125 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

TSWhite Palace
post Jan 13 2007, 12:29 PM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

QUOTE(AngelToh @ Jan 12 2007, 11:40 PM)
Really? Garlic helps? I didn't know that..But as for me, I got a flea solution from the vet, it's quite good and effective. I don't know what's it called becos there's no label on it. The smell is very strong..some sort like termite medicine or something. It's used after bathing the dog, and then mix some water to the solution (cos it's very concentrated) and bathe the dog with it. No need to rinse off.
Oh, those normally packed into bottles without brand one actually is "Tactic" if i din spell it wrongly, it comes in a big bottle, so normally vets & petshops will repack it.
avenger
post Jan 13 2007, 09:28 PM

What is there to put here?
1,467 posts

today morning this little puppy came to find its father (its a female puppy). early morning wake up see a puppy beside my dog. rupa rupanya my dog got a cute daughter after became rapist few months ago tongue.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Motorbaby
post Jan 13 2007, 09:36 PM

2,126 posts

u need to feed him more food,pity it.
avenger
post Jan 13 2007, 09:41 PM

What is there to put here?
1,467 posts

QUOTE(Motorbaby @ Jan 13 2007, 09:36 PM)
u need to feed him more food,pity it.
not yet feed it with milk, the mother donno where edi tongue.gif nvm la, it will be sharing big meal with my dog tonight biggrin.gif
Pennywise
post Jan 14 2007, 01:01 AM

5,796 posts

When you guys reward your dog with treats when they are obedient or potty at the right places, what kind of treats do u feed him? Please share with me...
ihawk98
post Jan 14 2007, 08:02 AM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

treats for my dog are either Greenies or a cube of Laughing Cow cheese...
almaty
post Jan 14 2007, 12:13 PM

944 posts

this is how i train my pup last time...

- when he pee at the wrong place like in your living room carpet lol
take a piece of newspaper and soak a lil of his pee up and let it dry

-next time after he finish eating, leash him to the place u want him to do his business eg toilet and lay that piece of newspaper with stained pee plus other newspaper and leave him there until he does his business

make sure where u want him to do his business is not near where he eat biggrin.gif and once he does it at the correct place...praise him a lot...

henggy
post Jan 14 2007, 06:38 PM

32 posts

is it ok for pups to be scrathing his body around? most of the nite my pup will scratch or bite bite his leggy or his ear during the nite.... is it normal to do so? i cant find any fleas or injured mark or any skin problem around the area he scratch or bite >.<
TSWhite Palace
post Jan 14 2007, 10:56 PM

2,309 posts

What kind of dog food you feeding? Sometimes it might due to allergic towards certain ingredients of a dog food.
Pennywise
post Jan 14 2007, 11:23 PM

5,796 posts

I think I am going to change my dog food from Pro Plan to Nutri Sauce, just came back from a Pet Store, they told me that Pro Plan and many other brands use the internals of the chicken and etc to grind into these dogs biscuits meanwhile Nutri Source is pure meat only, no intestine, liver or internals or chicken / beef / lamb. Super premium.
henggy
post Jan 15 2007, 01:25 AM

32 posts

using blackwood 3000
TSWhite Palace
post Jan 15 2007, 11:50 PM

2,309 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 14 2007, 11:23 PM)
I think I am going to change my dog food from Pro Plan to Nutri Sauce, just came back from a Pet Store, they told me that Pro Plan and many other brands use the internals of the chicken and etc to grind into these dogs biscuits meanwhile Nutri Source is pure meat only, no intestine, liver or internals or chicken / beef / lamb. Super premium.
It called by products, it is commonly believed that since we human do not eat these internal thingys since it is deemed unhealthy, we should also avoid such ingredients for our dogs.

QUOTE(henggy @ Jan 15 2007, 01:25 AM)
using blackwood 3000
Me also feeding blackwood, so far so good, satisfied with it.
Pennywise
post Jan 16 2007, 12:36 AM

5,796 posts

Oh yea, by-product is the word for it. Thanks for clarifying.

I already connect 3 pieces of play pen to my cage for extension. Put papers there so he can pee and poo on it but he bite it on random and shred it to bits. Then he try his best not to pee or poo there because its still considered his home-ground... Tahan until come out, potty on the floor mat, AGAIN!

Frust!!
wizardboy
post Jan 16 2007, 02:09 AM

436 posts

Pennywise,
i tried recently to go for soft therapy on my male maltese. it seems to work on him. i know it looks real silly to talk to a dog but he really understood me. he knows the word pee / poo. so i will bring him to the newspaper n tell him to pee n poo there. he could easily recognise the place in smaller area say a size of a room but once in hall, he'll get excited and since he's still a pup, he could not hold on to his bladder. when u praise him that he did good job on newspaper, he will be really happy n give we him treats. well, it works on me but my only problem, he still do his biz in toilet ! and guess what, my cat learns to pee and poo on newspaper from my maltese male ! can u imagine the smell ?!#@!
M2K2Land
post Jan 16 2007, 11:44 AM

Inevitable 忍者
2,407 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 14 2007, 11:23 PM)
Sometime you need to try out which is best for your dog. However please choose those Holistic food brand smile.gif
MOUSEY
post Jan 16 2007, 11:59 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 16 2007, 12:36 AM)
Oh yea, by-product is the word for it. Thanks for clarifying.

