66 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Haswell, Devil's Canyon, Pentium G3258 OC V1, 4790K/4760K/4770K/4670K/G3258 | LGA1150

TSowikh84
post Jun 17 2013, 08:43 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Samsung kit did 3000C10 @ 1.86v on air

cstkl1
post Jun 17 2013, 09:19 PM

6,799 posts

Thats amazing

Btw those 3k kits... What are the chipset.

Cause hmm corsair qualify them as vengence pro so guessing its not a binning issue. So cant be that rare.
cstkl1
post Jun 17 2013, 09:20 PM

6,799 posts

Btw have u thought of doing like the gamer profile.
5ghz one core etc
TSowikh84
post Jun 17 2013, 09:37 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 17 2013, 09:19 PM)
Thats amazing

Btw those 3k kits... What are the chipset.

Cause hmm corsair qualify them as vengence pro so guessing its not a binning issue.  So cant be that rare.

I think they are binned.
3000C12 kits are Hynix, same as my 2800 11-13-13. But they can't do C10 @ 2800+ which Samsung did.
I have a Corsair Dom Platinum 2800 11-14-14 but they can't stable @ 3000.

C-N uses Samsung kit of 2666C10. I also have 2666C10 but G.Skill TridentX.
A good Samsung should be able to clock 2800C9, but of course at high vdimm.

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 17 2013, 09:20 PM)
Btw have u thought of doing like the gamer profile.
5ghz one core etc
hmm. I prefer 5.0 running on all cores.
Naraw
post Jun 17 2013, 09:43 PM

197 posts

Just stressed the cpu only using msi's extreme tuning utility and it managed to go pass 30mins at 4.5ghz-1.2v. But when I stressed the cpu only using prime95 it crashes after exactly 15min. I used the max fft setting for prime95. Both stress test ram are default.
kmarc
post Jun 17 2013, 09:45 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Arrrgghhh!!! All my OC for nothing!

Booted up my normal windows at 4.2Ghz @ 1.1v. Run prime95 (27.9) and noted vcore jumped to 1.198v and temperature jumped to 81-82'c!!!!

Compared to my previous OC (in a fresh windows 7), the weird thing was that the same prime95 ran small FFTs with type-0 FFT. Now in my main windows 7, it is using AVX FFT!!! rclxub.gif

Summary
Prime95 (27.9) in fresh win 7 (type-0 FFT) - OC 4.2Ghz @ 1.1v, vcore 1.129v in CPUz, realtemp 72'c max (2 hours stable)
Prime95 (27.9) in main win 7 (AVX FFT shocking.gif ) - OC 4.2Ghz @ 1.1v, vcore 1.198v in CPUz, realtemp 81-82'c (in a few seconds)!!!! sweat.gif

Wasted my whole day..... vmad.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 17 2013, 09:46 PM
TSowikh84
post Jun 17 2013, 09:53 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Naraw @ Jun 17 2013, 09:43 PM)
Just stressed the cpu only using msi's extreme tuning utility and it managed to go pass 30mins at 4.5ghz-1.2v. But when I stressed the cpu only using prime95 it crashes after exactly 15min. I used the max fft setting for prime95. Both stress test ram are default.
that means MSI Extreme Tuning Utility is not as stressful as Prime95. So, better don't use it for stability test.
TSowikh84
post Jun 17 2013, 09:55 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 17 2013, 09:45 PM)
Arrrgghhh!!! All my OC for nothing!

Booted up my normal windows at 4.2Ghz @ 1.1v. Run prime95 (27.9) and noted vcore jumped to 1.198v and temperature jumped to 81-82'c!!!!

Compared to my previous OC (in a fresh windows 7), the weird thing was that the same prime95 ran small FFTs with type-0 FFT. Now in my main windows 7, it is using AVX FFT!!!  rclxub.gif

Summary
Prime95 (27.9) in fresh win 7 (type-0 FFT) - OC 4.2Ghz @ 1.1v, vcore 1.129v in CPUz, realtemp 72'c max (2 hours stable)
Prime95 (27.9) in main win 7 (AVX FFT  shocking.gif ) - OC 4.2Ghz @ 1.1v, vcore 1.198v in CPUz, realtemp 81-82'c (in a few seconds)!!!!  sweat.gif

Wasted my whole day.....  vmad.gif
Let me guess.

