66 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Haswell, Devil's Canyon, Pentium G3258 OC V1, 4790K/4760K/4770K/4670K/G3258 | LGA1150

kmarc
post Jun 19 2013, 08:18 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jun 19 2013, 04:00 PM)
Anyway, to choose whatever stress app is really up to you.

I even saw an OCN forummer advised fellows not to use AVX based stability tool because it doesnt represent daily routine work lol.

Another forumer from XS told me that if you could finish the Fritz Chess benchmark then your overclock should run fine on any game without stability issue.
Yeah, that's why I was asking whether I should just stress test using non-AVX prime95.....

Oh well, will test test LinX this friday but I think I won't use AVX-stress apps to test for stability. Not comfortable with high temperatures....
TSowikh84
post Jun 20 2013, 07:29 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Run some LinX w/ AVX (10.3.7) this early morning...

4770K @ 4.6GHz 1.344v | RAM: 3000MHz 12-14-14-25-2T @ 1.65v

* note that the GFlops is going down slightly as I've opened some background apps ie. CPU-Z etc.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Jun 20 2013, 07:29 AM
cstkl1
post Jun 20 2013, 09:12 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jun 19 2013, 12:49 PM)
Remind me of tRD aka performance level on lga775
One of the most important parameter that determine your bandwidth and voltages thumbup.gif
Test of ram chip/pcb quality too
No this is different trd on 775 is more akin to rtl. Trd is a nb issue.

QUOTE(stasio @ Jun 19 2013, 01:41 PM)
Owi,
change Latest BIOS......to:
http://forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?t=75024

Massman just update OP.
Its been out for a week. Just more bclk presets.

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 19 2013, 08:18 PM)
Yeah, that's why I was asking whether I should just stress test using non-AVX prime95.....

Oh well, will test test LinX this friday but I think I won't use AVX-stress apps to test for stability. Not comfortable with high temperatures....
Read one of my reply y owikh does the stress test. He needs a confirm vcore for that 4.6ghz because of all the custom mem clocking.
Naraw
post Jun 20 2013, 09:49 AM

197 posts

Ran Linx last night for 30mins. i5 at 4.4ghz, 1.15v. Gflops was at 119 and max temp was 92C. At 1.17v, Gflops was at 121 and temp at 95C.
cstkl1
post Jun 20 2013, 10:10 AM

6,799 posts

Why asus rog z87 kindda awesome is because of this.

My setting for 4.5ghz 2133 C7

Later will trying to get the uncore to 1:1 although the recommended is 100-300mhz less than ure cpu speed.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jun 20 2013, 10:13 AM
stasio
post Jun 20 2013, 10:12 AM

18,503 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 20 2013, 09:12 AM)
Its been out for a week. Just more bclk presets.
It's new link for all Z87 boards BIOS's, not only asus.......
Link has been changed yesterday and Owi still keep not connectable link under "Latest BIOS: LINK"
on post #1.

This post has been edited by stasio: Jun 20 2013, 10:12 AM
cstkl1
post Jun 20 2013, 10:14 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Jun 20 2013, 10:12 AM)
It's new link for all Z87 boards BIOS's, not only asus.......
Link has been changed yesterday and Owi still keep not connectable link under "Latest BIOS: LINK"
on post #1.
this weekend some gaygay benching. going to use the proc above and compare.

stasio
post Jun 20 2013, 10:15 AM

18,503 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 20 2013, 10:10 AM)
Why asus rog z87 kindda awesome is because of this.

My setting for 4.5ghz 2133 C7

Later will trying to get the uncore to 1:1 although the recommended is 100-300mhz less than ure cpu speed.
Must be magic......4.5ghz...Vcore 0.000V
cstkl1
post Jun 20 2013, 10:19 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Jun 20 2013, 10:15 AM)
Must be magic......4.5ghz...Vcore 0.000V
so when ure haswell comin??
stasio
post Jun 20 2013, 10:29 AM

18,503 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 20 2013, 10:19 AM)
so when ure haswell comin??
Not in the hurry,looking for at least 1 Malay batch L312-314 and keeping money for 1 Costa.

This post has been edited by stasio: Jun 20 2013, 10:30 AM
kmarc
post Jun 20 2013, 11:11 AM

14,576 posts

OMG! Tested linX 10.3.7 at 4.2Ghz @ 1.1v (Bios) and hanged after 10 seconds!

4.1Ghz @ 1.1V (Bios), 1.193v (CpuZ), temps at 81-87'c sweat.gif

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 20 2013, 09:12 AM)
Read one of my reply y owikh does the stress test. He needs a confirm vcore for that 4.6ghz because of all the custom mem clocking.
Now I'm a bit irritated by "adaptive" mode. Mind telling me the minimum setting for manual mode (it is override mode right?) if I want max CPU voltage to be 1.15v?

Should CPU voltage be override to 0.700v and CPU voltage offset +0.35v?

Damn... have to do more research.... sweat.gif

QUOTE(Naraw @ Jun 20 2013, 09:49 AM)
Ran Linx last night for 30mins. i5 at 4.4ghz, 1.15v. Gflops was at 119 and max temp was 92C. At 1.17v, Gflops was at 121 and temp at 95C.
1.15v in BIOS or CPUz?

