Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

jootat
post Jan 9 2007, 02:54 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(RedBox @ Jan 9 2007, 01:47 PM)
Don't believe your vet. Your dog seems naughty or stubborn because he does not know how to behave yet. You have to teach him. Hitting should never be a last option or resort. IT SHOULD NEVER BE AN OPTION.

Think... A person who speaks a foreign language comes up to you and start shouting at you. When you don't understand, he gets angry and starts hitting you. Do you think you will understand better what he is saying then? NO. Of course not.

Pennywise, here is what I have posted before on teaching proper eliminating to your dog. Hope you find it useful.
Your routine is more suitable for a person who are not working. For those who are working, i advice you to think twice whether or not to get a dog. I have planned for a dog long time ago, but until now i still do not own one yet. Simply because i do not have a proper place for him to play around my house, and i m working, so do not have enough time to train or accompany him.

But i do agree with the training methods that you share. I will try it in future when i have my own house and have more free time. smile.gif

Thanks for sharing.
jootat
post Jan 9 2007, 05:37 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(RedBox @ Jan 9 2007, 03:03 PM)
Yes, think properly before getting a dog. I am working but do have family members to help in the beginning stage. It did not take long for her to learn. You will still have to spend time on a schedule if you are working. If you don't then you will come here and complain 'my dog pee poo all over help me!' tongue.gif
RB
Really make sense, if family also don like dogs, then better don have one. If not later anyone of the family members go torture the dog then pain in the heart ... smile.gif
So, if family all love dogs, then really can come out with a nice schedule for the dog to well train them and they for sure will be more disciplined as well. rclxms.gif
jootat
post Jan 11 2007, 06:02 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 10 2007, 09:24 AM)
Hey there, thanks a lot, your post have been helpful. The scenario of someone speaking a foreign language with me then beats me up when I dont understand really help applies more patience in me. I will keep in mind that I will not understand better even if with aggression.
My goodness, you are really lucky. My dog is so bad ass and possibly spoilt. Keep telling him to potty at the newspaper, he either shoot near it, far from it but hardly ever on it. Drives me up the wall. Unfortunately, I dont have time to train him to use our toilet so the newspaper will have to do.
I have given it a thought about a thousand times. I wanted a dog when I was much younger but my mom disapproved saying its fur may cause asthma. Then I waited for many years, even though I never brought it up again, the desire of having a pet was there.

When I was in college, I told my mom again and yet she turned me down again becuase of my baby-sister then. My sister and I are 11 years different, so I was turned down again.

Finally when I started work, with all the house commitment and bills to pay, my mom told me to get my own dog with my own money. So I had to save but it took me a long time to collect the money and to find the right dog because Westies are quite difficult to find in Malaysia and quite COSTLY!

That's how I ended up with Casper, for RM1,600 - he's price tag is considered cheap.

I may be working but I spend time with him, everyday. Even when I got home at 11.00pm, dead tired, I still spend an hour with him before going to sleep. Clean up after him, run around with him, etc. I consider myself to be doing pretty well as a pet owner.

I hope you get your doggy soon! Good luck!

Yea, that's what I heard because Blackwood packs a punch. Not only 1 pet store tell me this but my breeder and another guy name Abias (he studied Animal Science in Canada but from Klang, like me) in Tmn Megah pet store said the same thing. Blackwood is very compact, a lot of nutrition compressed into each bite - content may be too high some times, thus very heaty.

If you're happy with it, then its good for you but right now, I am going with Pro Plan Chicken. Kibbles are like dentabone is it?
Yes, I agree, thats why I spend my last bit of energy with Casper everyday when I get home from work, etc. I hope I manage to house break him asap.
What's 'the super premium'? I will try your way, with salmon flavor Pro Plan after I finish off this pack. I hope my Casper likes fish.
In most cases, even those whose heart has turned to stone can find their heart beating and melting again by dogs. I am sure most will agree with me. Dogs just have a thing to reach out to others, especially when they are clean puppies.

