125 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

Pennywise
post Jan 21 2007, 11:03 PM

5,796 posts

I got two questions...

1. My Westie's ear... one side up, one side down. Will the one down ever come up? Any precaution I have to take?

2. When shower puppy, can we shower the face? Or keep the water away from the face and shoulder/neck down only?
slsl
post Jan 21 2007, 11:24 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 21 2007, 11:03 PM)
I got two questions...

2. When shower puppy, can we shower the face? Or keep the water away from the face and shoulder/neck down only?
i saw a book once.. it says that we should shower the neck down 1st... then shower the head after u r done with the neck down... n remember to prevent water from going into its ears... must use cotton bud to gently clean its ear after shower.. cuz it's a bit damp.. easier to clean...

for my experience i know that everytime if my dog's head kena water... it sure will shake it's body... so better shower the neck down 1st... so it wont shake so much... if u shower the head 1st... then it sure will keeps shaking even when u r bathing its body...

This post has been edited by slsl: Jan 21 2007, 11:24 PM
TSWhite Palace
post Jan 22 2007, 12:11 AM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

I got two questions...

1. My Westie's ear... one side up, one side down. Will the one down ever come up? Any precaution I have to take?

You should feed good quality dog food, lack of nutritions such as protein might not help u see, but it is common for puppy ear to raise one by one.

We have to shower the face, for westie which has a longer nose, put your finger across the nose, press the face down then shower, means the water will flow across your hand not towards the nose.

Pennywise
post Jan 22 2007, 12:12 AM

5,796 posts

Here is some picture of my Westie. Brought him home for 20 days liao and now only wanna post picture.

Casper, blur to the max as the first time he met Mr. Camera.

Sleepy?

That is his tongue.

The way he sit... Abnormal ke?

Editted for thumbnail posting.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jan 22 2007, 12:25 AM
slsl
post Jan 22 2007, 12:20 AM

153 posts

ahhh... cute!!!!....
n ur dog is white... n clean...
2 of my dog is pure white too... the mother n the pup...
but the mother i dun keep indoor cuz it's very dirty... doesn't care bout keeping itself clean.. it can sit on top of its own pee... disgusting...
sometimes when my parents forgot to lock her up when they open the gate... it would quickly run out to play....
its white when it went out... but when it comes back.. become partially black...
geram aku..... vmad.gif

This post has been edited by slsl: Jan 22 2007, 12:20 AM
wizardboy
post Jan 22 2007, 01:19 AM

436 posts

pennywise,
finally you post picture of Casper. Handsome fella.
btw, my Trump was away on Saturday nite with my and my gf at my aunt's hse (we overnite and Trump too) guess what, he only missed once (pee and a poo) on the carpet. the rest he did it on newspaper.
well perhaps those rm20+ bottle of House Breaking might help.
give it a try smile.gif
all the best
Pennywise
post Jan 22 2007, 07:56 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(wizardboy @ Jan 22 2007, 01:19 AM)
pennywise,
finally you post picture of Casper. Handsome fella.
btw, my Trump was away on Saturday nite with my and my gf at my aunt's hse (we overnite and Trump too) guess what, he only missed once (pee and a poo) on the carpet. the rest he did it on newspaper.
well perhaps those rm20+ bottle of House Breaking might help.
give it a try smile.gif
all the best
I dont mind giving it a try... What brand is it or what is it called? Let me know. Thanks.
MOUSEY
post Jan 22 2007, 08:25 AM

59 posts

I got two questions...

My Whiskey had it's own ears going up one by one but we did help him a little by shaving the hair behind the ears as to reduce the weight to the ears while letting the veins grow. If you wish to do so, the groomer may be able to help. We did it ourselves by using my shaver's sideburn trimmer and trimming it bit by bit. Works though. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(slsl @ Jan 22 2007, 12:20 AM)
ahhh... cute!!!!....
n ur dog is white... n clean...
2 of my dog is pure white too... the mother n the pup...
but the mother i dun keep indoor cuz it's very dirty... doesn't care bout keeping itself clean.. it can sit on top of its own pee... disgusting...
sometimes when my parents forgot to lock her up when they open the gate... it would quickly run out to play....
its white when it went out... but when it comes back.. become partially black...
geram aku..... vmad.gif
Hahaha... maybe you want to bleach your dog after the trip outside tongue.gif
Pennywise
post Jan 22 2007, 10:40 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(MOUSEY @ Jan 22 2007, 08:25 AM)
My Whiskey had it's own ears going up one by one but we did help him a little by shaving the hair behind the ears as to reduce the weight to the ears while letting the veins grow. If you wish to do so, the groomer may be able to help. We did it ourselves by using my shaver's sideburn trimmer and trimming it bit by bit. Works though.  icon_idea.gif
Hahaha... maybe you want to bleach your dog after the trip outside tongue.gif
Casper's fur hair has already been trimmed by the breeder when I bought him,
casablanca2
post Jan 22 2007, 11:46 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 22 2007, 07:56 AM)
I dont mind giving it a try... What brand is it or what is it called? Let me know. Thanks.
i get it from pet safary. the brand is four claws i think.. they named it housebreaking aid. white spray bottle.
baracuda
post Jan 22 2007, 11:59 AM

20 posts

my komens

why want to hit the dog or puppy with objects? just use your open palm and slap his bum and or make your voice a little louder and say NO!! dog is not stupid they will know they did something wrong and you are angry. also please consider if its still a puppy dont expect for it to listen to you 100%. you think a 5 year old child can do army drilling or marching? sure they get bored. they just want to play.

