 19 2006, 04:06 PM)
Ahaha same to my GR, when i put water in the bowl, he will dig the bowl. All the water come out and he like to play that. Another thing he also like to dig my sister garden... and guess what he found 2 Broken mosaic inside tongue.gif

I hope he can find me some diamond tongue.gif
Now I wish for the same thing too!! tongue.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(White Palace @ May 19 2006, 04:42 PM)
u can try saying a firm "NO!" then bring her to her toy & let her chew & play with her, then praise her a lot. After sometimes she will know eating soils is not happy at all, while playing & chewing toys is a happy thing to do.  smile.gif
That is good advice. I will try it. Thanks. smile.gif

QUOTE(simchi @ May 19 2006, 05:34 PM)
Ya... Fala's always on supervision when she's outdoor ..I know I shouldnt be overly overprotective .
I started participating in the Pets Wonderland forum late. How old is Fala? What breed is she?

QUOTE(laliloo @ May 19 2006, 07:11 PM)
i've been keep doing that but she still keeps going there whenever she's loose.....even if i stay near the pot, she'll act like going other place then suddenly make a run and turn towards the pot and starts eating the soil  sweat.gif  doh.gif
Very playful!! Just like mine... I tell her no and she pretends to run away and lie down... then she will come back, sniff and try to dig again! If I take a step forward, she knows to run away immediately!! Kinda like testing me... hahahah... tongue.gif tongue.gif

RB

RedBox
post May 19 2006, 11:24 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

QUOTE(simchi @ May 19 2006, 10:32 PM)
According to the cert she is about 5 months old , according to the breeder she is 6 months plus , according to my vet she is approximately 7months old . She is a Labrador ..and she loves frenchkiss  biggrin.gif
Heheh... frenchkiss... tongue.gif tongue.gif Slurp!

RB
RedBox
post May 20 2006, 02:08 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

QUOTE(laliloo @ May 20 2006, 02:00 AM)
i dont know how to multi quote....i click the quote button and it became a minus sign....but then nothing happen...
Click on the quote sign and wait for it to turn into a red color quote sign with the minus. Do this on the posts you want to quote. After you have done that, click on 'AddReply' button, rather than the 'Reply' to the last post or any particular post.

RB

This post has been edited by RedBox: May 20 2006, 02:09 AM
RedBox
post May 20 2006, 04:20 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Yeah. If you are doing multiple quotes, use the ADDREPLY button. The one that is on the same line as:

FASTREPLY | ADDREPLY | OPTIONS | NEWTOPIC

RB
RedBox
post May 20 2006, 02:47 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Heading out tomorrow morning for a one week vacation. I sent Mika to a boarding provided by a clinic here. Brought her toys and food for her as well. I am so gonna miss her!!

RB
RedBox
post May 28 2006, 12:23 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Ahh... back from my vacation. I wasn't not able to get an Internet connection so I missed some of your posts while away. smile.gif

QUOTE(simchi @ May 20 2006, 02:55 PM)
Have fun ...how old is eh Mika ? and what breed is eh Mika ?
About 3 1/2 months old now. She is a St. Bernard. I posted her pictures at the pets picture thread if you are interested to see what she looks like. smile.gif smile.gif

QUOTE(laliloo @ May 21 2006, 06:15 AM)
ermmm trying
haha confused me too
thanks alot
how much is the boarding fee per day??

hehe thanks all ^^ >>success!!
Yay! You got the quote thingy!! smile.gif smile.gif

I checked out a few places and finally settled on a clinic/boarding center. Price is US$11 per day for dogs under 25lbs. I didn't ask the price for over 25lbs but I know next time when I take it for boarding again. tongue.gif

QUOTE(White Palace @ May 22 2006, 05:03 PM)
Which boarding clinic is it?
I am in US. It's a local pet clinic here.