My mom hates dog. My grandma was against it afraid we dont have time to take care of it. End up, now they let the dog out to play more than me. While I am working, my grandma is playing with Casper, letting it run around her tongkat. Watch TV also let him out to sayang him. Mom also, hang clothes to dry time, let Casper out to run around her feet and the puddle of water. Same case happens with my gf's dog and her parents!
Hehe, Thanks for sharing your personal exp. At least now you have your own house, but i m still renting other ppl's house and sharing the house with other ppl. I not sure housemate love dogs or not. So, will not consider any dog for the time being until i finally got my house. but again problem will come, only if i get a landed property, then i will consider for a dog. If stay at condo then will not have a dog again ... haha .. see ... am i a problematic person? Actually, i just want the dog to have a nice environment lo ... haha

Hmm, i totally agree with u, because dog is just too sincere and royal and every human beings surely will like and love them. smile.gif

And btw, don't waste money to get a dog lar ... there are so many dogs out there waiting for a nice owner to adopt them. Why don we give them a home? icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers ...
jootat
post Jan 24 2007, 10:15 AM

1,994 posts

haha ... later ur dog go complain you abusing her then you got sue by court ... haha ... jk btw, against hitting the dog as well. But, if you hit them in a proper way, i think it will bring some good effect for the dog to learn better. No offence, just my piece of oppinion .... laugh.gif
jootat
post Jan 24 2007, 01:08 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(baracuda @ Jan 24 2007, 11:35 AM)
altho i dont spank him now when he was younger his front leg shoulder will kena if he really naughty lol didnt hit his back coz worried he get hip dysplasia next time

btw try this if you have a young dog that might be challenging your authority, when your dog is looking at you, stare him in the eye until he looks away biggrin.gif
I heard about this trick from a professional trainer as well. Look at their eye when u give them order or ask them to perform something. It shows that you are serious and they will respect u. wink.gif
jootat
post Feb 2 2007, 02:56 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(michanz @ Feb 2 2007, 01:52 PM)
my shih tzu die!! T.T
my gfs brother reverse car din see got d dog behind the tyre..

reverse = dog scream = endure one tyre = die

T.T
ohmy.gif sad.gif blink.gif
why don u make sure ur dog is not around the car when someone is driving?? ....
omg !!! .....
This is HUMAN ERROR !!! shocking.gif
jootat
post Feb 28 2007, 03:05 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Feb 28 2007, 01:58 AM)
What I'd like to know today is whether can dogs differentiate between licking and biting?

My Casper love to lick my fingers. I know human hands got bacteria and germs and I believe many of you will advise me against it. But when he wanna sleep time, I will let him lick my fingers whenever I am with him at night. He loves it.

Sometimes, he lick already, he will try to bite it (possibly to see whether its edible). Then I will grab his mouth, shake his head a bit and say NO BITING! Then, he will shock and then get up and try to put a distance between us. When I ask him to come again, he quietly come again.

So, can dogs differentiate between bite and lick? How to teach him not to bite? Usually I just force him bite his own paw but that does not seem to work.
LoL ? What's the point for u to let him lick ur fingers leh? If you stop him from doing it, then you mar no need scared he will bite u? Some more u forced him to bite his own paw? sweat.gif what a cruel act wor?
jootat
post Mar 1 2007, 02:56 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(RedBox @ Mar 1 2007, 12:40 AM)
Happy Birthday to yooouuuuuuu..... Happy birthday to youuuuuuuuuuuu Happy birthday to....... tongue.gif tongue.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

* May I have my cake now... pleaseeeee..... ?