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 20 2013, 11:11 AM
cstkl1
post Jun 20 2013, 11:19 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 20 2013, 11:11 AM)
OMG! Tested linX 10.3.7 at 4.2Ghz @ 1.1v (Bios) and hanged after 10 seconds!

4.1Ghz @ 1.1V (Bios), 1.193v (CpuZ), temps at 81-87'c  sweat.gif

Now I'm a bit irritated by "adaptive" mode. Mind telling me the minimum setting for manual mode (it is override mode right?) if I want max CPU voltage to be 1.15v?

Should CPU voltage be override to 0.700v and CPU voltage offset +0.35v?

Damn... have to do more research....  sweat.gif
1.15v in BIOS or CPUz?
Really not sure about asrock. But u can see on my screen shot.
My CPU is on Manual ( not sure why it says ring bus is manual but its actually on auto)
The rest VCSSA/CPU Digital/Analogue i/o is offset.

this is the best.
adaptive is totally not recommended for haswell because of the heat

adaptive is like setting a offset based on ure vid for the multiplier and then giving more for turbo. something like that.

checking for ure mobo bios screenshot.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jun 20 2013, 11:21 AM
kmarc
post Jun 20 2013, 11:28 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 20 2013, 11:19 AM)
Really not sure about asrock. But u can see on my screen shot.
My CPU is on Manual ( not sure why it says ring bus is manual but its actually on auto)
The rest VCSSA/CPU Digital/Analogue i/o is offset.

this is the best.
adaptive is totally not recommended for haswell because of the heat

adaptive is like setting a offset based on ure vid for the multiplier and then giving more for turbo. something like that.

checking for ure mobo bios screenshot.
Right, so if I want CPU voltage @ 1.15v max, I should set something like this?:

CPU voltage 1.05v
Digital I/O offset 0.1v

Will try out and see.....
cstkl1
post Jun 20 2013, 11:33 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 20 2013, 11:28 AM)
Right, so if I want CPU voltage @ 1.15v max, I should set something like this?:

CPU voltage 1.05v
Digital I/O offset 0.1v

Will try out and see.....
no leave digital/analogue i/o on auto but in offset mode. it will change by itself when u clock and its more on dram actually.
VCSSA offset but for me so far only 2133 and above u need to change if not auto.

U can leave Cache ring bus in manual mode but set in auto ( if ure not planning to up the uncore but normally for max uncore clocking set it = vcore and set it 100-300mhz less than ure cpu speed)
CPU set at manual a fix voltage.

Show me ure asrock software screenshot.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jun 20 2013, 11:34 AM
kmarc
post Jun 20 2013, 11:55 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 20 2013, 11:33 AM)
no leave digital/analogue i/o on auto but in offset mode. it will change by itself when u clock and its more on dram actually.
VCSSA offset but for me so far only 2133 and above u need to change if not auto.

U can leave Cache ring bus in manual mode but set in auto ( if ure not planning to up the uncore but normally for max uncore clocking set it = vcore and set it 100-300mhz less than ure cpu speed)
CPU set at manual a fix voltage.

Show me ure asrock software screenshot.
Confused. biggrin.gif

Basically, I don't want to do any ram overclocking or uncore. Just want to OC the proc to maximum voltage of 1.15v but keep c-state active.

Here's my bios:

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 20 2013, 11:56 AM
cstkl1
post Jun 20 2013, 11:59 AM

6,799 posts

eh asrock has no bios screenshot meh.. that saves into a usb.

btw its wrong theres no such thing as cpu load-line calibration for haswell
its actually a load-line for the ivr.

change cpu and cache voltage to fully manual.
leave cache on auto for now.
kmarc
post Jun 20 2013, 12:07 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 20 2013, 11:59 AM)
eh asrock has no bios screenshot meh.. that saves into a usb.

btw its wrong theres no such thing as cpu load-line calibration for haswell
its actually a load-line for the ivr.

change cpu and cache voltage to fully manual.
leave cache on auto for now.
Errmm.. BIOS screenshot? Dunno! biggrin.gif

Right, will try.

CPU and cache voltage to full manual at 1.15v right?

Errmm... vcore maintained at 1.100v leh... didn't throttle down eventhough speed went down to 800mhz....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 20 2013, 12:20 PM
cstkl1
post Jun 20 2013, 12:23 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 20 2013, 12:07 PM)
Errmm.. BIOS screenshot? Dunno!  biggrin.gif

Right, will try.

CPU and cache voltage to full manual at 1.15v right?

Errmm... vcore maintained at 1.100v leh... didn't throttle down eventhough speed went down to 800mhz....
thats a big droop on set vs read.

try higher loadline on the vrm.

kmarc
post Jun 20 2013, 12:27 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 20 2013, 12:23 PM)
thats a big droop on set vs read.

try higher loadline on the vrm.
Sorry sorry... I set 1.100v in BIOS. CPUz showed 1.099v.

However, CPU voltage didn't throttle down to 0.700v although speed went down to 800mhz....
cstkl1
post Jun 20 2013, 12:28 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 20 2013, 12:27 PM)
Sorry sorry... I set 1.100v in BIOS. CPUz showed 1.099v.

However, CPU voltage didn't throttle down to 0.700v although speed went down to 800mhz....
that c-state with eist.

if u dont want that just disable it in bios .

66 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0343sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:56 PM