Your main win7 is Service Pack 1 (SP1)
fresh win7 is vanilla (none-SP1)

SP1 has AVX instruction which vanilla doesn't.
Naraw
post Jun 17 2013, 09:58 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jun 17 2013, 09:53 PM)
that means MSI Extreme Tuning Utility is not as stressful as Prime95. So, better don't use it for stability test.
Really? I'll try to oc it 4.4 or lower and see whether is it stable. Could it be ram issue?
TSowikh84
post Jun 17 2013, 10:07 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Naraw @ Jun 17 2013, 09:58 PM)
Really? I'll try to oc it 4.4 or lower and see whether is it stable. Could it be ram issue?
If you didn't touch anything on the memory settings including timing, vdimm, VCCSA, VCCIO then it shouldn't be the RAM issue.
Just pump the vCore or downclock.
Naraw
post Jun 17 2013, 10:26 PM

197 posts

Thanks Sifu. Btw.. What's gt voltage and ring voltage?
kmarc
post Jun 17 2013, 10:27 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jun 17 2013, 09:55 PM)
Let me guess.

Your main win7 is Service Pack 1 (SP1)
fresh win7 is vanilla (none-SP1)

SP1 has AVX instruction which vanilla doesn't.
notworthy.gif

cry.gif Didn't know that cry.gif

However, I guess all is not lost. Played some games e.g. BF3, bioshock infinite and my OC is stable and vcore is at the usual 1.129v and not 1.2v.

Read about adaptive voltage from the 1st page link (the 3 step guide to overclocking i7/i5). I guess that's the reason why my proc shot up to 1.2v but more or less safe as most CPU-intensive process don't jack up the vcore more than what is set in bios.

Caveat – big, massive, honking, pay attention to this – caveat! When using adaptive voltage, the top of the curve isn’t necessarily the whole story. ASUS drove this point home when we met and I’m doing so now; we all need to do this as a public service to our users and readers. Even though you set 1.25 V as your maximum voltage, under certain very heavy loading conditions (i.e. stress testing), the voltage can and will exceed the maximum you have set. Let me say that again – if you stress test using adaptive voltage, even with the maximum set to 1.25 V, the CPU will – guaranteed – request and receive more voltage than you have told the motherboard to deliver it. It’s just the way this works.

In the ASUS demonstrations, setting a maximum 1.25 V in this scenario and then running something like AIDA64, Prime95, etc – any stress testing application designed to stress more than normal loads – the CPU requests and gets ~1.36 V. There is nothing you can do about this and it will happen whether you want it to or not. The only way to prevent stress testing programs from pulling extra voltage is to use a manually set voltage, which takes away your CPU’s ability to reduce voltage when idle.

All is not lost though! You probably noticed every time I told you what would happen it went hand in hand with stress testing. That’s because those are the only scenarios that will lead to this behavior. In all other circumstances so far as ASUS can tell, the CPU will cap at the set 1.25 V and never exceed it. Even if you’re Folding@Home it should maintain the 1.25 V cap (though those folding at home are under 100% load all the time and I’d suggest using a manual voltage for those machines just in case). Likewise, video encoding, audio encoding, compression, rendering – any CPU-intensive process, your CPU will maintain the 1.25 V cap.

So, now that you know the very important caveat, set 1.25 V as your maximum voltage with adaptive voltage, enable C1E and EIST (which throttle your multiplier and voltage when not under load) and go on with your merry life knowing your CPU is as relaxed as it can get when idle.

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 17 2013, 05:34 PM)
Theres 4 ways to clock
Fully manual
Adaptive
Offset
SVID

adaptive issue is the vcore can be more than what u set.
So far seems manual on vcore n ring bus with offset on vcssa/cpu io d/a is the best. Fully c-state.
One day when I have time to OC again, I will ask you how to set the "offset on vcssa/cpu io digital/analogue"....... notworthy.gif

For now, back to stock clock! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 17 2013, 10:30 PM
stasio
post Jun 17 2013, 10:34 PM

18,503 posts

C-N sold all his Samsung kit 2666C10,now is using Platinum 2666C10 (with Samsung IC).
This his kit is also running 2800 @ 10-12-12 @ 1.65V.