RB
lolz ... your dog's life i better compared to mine so many times. I don't even have a chance to received any birthday present and no one even celebrate it with me. Can i just be ur pet ar?? hahaha ... jk btw. And nice to see you treat your dog so nice ... notworthy.gif
jootat
post Mar 1 2007, 04:41 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Mar 1 2007, 03:05 PM)
Remind me a prince birthday on August 28 .... hahaha... Happy birthday to your furkid !
to : jootat
No need so sad... next time my furkid birthday i invite u also tongue.gif hahaha smile.gif jk jk...
hahaa .... thanks to u first .... but make sure u don prepare dog food for me ok?? prepare some human food for me ... hahaa ....
jootat
post Mar 2 2007, 10:41 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(RedBox @ Mar 1 2007, 11:15 PM)
More toys for her? I mainly got chewing stuff for Mika. She goes through the nylabone ver quickly but she likes it. If you have a lot of clothes already, I guess get him treats and chewing bones. smile.gif
You'll be surprise at how good some of the food smells. Milkbone smells just like a regular human cookie! tongue.gif tongue.gif
RB
i won't be surprise to see ppl eating dog cookies as one of my friend did that infront of me last time. He is also another extreme dog lover and most of his dogs are joining competitions. But long time never contacted him di. hehe ...
jootat
post Apr 27 2007, 04:20 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Apr 27 2007, 03:54 PM)
im a dog lover
but since im a muslim
can watch from a far la

u guys read the newspaper this year and last year
lotsa animal abuse on dogs
i mean today's paper revealed a stray dog being abused...

ikat the badan with dawai besi till its embedded on the skin
chopped off the legs and tail til got maggots
kesian
and the dog had to be put to sleep by SPCA cuz no more harm intended to be done on him
whats gonna happen to these people eh?
darn

i study law and gawk at the malaysian law
too bad for dog lovers to hear all this kan?
perhaps nothing can be done in Law or in Malaysia. But we all humans, and i believe in Balasan .... either he get it in his current life or the next life. So, remember, what u do now, it will come back to u 1 day. Please think before you act .... whistling.gif
jootat
post May 14 2007, 03:15 PM

1,994 posts

just wondering. If let say, a girl like dog a lot. And, her bf decided to propose to her 1 day. Do you think, the bf buy a dog, tight a ring on the dog's neck and handover the dog to his gf and then proposed to his gf. Do u girls think this is romantic?

=== Just Wondering ===

Thanks ... smile.gif
jootat
post May 14 2007, 03:37 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ May 14 2007, 03:30 PM)
sure that's romantic .
but this method i use before hahaha ..and my gf love this method so much ='D
u propose this idea izzit  brows.gif
hahahaa ... i suddenly came accross this idea last nite before i actually slept lar ...
Coz i brought her to the pet shop beside a chinese restaurant after having lunch with my parents (Mother's day celebrations). Then at nite before slept, she got tell me lar ... how nice if she could have that little dog sleeping with her as well.

So, the idea just come accross my mind lo ... But i was like thinking, of course need some flowers, then after that may b i will prepare a dinner for her as well? And the most important thing i think is the contents that we need to present during the proposal.

So, u have any tips? Eh, btw, don get me wrong. I just doing some preparations and homework so that i can be more prepared in future. I just bought a house and it will be completed in 2-3 years time. So, these few years i will try my best to save money and i will get myself ready to propose leow ... keke ...

Since, you used this method before. Mind to share ur exp?
jootat
post May 14 2007, 06:26 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ May 14 2007, 04:29 PM)
wah wah wah...!  shocking.gif
it mean is reli ur propose idea lor . Hohoho . no problem , i sure will share my exp.
well i know my gf love dog so much , and everytime although i went shopping or anywhere , she sure request go to pet shop wan . but then she like those like medium breed or large breed like golden retriever / fox hound / basset hound wan . but she told me like sumtimes what ur g told u . she said : i wish everyday i can hug the dog , and bring her dog go out once she own a dog in this future. i saw she saving money to buy a dog . then i think why dun i bought a dog for her as a surpised. ok , then i love miniature schnauzer very much , i feel if a dog which is like Ms size , then my gf can hug  and bring her go out lor. so i do research and serach a breeder then . but one thing , ur gf like what kind of dog breed oh ?