one ear tilting down is by nature. human got mole here and there. face also different. some like model some so so only. need to change?

teach your puppy to sit sure la must use your hand to push his backside down into sitting position at first. if i just tell you abracadabra you know what to do? but if i say abracadabra and push your ass into the chair to sit sooner or later you will know abracadabra means sit in the chair tongue.gif

This post has been edited by baracuda: Jan 22 2007, 12:04 PM
aragorn2976
post Jan 22 2007, 07:23 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(baracuda @ Jan 22 2007, 03:59 AM)
my komens

why want to hit the dog or puppy with objects? just use your open palm and slap his bum and or make your voice a little louder and say NO!! dog is not stupid they will know they did something wrong and you are angry. also please consider if its still a puppy dont expect for it to listen to you 100%. you think a 5 year old child can do army drilling or marching? sure they get bored. they just want to play. 

one ear tilting down is by nature. human got mole here and there. face also different. some like model some so so only. need to change?

teach your puppy to sit sure la must use your hand to push his backside down into sitting position at first. if i just tell you abracadabra you know what to do? but if i say abracadabra and push your ass into the chair to sit sooner or later you will know abracadabra means sit in the chair tongue.gif
Hmmmm... One dog trainer suggested to use a rolled up newspaper to hit rather than using your own hand. Anyway, think about it-la, if you use hand, your hand might sakit oso-ma. tongue.gif

Anyway, the dog trainer said that don't hit the pup too hard, but just a bit at the strategic places where he might feel pain. I tried that with my dog and it works! Of course, you must use a low and growly voice to let your dog that you mean business!

Now, when she sees me roll up the newspaper, she'll be very kwai and stop whatever she is doing and go in the house to hide. laugh.gif

My dog's right ear is pricked, just like her mom. It was funny seeing it start to get pricked at 4mths when her breed doesn't have pricked ears. Anyway, it is part of nature. Some people say that she's not up to breed standard but who cares because I don't intend to showcase my dog. tongue.gif

My mom jokes about fixing her ear with plastic surgery and even our vet also joked about it too. Of course we won't do that or else, she won't be the Snoopy we all love. tongue.gif

Anyway, don't worry about the ears being pricked or not, unless you plan to put your dog through shows.
baracuda
post Jan 23 2007, 10:41 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(aragorn2976 @ Jan 22 2007, 07:23 PM)
Hmmmm... One dog trainer suggested to use a rolled up newspaper to hit rather than using your own hand. Anyway, think about it-la, if you use hand, your hand might sakit oso-ma. tongue.gif

your hand sakit means youre hitting too hard la tongue.gif
anyway i havent hit my dog for many many years already. but he didnt give me any reason to also biggrin.gif

TSWhite Palace
post Jan 23 2007, 12:44 PM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

Sometimes hitting might bring negative effect, but doing it at the right time & with appropriate manner might help, though not everybody agrees that it is the best way.

For example if we were to hit a dog when he simply pee or poo, then the dog might misinterpret that it is wrong in your eyes to pee & poo, so they might hide when pee or poo or wait until you cant see him, means more headache.

So always make sure your dog will understand before proceed with any sort of punishment.
aragorn2976
post Jan 23 2007, 07:43 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(baracuda @ Jan 23 2007, 02:41 AM)
your hand sakit means youre hitting too hard la tongue.gif
anyway i havent hit my dog for many many years already. but he didnt give me any reason to also biggrin.gif
Hehehehehe... Do not hit in anger, just hit to warn, right? icon_idea.gif

Anyway, if you hit at a strategic place like the leg, they can feel a slight pain and so, know that you mean business. tongue.gif
RedBox
post Jan 24 2007, 05:59 AM

Folding@Malaysia Team
3,043 posts

I am one that is against hitting. I think the problem lies with the owner not being able to train the dog properly.

RB
jootat
post Jan 24 2007, 10:15 AM

1,994 posts

haha ... later ur dog go complain you abusing her then you got sue by court ... haha ... jk btw, against hitting the dog as well. But, if you hit them in a proper way, i think it will bring some good effect for the dog to learn better. No offence, just my piece of oppinion .... laugh.gif
baracuda
post Jan 24 2007, 11:35 AM

20 posts

altho i dont spank him now when he was younger his front leg shoulder will kena if he really naughty lol didnt hit his back coz worried he get hip dysplasia next time

btw try this if you have a young dog that might be challenging your authority, when your dog is looking at you, stare him in the eye until he looks away biggrin.gif

jootat
post Jan 24 2007, 01:08 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(baracuda @ Jan 24 2007, 11:35 AM)
altho i dont spank him now when he was younger his front leg shoulder will kena if he really naughty lol didnt hit his back coz worried he get hip dysplasia next time

btw try this if you have a young dog that might be challenging your authority, when your dog is looking at you, stare him in the eye until he looks away biggrin.gif
I heard about this trick from a professional trainer as well. Look at their eye when u give them order or ask them to perform something. It shows that you are serious and they will respect u. wink.gif
aragorn2976
post Jan 24 2007, 08:14 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ Jan 24 2007, 05:08 AM)
I heard about this trick from a professional trainer as well.  Look at their eye when u give them order or ask them to perform something.  It shows that you are serious and they will respect u.  wink.gif
Body language is very important. Intonation is important as well. You need to speak in a low, commanding tone while looking in your dogs' eyes so that they'll know its serious.

I give a slight tap on her hind leg to just give her a little "shock". Never smack her hard because it will just hurt me...

125 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 02:12 AM