RB
RedBox
post May 30 2006, 10:31 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

QUOTE(White Palace @ May 28 2006, 03:00 AM)
oic, so u r American or Malaysian who stay at US?  whistling.gif
Pure Malaysian 'lah'... living in US currently. tongue.gif

RB
RedBox
post Oct 31 2006, 12:00 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Some pictures to share with you dog lovers. A big pet store finally opened where I'm at! I used to pick up dog stuff at another store about 1 hr away so this will be a nice place to have in town. Pictures taken during the grand opening and sales.

Picked up a few free toys, 2 20lb free dog food and bought a bag of treats, some additional toys and treated my St. Bernard to a special spa day (bath, brush, ear cleaning, cut nails, and hair cut). She has a nice coconut smell to her now. smile.gif smile.gif

Rawhide bar and treat bar for dogs!
user posted image user posted image

Biggest Dog and Longest Tail winner. My St. Bernard tail was about 2 1/2 inches shy of third place. sad.gif

Halloween Costume Contest

This post has been edited by RedBox: Oct 31 2006, 12:15 AM
RedBox
post Oct 31 2006, 12:01 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Halloween Costume Contest - continue

This post has been edited by RedBox: Oct 31 2006, 12:05 AM
RedBox
post Oct 31 2006, 12:43 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

It's in Oklahoma US so I didn't think anyone would be near here. tongue.gif
Yeah, the competition were held during the grand opening. Biggest dog, longest tail, best bark, best costume, best trick, pet owner/pet lookalike, etc.

My dog was the biggest until 4 great danes walked in. She immediately retreated to a corner. Heheh... tongue.gif tongue.gif

RB

This post has been edited by RedBox: Oct 31 2006, 12:45 AM
RedBox
post Oct 31 2006, 03:08 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Getting participation will be equally as hard. Everyone is at different locations.

RB
RedBox
post Nov 5 2006, 09:28 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Found a lost dog yesterday! Was about to head out for lunch and found a dog around the front of my house. I looked around but did not see anyone on the street. When the dog saw me, she immediately head over to me and wanted to follow me in the house.

It was getting cold outside so I took her in and gave her food and water. She looks a little dirty so I am not sure how long she has been out. No tags on the collar and I am not sure if it has a microchip. I think it probably belongs to someone around the area so I made 100 flyers with my contact information on it which I will distribute to all the houses in this neighborhood. Hopefully someone will contact me.

Here are some pictures. What type of dog is this?

user posted image user posted image user posted image

RB

This post has been edited by RedBox: Nov 5 2006, 09:43 PM
RedBox
post Nov 5 2006, 10:07 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 5 2006, 09:53 PM)
OMG, that is a black and white border collie.
I thought that was it but wasn't too sure. Thanks for the info. I googled it yesterday and thought it looked a little different. Probably because the ears were down when I took the pictures. smile.gif

http://www.terrificpets.com/dog_breeds/Border_Collie.asp

QUOTE(Peanutz @ Nov 5 2006, 10:00 PM)
Wow! Awesome looking dog there smile.gif

I bet the owner must be having a heartache knowing that it's gone sad.gif Good thing you're doing there RB smile.gif
Well I do hope it belongs to someone. I had to work yesterday so I just kept it in the house. It's early morning now so I am getting ready to go around posting flyers. The dog seems trained. She jumped on the couch yesterday and immediately sat there like she has done this many times! tongue.gif I took her out this morning and she went potty in the yard so seemed potty trained as well. smile.gif

RB
RedBox
post Nov 5 2006, 11:43 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

Whew... got it on maybe 20-30 houses, some community mailboxes and lamp post when it started raining... heavily! sad.gif Gotta come back and wait the rain out. I also need more flyers. Underestimated the number of houses here. I think I'm gonna need 500 - 600 flyers! shocking.gif

RB

RedBox
post Nov 6 2006, 01:12 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

The BC is fine. smile.gif I think I may have to take it to a shelter or something. I have to use Mika's crate to hold her in as I am don't want her to run around an unfamiliar house. That means Mika will not have a crate and I think she is just a tad jealous. tongue.gif I usually put Mika in her crate when I am not home so she can be safe.

I'll keep posting the flyers just the same and inform the owner if he/she calls.

RB

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0551sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:22 PM