Hmm , that time is a aninivesary for me and gf together 3 years mar. so i present her a puppy lor ^^ and that time i wasn't buy a puppy from pet shop wo . i ask the breeder do me a favor .i ask him allow my furkid to wear a flower '' hawaii shirt ''( bcuz my gf like hawaii shirt '' ) and then a flower is with breeder . when the breeder come my house which mean is the 1st day i get my pup. my gf ask who is this guy , and the breeder pass me eveything like flower , my furkid as well and i pass it to my gf lor. she was so touched tat time ='D

i think u are doing proposal for future use when u wanna ask ur gf to marry with u right ^^ so good...plan so fast , i wanted to buy a house oso..but then have to save money @@
okok ... i roughly know what is the plan leow ... Thanks for sharing dude. I really appreciate it very very much. But, frankly speaking, i as a guy is not ready for marriage yet. So, i never take any move yet. I do not wan my gf to suffer while i m still working hard earning money. I m not local, so far i m still renting a room only. So, once my house is completed and also finished with renovations, then is the time i going to propose to her. We have been together for the 7th year and i hope she don't mind waiting for another few more years. Really pray hard hard to give her a big surprise.

Oh well, she like miniature schnauzer as well ... hahaha ... Btw, in future i might be bugging u again to get contact with the breeder lo ... haha ... i felt that getting one miniature schnauzer from pet shops is really waste of money lar ... nearly RM 1800 just for a dog. If we get it from breeder should be cheaper rite? Correct me if i m wrong. smile.gif

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ May 14 2007, 05:03 PM)
waa so bad la u all..
wish my bf will do dat 2 me..
he bought me xun2 den start complaining bout everything..

hope he'd propose 2 me like dat too..
although we're engaged, wedding photo oso take jor..
nth better 2 b romantic huh?
Your bf definitely love u ... if not he won't be getting u what u like rite? smile.gif
In fact for all the couples, don ever suspect ur bf/gf don love u ... if they don't love u ... u should feel it and try to work it out asap ...

Ok ... some how it motivates me to work harder now .... hahahaha ... hooray .... rclxms.gif
jootat
post May 15 2007, 10:16 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ May 14 2007, 06:52 PM)
hahahha , jootat if ur gf wan what kind of dog , i can help u find the breeder . Hehehe ='P no problem for sharing . well , 7 years ? wah so long time ='X sure she will wait u wan , even my gf oso dun like marry la LOLLL !!!yea, i oso working hard and save money and wan to buy house for future. pray for u brother , is true if u reli buy a pet is better buy from breeder ,u noe what , pet shop no cert cost rm 1000+ == for a Ms .what the...some even mix breed oso need rm 800+ . well they wan make fast money , but then this pet shop is reli make me sick wan haha , but still lots of couple , bf buy pet for his gf oso , although is xpensive ==...well xpensive nvm actually , but dun have the quality ler --but not every breeder is '' Good '' wan , some is just wan to make money and cheat ppl money but some is concern it quality . well so far i know LYN forum member '' GOOD'' breeder is White Palace ( maltese ) and sx-wayne ( pomerian or golden retriever ).
Okie .... Great Man .... I had bookmark ur name .... Hahahaa .... Hope u will be still active in lyn har ... hehe
But roughly around how much we can get a MS from a breeder?
And my another problem will be, i am going to stay in Condo in future. But i knew condo management sure don allow pets. But i think if we let our pets to stay inside the house then shouldn't be a big problem rite?
jootat
post May 15 2007, 10:53 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ May 15 2007, 10:29 AM)
breeder without cert will be somewhere around RM 700-800 without cert.  With cert, i'm nto sure how much.  And yes, it's not a problem to keep it in condo indoor.  I have MS too and I keep him indoor and I also stay in condo.  I heard that MS is very barky, you teach it not to bark so often lor.  But with my case, my MS is very guai .. can say he don't bark at all unless OVER-HYPER or ppl acceidentally stepped on his tiny feet sweat.gif.  You can sneak it out when u wanna bring it out ma.  I put in my bag when I sneak it out and release him when i'm in the car already.
Ic ic .... how to teach them not to bark so often? Aiyoo ... who so careless and step on his feet lar?? Cannot let it happen leh ... damn pity ....
And do u have any problem with his pee pee and poo poo? Will it make ur house smelly? And how bout his fur? Hard to manage? Will u need to clean up the floor because of his fur?
jootat
post May 15 2007, 04:36 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ May 15 2007, 11:03 AM)
ee..i can get a MS wif mka for rm850 ler..
how come so reasonable price? But if can get cheaper of course better for me ... hahaha ... I m kinda calculative ... sorry yea ... doh.gif

QUOTE(Syrian @ May 15 2007, 11:13 AM)
Personally, with my shih tzu last time, when he barks, I roll up newspaper and bang it loud on the door or his playpen to scare him.  When I bang the newspaper on door, I straight away say "Shhh" or say "NO" in very stern tone lor.  Overtime, he'll learn.  But my MS dun haf this problem at the moment. 