Edit:
Btw,spoted that L312Bxxx batch doing well.

This post has been edited by stasio: Jun 17 2013, 11:03 PM
OC4/3
post Jun 17 2013, 11:08 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(bob(nz) @ Jun 17 2013, 09:30 AM)
Will post up some pics when I get back from overseas, but now I have tested 4 retail CPU's under cold (1 on Asus M6E and the others on MSI MPower)

Have to say the results are really disappointing so far - Haswell will be an okay upgrade from older platforms, but I think I would stick to Ivybridge for now.

Moderate overclocks on air / water should be okay, and the ram clocking definitely much more fun - just a shame about the top speeds.....

1 CPU max 5500 4c/8t, 2 max 5700, best one 5800

Top speed for quick 2d benching only 6g so far - 2 cores at -110 temps
Sound disappointing when Ivy can go much more further
stasio
post Jun 17 2013, 11:25 PM

18,503 posts

OverClocker Peter Cave aka bob(nz) demonstrating Extreme Liquid Nitrogen OverClocking with Intel Core i7-4770K processor on the ROG MAXIMUS VI Extreme motherboard.......(Master DIY Tour 2.0 @ Kuala Lumpur)... rclxms.gif

Btw,

CPU-Z for Android 1.01

CPU-Z for Android CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...com.cpuid.cpu_z

This post has been edited by stasio: Jun 17 2013, 11:31 PM
TSowikh84
post Jun 17 2013, 11:38 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Managed to lower down the vCore from 1.44v to 1.4v without any magic biggrin.gif

4.6GHz @ 1.4v

3000MHz 12-14-14-25-2T @ 1.65v passed HyperPi

A good start for prime95. smile.gif

Naraw
post Jun 17 2013, 11:47 PM

197 posts

I lowered my clock to 4.4ghz at 1.17v. Ram at xmp. Ran prime95 for 45mins without any crashes. Will tinker again tomorrow. Try to lower vcore and oc the ram.
stasio
post Jun 17 2013, 11:59 PM

18,503 posts

Nice Kevin..... rclxms.gif

Just your mem Read/Write/Copy is to low in Aida64.?.....I noted this from your fist post.
Should be arround 35-40K

Edit:
New Z87 BIOS on Gigabyte web page.
(except UD5H)

AsRock new BIOS:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...l=1#post5194402

This post has been edited by stasio: Jun 18 2013, 02:09 AM
cstkl1
post Jun 18 2013, 05:06 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 17 2013, 10:27 PM)
notworthy.gif

cry.gif Didn't know that  cry.gif

However, I guess all is not lost. Played some games e.g. BF3, bioshock infinite and my OC is stable and vcore is at the usual 1.129v and not 1.2v.

Read about adaptive voltage from the 1st page link (the 3 step guide to overclocking i7/i5). I guess that's the reason why my proc shot up to 1.2v but more or less safe as most CPU-intensive process don't jack up the vcore more than what is set in bios.
One day when I have time to OC again, I will ask you how to set the "offset on vcssa/cpu io digital/analogue".......  notworthy.gif

For now, back to stock clock!  biggrin.gif
Dont worry abt those voltages. Only above 2133 u need to set them and digital i/o is ram dimm population n chip dependent.

QUOTE(stasio @ Jun 17 2013, 11:59 PM)
Nice Kevin..... rclxms.gif

Just your mem Read/Write/Copy is to low in Aida64.?.....I noted this from your fist post.
Should be arround 35-40K
Edit:
New Z87 BIOS on Gigabyte web page.
(except UD5H)

AsRock new BIOS:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...l=1#post5194402
Trdrd n twrwr. If set at 4 ure rams will run at out of spec voltage.
TSowikh84
post Jun 18 2013, 06:50 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

ok done priming for 7 hours.

3000MHz 12-14-14-25-1T @ 1.65v

66 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top