I already connect 3 pieces of play pen to my cage for extension. Put papers there so he can pee and poo on it but he bite it on random and shred it to bits. Then he try his best not to pee or poo there because its still considered his home-ground... Tahan until come out, potty on the floor mat, AGAIN!

Frust!!
Erm... remember that post where I recommend you to put a rubber mat on top of the newspaper ?

There are actually a few uses of it;

1) It's to prevent the furkid to reach onto the newspaper and tear it into bits.
2) The mat will not contain liquid hence all the pee would be drenched beneath to the newspaper
3) The mat can retain the smell of the poo/pee in which the pup would go back there for it's business again
4) If you do not have a scoop to scoop up the poo, you can lift the whole mat and empty it over the toilet bowl (Consider the fact that the stool is hard)

Of course you may need to rinse the mat from time to time if you are about to keep the mat indoor.

What's more, I am thinking of placing the mat over a container instead of a newspaper so that I wont need to change the newspaper. (Recycle mah)
Pennywise
post Jan 16 2007, 02:13 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(wizardboy @ Jan 16 2007, 02:09 AM)
Pennywise,
i tried recently to go for soft therapy on my male maltese. it seems to work on him. i know it looks real silly to talk to a dog but he really understood me. he knows the word pee / poo. so i will bring him to the newspaper n tell him to pee n poo there. he could easily recognise the place in smaller area say a size of a room but once in hall, he'll get excited and since he's still a pup, he could not hold on to his bladder. when u praise him that he did good job on newspaper, he will be really happy n give we him treats. well, it works on me but my only problem, he still do his biz in toilet ! and guess what, my cat learns to pee and poo on newspaper from my maltese male ! can u imagine the smell ?!#@!
What is a soft therapy? I have no idea whats that man... But its amazing that your cat can follow after your maltese!! My puppy, Casper still have this mentality that the newspaper within the cage is 'his clean territory'. Still cannot register that newspaper are for peeing and pooing.

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Jan 16 2007, 11:44 AM)
Sometime you need to try out which is best for your dog. However please choose those Holistic food brand smile.gif
Apa dia Holistic food brand? Tak faham...

QUOTE(MOUSEY @ Jan 16 2007, 11:59 AM)
Erm... remember that post where I recommend you to put a rubber mat on top of the newspaper ?

There are actually a few uses of it;

1) It's to prevent the furkid to reach onto the newspaper and tear it into bits.
2) The mat will not contain liquid hence all the pee would be drenched beneath to the newspaper
3) The mat can retain the smell of the poo/pee in which the pup would go back there for it's business again
4) If you do not have a scoop to scoop up the poo, you can lift the whole mat and empty it over the toilet bowl (Consider the fact that the stool is hard)

Of course you may need to rinse the mat from time to time if you are about to keep the mat indoor.

What's more, I am thinking of placing the mat over a container instead of a newspaper so that I wont need to change the newspaper. (Recycle mah)
I know, those plastics like non slip mat right? I will get one of those too. So after all that, when you set your puppy out, he knows how to get to the newspaper to do his biz?
aragorn2976
post Jan 16 2007, 02:39 PM

176 posts

My dog had the same problem with pee/poo on newspapers too when she was a pup.

It turned out that her mom taught them to do their business outside the cage!! biggrin.gif

Anyway, whenever she did something wrong, we would scold her in a stern voice while we're cleaning up the pee/poo. (She's kepo and so, will stick around to see what we're doing)

We praised her lots when she did her business outside. As it turns out, she has trained us to when she wants to go business!! She would bark & spin/turn in front of the door to ask us to open the door for her to go out. We praised her and gave her treats - Begging Strips

Here's a tip, if you can get a cage which has a plastic container placed on the bottom of the cage, it would be great because it catches all the pee/poo. It really did help out when Snoopy was in the cage and had to do an emergency pee/poo. We got one with rollers as we need to move the cage around a bit. It should cost from RM80 and above. Shop around...

Anyway, since Snoopy grew up, she doesn't do any pee/poo in the cage anymore. She will hold until we release her from the cage to do her biz in the garden. rclxub.gif

Be patient, if your puppy is about 4-5mths old, this is the time when they are learning to control their bladder. If they're excited, they'll "release" a little bit of pee. In fact, sometimes, when Snoopy gets really excited, she accidently releases some pee as well. laugh.gif

Good luck!
nairud
post Jan 16 2007, 05:36 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

aragorn, didnt know you're here too tongue.gif
MOUSEY
post Jan 16 2007, 06:27 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 16 2007, 02:13 PM)
What is a soft therapy? I have no idea whats that man... But its amazing that your cat can follow after your maltese!! My puppy, Casper still have this mentality that the newspaper within the cage is 'his clean territory'. Still cannot register that newspaper are for peeing and pooing.
Apa dia Holistic food brand? Tak faham...
I know, those plastics like non slip mat right? I will get one of those too. So after all that, when you set your puppy out, he knows how to get to the newspaper to do his biz?
Yup, the mat is where all the businesses are done. laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:38 AM