Stepping on his feet .. I stepped twice middle of the nite when I go to toilet coz he's too black and I didn't on the light sweat.gif. And he waited for me at the door there.  When I opened the door, i didn't expect him to be there - so, accidentally stepped on him.  My housemates stepped on him twice too.

Pee poo is still a hassle for me.  I duno how to potty train him.  Will start to train him after my exams - now busy .. hehe.  He will cincai pee poo - mostly in the living room.  But sometimes he goes to the newspaper himself.  So, i also dunno why he do that -  sometimes pee poo on newspaper, sometimes everywhere.

When the breeder gave me NutriEdge - yeap .. whole house smelly tongue.gif.  The smell if unbearable and he himself also kenot tahan.  He'll wake me up middle of the nite to clean up his mess.  But after i change to Blackwood, no mroe this problem.  His poops no smell at all - totally odorless.  Depends on what food you feed your dog.  Personally, I would recommend Blackwood lor.

Lastly, he din shed wor.  I didn't find any of his fur on the floor yet.  I groom him once in every two days.  Sometimes, when i'm busy, then I'll only groom him once a week and so far, his hair neva tangles before.  And dun worry, MS shed little to no fur tongue.gif  I bath him every week and i clean his ears (2 -3 days once) and I removed his "tahi mata" everyday.
Okie ... nice tips tough ... btw, do u all have nice nice photo of ur MS to show me? hehehee ... pls ?? Thanks thanks in advanced.
jootat
post May 16 2007, 10:43 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ May 15 2007, 05:25 PM)
hahaha i active in schnauzer thread now ='D cuz now got more schnauzer owner >.< that's good hehehe .  next time can have schnauzer gathering right ='X hahha roughly u can get a schnauzer with cert is rm 1000-rm1300 from breeder . but mine furkid's breeder no more doing this bussiness lor , but jootat i can help u find a good breeder wan .well , crazymouse_yyh told me that a breeder selling a Ms which is only rm 550 with cert !!! but from melaka la . i have sms him / her then if buyer need to buy have to come melaka and pick up the Ms haha. here is the website http://www.adpost.com/my/pets/7154/

stay in condo can have pets , but by law i think they not allow la . but if didnt make any noise...like didnt simply bark i think neighbour will not blame to management lor.i think if u wan see schnauzer pic ar, i think all of us been post up lots at schnauzer thread ='X cool.gif  have a look there buddy
hmm ... the price is really damn attractive ... i don mind driving down to Melacca if this is the right timing for me to get a pup ... but now is not the time yet ... Because we can plan a trip there and then get the pup as well ... so, it make sense lar ....

I will go and take a look on more photos there ... smile.gif

QUOTE(Syrian @ May 15 2007, 11:54 PM)
K .. my male Schnauzer, Hepy.. (showing pics to Jootat) ..
Hi Syrian, THANKS !!! .... COMEL !!! ... CUTE !!! ... ahahahahaha .... is this the matured adult size already? How come slightly different from the one we saw in the pet shop one? I saw at the pet shop the leg is longer. And slimmer ... so not so cute one ... hahaa ....
jootat
post May 16 2007, 05:07 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ May 16 2007, 11:05 AM)
oh gosh jootat on his mission d!!!
gogogo!

remember bring bac those lovely photos ya..
omg ... tak boleh lar ... even though im on fire now ... it breaks my plan if i get the pup now ... arhhh ... tiga tahun lagi !!! ... gosh .... i wish tomorrow i wake up ... it is year 2010 ... hahahaha .... gosh .... i can't stop reading single thread u all posted in http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/355358/+240 i just reached page 13. I still need to work while reading all the posting .... curi curi read only ....

QUOTE(Digitral @ May 16 2007, 01:41 PM)
ya , the price is reasonable . u can consider and call him/her 1st , and u r romantic la buddy , u reli can go Melaka like a trip and give a surpise to ur gf ar ='X cool man , so far ur gf is now working or studying . if studying i think still got the time to take care pup wan ^^ if working oso can , see how 2 arrange the time . hope u can buy the pup oso ^^
Oh ... both of us are actually working jor ... hahaa ... But i m very sure we will have the time to take care of the pup ... But during working hours the pup probably have to be lonely a bit lar ... But in future my Gf's sis is gonna staying with us in my new house. She is another extreme dog and cat's lover.

Romantic? Everyone can do that dude ... Even urself will do that i believe. U love the ppl around you like how u love ur MS ... smile.gif ...
Some more it is very convenience for me since i have my own car and i m staying in KL. So, KL --> Melacca still consider very near jor ... smile.gif

Last time i thought of going to Hatyaii getting the dog. Because my hometown is from Alor Setar Kedah. If get the dog from Hatyaii the price is very cheap. But, now i don support such approach anymore. Last time still young ... donno how to think ... So will thought of that. Because now i felt it is very cruel to get a pet from Thailand to Malaysia. U have to let ur pet take some drugs and let them sleep inside the place u keep the spare tyres? Quite cruel actually. The success rate is high but still certain % of the dog will slept forever and never wake up.

And ur furkid really look like Uncle Santa ... hahaa ... old man .... hahahaha

QUOTE(Syrian @ May 16 2007, 03:59 PM)
Nope.  He's not adult size yet.  Still a puppy - only 3 months old but highly intelligent although kinda stubborn tongue.gif.  Need to have treats to bribe him...hehe.  And he looks different from pet shop coz he's FAT! yawn.gif
Weiiii ..... Your Hepi hor !!! ... Ju guah ju chuuu biii lar .... (Hokkien) .... The more i look at it the more i felt it is very very cute !!! .... omg !!!

This post has been edited by jootat: May 16 2007, 05:10 PM
jootat
post May 17 2007, 10:59 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ May 16 2007, 09:12 PM)
hahahha , shnauzer is the trademark like ah pek wan . that's why i love it ='D
huh? if buy pets from thailand then have to let them take drugs wan a? true?

picture show Lui Lui ( my furkid ) and white palace's ( Angel )
Your Lui Lui really macam ah pek lar .... If you didn say she is a girl i will assume she is a guy di .... hahaha ...

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ May 16 2007, 09:20 PM)
The taking sedatives to make the dog sleep and hiding in the car trunk is illegal way of bringing in dogs..... so there is a risk of puppies dying that way. The correct way is getting import and export permit as well as health papers.... cost a bit of money.... and in the end plus quarantine, all together the price becomes more expensive than buying a dog here, unless there is a particular breed that is expensive here and cheap in thailand.... then it is worth it going through the legal process.
Yupe ... some kind of sleeping pills lar ... if over dose then mar sleep forever and never wake up lo ... And the pup there only cost around RM 100 - 150 only. So, a lot of ppl still will do this kind of illegal thing ...

QUOTE(nairud @ May 17 2007, 12:09 AM)
dogs are natural swimmers if they are not afraid of water. Dookie first time got into a lake and just started swimming by himself. lol.. i almost wanted to jump inside just to make sure he doesnt drown doh.gif
Any dogs also can swim? hahaa ... Can MS swim as well? May be we can we can train them in our hoouse first. Put them into the bath tub first ... hahahaa ...

Added on May 17, 2007, 11:03 am
QUOTE(nairud @ May 17 2007, 09:31 AM)
JRT Swimming

eh btw, from the video clips ... i don think the JRT just swim ... It dive too if not mistaken ... ahhahaha ... Cute ....

This post has been edited by jootat: May 17 2007, 11:03 AM

0.0555sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:03 PM